Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wickedly delightful
What the book says....

A Scottish Highlands werewolf fleeing his destiny ...

Gideon MacInnes is a werewolf from the Scottish Highlands. He loves the haunting beauty of his home, but runs away to upstate New York, grappling with his destiny of being his clan's next alpha. As a snowstorm closes in, Gideon is attacked by rogue wolves working for an...
Published on 24 Aug 2009 by Amazon Customer

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ugh, such a dissapointment!
This is an ok read but I found it dissapointing in that the plot didnt really have much pace and I found the characters a bit too accepting of everything. I love PR books but this one I would compare to a monday mid-afternoon made for tv movie in that its ok if you are home sick and cant be bothered to put on a film you really want to watch.
Published on 13 Aug 2010 by F. Lawless


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wickedly delightful, 24 Aug 2009
This review is from: Call of the Highland Moon (Mass Market Paperback)
What the book says....

A Scottish Highlands werewolf fleeing his destiny ...

Gideon MacInnes is a werewolf from the Scottish Highlands. He loves the haunting beauty of his home, but runs away to upstate New York, grappling with his destiny of being his clan's next alpha. As a snowstorm closes in, Gideon is attacked by rogue wolves working for an enemy he never imagined existed. He stumbles, wounded and bleeding, to collapse on the doorstep of Carly Silver's tiny romance bookstore-ironic, as she's never been very good at relationships with men.

A warmhearted woman, looking for a new pet ...

Thinking he's a dog, she takes him home, treats his injuries and wakes up to find a devastatingly handsome naked man in her bed.

Trapped together through the raging storm, Gideon discovers that he's found his mate and Carly has to choose between becoming a werewolf, charged with protecting humankind from the inhabitants of an evil otherworld, or giving up the one man she's ever truly loved ...

What i think....

This is a fab book and Kendra, for me, has captured the rugged Scottish werewolf brilliantly. Gideon is sexy and I could almost drool over him whilst Carly is smart and she definitely has him wrapped around her little finger. This book captured my imagination and I have already ordered the next book in the series. Definitely worth reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting slant on Werewolves!, 17 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this book very easy to get into and to identify with the characters, even if the 'does he/she love me as much as I love her/him' saga that seems to be endemic in most Werewolf tales, meant that the first part of it had echoes of 'same old, same old' about it. The underlying storey line is interesting and has a whole new slant on the origin of the species (Werewolves that is).
Engagingly written with an eye for not only the characters and the plot but also for the scenery in which it is played out. It raunches well in places and the action is not too shabby at all. A very enjoyable read and I look forward to the next in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ugh, such a dissapointment!, 13 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call of the Highland Moon (Mass Market Paperback)
This is an ok read but I found it dissapointing in that the plot didnt really have much pace and I found the characters a bit too accepting of everything. I love PR books but this one I would compare to a monday mid-afternoon made for tv movie in that its ok if you are home sick and cant be bothered to put on a film you really want to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
By 
Diane James - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
excellent :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars highland moon eally, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call of the Highland Moon (Mass Market Paperback)
If you like this type of highland romance book you will definitely enjoy reading this book its a really good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Want more, 25 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It would be great to gave a sequel. Thoroughly enjoyed the tense excitement waiting to see what would happen. Great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3.5 stars. Pretty good read., 11 Sep 2011
By 
E. L. Joseph (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call of the Highland Moon (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the first book by Kendra Leigh Castle i have read and I'm definitely going to read more. This book follows Gideon MacInnes; Scottish werewolf trying to escape his responsibilities as next alpha of the pack and shy bookstore owner Carly Silver. Gideon is attacked and left vulnerable in a storm and Carly takes him home thinking that he is a dog, only to find a naked man in his place the next day.

I read the synopsis and just had to read the book. Overall I thought that it was pretty good, the only flaw being that Carly accepted everything quite easily and i think more could have been made of it. Most of the book followed the growing relationship between the main characters and the sinister plot against the MacInnes family which was good but not particularly fast-paced. It took me a while to get through this book though i did really enjoy it. Things plodded along nicely but the books i normally read are faster and edgier than this was.

The characters were very likeable and I was drawn into the story so much so that i will read the others in the series and hopefully I will like those too. I have definitely read better books in this genre but nonetheless I am hooked enough to want to find out what happens next. Oh and another good point (for me anyway as i am Scottish is that Gideon wasn't really badly done with a naff accent to spoil the book - Scots have been done far worse by other authors which can make it really hard to take a book seriously when you are half offended and half amused by a ridiculous attempt at writing a Scottish accent!)

Small warning though - I have searched high and low for the second book in this series which according to many websites is now out of print (despite Amazon allowing it to be pre-ordered?) and the only hard copies available are the used ones. (For those that have Kindles I think that it can be downloaded). Since I am an old fashioned bookworm, I am after the book and have bought a second hand one from the states which should hopefully arrive soon but I wouldn't normally do this. (so this book must have been pretty good then). The third book (which i have also bought) seems to be easy enough to get a hold of from Amazon (so far anyway).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Call of the Highland Moon
Call of the Highland Moon by Kendra Leigh Castle (Mass Market Paperback - 16 Aug 2008)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews