Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Challenging but not too difficult
What can I say - it's a puzzle book.

I find it hard to find puzzles at the right level of difficulty. So often, the sort of puzzle books you can buy on the high street are simply not challenging enough. But these are just perfect. They require a pen and paper, and peace and quiet to concentrate - and give you a buzz of satisfaction when you finally get...
Published on 30 Sep 2010 by H. Ashford

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not great overall
Small book with very repetitive puzzles !!!
Once the main technique is mastered, there not much to add to a very limited pleasure.
Published 9 months ago by C Kehoe


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Challenging but not too difficult, 30 Sep 2010
By 
H. Ashford "hashford" (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Challenging Logic Puzzles (Official Mensa Puzzle Book) (Paperback)
What can I say - it's a puzzle book.

I find it hard to find puzzles at the right level of difficulty. So often, the sort of puzzle books you can buy on the high street are simply not challenging enough. But these are just perfect. They require a pen and paper, and peace and quiet to concentrate - and give you a buzz of satisfaction when you finally get there.

And if you can't quite work it out, there are fully explained answers at the back. One little feature I really, really like (someone has given this a lot of thought), is that the answers are not printed in the same order as the puzzles - so you can't accidentally read the answer to the next puzzle when looking one up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice one, Mensa!, 15 Nov 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Challenging Logic Puzzles (Official Mensa Puzzle Book) (Paperback)
I found this on Mensa's best books list and so ordered it through this site. It only took a few days and since it arrived I have very much enjoyed working my way through the puzzles. They're solvable but some of them still need a bit of thought. And looking at the ones at the end (which I've yet to reach), some of those jobs around the house are gonna have to wait a while!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Twisting my melon!, 25 Aug 2011
This review is from: Challenging Logic Puzzles (Official Mensa Puzzle Book) (Paperback)
This will keep you occupied for hours and will really test those little gray cells! The puzzles get progressively harder but how difficult you find them depends on what sort of a thinker you are. The only criticism is that the puzzles are not as varied as I would have liked, for example, many of them are the kind where you are given only a a few specific pieces of information to be able to put the items in their correct order. However, there are others which are very original and I particularly like the ones where you have to work out who is telling the truth and who is lying before coming up with your conclusion - a bit like a whodunnit!
I didn't work my through the puzzles in order, I just did the ones I fancied doing and when you are on an eight hour flight, this is exactly what you need to keep you busy.
If you do find a puzzle has twisted your melon to the point where you are reaching for the Nurofen then the answers are in the back of the book!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great gift adea, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Challenging Logic Puzzles (Official Mensa Puzzle Book) (Paperback)
bought as a gift for my father who loves puzzles he said was very good and a challenge for him said he would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not great overall, 4 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Challenging Logic Puzzles (Official Mensa Puzzle Book) (Paperback)
Small book with very repetitive puzzles !!!
Once the main technique is mastered, there not much to add to a very limited pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars challenging puzzle book, 24 Jun 2011
By 
S.J (Southampton, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Challenging Logic Puzzles (Official Mensa Puzzle Book) (Paperback)
A good puzzle book suitable for medium to advanced skill levels. Overall, the puzzle style is a bit repetitive, but challenging none the less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Childish, 23 Aug 2011
This review is from: Challenging Logic Puzzles (Official Mensa Puzzle Book) (Paperback)
Purchased this book under the recommendation of GAMSAT study guides as well as its endorsement by mensa.

I was hoping for a wide variety of logic puzzles, from the bill sits next to ted but not steve type to the interpretation of diagrams/graphs.

Unfortunately it is all very bill sits next to ted. The layout of the book is childish and feels cheap.

It may be that my mind suits the more technical logical problem and that was what i was looking for, therefore biasing my opinion.

I would not bother purchasing it again. It has been a waste of my time and money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Challenging Logic Puzzles (Official Mensa Puzzle Book)
Challenging Logic Puzzles (Official Mensa Puzzle Book) by Barry R. Clarke (Paperback - 8 April 2004)
4.27
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews