Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gobsmacked
Wow this was just so far from what I expected in so many ways. It's absolutely charming, drags a little towards the middle, but picks itself back up and finishes in style

I'd highly recommend this and now I'm off to find the next book in the series.
Published 18 months ago by EmmaCS

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "The Cat Star Chronicles" book 1
Six years ago when her sister Renata was snatched by Nedwut aliens, Jacinth (Jack) vowed to her parents that she would not stop until she found her beautiful little sister. Working as a trader and planet hopping in the hopes of locating Renata, Jack discovers her sister is now on Statzeel; a world on which all females are slaves. Not wanting to end up in captivity...
Published on 2 Nov 2008 by Book Addict


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "The Cat Star Chronicles" book 1, 2 Nov 2008
By 
Book Addict - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Slave (Cat Star Chronicles) (Mass Market Paperback)
Six years ago when her sister Renata was snatched by Nedwut aliens, Jacinth (Jack) vowed to her parents that she would not stop until she found her beautiful little sister. Working as a trader and planet hopping in the hopes of locating Renata, Jack discovers her sister is now on Statzeel; a world on which all females are slaves. Not wanting to end up in captivity herself, although she finds the idea abhorrent Jack decides to purchase her own slave to impersonate her "master"; intending to release him from servitude and pay handsomely for his help.

On the planet Orpheseus Prime, Jack finds exactly what she needs in the slave market, a humanoid (though somewhat feline looking) slave who looks to have suffered plenty of abuse at the hands of his previous owners. Drawn to him Jack purchases "Cat" however decides to release him immediately when he reveals he intends to escape at the first available opportunity. Not having the time to hunt him down Jack decides to leave the planet to continue her search for her sister; however this time she has an ally, the newly free Cat who agrees to help her.

CB appears to have put so much work into her plot that she forgot to really develop her characters. There is plenty of background history revealed amid the action packed and exciting story line yet the leading lovers remained somewhat flat and one dimensional. Despite being a promising start to a new series there were parts of "Slave" that I found a little far-fetched (even in a futuristic setting) and somewhat irritating. Jack is far too trusting of Cat; literally placing her safety in his hands almost instantaneously when he assumes the role of her "owner" whilst their developing relationship is certainly rushed, almost sacrificed to the adjacent plot line in which Jack tracks her sister through space. One moment the slightly cynical, highly independent Jack is ogling the muscles on Cat, the next she is totally besotted and blabbing to everyone how much she loves him without much of an emotional bond developing between the pair at all. Lastly CB hints that Cat has some psychic abilities at the start of this book; yet she appears to forget this and it certainly isn't explored throughout the rest of the story line.

That said, I still enjoyed "Slave" and feel I may have been overly critical in awarding this book only 3 stars. It is a better than average read (although not on par with some of my favourite sci-fi romance authors) with some sizzling sex scenes and imaginative ideas, and I have every intention of reading book 2 in this series "Warrior" (just recently released) despite my somewhat negative review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gobsmacked, 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wow this was just so far from what I expected in so many ways. It's absolutely charming, drags a little towards the middle, but picks itself back up and finishes in style

I'd highly recommend this and now I'm off to find the next book in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good little read, 26 Dec 2010
I agree to 90% with "Book Addict's" review. I do not agree with the review by Mac Anne, I mean she has not even read the whole book, what kind of review is that?!

It was a nice little read, hopefully leading to further books. Its Fantasy and Sci-Fi joined in one. It would have been nice to have more outer space action, but overall it was fun to read. That is why I gave it a 4 Star. Hope the next one will be a 5 Star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic read, 29 Dec 2013
By 
Helli (Isle of Sheppey Kent) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great read about space travel, kidnaping, strange alien customs, slavery and romance . A story of great passion and the will to over come great odds. A great read I can't wait to read more, well recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Mmmm not sure, 4 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Probably more like 2.5 stars. I did enjoy bits of the book, quite funny in places, but other parts were toe curling bad! Definitely an easy read. Probably wouldn't recommend to friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars What can one say?, 3 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If the idea of space opera liberally laced with enthusiastically explicit (it is definitely not "soft porn" as on reviewer has described it!) heterosexual porn written by an author who clearly has a major thing for cats then this may be for you. It is moderately well written and reasonably entertaining, although literature it ain't!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DIre!, 6 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Without doubt one of the worst books I have ever read. Containing every trite and hackneyed phrase imaginable, it was a cross between bad SF and even worse soft porn, apparently written by a 14 year old boy! Avoid it like the plague. I can't believe it was actually published.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What not to read, 1 Oct 2008
By 
Mac_Anne (Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slave (Cat Star Chronicles) (Mass Market Paperback)
I have only given this one star I would not even give it that if I had the option. I can honestly say I have seldon read a worse story than this it was, I think trying to be erotic scifi but it failed. I was completly uninterested in the storyline and in fact gave up reading it about a third of the way through. There are much better erotic stories out there and even more good Scifi and fantasy books. Or even a story with both elements if you like m/m relationships choose My Fair Captain by J.L.Langley or if not for you any of the Jayne Castle paranormal stories or Nalini Singh's Psy-Changlings books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Slave (Cat Star Chronicles)
Slave (Cat Star Chronicles) by Cheryl Brooks (Mass Market Paperback - 19 Dec 2008)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews