Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 29 Feb 2012
By 
Paula Ward "Hearth Witch" (Milton Keynes England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sparkpeople Cookbook: Love Your Food, Lose the Weight (Hardcover)
Well worth the money lots of information and good recipes. Yes it is American but the ingredients are obtainable in the UK. Nothing fancy but good wholesome tasty food that looks and tastes good. My husband said the food looks far from diet food and that is a good thing.Recipes that actually work, taste good and low in fat and calories make it possible to eat foods that are good for you and look, for want of a better word, 'normal'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great food we can actually eat!, 22 Nov 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sparkpeople Cookbook: Love Your Food, Lose the Weight (Hardcover)
Wonderful to have a book full of great food and we can have it all. Lots of meals for ordinary days and special days as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars happy with purchase, 6 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sparkpeople Cookbook: Love Your Food, Lose the Weight (Hardcover)
really happy with purchase i hve tried recipies already and they r very good. so i will b trying a few more soon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yummmm!!!!, 11 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sparkpeople Cookbook: Love Your Food, Lose the Weight (Hardcover)
I came across this book when I joined the SparkPeople Website - and admit falling for their catchy 'Chocolate Cake' advertising banner (it promised a BIG slice of cake rather than a teeny tiny one!).... Having tried many diets and cook books, I was a bit skeptical about this one.

IT IS FANTASTIC! I completely love it! They give you loads of information up front about cooking and getting things ready and why it's ok to add butter to recipes (hoorah!). The recipes themselves range from super easy to slightly more complex, but still do-able and each one so far has been delicious and I've had no flops! A few things that stand out about the book for me:

- I have made some of the recipes more than once (quite rare for me)
- They really ARE delicious - many of the recipes taste better than what I normally cook
- My husband hasn't noticed we're on diet (well, I've told him, but he keeps saying how good our food is)
- Portion sizes are reasonable...no skimping... but they're also not big but with no flavour (there are no undressed salads here!)
- I enjoy batch cooking and there are great suggestions about what to freeze and even a 2-week batch cook plan that shares ingredients
- We've saved a bit of money on the weekly shop using the batch cooking plan

Downsides:
- The usual conversion from Fahrenheit to Celcius, ounces to grams etc... although there is a very detailed conversion table at the back of the book
- I don't have all the tools they suggest (e.g. mixers), but these are probably standard for most homes, and I have been able to work around them
- Hmm.. can't really think of any others!

So - all in all - it's great book and I highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rather good, 29 April 2013
By 
I. Darren (Fi) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Sparkpeople Cookbook: Love Your Food, Lose the Weight (Hardcover)
It is always pleasing to see a a big, fat cookbook that aims to help you lose weight - it just feels right in an irrational, hard-to-explain way. And this is a b-i-g book!

SparkPeople is a major U.S.-based weight-loss and fitness website and this book offers up over 160 different recipes built on "real-food, generous portions and great flavours" principles. The central chain of thought is that if you have recipes that you enjoy, that use everyday ingredients and do not require you be chained to the kitchen for hours on end, you are more likely to follow them and not put on the pounds. This reviewer can agree with that. All too many weight-loss books appear to be fanatical, faddish or unrealistic with their aims. The aims themselves sound good yet achieving them and continuing to achieve them is a different matter.

At the start of the book there is a lengthy introduction, a major look at how we eat, the science of dieting and weight-loss psychology and a primer to the kitchen and the art of cooking for those who need it. Plus what seems to be "obligatory" success stories. Now this reviewer might be unduly sceptical but a book of this nature is not likely to feature mini profiles of people who tried and failed to diet/lose weight/go forward so why "waste" pages on this schmaltz. It could be a cultural thing but in any case these inoffensive profiles seemed to just devalue or cheapen the overall programme. Your views may vary.

So onto the food and the recipes, which are split into different meal types or occasions. After a bit of an introduction, scene-setter and background explanation you can finally (!) get cooking. Most, but not all, recipes feature their own full-colour photograph of the final item, which helps the casual, indecisive browser fasten onto something that looks tasty. To this reviewer there is just a bit of a nagging feeling that this book is a little too verbose, particularly when there is a separate volume available dealing with weight-loss strategies. The padding, as it could be called, seems to get in the way of the recipes after a while and that is the shame. This would still be a great book with a third less pages, just focussing on the recipes...

As it is, the recipes are a perfect textbook example of how to present them to the reader. Full marks here. Clear layout, all the information you could require, step-by-step instructions and even an estimation of the total preparation and cooking time. The only niggle and a surprising oversight is the sole use of imperial measures. Even though the programme behind the book does not focus on calorie counting, there is a per-portion calculation of key nutritional information as a guide, should you really want to know.

By skimming through the various recipes you might not immediately realise that this is a weight-loss book. That is a great testament to the diversity and thoroughness of thought that has gone into this book. You get what might be comfort food, or engaging food, which has the "side benefit" of being good for you. Dependent on how you structure your lifestyle you might not lose weight in weeks, but at least by carefully watching what you eat and perhaps with a bit of exercise you will slowly see the benefits, both on and off the weighing scales. A mass of appendices at the end give further reference advice to the reader and a great index lets you dig deep into this book.

A book like this is a tough thing to review. It can be really down to personal choice if you gel with a given weight-loss programme or not. This reviewer didn't gel with the style and the verbosity that surrounded it. However the recipes on offer were great and this book could still be good investment as a general recipe book even if you ignore all of the weight-loss stuff. The price was not excessive for a book of this kind in any case. Overall, a positive experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Truly Great Weight Loss Tool, 10 Oct 2012
By 
This review is from: The Sparkpeople Cookbook: Love Your Food, Lose the Weight (Hardcover)
Simply put this is a fantastic tool to possess for anyone looking to lose weight. I use the Spark People website and saw this book was available on amazon and purchased it straight away.
It has all manors of recipes for breakfast, lunch, dinner, desserts, snacks & seasonings. It will give you many great easy to follow recipes and the best bit is they are well balanced low calorie options which for anyone looking to lose weight is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars yummy, 7 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sparkpeople Cookbook: Love Your Food, Lose the Weight (Hardcover)
great book at a bargain price.sparkpeople are a great team.sign onto them an lose lots of weight eatin healthily .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good easy food, 28 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Healthy food that is easy to prepare. Some of the recipes are so simple you will kick yourself for not thinking of it yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cook Book, 19 Jun 2013
By 
Mrs. J. A. Jervis (Bicester,Oxfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very good cook book if you are following a healthy eating plan, even for vegetarians like me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth every penny, 3 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sparkpeople Cookbook: Love Your Food, Lose the Weight (Hardcover)
I am a member of Sparkpeople.com, but I have only just decided to invest in this product. I'm so glad I did! Even though the recipes are for healthy living and weight loss, they don't taste like 'diet food' at all. They are delicious and nutrious. I love that there are a number of great slow cooker meals for those of us who have just enough time to throw something into a pot and leave, but there are also a few dishes that look a bit fancy (but are really easy!) if you want to impress. There COULD be a larger pudding section, but I don't consider this a big enough 'fault' to lower my rating from 5 to 4. Excellent job!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sparkpeople Cookbook: Love Your Food, Lose the Weight
The Sparkpeople Cookbook: Love Your Food, Lose the Weight by Stepfanie Romine (Hardcover - 27 Oct 2011)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews