Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An economic approach to stay-at-home motherhood
Although nobody needs to convince me of the benefits of combining work with motherhood, this book provides a very good insight into the risks associated with becoming economically dependent (divorce, lack of pension benefits, potential serious illness or death of breadwinner, etc), which unfortunately a lot of women overlook when they decide to quit their jobs to raise...
Published on 5 Oct 2007 by R. Rubio Centeno

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a bit too descriptive
It talks about facts happened to women episodes too far ahead in the past. Not recent stories and details.
tried
Published 12 months ago by Graziella


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An economic approach to stay-at-home motherhood, 5 Oct 2007
By 
R. Rubio Centeno (Naas, Co. Kildare, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Although nobody needs to convince me of the benefits of combining work with motherhood, this book provides a very good insight into the risks associated with becoming economically dependent (divorce, lack of pension benefits, potential serious illness or death of breadwinner, etc), which unfortunately a lot of women overlook when they decide to quit their jobs to raise their families. The book will reaffirm working mothers on their decision "to keep the two fronts open" and will be an eye-opener for stay-at-home-mums.

My only criticism will be that somehow the chapters feel a bit long. You get the point within the first 2/3 pages of each chaper and then it drags on a bit giving (too many?) examples/testimonies to illustrate the point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great thought provoking book, 15 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Leslie Bennetts teaches an important lesson in economics for women. Gives a lot of food for thought about work after having a family. Slightly labours the point towards the end, but overall a very interesting book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book and a must-read for mothers and women considering motherhood, 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Feminine Mistake: Are We Giving Up Too Much? (Paperback)
A very well-researched book giving data and testimonials against economic dependency to men. It basically demonstrates that giving up work long-term and being dependent on a husband for support is far too risky an endeavour for women -- divorce, illness, death all have huge repercussions on women's lives. The stories are harrowing and depressing -- nothing as crappy as poverty in old age!

Message of the book is that having kids and working can be managed and is better for women's long-term prospects! Surprised the book wasn't more popular but I suppose a lot of women want to put their head in the sand!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking book, that hits a point., 11 Jun 2007
By 
CTM van den Berg (the Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book has released all kinds of emotions in me, it has made me feel frustrated, angry, content and happy. I agree with the fact this book should be read by all females to make them aware of what the results of their decisions can be in the field of chosing or changing a career and why mothers really want to stop their careers, because they are being fooled into things by the outside worlds as much as themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars There are 6 (life changing / important) books which I ..., 30 Nov 2014
This review is from: The Feminine Mistake: Are We Giving Up Too Much? (Paperback)
There are 6 (life changing / important) books which I will be giving to both of my daughters on their 21st birthday. This is one of then! Thank you Leslie Bennetts for writing this book. Every woman (especially one which may became a mother) should read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Feminine Mistake: Are We Giving Up Too Much? (Paperback)
A must read for every woman!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a bit too descriptive, 30 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It talks about facts happened to women episodes too far ahead in the past. Not recent stories and details.
tried
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Feminine Mistake: Are We Giving Up Too Much?
The Feminine Mistake: Are We Giving Up Too Much? by Leslie Bennetts (Paperback - 4 Mar 2008)
£12.28
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews