Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unoriginal?, 8 Feb 2014
By 
No More Mr. Mice Guy (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Batman: The Court of Owls Mask and Book Set (The New 52) (Batman: the New 52) (Paperback)
This story runs through issues #1-7 of the New 52 Batman comic, collected as Batman Volume 1: The Court of Owls TP (The New 52). It then continues through issues #8-12, and into Annual #1, all collected as Batman Volume 2: The City of Owls HC (The New 52).

The story is pretty simple, as Batman discovers yet another secret society of Gotham’s high society, who are secretly controlling Gotham, from secret bases built in secret into some of the most famous buildings of Gotham, and kept secret until Batman uncovers their secret, and subsequently uncovers the secrets hidden in the history of the Wayne family, not to mention the secrets in the histories of the Grayson and Pennyworth families, and also discovers that the secret mastermind behind it all is the person we all assumed it would be as soon as we set eyes on him, and who turns out to be Bruce Wayne’s long lost secret [spoiler], though that is in the second volume, along with a revised and much creepier origin for Mr Freeze.

The Court of Owls also have a secret army of zombie ninjas, recruited from the cream of Gotham’s servants and entertainers, which they keep in suspended animation until required.

Now, it is not quite as straightforward as that, and there is some spectacular artwork and set-pieces along the way – with homages to Hush and Dark Knight included - but it did feel as if we’d done a lot of it before; though as I read the collected editions from my local library, I don’t have a sense of how much time as passed in the ‘real’ world between these adventures and those involving Hush, the Black Glove and the Black Mask, and even though they might not exist in the New 52 continuity, we still remember them. (And what happened to Dick Grayson as Batman? Did that get wiped?)

Some readers will no doubt see it as a fresh new start, and setting up new mysteries regarding the Wayne family, the Graysons and even the Pennyworths, and they are also right. It is all a matter of perspective, and they are only comic books after all; and you never know when another 52 might be just around the corner (London bus joke there!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good, 28 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman: The Court of Owls Mask and Book Set (The New 52) (Batman: the New 52) (Paperback)
love what scott snyder is doing with the batman comics and the mask is a bit flimsy but its more of a thing to hang on the wall.
but i am still very happy with it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost perfect, 16 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman: The Court of Owls Mask and Book Set (The New 52) (Batman: the New 52) (Paperback)
What can i say? I love it. The story is good, the graphics are fine, the mask is spooky. The only downsize is that i assumed the support for the mask (as u see in the picture) will be included (but it's not) and i was somehow under the impression it's a hardcover edition of the book, but it's only paperback. The mask is a bit bigger for my head, but i still look great with it on. Real fun. Otherwise i have no reasons to complain. I strongly recommend the product for any Batman fan.
As for Amazon, great service. It arrived in one day after dispatch and in perfect condition. I even got almost 3 pounds refund as advertised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The New 52, 8 Nov 2013
By 
J. Morris "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman: The Court of Owls Mask and Book Set (The New 52) (Batman: the New 52) (Paperback)
This reboot of Batman is incredible, if you are a fan, I really recommend this story. This book comes with an 'Owl' mask which is just brilliant, it is a flexible plastic with cushioning on the brow and a pre-fixed elastic headband. For this price it is a great little set - it does not come with the stand pictured though. Recommended for a great story and fantastic mask.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars almost perfect, 12 July 2014
This review is from: Batman: The Court of Owls Mask and Book Set (The New 52) (Batman: the New 52) (Paperback)
Won't speak to content as to avoid spoilers but this is a great story that set batman at odds with his own idea of Gotham.

The mask is of a reasonable build quailty and made of plastic. Only flaw with the mask is the lack of stand.

My only complaint about the set is that the included book isn't the whole saga but only the first part
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
This review is from: Batman: The Court of Owls Mask and Book Set (The New 52) (Batman: the New 52) (Paperback)
The best batman comics I've read... so far!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman: The Court of Owls Mask and Book Set (The New 52) (Batman: the New 52) (Paperback)
THIS WAS FOR MY SON AND HE LOVED IT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great set, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman: The Court of Owls Mask and Book Set (The New 52) (Batman: the New 52) (Paperback)
Absolutely no problems with this purchase. Sealed mint condition collectors item. Couldn't ask for better. A great story and art too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Geekgasm, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman: The Court of Owls Mask and Book Set (The New 52) (Batman: the New 52) (Paperback)
My sister's boyfriend was over the moon with this when I gave it him for Christmas. He'd been looking at the novel a few weeks before & was overjoyed that I'd got him the set with the mask. It is now in pride of place on their windowsill!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An essential book for all Batman fans, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman: The Court of Owls Mask and Book Set (The New 52) (Batman: the New 52) (Paperback)
The story is well written and kept me engaged from start to finish. This title is probably one of the best new 52 titles out currently; the other being nightwing. I loved how Gotham itself was in some way portrayed as a character and how it showed that it was there before the Batman and will be there after. Can't wait to read volume 2 as the cliffhanger at the end of this book is intense. In my opinion, this book is up there with the other legendary Batman stories (year one, the dark knight returns and the long halloween).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Batman: The Court of Owls Mask and Book Set (The New 52) (Batman: the New 52)
16.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews