Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved the novel!
I really, really enjoyed this book, mostly because it presents John Dudley as a pleasent person which I've always thought him to be.
I also liked the fact that Francis Brandon was human and Jane Grey wasn't frail and saintly.

The author swich perspective in each chapter, between John Dudleys wife and Francis Brandon. And she does it well. Sometimes you can...
Published on 9 Nov. 2012 by L. Andersson

versus
0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
Disappointing read. Will not bother to read any other novels by this author. Telling the story in the way it has been told is confusing.
Published on 31 Jan. 2013 by AlexS


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved the novel!, 9 Nov. 2012
By 
L. Andersson (Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really, really enjoyed this book, mostly because it presents John Dudley as a pleasent person which I've always thought him to be.
I also liked the fact that Francis Brandon was human and Jane Grey wasn't frail and saintly.

The author swich perspective in each chapter, between John Dudleys wife and Francis Brandon. And she does it well. Sometimes you can read about the same event but from different perspective.

I would recommend this book to anyone who likes historical fiction, in the Tudor era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fresh, fascinating portrayal of the tale of Lady Jane Grey, 27 July 2013
By 
Iset (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Susan Higginbotham tells the story of Lady Jane Grey from the dual perspectives of her mother, Frances Grey neé Brandon, niece of Henry VIII, and Jane Dudley neé Guildford, wife of John Dudley Duke of Northumberland and mother in law to Jane Grey. Her Highness the Traitor blasts through all the baseless scandalous dregs to expose the hackneyed rumours and provide a realistic portrait of the Grey and Dudley families.

Higginbotham is quite obviously a meticulous researcher (one only has to read her blog where her research is revealed, her use of sources clearly shown, and her observations incisive), and her author's note goes into what's fact, what's fiction, and why her portrayals may surprise some people. Smoothly written with a fluidity that I didn't even think about or notice as a reader, Her Highness the Traitor evocatively creates the Tudor world and immersed me in its rich pages.

Beyond the admirably impeccable research, frank discussion, and redemption of long unfairly maligned historical people, the real heart of this book is the characterisations. I most empathised with Jane Dudley, of the two narrators. Her warm family life and loving marriage felt simple and uncensored, and I identified with that uncomplicated happiness. Frances Grey was an engaging narrator too, but I just loved Jane Dudley's warmth. I think Susan Higginbotham may be one of the few historical novelists who can actually do first person well, without blinkering the scope of the story or switching out to third person to show events which her narrators do not personally witness, or using other tricks such as the perennial messenger, psychic sixth sense, or the `As You Know Bob' method.

I can tell that Higginbotham has put a tremendous amount of time and thought into this book, not just on the research but on lavishly creating this delightful story and doing justice by the characters that inhabit this world. I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well researched.., 4 Jun. 2012
By 
jaffareadstoo (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Her Highness, the Traitor (Paperback)
The complicated complexity of Tudor England is well described in this fictional account of the rise in power of two very different families. In the aftermath of King Henry VIII's death, and with his nine year old son Edward on the throne of England, there is great opportunity for personal advancement. Two families close to the throne will take advantage of the new King's vulnerability. Jane Dudley is a married to an ambitious man who will stop at nothing to gain power, whilst Frances Grey, cousin to the new King of England, is aware that she sits very close to the throne, and yet it is her daughter Jane, who is destined to be Queen of England.
Much has been written about the ill-fated nine day rule of Lady Jane Grey, but what was interesting was the attention to the detail behind the plot, and the involvement of two very different families, and the role they each played in this tragic historical event.
This well researched historical novel is written in a light and easy style, which conveys a real sense of the past. The chapters are nicely divided into the voice of different characters; I found it interesting to observe the story from different perspectives.

This is my first Susan Higginbotham novel, and I look forward to more of her historical narratives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great historical yarn, 17 Jun. 2012
This review is from: Her Highness, the Traitor (Paperback)
This novel focuses on the turbulent time in England after the death of King Henry VII. The throne is inherited by his son, Edward who is only 9 years old and sickly. Power lies in the hands of the protector, the Duke of Northumberland. This novel is told through the fictional eyes of characters based on two real people - Frances Grey (mother of Lady Jane Grey and niece of Henry VIII) and Jane Dudley (the wife of the protector). We learn about the plot to put Jane Grey on the throne by bypassing the two daughters of Henry VIII; Lady Mary and Lady Elizabeth.

This is well-written and researched. It gives a fascinating insight into this historical time and particularly highlights the difficulties faced by women. I enjoy historical novels set around Tudor times but typically Frances Grey and her husband are portrayed as evil ambitious parents but here, it shows a more balanced view of events and the complexities around the monarchy and religion at this time.

This was hugely enjoyable and would recommend it to all historical fiction lovers and I will definitely read more by this author in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As told by Jane Dudley and Frances Grey, 10 Mar. 2013
By 
Keen Reader "lhendry4" (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Her Highness, the Traitor (Paperback)
I'm always interested in stories about Jane Grey, the Grey family, the Dudleys, the Seymours and the ongoing struggles for the succession as Edward VI sank into his final illness. And a new (to me) historical author is always an exciting find, as the reader hopes the author will do the topic justice. I don't care for historical novels that sink into romantic froth or completely anachronistic drivel, so a new author is always approached with some trepidation.

This is, thankfully, an extremely good historical novel. The story is told alternately by Jane Dudley, wife of John Dudley, who became Duke of Northumberland during the reign of King Edward VI, and Frances Grey, wife of Henry Grey, Duke of Suffolk and father of Jane Grey. The story follows the narrative of events from 1547, on the death of King Henry VIII to 1555. These were years of turmoil, intrigue and tribulation for many in England, with struggles for the succession following Edward VI's early demise. Both the Dudleys and the Greys were intimately and intricately involved in the politics of the time, and it is rewarding to read of these times from the perspective of the wives of Northumberland the Suffolk, and to get a new perspective on what it may have been like to have lived through them, with family troubles becoming troubles of a whole nation.

The author's writing is accomplished and engaging, and the story crackles along at a great pace. Although the story is familiar to me, this novel was always enthralling and entertaining. Highly recommended; I shall be looking for more of the author's writings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting new take on Tudor history, 7 Oct. 2012
By 
Scarpetta (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Firstly I must admit that I am an avid reader of all things Tudor, however I was not expecting to be told anything new in this book. I was pleasantly surprised. The story of Lady Jane Grey/Queen Jane has been told from so many angles that to find a new view point is great.
So many historians/historial fiction writers have lambasted Frances Grey that it was refreshing to read about her told from her own point of view.
The story focuses on Frances Grey and Jane Dudley (mother of Guildford, husband to Jane Grey)and the role they played in the events leading up to and after Jane was pronounced Queen.
Whilst those of us who are interested in the Tudor period all know the story and what happened afterwards I was not expecting to find myself not only feeling sorry for Frances Grey but also liking her. From reading the notes at the end of the book it is clear that Susan Higginbotham has done her research and the reasoning behind breaking from the widely held view that Frances Grey was a tartar/monster is compelling.
The story of Jane Dudley is equally well written and researched.
I would recommend this book to all interested in Tudor history - It may changed your perceptions about Henry VIII's niece!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must read!, 22 Feb. 2015
This review is from: Her Highness, the Traitor (Paperback)
An excellent read. Once again, Higginbotham combines a great story with diligent historic research.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Her Highness, the Traitor (Paperback)
thoroughly enjoyable read, couldn't put it down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Reading, 15 May 2013
By 
This review is from: Her Highness, the Traitor (Paperback)
I really enjoyed reading this book and have enjoyed all of Susan Higginbotham's book and this one certainly does not disappoint. This story is focused on Frances Grey and Jane Dudley and their part in the ascension of Jane Grey to the throne for the brief time that she was there. The story brilliantly brought to life the era and the machinations that occurred to bring Jane Grey to the throne and also to depose her. A tale that is not often mentioned or talked about being outshone by the stories of Henry VIII, Mary and Elizabeth. Well worth reading and I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys reading historical novels about tudor history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Historic novel, 22 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love these books all the intrigue and betrayal of family andfriends. Nothing seems 2 have changed much learn still betrayal and plotting occurs 2 day we never learn
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Her Highness, the Traitor
Her Highness, the Traitor by Susan Higginbotham (Paperback - 20 Jun. 2012)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews