Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad
I read Linda Berdoll's two books before I read this one which may have negatively affected how I viewed this book. Whilst Berdoll tries to keep the language and structure of Austen (not completely successfully) I found that this sequel by Altman started well but slipped into almost modern vernacular by the second half of the book and the story seemed a little at odds with...
Published on 14 Dec 2008 by Sm Drew

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So many P&P sequels.....
... so little time!

This one was OK and I quite enjoyed reading it. Thinking about it afterwards though, some of the events seemed to me more and more unlikely - and I mean physically unlikely in the real world, not just the Austen universe! I'm not sure this is one I will be reading again.
Published on 20 Feb 2009 by Mrs. D. J. Smith


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 14 Dec 2008
By 
Sm Drew "dingalongcow" (Colchester, Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Darcys and the Bingleys (Pride & Prejudice Continues) (Paperback)
I read Linda Berdoll's two books before I read this one which may have negatively affected how I viewed this book. Whilst Berdoll tries to keep the language and structure of Austen (not completely successfully) I found that this sequel by Altman started well but slipped into almost modern vernacular by the second half of the book and the story seemed a little at odds with how I perceived Austen's original characters.
Having said that it was much lighter and faster paced than Berdoll's two doorstopper books and I really did enjoy it. It took me about 8 hours to read the whole thing and I put the book down feeling satisfied at the resolution of the story (whereas with Berdoll I felt like I was still waiting for something else to happen). Despite the references to the Kama Sutra in the blurb which almost put me off buying the book, there is much less explicit sex in Altman's book than Berdoll's; its implied and 'after the fact' rather than accompanying the characters through a sweaty coupling in every room of Pemberley. The whole Kama Sutra theme seems to be less of a plot point than some of the more exciting aspects of the story (which arent mentioned on the back cover).
Wickham is virtually ignored, the villain's role is taken by a different character and several other characters take a definite step back which I found quite refreshing, but as I said, no-one behaved quite as I envisioned them doing.
Overall this is a sweeter and lighter sequel to P&P, a romantic following of the lives of our favourite characters with a little bit of excitement and adventure thrown it. I
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So many P&P sequels....., 20 Feb 2009
By 
Mrs. D. J. Smith "eowyngreenleaf" (Luton, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Darcys and the Bingleys (Pride & Prejudice Continues) (Paperback)
... so little time!

This one was OK and I quite enjoyed reading it. Thinking about it afterwards though, some of the events seemed to me more and more unlikely - and I mean physically unlikely in the real world, not just the Austen universe! I'm not sure this is one I will be reading again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Regency frolic, 23 Aug 2010
By 
This review is from: The Darcys and the Bingleys (Pride & Prejudice Continues) (Paperback)
If you are an Austenite this book will be a sad disappintment because its tone and language is not appropriate for the time in which it is set i.e. Regency England.

For example: there was no 'Fall' in nineteenth century England; there was only Autumn. No-one 'cracked a smile', 'raised a ruckus' or 'went on the lam'. They did not say 'not that much of a journey' when they meant 'it's a short journey'; nor did they use the word 'wont', which means to be 'inclined towards' when they meant 'reluctant'; or 'result' when they meant 'resort'. These are only several examples but many other pervade the whole book. Therefore, one would have to say, Marsha Altman is no successor to Jane Austen.

However, this writer has no need to hang her talent on Jane Austen's coat peg. Without that, the story she has written is an otherwise enjoyable Regency Romp, funny and interesting, and it stands thus in its own right. Many readers would welcome more stories of this kind but, please, without the twentiety century idiomatic dialogue.

However, if the D&B storyline is to continue it would be an excellent idea to engage an English-born editor who understands the nineteenth century speech patterns and then-current slang, to remove the obvious anomalies and attitudes which presently spoil the story, setting the reader on the outside when, clearly, for perfect enjoyment one wants to be fully immersed on the inside.

Finally, isn't it simply good manners to familiarise oneself with the time and place about which you intend to write?

Patricia R Olds. Author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book worth every penny, 22 Mar 2009
This review is from: The Darcys and the Bingleys (Pride & Prejudice Continues) (Paperback)
Having read Linda Berdoll's sequels, i was interested in just what other ones were out there. This book contains the passion berdoll created but i felt the ending was more satisfying. The author also adds a touch of humor to the story which in my opinion makes thestory even more enjoyable. Bacically I loved it!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, 22 Jan 2010
By 
Ms. SAMANTHA ANDERSON "sam" (Shetland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Darcys and the Bingleys (Pride & Prejudice Continues) (Paperback)
Its ok! If like me you love to hear any news about Elizabeth and Darcy and their life after P&P you'll read it because, lets face it, what else do you have?

But please, has anyone every read a P&P sequel that they absolutely loved and didn't feel slightly disappointed by? Genuinely asking for recommendations because every one I have read has annoying Americanisms in it, is pretty boring and could be about anyone. Would love to read a satisfying sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Was it "really hard" to mind the vocabulary?, 22 Jun 2009
This review is from: The Darcys and the Bingleys (Pride & Prejudice Continues) (Paperback)
The book started with good promise, but became boring very quickly... The only good thing about it is Elisabeth Bennet whom the author managed to portray as the lively and witty young woman she is supposed to be (even though often unfashionably and un-Austenably nosy), a seemingly easy task no other P&P pre- or sequel I've read has managed to pull off... But why does she - and all the other characters, for that matter - have to speak modern American English?! If researching Regency English was too much work, a more neutral language could have been used, to spare us the uncomfortable anachronisms on every page...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sad treatment of familiar characters, 5 Aug 2011
This review is from: The Darcys and the Bingleys (Pride & Prejudice Continues) (Paperback)
It is a truth, universally acknowledged, that a much-loved book must be in need of a satisfying sequel. Unfortunately, this is not it. It is true that the names of the characters are familiar ones, but they have undergone such a change of behaviour that they seem like totally different people. For example, Wickham pays a visit to Darcy and Bingley on the day of their joint wedding with the Bennet sisters. An interesting thought, but it culminates in Wickham being thrown out of a "second" storey window (which would, of course, have been first storey to Darcey and Bingley) into a pile of manure. This breaks his fall, but the reader is left wondering what such a sufficiently large pile of manure was doing up against the wall of a fine house in the first place. One also wonders at the change in Darcy's character that allows him to treat even Wickham in this way. Elsewhere we learn that the news of the pregnancy of Mrs Collins is being kept from the "Rosings crowd" . A book that purports to be a sequel to a much loved early 19th century novel needs to use the language of that period, but fails to do so far too often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Bit Silly, 19 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Darcys and the Bingleys (Pride & Prejudice Continues) (Paperback)
Although I enjoyed this book, the only similarity it has with any characters created by Jane Austen are their names. Other than that they are entirely unrecognisable - this book could have been about any group of wealthy people at this time. The plot was silly and unbelievable and the writing pretty poor. The author thanked her editors for spotting mistakes - they cannot looked very far. One sentence had 4 negatives in it - I can cope with double negatives, but quadruple!!! Also you could tell this was written by an American with no real idea of Georgian society or UK geography. I mean Lizzy riding, on her own, from Pemberley to Scotland!! Purlease! And Charles Bingley being called 'Junior' by his father. Beyond silly!
However it was an adequate Sunday morning lay-in book, which was mildly enjoyable - hence the stars. However I would not buy any more of this author's work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not really true to Jane but kinda fun, 17 Nov 2010
This review is from: The Darcys and the Bingleys (Pride & Prejudice Continues) (Paperback)
I absolutely love Pride and Prejudice so understandably have tried many sequels. This one is unbelievable from many perspectives and I did not find the characters and their personality traits true to Jane's original ones. If you are a die-hard fan and want a sequel that remains true, do not read this one as you will be disappointed.

That said, I found this a fun light book and enjoyed it....but not from a Pride & Prejudice sequel!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Fun, 19 Oct 2009
This review is from: The Darcys and the Bingleys (Pride & Prejudice Continues) (Paperback)
This novel doesn't aspire to be anything other than a fun story that takes over from another. It is a friendly hommage to Miss Austen, something that is rare in this plethora of 'wanna-be's'. Although the novel offered no pause for thought, it was full of giggles and for that I salute the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Darcys and the Bingleys (Pride & Prejudice Continues)
The Darcys and the Bingleys (Pride & Prejudice Continues) by Marsha Altman (Paperback - 30 Jan 2009)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews