Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A misleading title but an excellent book
Am motvated to write this in response to the first reviewers comment. It would seem she has been mislead and therefore disappointed by the book. It is not your usual self-help book, rather a journey with candace pert whereby you learn of some interesting organisations, amazing theories on health and 'bodymind' and the struggle of one woman trying to cure AIDS. Having read...
Published on 1 Oct 2007 by N. Betts

versus
70 of 70 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars everything you need to know about me, me, me
I was looking forward to reading this book, having heard much about Candace Pert as a feminist scientist, and its title seemed to promise so much ... but I found the style almost unbearable. I've read many self-help books (as I have recently been ill), and most of them - from Louise Hay to Deepak Chopra - are motivated towards the reader and are compasionate and giving in...
Published on 11 May 2007 by A. Reader


Most Helpful First | Newest First

70 of 70 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars everything you need to know about me, me, me, 11 May 2007
This review is from: Everything You Need To Know To Feel Good (Paperback)
I was looking forward to reading this book, having heard much about Candace Pert as a feminist scientist, and its title seemed to promise so much ... but I found the style almost unbearable. I've read many self-help books (as I have recently been ill), and most of them - from Louise Hay to Deepak Chopra - are motivated towards the reader and are compasionate and giving in their advice. But this book was about the author not the readers. It followed Candace as she gave papers, did book signings, met friends for coffee and flew on planes, all the time reminding us what great work she had done and how her audience loved her. I'm sure this is true - but this was not how the book advertised itself. I was hoping for insight and sound advice - what I got was a self-absorbed and meandering disappointment. I've not written a review before - but I was motivated to write this one to save other people from wasting money when there are so many other books that offer so much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't do what it says on the tin, 30 Mar 2008
This review is from: Everything You Need To Know To Feel Good (Paperback)
From the title, I was expecting the usual format of a self-help book. However, this is more in the form of a biography, similar to the books of Doreen Virtue; but lacking the 'ah-ha!' moments and insights that I often find in those. It also lacked the more in-depth science I was hoping for. There was some interesting information; but it wasn't everything I needed to know, and by the end I didn't feel good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Navel gazing, 28 Jun 2009
By 
Mimi Moor - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Everything You Need To Know To Feel Good (Paperback)
I normally buy on Amazon and check reviews before buying, but I had some birthday book tokens so hit my local book store for a binge.

Candace Pert is well known as a feminist scientist, and I'd previously read her book Molecules of Emotion so had great expectations for this one. I kept turning the pages hoping to find some information or relevation that justified the title but by the time I got to the end I still hadn't found anything. The title says Everything You Need to know to Feel Good... but there is nothing in there that tells you anything you need to know to feel anything! With her background it's not unreasonable she might have some light to shed on the subject, but this is just the story of an endless stream of Ms Pert's coffee trips, airport lounges and meetings with nice people. All well and dandy but not what I expected or what I paid for. With her repeated comments of how she always aspired to be the best she really missed the target this time - this is definitely a D minus. I'm really amazed this got published as it is rather self-absorbed and adds nothing to the canon of excellent self help books out there. Sorry Candace!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A misleading title but an excellent book, 1 Oct 2007
By 
N. Betts - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Everything You Need To Know To Feel Good (Paperback)
Am motvated to write this in response to the first reviewers comment. It would seem she has been mislead and therefore disappointed by the book. It is not your usual self-help book, rather a journey with candace pert whereby you learn of some interesting organisations, amazing theories on health and 'bodymind' and the struggle of one woman trying to cure AIDS. Having read her previous book 'molecule of emotion' - i found this far more accessible, maybe as a reaction to the over scientific nature of 'molecules'. This book doesn't give a 'happy' formula, it does totally open up the narrow definition we have of science and its applications, with some mind blowing facts along the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you want to get to know your bodymind better this is an essential book., 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everything You Need To Know To Feel Good (Paperback)
This book has allowed me to own my own health and given me power to never need to believe everything a doctor or psychiatrist tells me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good book..., 27 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everything You Need To Know To Feel Good (Paperback)
i really enjoyed this book but it did leave me wondering what the sequel ,if there was one,would contain.not a book for reading in the garden on a spring day but informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 29 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everything You Need To Know To Feel Good (Paperback)
Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Everything You Need To Know To Feel Good
Everything You Need To Know To Feel Good by Candace Pert PhD (Paperback - 22 Feb 2007)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews