Customer Reviews


107 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (32)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely bit of fluff!
The appeal of Jane Austen's masterpiece lies in the accessibility of the characters. They have probably been recognisable since cavemen evolved beyond the grunt. Emily Bronte's complaint about throbbing etc is ironically astute - as therein lies the appeal. An exhilerating plot can consume more attention than the protagonists. Austen's characters are...
Published on 26 Jan 2006 by N Tjarawar

versus
235 of 240 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good story but let down in too many places
I bought this book on the strength of the reviews from Amazon.co.uk and, to some extent, these reviews were accurate. The overall feeling from these reviews is that this is a fun, lighthearted, saucy adventure which worthily carries on the P&P story but this time shedding light on the marriage in all its facets, including in the bedroom.

Yes, this book was (in...
Published on 29 May 2006 by Helen Hancox


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars awful awful awful!, 24 Jun 2012
This review is from: Mr. Darcy Takes a Wife: Pride and Prejudice Continues (Pride & Prejudice Continues) (Paperback)
Recommended to me by a friend who knows how much I love Jane Austen. Well, this could have been the end of a beautiful friendship!!

What a terrible book. J.A would be rolling in her grave at this poorly written story-less piece of smut! It fails on all levels.. as a continuation of P+P, as an erotic novel , and as a piece of coherent writing. In a nut shell is is rubbish. I was slightly amused while reading it , but mostly by the very peculiar writing style and the author's attempts to sound authentic by throwing random Regency style words 'Howbeit' anyone? Also by the author's dismal grasp of England's geography. I mean, come ON..how hard would it have been to check a map and find out which way up is North.. last time I traveled I was going south to Dover..... and making it from Rosings to Pembeley in one morning... hell those horses must have been rocket powered. Simple but irritating errors.

Overall a great disappointment. Stick to the originals!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars sigh..., 28 Aug 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr. Darcy Takes a Wife: Pride and Prejudice Continues (Pride & Prejudice Continues) (Paperback)
What can you say? total load of rubbish, and the English is just dreadful!
I wish the writer had taken the time to do some reading herself, maybe she would then know that we Brits do not have 'bangs', we have a fringe. Also, the DUVET did not arrive here until the 1970's, there are more mistakes of this nature, all very annoying, and this combined with the silly use of sex and most perculiar ways of describing body parts is enough to render this the worst P&P follow up I have ever had the great misfortune to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 47 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Oh no, not again!, 26 April 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr. Darcy Takes a Wife: Pride and Prejudice Continues (Pride & Prejudice Continues) (Paperback)
At first, I thought this book was going to be a clever, tongue in cheek sequel to "Pride and Prejudice", but before many chapters had passed it became obvious that Linda Berdoll's Mr.Darcy had a one-track mind and little or no regard for his wife's well-being or dignity. As page after page revealed yet another "variation on a theme", I could only yawn and think sadly, "Oh no,not again!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a continuation, rather a character study, 24 Jan 2007
This review is from: Mr. Darcy Takes a Wife: Pride and Prejudice Continues (Pride & Prejudice Continues) (Paperback)
It is a truth universally acknowledged that our classic stories should not have "sequels", but should remain as one off, excellent examples of written beauty. The shades of Pemberley should not be polluted by Americanisms and continual reference to male appendages, let alone an obvious failing to understand that in England a married woman never keeps her maiden name and adds it to her husband's. I will concede that the characterisation of the Darcy's was true to the original, which was interesting and kept me reading. I am not, like Lady Catherine, "most seriously displeased", but I am saddened that an English editor didn't see the book before it went to print. Overall, a jolly good romp that was let down by some poor editing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely bit of fluff!, 26 Jan 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr. Darcy Takes a Wife: Pride and Prejudice Continues (Pride & Prejudice Continues) (Paperback)
The appeal of Jane Austen's masterpiece lies in the accessibility of the characters. They have probably been recognisable since cavemen evolved beyond the grunt. Emily Bronte's complaint about throbbing etc is ironically astute - as therein lies the appeal. An exhilerating plot can consume more attention than the protagonists. Austen's characters are all thrown into sharp relief, without needing excess parody, by the ordinariness behind them. The result is exquisitely elegant social satire and characters you can, with very little effort, believe are real.
I know P&P inside out - it has been my favourite book since I was 14 - I read and re-read it, and then studied it. I get very defensive with my favourite things. If adaptations try to subvert and change the plot, I get cross.
However, I love to hear other people's views, and other people's imaginings are intriguing. If you have read Pride and Prejudice, enjoyed it, yet not wanted to look into the happy ever after, you are in the minority, and, lucky you, you can treasure the mystery by never opening a sequel. These books are tributes. They are no more "cheeky" or "copywrite infringing" than an A-level essay. They are about (often rather good) authors indulging in a bit of a luxurient wallow through their own imagination and inviting us to join them. If they make a profit, good for them - they've bestowed pleasure.
Mr Darcy Takes a Wife did little to offend my favourite thing prejudices. I would have liked to have had Austen's own scant follow up followed. In this sequel, Mr Bennet did not consistently turn up uninvited at Pemberley. Lady Catherine did not unbend. Kitty did not spend most of her time with her older sisters...etc. And I really do identify with the reviewers who were irritated by the spelling. I'm a bit of a spelling and grammar fascist myself, because, when immersed in a book, a clanger of a spelling error, anachronism or misuse of language can jar and un-immerse me quite quickly. It's distracting and unnecessary in a published novel, as these minor mistakes should be edited out. (I also notice that some of the strongest critics of this book seem to have a strong disdain for spelling, punctuation and sentence structure - they clearly perpetrate what they do not tolerate!)
Criticism aside, the essence of Darcy and Elizabeth does actually shine through in this book. The characters draw and build on their very strong P&P foundations, and the result is, they are genuinely loveable. The book is exciting because they make you care deeply about what happens to them. The plot is exciting too - what it lacks in beautiful Austenesque round-dress simplicity it makes up for in imagination and pace. It's swashbuckling and fun. It's even well written (varying from almost well written to superbly well written). All of this is a great bonus because it's not the point of the book - the point is, it's glorious Darcy-porn! (Even if the naughty bits actually only occupy about 1/20th of the book.) I overcame my dislike of change to compulsively rewind the wet-shirt-from-the-lake scene in the BBC adaptation, so I can certainly make a similar concession here. I am a doctor, so quite physically aware and interested in human nature; I am also a normal 25 year old with the matching libido! I LIKE being titillated. Why not? Pornography is usually pneumatic and dull. Female orientated eroticism is usually too evasive for my dirty medical mind. Romance in either of the above is rocking horse poo! Jane Austen creates a wonderful frisson between her leads which is admirable for its subtlety; sexy without sex. Linda Berdoll allows frisson to blossom into fusion, graphic stuff, yet it's all wrapped up with an accomplished plot, good characters, and avoids a tawdry modern bodily function treatment of sex by confining it to a loving marriage. I sometimes think it's a shame that sex sex sex has to penetrate every aspect of our society, but it has it's place, and Mr Darcy's bedroom is one of those places.
The other major achievement of this sequel is it retains the sly, but not spiteful, humour of Jane Austen. It actually is very funny. All this combines to make it one of the most enjoyable reads I've had for ages. It's no substitute for Jane Austen, but for a lovely lazy read with characters who feel like old friends, it's good enough for me to spend this quiet evening while my husband's on call writing my first essay for years in praise of it! Miss Austen is still Queen, but Linda Berdoll is a worthy Caroline Lamb. Please keep writing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disapointing :o(, 13 Sep 2005
This review is from: Mr. Darcy Takes a Wife: Pride and Prejudice Continues (Pride & Prejudice Continues) (Paperback)
There were some quite good plot lines in this book, what ruined it for me was the excessive amount of sex scenes in it - there were so many that it got quite boring!
I also thought that Elizabeths character was somewhat subdued in this book. What happened to the sarcastic cheeky remarks that she was so known for in Pride & Prejudice?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Made me feel quite sick, 15 May 2006
By 
H. Sneddon (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr. Darcy Takes a Wife: Pride and Prejudice Continues (Pride & Prejudice Continues) (Paperback)
If you are a Jane Austen fan give this a wide berth. I'm not a prude by any means but the constant sexual references were enough to put me off my chocolate and that's saying something. The author has no grasp of the language of the time and unfortunately each page became more and more irritating and even embarrassing - it made me cringe. I honestly didn't feel that there was anything of the characters from P&P in this book. There are plenty P&P sequels on the market - my advice is to choose something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not for fans of Austen, 10 Dec 2008
By 
N. J. Kirk "nicolena" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mr. Darcy Takes a Wife: Pride and Prejudice Continues (Pride & Prejudice Continues) (Paperback)
Well, I have to say after having read through just half of this book, that it's possibly the worst piece of fanfiction I've ever read. It's almost as if the authoress wants to relive her own Darcy fantasies through Elizabeth.

The prose is painful to read and poorly researched. Elizabeth has gone from being one of the best written females in literature; witty, smart, charming and strong to a banal, sex-obsessed wanton. Darcy doesn't fare much better. I've read Jilly Cooper books that have had less sex in them and more of a plot. Granted, most newlyweds do enjoy a healthy sexual realtionship - but this gets excessive to the point of dullness, fast.

Other reviewers have, rightly so, mentioned the bizarre geography and use of prose. One has to wonder if there was an editor employed.

If you don't care about continuity, attention to detail and Pride and Prejudice then you may well enjoy this book. Die hard fans of Austen should probably avoid at all costs. I wish I had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worst P&P book I've ever read, 29 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr. Darcy Takes a Wife: Pride and Prejudice Continues (Pride & Prejudice Continues) (Paperback)
Mr Darcy takes a Wife was the first and the worst book related to P&P I have ever read.
If you are looking for something similar to 50 shades of Grey, than this is the book for you.
If you truly loved P&P for the intensity of love between Darcy and Elizabeth, than this is not for you.
I wouldn't find the book so bad if it wasn't a sequel of P&P, but being so, it's terrible. I could imagine this plot in our century, but never in regency period.
The first 50 pages of the book are about sex, and even though it gets better, it has nothing to do with Pride & Prejudice.
I am very glad I did not give up on this kind of books, and that nothing was ever so bad as this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not written in English as we know it, 9 Mar 2013
By 
C. Baron - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr. Darcy Takes a Wife: Pride and Prejudice Continues (Pride & Prejudice Continues) (Paperback)
As others have said, the language of this book is so peculiar as to be a real obstacle to reading with enjoyment. Examples: "Aye" used repeatedly for "I" in the mouths of country people - presumably to the writer this conveys a rustic English accent. It doesn't, as "aye" is pronounced "I". Elizabeth has a "lady-maid" (as an alternative to a gentleman-maid? or a woman-maid?) and pregnancy results in "laying-in" (stocking up?) rather than lying-in. And could a candle-holder, however large, "subjugate" a dining table?
Even the cover is comical in its inaccuracy: there's nothing in P&P to suggest that Elizabeth Bennet is "universally admired" and she would have shown extraordinary prescience, as well as becoming an object of ridicule, had she worn "crinolines" during the Regency.
This is not a criticism of American English - the author has developed her own opaque language, neither American nor British, neither C19th nor C21st. I'm surprised at her publishers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mr. Darcy Takes a Wife: Pride and Prejudice Continues (Pride & Prejudice Continues)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews