Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unoriginal?, 8 Feb. 2014
By 
Pink Fluffy Bunny (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Batman: The Court of Owls Mask and Book Set (The New 52) (Batman: the New 52) (Paperback)
This story runs through issues #1-7 of the New 52 Batman comic, collected as Batman Volume 1: The Court of Owls TP (The New 52). It then continues through issues #8-12, and into Annual #1, all collected as Batman Volume 2: The City of Owls HC (The New 52).

The story is pretty simple, as Batman discovers yet another secret society of Gotham’s high society, who are secretly controlling Gotham, from secret bases built in secret into some of the most famous buildings of Gotham, and kept secret until Batman uncovers their secret, and subsequently uncovers the secrets hidden in the history of the Wayne family, not to mention the secrets in the histories of the Grayson and Pennyworth families, and also discovers that the secret mastermind behind it all is the person we all assumed it would be as soon as we set eyes on him, and who turns out to be Bruce Wayne’s long lost secret [spoiler], though that is in the second volume, along with a revised and much creepier origin for Mr Freeze.

The Court of Owls also have a secret army of zombie ninjas, recruited from the cream of Gotham’s servants and entertainers, which they keep in suspended animation until required.

Now, it is not quite as straightforward as that, and there is some spectacular artwork and set-pieces along the way – with homages to Hush and Dark Knight included - but it did feel as if we’d done a lot of it before; though as I read the collected editions from my local library, I don’t have a sense of how much time as passed in the ‘real’ world between these adventures and those involving Hush, the Black Glove and the Black Mask, and even though they might not exist in the New 52 continuity, we still remember them. (And what happened to Dick Grayson as Batman? Did that get wiped?)

Some readers will no doubt see it as a fresh new start, and setting up new mysteries regarding the Wayne family, the Graysons and even the Pennyworths, and they are also right. It is all a matter of perspective, and they are only comic books after all; and you never know when another 52 might be just around the corner (London bus joke there!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great work from Synder, not so much for the mask., 27 Nov. 2014
By 
K. Strong - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman: The Court of Owls Mask and Book Set (The New 52) (Batman: the New 52) (Paperback)
I really like what DC are doing with the "mask" box sets (see "Death of the Family" with the excellent Joker mask). I was pretty hyped when this come up for ordering and had heard great things about what Scott Synder was doing on the New 52 run of Batman.

The book is great and the storyline and artwork is some of the strongest in a long time. However, you will need to buy volume 2 to see the conclusion of the story arc, so be warned. That said, as a stand alone piece its a great start for the New 52 and Synder clearly understands the characters and motivations.

The comic book is great and worthy of a 5 star review. However, the mask slips the rating to 4 for me. For the money you are paying you get a very flimsy mask that distorts when worn. I was hoping for slightly thicker plastic so that it holds it's shape but its so thin it just warps at an kind of pressure. Considering the simplicity of the design, it was quite disappointing but at least there was no paint application for them to mess up (also see the "Joker" mask).

All in all a great read and a good set. I'd recommend waiting to see if the price drops before purchasing but overall a nice and fun "collectors" edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost perfect, 16 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman: The Court of Owls Mask and Book Set (The New 52) (Batman: the New 52) (Paperback)
What can i say? I love it. The story is good, the graphics are fine, the mask is spooky. The only downsize is that i assumed the support for the mask (as u see in the picture) will be included (but it's not) and i was somehow under the impression it's a hardcover edition of the book, but it's only paperback. The mask is a bit bigger for my head, but i still look great with it on. Real fun. Otherwise i have no reasons to complain. I strongly recommend the product for any Batman fan.
As for Amazon, great service. It arrived in one day after dispatch and in perfect condition. I even got almost 3 pounds refund as advertised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good, 28 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman: The Court of Owls Mask and Book Set (The New 52) (Batman: the New 52) (Paperback)
love what scott snyder is doing with the batman comics and the mask is a bit flimsy but its more of a thing to hang on the wall.
but i am still very happy with it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Novel, Good Mask, 25 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman: The Court of Owls Mask and Book Set (The New 52) (Batman: the New 52) (Paperback)
This novel written by Scott Snyder contains a very good plot for a Batman Novel. Its about Batman who is called into a crime scene by Jim Gordon's partner Harvey where Batman discovers a unique but messed up crime committed. As he investigates deeper, he discovers something much deeper and darker than he intended, something that takes him back to the past. As he digs deeper it gets darker for Batman as it unravels a dark conspiracy lurking in Gotham. I'll leave the rest for you guys and gals to read. Overall this novel is very good. Has a great plot line and great artwork. Hence I really recommend for every Batman fan.

Now to the mask. I personally like the mask as it looks exactly like the ones in the novel. It arrived in good quality. The material is decent but could be better. However it is good enough and very comfortable and does not smell like other masks due to the material. Also the box arrived in pretty good condition. However after opening the box, the lid did bent hence left a mark and it always bends whenever I open it. But this isn't a problem as when it is on display, you cannot see it at all. So all-in-all it is a good product and I defo recommend it for all collectors!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 30 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman: The Court of Owls Mask and Book Set (The New 52) (Batman: the New 52) (Paperback)
Well, I can't say I expected anything less than amazing when purchasing anything from the Court of Owls, the trade is obviously amazing, but I already knew that, as I own it in many different forms. Now on to the part everyone actually WANTED this for. The court of owls mask: The mask is a plastic mask, but not of the thin flimsy kind that they make children Halloween masks out of. The mask is of such a good quality, it does LOOK as if it's made out of porcelain, but it's just high-quality plastic.
The best feature of this mask (in my opinion), is the padded areas around the eyebrow section, so the mask rests on padded areas around your brows, instead of having the plastic digging in around the eyes. The other benefit to that, is the fact that it draws the mask away from your face, giving your eyes a little shroud of darkness, making it all the more creepy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great starting point for new Batman fans, with a bonus mask!, 5 Nov. 2013
By 
Mr. Ra Atherton "Hawkeyes" (St Helens, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Batman: The Court of Owls Mask and Book Set (The New 52) (Batman: the New 52) (Paperback)
Collecting the first 6 months or so of Scott Snyder's run on Batman, this book is a great starting point for anyone who wants to start reading Batman but aren't sure which book to buy. With 'The New 52', DC comics reset all of their issue numbers to 1, and no real prior knowledge of the character is needed.

The story is excellent, but be warned - it continues in Batman: City of Owls, so if you want to know how this story arc ends you're going to need to buy that book too.

As for the mask in this edition, it looks great but is slightly thinner once you get your hands on it than it looks through the packaging.

I'd highly recommend this book for fans of Batman (new or old), though this edition with the mask isn't strictly necessary; the paperback or hardcover would do the job just as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An essential book for all Batman fans, 29 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman: The Court of Owls Mask and Book Set (The New 52) (Batman: the New 52) (Paperback)
The story is well written and kept me engaged from start to finish. This title is probably one of the best new 52 titles out currently; the other being nightwing. I loved how Gotham itself was in some way portrayed as a character and how it showed that it was there before the Batman and will be there after. Can't wait to read volume 2 as the cliffhanger at the end of this book is intense. In my opinion, this book is up there with the other legendary Batman stories (year one, the dark knight returns and the long halloween).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars almost perfect, 12 July 2014
This review is from: Batman: The Court of Owls Mask and Book Set (The New 52) (Batman: the New 52) (Paperback)
Won't speak to content as to avoid spoilers but this is a great story that set batman at odds with his own idea of Gotham.

The mask is of a reasonable build quailty and made of plastic. Only flaw with the mask is the lack of stand.

My only complaint about the set is that the included book isn't the whole saga but only the first part
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The New 52, 8 Nov. 2013
By 
J. Morris "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman: The Court of Owls Mask and Book Set (The New 52) (Batman: the New 52) (Paperback)
This reboot of Batman is incredible, if you are a fan, I really recommend this story. This book comes with an 'Owl' mask which is just brilliant, it is a flexible plastic with cushioning on the brow and a pre-fixed elastic headband. For this price it is a great little set - it does not come with the stand pictured though. Recommended for a great story and fantastic mask.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Batman: The Court of Owls Mask and Book Set (The New 52) (Batman: the New 52)
£16.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews