Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining, even for non-Myst'ers, 24 Sept. 2004
By 
Sophia Burns - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Myst Reader (Paperback)
The books are very entertaining and easy to read. The first book starts with a bang, the relationship between the main character (Atrus) and his father Gehn are determined right from the moment he was born.
After that an interesting tale is told, about the D'ni, an ancient underground culture and the descripting art of writing they developped, which makes it possible to travel to the worlds written. This is the perfect basis for endless twists and plots, and the books are over before you even realize it, making you crave for more.
These are entertaining books for everybody, but for those who played any of the Myst games or Uru, they are an absolute MUST. They complement and explain the games in such a way that they enrich the games no end.
The Myst Reader combines the three books in one volume. Get it now, you won't be disapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Companion To The Myst Games, 9 Nov. 2005
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Myst Reader (Paperback)
I have been playing Myst puzzle games since 1995, when I played the original Myst on the Sega Saturn and as a result I found that I had simply hundreds of questions. These three books, all bound together in one volume (Book 1: The Book of Atrus; Book 2: The Book of Ti'ana; Book 3: The Book of D'ni) have helped to fill in the gaps in my knowledge. All of the stories are well written and when I replay the games this extra knowledge makes the experience much richer. Very often knowing the background to the story helps you to make the right decisions in the various games, so in that sense too having and reading this book is very important. If you love Myst then you simply have to own these stories because they are essential reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Originality, Intrigue and Awe compiled for your reading pleasure..., 21 Aug. 2010
This review is from: The Myst Reader (Paperback)
One of the most popular computer games in history. Or so I believe. I played 'Riven' (the sequel to 'Myst') briefly, on one occasion. I can't say I found myself that absorbed. Each part of the 'Myst' trilogy in fiction form however, completely captivated me! I've read many fantasy stories, but I can't say that I've ever stumbled upon such a unique concept as is contrived here, which so entirely transports both the vivid array of characters (literally) and the unsuspecting reader (figuratively) to the fantastical settings described herein. The only disappointment comes when you complete this series and discover no further books were ever published that dared explore the realms of 'Myst'.

Book 1: 'Myst: The Book of Atrus'...is the shortest and least demanding of the sequence. The genius of this book is that it doesn't attempt to lay complex foundations for this universe in the first few pages. It starts simply, beguilingly so- with the story of a boy and his father. It is, as the title suggests, the story of Atrus, but more specifically how he comes to be removed from the care of his grandmother and the grueling but oddly idyllic home life she has provided him, by his enigmatic father Gehn, who abandoned Atrus as an infant. Atrus and Gehn and Anna are the only characters in this story of note, you'll come to learn why as you progress through the story. The wonder of this book is that at no point do you wish for the cast of characters to expand, because this family spread across three generations represents more dimensions in the gamut of human emotion and experience as is possible to imagine. A wonderful beginning that truly whets the reader's appetite for the second book in the sequence.

Book 2: 'Myst: The book of Ti'Ana'...Unfortunately is a book that goes to great lengths to deter you from discovering its unique and absorbing properties with the most turgid and quite depressing first one hundred pages of any novel you'll likely have the displeasure of reading. But if you can keep the hope alive in your mind that things will eventually improve considerably, then I guarantee the time invested on this first section will not have been wasted. In fact, this is my favourite novel of the three. In part due to the wonders and complexities of the city of D'Ni, in part due to the thrill of following the journey of a character transported from the world she knows to one wholly foreign to her, this is one of my top five fantasy stories of all time.

Book 3: 'Myst: The Book of D'Ni'...will come as a surprise. Mainly because it has little to do with D'Ni and a lot to do with a new realm, Terahnee, which diverts the attention of the descendants of D'Ni away from the homeland they intend to rebuild and towards a land that is both enticing and abhorrent. My personal impression of this story was that while I found the story of Terahnee an incredibly interesting, absorbing and unpredictable one, I couldn't help but feel it was a little drawn-out and the city of D'Ni, which so engaged me in the previous stories, was largely neglected by the writers.

Reading this collection you'll be struck by the brilliance of this series and the talent of its writers. The succinct, sumptuous prose, the incredibly imaginative plots, the characters that inspire sympathy and disgust in equal measure. So I can't help but wonder why it is that Rand Miller and co. haven't published more of these unique `Myst' titles. It can't be due to the lack of any potential material- there's absolutely no limit to where these stories can go- an entire universe in fact to explore, just as Aitrus explains to Ana in `The Book of Ti'Ana' in his explanation of how his people are able to travel to distant worlds with only ink, a blank book and an inexhaustible imagination...

"These Ages are worlds that do exist, or have existed, or shall. Providing the description fits, there is no limitation of time and space. The link is made regardless."

More please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved these books for years., 6 Feb. 2011
This review is from: The Myst Reader (Paperback)
I've tracked down the 3 hard back editions, owned book 2 and 3 in paper back, and bought the Myst Reader. Safe to say I love these books.
The order of the books in the series is book 2, book 1, game 1 game 2 book 3 game 3, 4, uru, 5.
These books are so in-depth and give a real feel of the people of D'ni and its history. it also makes some sense as to how the family ended up on Myst.
Rand and Robyn Miller are truly amazing and i think these books need some recognition.
Please buy it, and vote that it gets ebooked for kindle as I'd really like to buy it on there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A little gem, 4 July 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Myst Reader (Paperback)
As a huge fan of the first three Myst video games - Myst: Masterpiece Edition (PC CD), Riven - The Sequel to Myst and Myst III: Exile (PC DVD) - I was intrigued to find out more about the rich background of the main characters. The Myst Reader combines three volumes, with interlinking characters and storylines, each covering a different time period in D'ni history. Okay, it's not a piece of Oscar Wilde, that's for sure, but for an amazing £12 you get three really exciting, fantastical adventures, with the occasional Atrus-like sketch and diagram along the way. The Myst Reader is a great book which does the video games' legacy proud. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Oh Wow I remember Myst - it was a great game, 15 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Myst Reader (Paperback)
If like me you played the computer game MYST when it first came out then this book is for you - in fact I think I would have got a lot of very useful clues to help me finish the game from it actually - but standing alone as a set of three connected stories it's actually a very very good read. Logistically it's a pain as the book is so big that it was hard to get comfy to read it in bed :O) but all that aside it's a great book really and brought back some fond memories!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Myst background detail, 6 April 2007
By 
J. D. Ritchie (Bridge of Weir, Renfrewshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Myst Reader (Paperback)
By no means literature but by no means bad. The "Book of Tiana" is indeed the weakest however this compilation is good value (£9 at the time of writing) and fills in the background to an excellent and artistic computer game.

The plot gearcrashes between ideas and you can see the joins but no more than some other sci-fi stories and if you are a myst completist this is perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The stories behind the Myst worlds, 7 July 2011
This review is from: The Myst Reader (Paperback)
The Myst Reader is a very recommendable purchase to the fans of Myst game series. It gives a good insight to the history behind the game worlds and deepens the reader's understanding of them. There are some logically implausible details in the text, but they do not overwhelm the enjoyment of the fantasy. Considering its substantial length (900+ pages) it is quick and easy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining, even for non-Myst'ers, 16 Oct. 2004
By 
Sophia Burns - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Myst Reader (Paperback)
The books are very entertaining and easy to read. The first book starts with a bang, the relationship between the main character (Atrus) and his father Gehn are determined right from the moment he was born.
After that an interesting tale is told, about the D'ni, an ancient underground culture and the descripting art of writing they developped, which makes it possible to travel to the worlds written. This is the perfect basis for endless twists and plots, and the books are over before you even realize it, making you crave for more.
These are entertaining books for everybody, but for those who played any of the Myst games or Uru, they are an absolute MUST. They complement and explain the games in such a way that they enrich the games no end.
The Myst Reader combines the three books in one volume. Get it now, you won't be disapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great intro to Rand Miller's work, 15 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Myst Reader (Paperback)
I'm loving this exciting trilogy. A great intro to Rand Miller's work. 10 out of 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Myst Reader
The Myst Reader by David Wingrove (Paperback - Sept. 2004)
Used & New from: £17.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews