Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning
Having just received my copy, long-ago ordered, I've been immediately struck by the quality of the book. The photographs are brilliantly reproduced, the paper is of a weight that the pages turn without falling back, the binding is really nicely done and the total effect is completely stunning.

If you like the Stones and you like photography, this book is for...
Published on 7 July 2012 by Andy Leslie

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "You won't get no...."
There have only ever been two groups through the decades; The Beatles and The Rolling Stones. Whilst the former were elevated to a God like status and still garner column inches most others can only dream about, the Stones rolled on, playing to millions and selling records in equal numbers.

July saw the 50th Anniversary of their appearance at the Marquee Club...
Published on 22 Aug 2012 by Quiverbow


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 7 July 2012
By 
Andy Leslie (Llandybie, Wales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rolling Stones 50 (Hardcover)
Having just received my copy, long-ago ordered, I've been immediately struck by the quality of the book. The photographs are brilliantly reproduced, the paper is of a weight that the pages turn without falling back, the binding is really nicely done and the total effect is completely stunning.

If you like the Stones and you like photography, this book is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential for fans; many excellent photos though the sixties dominate, 25 Aug 2012
By 
Mr. T. Anderson "onlyconnect" - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rolling Stones 50 (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Credited to the members of the Rolling Stones themselves - Mick Jagger, Keith Richards, Charlie Watts and Ronnie Wood - this is a large pictorial record of the group's 50 year history - well, most of it, anyway. They first performed on 12 July 1962, at the Marquee Club in Oxford Street, London.

The majority of the 1000+ pictures are from the Daily Mirror's Mirrorpix archive, though just over 100 are from a variety of other sources. There are also pictures of memorabilia from collector Ali Zayeri.

Mick, Keith, Charlie and Ronnie have written short introductory reflections, and contribute captions to most of the picture spreads. Some of these are great fun. "I don't think `Come On' was very good," says Mick about their first single. Or Charlie on Rock and Roll Circus: "Yoko crawling out of a black bag that she'd been writhing around in on stage, only to start screaming and wailing on a song of hers." I don't think he is a fan. No picture of the black bag, sadly. There is a nice anecdote from Keith about how he and Mick became the "Glimmer Twins."

Don't expect anything too profound though. There are pictures of Mick and Keith going to court but no comment from them on doing time, for example.

A shame there is nothing from Bill Wyman, who was in the group for over 30 years, though of course he is in plenty of the photos.

The coverage gets sparser as the years go on, though of course the quality improves and you get beautiful colour rather than (occasionally) blurry black and white. The book ends in 2007, with the Bigger Bang tour in Spain, making the 50 year coverage a bit suspect; but who cares? It is the early years that are the most interesting and where the photos are more candid.

Thames & Hudson is an art book publisher and the book is nicely produced, though I am not a fan of the front cover.

Overall: clearly a must-have for dedicated fans, and some stunning and fascinating pictures especially from the sixties. I suspect that keeping the images mainly from the Daily Mirror's collection has limited the scope somewhat. Personally I would also have liked more and sharper commentary, but it is what it is, a celebration of an amazing and enduring band which keeps you turning the pages, and brings back memories if you were fortunate enough to be at any of the concerts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Rolling Stones - another Venture., 8 July 2012
By 
ACB (swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Rolling Stones 50 (Hardcover)
The Stones have been part of my life since the early 1960's. I have seen them, watched their progress and viewed the dross. I would not have believed that Mick Jagger would be knighted when I was a teenager, but in retospect he was always part of the conservative culture, brilliantly disguised. This is as much about the other members, however, and their equally brilliant contribution to the Stones' personna. This book analyses the Stones over 50 years. Tempestuous and ground-breaking, influential certainly yes. Controversial, yes. This is a must for Stones' fans (or anyone interested in the period covered). It is well-written and superbly illustrated. It picks up on the more easily obtainable and cheaper 'According to the Rolling Stones'. However, the feelings and input from the group are far more revealing and put into perspective and explain more about the bits and pieces that add to their fan-based adulation. The music and performances speak for themselves. Great reading and viewing.A large slice of musical heritage. Love to be around in 30-40 years to see where they are regarded (unlikely). Meanwhile ,take the jump and get the book while you can.The best overall review I have come across.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT!, 2 Aug 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rolling Stones 50 (Hardcover)
it is a wonderful book, any stones fan must have it! many pictures, since 1963 until the legendary 2006 beacon theatre concert... with comments by mick, keith, charlie & ronnie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rolling Stones 50 hardback book, 29 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rolling Stones 50 (Hardcover)
I purchased 2 copies of this book, but had to return 2 for replacement as there was a large printing error across 2 pages, but replacement copies were sent very rapidly and it's a great book with amazing photos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Bible for all Stones fans!!, 4 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rolling Stones 50 (Hardcover)
I was amazed by the quality of this book compared to it's cost. Great pics and comments. if you are a Sones fan you must get one!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, 15 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rolling Stones 50 (Hardcover)
A fantastic book about one of the greatest bands that shook up Rock and Roll History.
Full of rare images, the book leads you to an unknown world of the Rolling Stones. I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stones Golden Jubilee Coffee Table, 24 Aug 2012
By 
Ms. Felicia Davis-burden (Staines, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rolling Stones 50 (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book, the weight of a coffee table, tells the story of the Stones in photographs. It certainly is a jubilee of great images. Pictures from 1962 to 1964 show a quintet of never-quite-innocent Rhythm'n'Blues boys looking uncomfortable in several decidedly ugly matching outfits. They were never your average pop group. It's funny to reflect that in those early days, despite a crater-riddled complexion, Keith (a twenty year-old Byron) was better looking than Mick! Bill and Charlie looked as if they'd been beamed down from Planet of the Much Older Louts. At least Charlie had the saving Grace of being an impossibly cool jazzer. Brian Jones seemed to relish looking the part of surly pin-up boy. It is tragic that such a talented musician disintegrated so young; a trajectory made all to visible in the photographic history shown here.

Pretty-boy pop stars of today might take note of how well the Stones wore bags under their eyes from sometimes having to play two or three distanced venues a day. These rockers earned their stripes; all the early dues-paying created the hardiest, longest surviving rock group on the planet.

This is a quality book, beautifully made and designed. My only main criticism is that the captions are often banal. A few more stories and honest appraisals would have made for much more interest. Many of us aging Rock lovers like a bit more substance along with all the striking images. I guess this is not supposed to be a book of revelations, but it certainly celebrates an extraordinary career. So put on your favourite Stones compilation and spend an evening pouring through a great, eventfull tome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "You won't get no....", 22 Aug 2012
By 
Quiverbow (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Rolling Stones 50 (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
There have only ever been two groups through the decades; The Beatles and The Rolling Stones. Whilst the former were elevated to a God like status and still garner column inches most others can only dream about, the Stones rolled on, playing to millions and selling records in equal numbers.

July saw the 50th Anniversary of their appearance at the Marquee Club in London and to celebrate that event they have decided to issue a pictorial history book depicting those five decades. Loads of photos (and the claim is there are over 1,000 illustrations here - but I`m not counting), a few bits of memorabilia, and an occasional couple of lines of text cover the 350 pages. However, as a celebration of 50 years, though admittedly it's well presented in a nice `coffee table' style, it's a bit disappointing.

Unlike the gargantuan Beatles' Anthology book, this is lacking in almost everything. Yes, the photos are interesting enough but I couldn't generate any real enthusiasm to think "Wow!" Maybe it's the minimal text that lets it down. Maybe there could have been more to read in place of some of the photos, a few of which, it has to be said, are wasted space and there are too many that are similar in terms of environment. Mick, Keith, Charlie and Ronnie all get a few words but Bill Wyman either wasn't invited or declined.

If you're a die-hard Stones fan - and that's who this is aimed at - you'll more than likely get it, but don't be surprised if it's less than what you expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Early pictures great...more recent, okay, 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rolling Stones 50 (Hardcover)
Indeed some never before seen pictures..at least not by me ! And the early years ie early 60s - are great. But once it gets beyond 1969 then the Mirror Group Newspapers Archive tends to run out of steam and it becomes a "then we played....then we played...then we played...." which is fairly tedious. Go round to a friend who has bought it and spend an hour or three on the first half of the book, then buy your friend a nice wee present and say thank you very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rolling Stones 50
The Rolling Stones 50 by Charlie Watts (Hardcover - 30 Oct 2012)
Used & New from: 12.36
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews