Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful collection of true-life stories
Founded in 1997, The Moth is an event where people get up on stage and tell true stories, without notes, in front of a live audience. Moth events and 'StorySLAM' open mic nights take place around the US and they produce an enormously popular podcast with some of the stories. This book is a collection of fifty of the most remarkable Moth stories.

While I think...
Published 3 months ago by San Diego surfer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Probably works better live
I had not heard about The Moth storytelling events before I noticed this book on the Vine Programme list, but I was intrigued by the description and decided to try the book.
It is worth a read; There are some great stories there and I can imagine how fun it would be to go to an event and hear all these live. Unfortunately, I thought that the quality of the writing in...
Published 4 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars All the better for knowing the truth to the story, 7 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A superb collection of short stories taken from an inspired event that I only hope might catch on in the UK. I'll never get tired of listening to or reading a short story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing. I will be recommending to all my friends, 7 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this after a review in the Guardian, bought on a whim. Amazing. I will be recommending to all my friends!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the Only Book That You'll Ever Need, 4 July 2014
By 
K. Petersen "Ken" (Hemsby,UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I sat down, with a cup of coffee, turned to page one and determined to reach page 400: that's what one does with a book, isn't it? NO!!!! At least, not with this book. This is fifty tales, possibly sometimes exaggerated, but all with that ring of truth. To burn this book would be akin to taking the finest bottle of French wine and pouring it into a pint glass: this book needs to be swirled around upon the pallet; enjoyed in modest doses and above all, savoured!

The stories are usually only four or five pages long and began life as part of the aural tradition. They tell of some extract of a person's life - often quite extraordinary, but sometimes, quite mundane: whichever I have yet to find one that I d not feel more complete as a human being for having read. If you are ever asked onto one of those programmes which cast you onto a desert island to which you can only take one book, I suggest that this is a STRONG contender.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought this book after reading the reviews., 30 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I absolutely loved this book. Funny, surprising and at times very moving. Would definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fluttering around it... lots! :), 18 Sep 2014
By 
Jayne Crean "Sapphyr" (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great collection of papers/presentations/writings that you can dip into from time to time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book, 15 Oct 2014
Lovely book idea. Great for reading one or two before bed. But gets samey after a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great read - interesting, inspirational, moving and funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Variety is the Spice of LIfe, 17 Jun 2014
By 
M. J. Saxton (Dewsbury, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I found this book fascinating in the variety of stories told. They are all engaging and give some wonderful insights into people's lives. Cynthia Riggs, Annie Duke and Ari Handel are some of the best ones, for me, but I'm sure others will have their own favourites.

It would be great to have a British version of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought this book, 8 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Moth (Paperback)
of short stories as a gift for my daughter and also read it myself. It's great to dip into at any time because all the stories are short, easy to read and very entertaining. You'll laugh and cry. All the stories are very well written. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Compared to the short stories of Kipling, Maugham and ..., 27 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Compared to the short stories of Kipling, Maugham and Roald Dahl this is as flat as lukewarm cup of tea..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Moth
The Moth by Catherine Burns (Paperback - 3 Sep 2013)
Used & New from: £14.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews