Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I liked this but it took time. (Edited review)
I didn't enjoy this the first time as I thought Georgiana wouldn't have spent time alone with a man after Ramsgate. However I persevered and thoroughly enjoyed it. Shows you shouldn't give up too easily. Enjoyed the author's other books so should have known better. I have given it 5 stars as the story makes up for the areas I have problems with. Still recommend it! I have...
Published on 12 Mar. 2011 by Hazel Mills

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars There's only one Jane Austen
Not actually a bad book but I wish I had carried on with my intention to avoid Jane Austen follow-ons. It's very difficult for one author to imitate another's style and this didn't work for me

The secret was obvious and it was equally obvious that there would be a twist. I found myself skimming towards the end and not enjoying the use of language.
Published on 7 May 2013 by Patricia M. Straughan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I liked this but it took time. (Edited review), 12 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Darcy's Secret (Paperback)
I didn't enjoy this the first time as I thought Georgiana wouldn't have spent time alone with a man after Ramsgate. However I persevered and thoroughly enjoyed it. Shows you shouldn't give up too easily. Enjoyed the author's other books so should have known better. I have given it 5 stars as the story makes up for the areas I have problems with. Still recommend it! I have now read this three times including one accompaniment to hospital.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jane Odiwe is my new Jane Austen, 18 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this book from beginning to end. This is just how Elizabeth and Mr Darcy should have ended up. I thought the language was just right and the flow from Pride and Prejudice was perfect and I particularly loved Mr Darcy's attempt at poetry - I literally laughed out loud.
I'm sure Jane Austen would have been overjoyed to read this book.
Great job Ms Odiwe. I think you are my new Jane Austen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new favourite!, 4 Mar. 2011
By 
J. Murison (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mr Darcy's Secret (Paperback)
Having thoroughly enjoyed this authors earlier books I have been eagerly awaiting the publication of 'Mr Darcy's Secret'. The wait has been worthwhile - Ms Odiwe's writing just gets better and better!!! The plot keeps you in suspense to the last and as a lover of gardens and garden history it was an added bonus to have a landscape designer as one of the main characters. The sparkling dialogue had me chuckling - look out for the fantastic 'soft dumpling' scene. Her wonderful sense of place brings the beautiful Derbyshire and Lake District landscapes to life. I loved this book and highly recommend it - my favourite so far - please, please Ms Odiwe bring us some more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mr Darcy's Secret, 9 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I gave this story five stars as it was well written and easy to read. I thoroughly enjoyed this extension to Pride and Prejudice and felt that the author was very sympathetic in outlining the characters and their faults and interactions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can Darcy trust Elizabeth with the whole truth?, 12 April 2011
By 
Laura Boyle "Austentation" (Massachusetts, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mr Darcy's Secret (Paperback)
"With little exception, the anticipation of a long awaited and desirous event will always give as much, if not more pleasure, than the diversion itself. Morever, it is a certain truth that no matter how gratifying such an occasion may prove to be, it will not necessarily unite prospect and satisfaction in equal accord."

Once again Jane Odiwe ( Lydia Bennet's Story, Willoughby's Return) delves deep into the Regency to bring to life scenes from Austen's novels. Her third book, Mr. Darcy's Secret follows the fortunes of the Darcys and Bingleys as they embark on their new lives as husbands and wives.

The book begins with Mr. and Mrs. Darcy traveling to Pemberley after their wedding. As Mr. Darcy's wife, Lizzy is confident that "knowing him better, his disposition [is] better understood." But does she truly understand his disposition? Has he undergone so material a change? Does he indeed possess no improper pride? Will she be able to rise to the demands of being `Mistress of Pemberley'. As she becomes "familiarly acquainted with the rooms, rejoicing in them as her home, welcoming to them visitors such as her aunt and uncle", a cloud hovers over her happiness.

Having resolved to "act in that manner, which will constitute [her] own happiness, without reference to any person so wholly unconnected with [her]", Lizzy must face fallout from Lady Catherine DeBourgh and her cronies; village gossips threaten to mar her serenity and Georgiana, so desirous of pleasing her brother, struggles with a wayward, loving heart, which refuses to bend to her self-command.

From the sitting rooms of Hertforshire, to the delights of a Christmas Ball in Derbyshire and a jaunt to the Lake District, the stage is set for another foray into Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice, continuing to play with the `what ifs' and `why nots', that linger on after "the day on which Mrs Bennet got rid of her two most deserving daughters." A dream come true for all those wishing there were just a few more pages, one more glimpse into the lives of Austen's most beloved power couple.

The title is Mr. Darcy's Secret, and mystery and drama abound--- after all, who is Master Tissington? Local tittle-tattle suggests he is an heir to Pemberley, but by whom? Someone is determined not to let the past die. Long forgotten letters, the remnants of a love gone by, may hold the answer, but it is not until a blackmailer threatens to tell all that the key to Mr. Darcy's Secret is discovered, the truth arising from the most unexpected source.

In reality, however, the book might be titled Miss Darcy's Secret, for it is Georgiana's story, as well. Lizzy may be our heroine, but with an artist's delicate skill for revealing detail, one brush stroke at a time, Ms. Odiwe crafts a compelling tale of love and betrayal. New characters are introduced, including the bold landowner, Mr. Calladine and the young Thomas Butler, a brash young landscape designer, son of Mrs. Gardiner's old school friend. Who will win the hand of Georgiana, a young woman determined not to let her heart lead her astray a second time?

Old friends are not forgotten, either. Mr. Collins and Charlotte appear frequently, along with their olive branch, young Catherine (a bonny babe, and as unlike her noble namesake as December is to May) Mr. Bingley's sisters play pivotal roles as do Elizabeth's sister and brother in law, Lydia and George Wickham.

The Gardiners appear several times to steady the Darcy's in their new life and bring common sense and counsel to the young couple. Perhaps the most delightful character is Mrs. Bennet, for here, Ms. Odiwe's ear for Jane Austen's writing is impeccable. One can simply hear Mrs. Bennet (and her longsuffering husband) speak her lines as she comes alive on the pages. It is fitting therefore, that she is given both the first and last word in this novel. Despite her humors, nerves and prattling about, she rests secure, knowing she has done all a mother can for her children:

"My fussing has been very productive. If I had been content to let my daughters follow their hearts willy nilly, they would not have made the matches they have. Jane and Mr Bingley, Lizzy and Mr Darcy, Lydia and Mr Wickham, Kitty and Mr Lloyd..."

Ms Odiwe shines in her ability to write truly of the intricacies of family relationships. As she did in Willoughby's Return, she details the struggles of a young couple's first few years of married life with delicacy and insight. The frustrations and fascination of discovering that at times you hardly know the person you have married must be almost universal. The solidarity of the Darcys in facing each trial with a united front, of Lizzy's determination to trust her husband and Fitzwilliam's admission of his own too hasty decisions must be a model for each young couple starting out. The road is not smooth, nor the way plain, but true love must and will win the day.

A scholar of the Regency period, as well as an artist herself, Ms Odiwe is able to paint a picture of Jane Austen's era with deft strokes that bring the customs and manners of the day to life. Her descriptions of the Lake District are conveyed with an enthusiasm and familiarity that make you feel as though you were there in the midst of the wild crags and misty peaks.

As with her past books, I tore through this novel (to the detriment of not a few household projects!) and eagerly look forward to the day when I can share her works with my own small daughters. It is a delight to find an author whose work is not only well crafted but tastefully executed, modest enough for even the youngest reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wll not outrage Austen fans, 25 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Darcy's Secret (Paperback)
The author writes with an Austenesque style with very few verbal anachronisms. She extends the P&P story while remaining true to the personalities created by Austen. Elizabeth's and Darcy's interactions, Lady Catherine and Lydia all come across as authentic. None of the characters is wholly irreproachable, which is also faithful to Austen.

Georgiana is an important character, and, of course, we didn't know all that much about her from P&P. However, the fact that she had eloped with Wickham at the age of 15 can plausibly be used to justify her behaving indiscreetly now she is a little older and gaining in confidence.

The plot is also fairly Austenesque. In fact it is quite explicitly about pride and prejudice, but in a new context. Unlike some would-be Austen continuations, there are genuine and important difficulties in the way of the lovers. I felt that the ending, where the difficulties were removed, had a touch of deus ex machina, but that is a minor quibble.

The criticism of the plausibility of some of the behaviour may be justified. Modern readers may not always understand the suffocating conventions that bound women in the Regency period. Odiwe clearly does understand them and even expresses thoughts about them through the characters. Nevertheless, it is difficult and perhaps undesirable for a 21st-century writer to see things totally through 18th/19th-century spectacles. The thoughts and occasionally the behaviour of the female characters may be a little anachronistic. In that respect, there is a touch of Georgette Heyer, whom I love but who essentially places 20th-century women in a Regency setting.

My only unhappiness was with the Caroline Bingley episodes. I didn't feel that they were true to her character as created by Austen. Of course, the reader can enjoy laughing at Caroline's discomfiture, but I couldn't believe she would ever forget her dignity enough to behave as Odiwe makes her.

However, overall I am very impressed by this book and will now buy another one of Odiwe's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CAN DARCY TRUST ELIZABETH WITH THE WHOLE TRUTH?, 23 April 2011
This review is from: Mr Darcy's Secret (Paperback)
Pride and Prejudice (Penguin Classics) continues in the elegant style that is the distinguishing brand of Jane Odiwe's sequels. After Willoughby's Return: A Tale of Almost Irresistible Temptation , her skill at creating thrilling emotions, her thorough research and her passion for the Regency Era , are successfully dedicated to make the inhabitants of Pemberley re-live on the beautifully written pages of Mr Darcy's Secret . You'll meet the newly and happily married couple, Darcy and Lizzy, as well as their relatives , friends and antagonists.

A successful marriage haunted by the untold, a dark secret to be unveiled, a denied love story, are among the main elements in the plot , but you also find so many typical Austensian features like balls, family gatherings, trips and journeys, marriages of convenience and for love, propriety and good manners, friendship and sisterly love, elopments and engagements, that you really start thinking you are reading Austen.

A real page-turner you can't miss, if you love Austen sequels, romances and witty prose in historical fiction.

The story opens at Longbourn with Mr & Mrs Bennets enjoying the correspondence from their daughters' successful marriages, both Elizabeth and Jane are married now. Successfully married to very rich gentlemen! Well, Lydia is married too, to George Wickham and living in Newcastle. But she and her dashing officer husband won't be with them at the Christmas gathering at Pemberley. Mrs Bennet is very excited: Pemberley!

At Pemberley, Elizabeth is anxious but willing to undertake her new tasks as lady of the house. At their arrival, both her and her admired Mr Darcy, are welcome with enthusiasm and cheer by all the inhabitants of the village. But their bliss starts immediately being haunted:

"I know very little of my husband...I am certain that a man does not reach the age of twenty-nine without experiencing an affection or infatuation or maybe something more" (p. 114)

To induce suspects and torment in Elizabeth's thoughts, rumors and gossip, as well as love letters she finds hidden in a book kept on the shelves of Pemberley library. What is Darcy hiding from her? Why doesn't he trust her with the whole truth?

To increase her disappointment, Darcy's behaviour to Georgiana. He wants to choose a proper husband for her, chosen among the best families in the neighbourhood, a husband who can grant both a title and patrimony, in order to protect his little sister from fortune-hunters. Georgiana is ready to obey her brother: her sense of guilt for past mistakes, her awe and deep love for him, make her accept her brother's choice of a husband. She is going to marry Mr Calladine, though she is in love with Tom Butler.

Lizzy tries to persuade her not to go on with her resolution, since she could greatly regret it . Lizzy is also really furious with Darcy for his considering Mr Butler , a drawing master and an artist, an expert in landscape gardening, too low a catch for her sister. Furthermore, her disappointment is even greater when she hears Darcy repeat the same statements she had to bear hearing from him when he first proposed to her. He hasn't changed, then. And what he thinks of Mr Butler might obviously be what he still thinks of her!

Tom and Georgiana will experience the pains of denied love because of Darcy and Elizabeth will not be able to do much more than witness her young sister-in-law's unhappiness and support her with her affection.

Each time the two young lovers - because, of course, Tom Butler loves Georgiana too - meet each other by chance, the love tension and their longing is palpable:

"Georgiana felt tears spill over her hot cheeks before she was aware of Tom's cool fingers under her chin raising her head until her eyes were in line with his own. He held her face in his hands, his fingers caressing her soft skin as he brushed away her tears. His blue eyes stared into the pools of the grey eyes that looked up at him, the connection broken for a moment as he lowered his gaze to rest upon her lips. He was going to kiss her, she felt sure. More than anything, she wanted him to kiss her, to show him how much she loved him. Georgiana stared back at his mouth and closed her eyes in anticipation. Tom looked down at her skin, warm and glowing like a soft peach in the sunlight, her wet lashes curling against her cheek, her lips pink and inviting. He thought how beautiful Georgiana looked, but Tom knew he would be very wrong to take advantage of such willing submission. The temptation to kiss her was very strong and he had to fight every inclination to touch the lips that looked so bewitching. Georgiana opened her eyes to see a look of defeat in his eyes. How she longed to tell him that he could steal a kiss, that she wished he could take her in his arms, however wrong she knew that would be." (p. 213)

But it is an Austen sequel, isn't it? You must be patient and you will be rewarded in the end. You 'll get your very happy ending and rejoice in Tom and Georgiana's joy.

All through the novel, Elizabeth will have to cope with Lady Catherine and her despise, Caroline Bingley and her envy, shadows from her husband's past, unexpected and painful arguments with him on several occasions and several obstacles on their path to happiness. But you know her strength, vivacity, resourcefulness and courage.

Here's an example of Lady Catherine's bitterness to her new niece-in-law:

"Does your husband know that you are running around the countryside dressed asa gypsy riding in a donkey cart, Miss Bennet? ... What on earth can you mean by disgracing Mr Darcyin such a fashion? Have you no idea of decorum, are you insensible to the honours bestowed on you by him, that fool of a nephew of mine who has singled you out above all other women to bear his name?" (p. 175)

How do you think Lizzy will react? No fear, you're right. She will face her stern newly - acquired aunt as you can expect, as an impeccable Austen heroine would do.

What else can you expect from this new Pride and Prejudice sequel by Jane Odiwe? Well-built tension, surprises, tender emotions until the final gratifying unveiling of the "secret" and the protagonists' well-deserved happiness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Go on, treat yourself!, 10 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Mr Darcy's Secret (Paperback)
Get ready to relive the world of Pride and Prejudice! Jane Odiwe's Mr Darcy's Secret explores life for the newly married Darcy couple. The book begins just after Lizzy's fairytale wedding at Longbourn. But it's not long before our heroine has to cope with the hostility of Lady Catherine de Bourgh and her friends. Soon Elizabeth wonders if she knows her husband as well as she thought. Who is the mysterious child allegedly linked with the Darcy family? Is her husband involved? What is the meaning of Caroline Bingley's dark hints? The bride also has her hands full with Georgiana Darcy - a rash engagement, egged on by her brother Darcy, could wreck Georgiana's happiness forever. Odiwe skilfully and lovingly recreates Austen's characters, and there are some wonderful touches of humour, too. The sizzling plot will keep readers turning the page to find out what happens next. Will Lizzy and Darcy have a happy ending after all, or will a long-hidden Pemberley scandal wreck their marriage? You'll have to read the book to find out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book, 26 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Darcy's Secret (Paperback)
I love reading books and this adds to my collection based on the original Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well-written and engaging!, 20 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Darcy's Secret (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book - it was very interesting to watch our spirited heroine assume her duties as Mrs Darcy and Mistress of Pemberley, and Mr Darcy was as loving and lovable as I've come expect. The language was in keeping with the era, and I thought the characters were very much 'in character' - it was fun to see that Lizzy is still forthright, Darcy is still reserved (although his wife does 'loosen him up' a bit), Georgiana is still shy, Caroline is still catty, Lady Catherine is still self-absorbed, Mr Bennet is still sarcastic, Mrs Bennet is still silly, etc etc. But it never felt like a rehash of the original novel - Ms Odiwe did a great job of taking the story forward in a way that felt fresh and engaging.

The book is about Darcy and Elizabeth getting to know each other on a deeper level as a married couple, and discovering new things (good, bad and in between) about each other - and about themselves. I loved the fact that Darcy is not magically transformed into some sort of 'perfect man' by Elizabeth's love - this book is much more realistic in that he's still human and flawed (as is Elizabeth, although her flaws are altogether different), but he is learning to be willing and humble enough to accept his mistakes when confronted with their truth, and learning to have a change of heart when it's called for - that's what knowing Elizabeth has done for him, and it's beautifully depicted in this story. I really loved all the Lizzy/Darcy scenes - Ms Odiwe wrote them with a beautiful, deft, subtle hand, and those are the scenes I enjoyed the most. I appreciated the tastefulness and restraint with which Ms Odiwe depicted the love and intimacy of the Darcys' relationship as man and wife. I also really enjoyed the Bennets' (and Bingleys') first visit to Pemberley - again, beautifully written, and one of the most effective scenes is between Elizabeth and Jane - their closeness is one of my favourite things about P&P, and it was depicted so well in 'Mr Darcy's Secret'.

There is a sub-plot about Georgiana's love-life, and while I thought the author did an excellent job of 'sketching' Georgiana's character (I loved her affinity for art and gentle nature), I was a little less satisfied with this part of the book than the rest of it - I thought the resolution, in particular, was a trifle facile. But that's just me, and maybe I'll look at it differently when I read this book again. Also less than satisfying for me was the sub-plot with Caroline Bingley and the artist at the Lake District - those scenes, though intended for humour (I think), were just a little over the top for my tastes, and felt unnecessary.

But those are minor quibbles really; on the whole I really enjoyed this book - the 'secret' of its title was slowly and effectively unfolded, and used as a device to show the reader the nuances of the Darcys' relationship - and to help them grow as a couple and to learn more about each other, and I really appreciated that. This is definitely one of the better P&P-based novels I've had the pleasure of coming across, and I will definitely be revisiting it to savour my favourite scenes over and over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mr Darcy's Secret
Mr Darcy's Secret by Jane Odiwe (Paperback - 25 Feb. 2011)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews