Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Vae Victis"
The stories that run through issues #13-17 of the Justice League are collected, along with issues #15-16 of the New 52 Aquaman, as Justice League Volume 3: Throne of Atlantis HC (The New 52). These are all excellent issues, with superb scripting and artwork; and due to the crossover being written by the same scripter, it is all relatively seamless.

THE SPOILER...
Published 7 months ago by No More Mr. Mice Guy

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't get duped
Have you read Aquaman Volume 3: Throne of Atlantis? If you have then you’ve basically read Justice League Volume 3: Throne of Atlantis by default because DC has made the highly questionable choice of reprinting the exact same Throne of Atlantis storyline in BOTH BOOKS!

The difference is that with the Justice League Throne book you get to read Justice...
Published 3 months ago by Sam Quixote


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't get duped, 16 Jun 2014
By 
Sam Quixote - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Have you read Aquaman Volume 3: Throne of Atlantis? If you have then you’ve basically read Justice League Volume 3: Throne of Atlantis by default because DC has made the highly questionable choice of reprinting the exact same Throne of Atlantis storyline in BOTH BOOKS!

The difference is that with the Justice League Throne book you get to read Justice League #13-14 and in the Aquaman Throne book you get to read Aquaman #0 and 14. What an utterly cynical move this is as there’s sure to be a massive overlap between Justice League and Aquaman readers, being Geoff Johns/New 52 fans, so DC are basically asking readers to shell out for the same story twice!

For that despicable decision alone, this book would get the lowest rating ever but Throne of Atlantis is also a pretty terrible storyline to boot. I won’t repeat my criticisms of that story as I already looked at it in detail in my Aquaman Volume 3 review, but instead I’ll mention the only new element in this book, Justice League #13-14, aka the crappiest Justice League story ever!

Superman and Wonder Woman are the two most powerful beings on the planet. Batman is the world’s greatest detective. Flash is the fastest human in the world. And yet they are ALL defeated by… The Cheetah!??!

Barbara Minerva is The Cheetah, a British scientist who became possessed with an ancient cheetah god and now resembles Doctor Moreau’s fantasy girl, half human/half cheetah. Her powers include looking like a naked cheetah lady, growling, and scramming things with her claws to temporarily turn them into cheetah hybrids – does that sound like someone who could beat even one of the aforementioned characters? And yet she is able to beat the Justice League.

These two issues prove that the New 52 Justice League are the lamest iteration of this group yet, seeing as they can’t deal with a cheetah woman between them.

She’s able to hurt Flash by clawing his legs not once, but twice, despite him being so fast he can vibrate his molecules through solid objects!! And what was Flash’s plan anyway – run towards her really fast and… what? Because he gets slashed the first time, doesn’t learn from it, and attempts it a second time with absolutely no variation, and gets slashed again. What a buffoon!

Superman is immobilised by some dumb leopard bite McGuffin that’s conveniently fixed in time for the story’s end, while Batman hangs back watching because if there's one thing Batman doesn't know how to deal with, it's cat-like women. He's never faced any of them back in Gotham like a million times before!

Wonder Woman’s the only one who does anything because apparently she and Barbara have a history of being old friends and that makes it more meaningful – despite that history never having been seen in the New 52 because DC didn’t bother exploring it (among numerous other moments) and chose instead to lazily skip ahead 5 years.

Every writer plotting a New 52 story: “Why is so and so fighting us – what motivation do they have? And when did we know them?”
DC: “Oh, it all happened in that 5 year black hole that we jumped over… yes, that’ll do…”

The two-part Cheetah storyline should’ve been a Wonder Woman comic, not a Justice League one, though it still wouldn’t be a very good comic. But the fact that this one minor character was able to cause such trouble for them all completely undermines the team’s competency and makes it that much harder to take them seriously.

I wouldn’t recommend either Justice League or Aquaman Throne of Atlantis book, but if you’re going to read that storyline, read the Aquaman volume instead – Aquaman #0 and 14 are slightly less embarrassing than the Cheetah issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Vae Victis", 25 Jan 2014
By 
No More Mr. Mice Guy (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Justice League Volume 3: Throne of Atlantis HC (The New 52) (Hardcover)
The stories that run through issues #13-17 of the Justice League are collected, along with issues #15-16 of the New 52 Aquaman, as Justice League Volume 3: Throne of Atlantis HC (The New 52). These are all excellent issues, with superb scripting and artwork; and due to the crossover being written by the same scripter, it is all relatively seamless.

THE SPOILER ZONE
Issues #13-14 is a two-part story ostensibly featuring a hunt for the villainous villainess Cheetah, which runs from Central Park to the Congo. However, there are some `personal' stories taking place during this, involving Steve Trevor - setting up a major change of career for him; a budding romance between Superman and Wonder Woman; and a hint of the life of Cyborg, which builds up in the subsequent story

The main story involves a plot to start a war between Atlantis and the United States of America, when someone causes American missiles to be fired at Atlantis. Aquaman's brother, the current king, leads an attack on the US eastern seaboard, and comes face to face with Aquaman and then the Justice League. The creatures from the Trench (see Aquaman Volume 1: The Trench TP (The New 52)) are also called in to play, but as the story progresses, we become less sure who is responsible for what action and just who is controlling what. During the course of the story we also get more information on Aquaman's past and his relationship with his brother, which was surprisingly amicable until the invasion.

I have to say that I think that the Ocean Master was harshly treated at the end, and that the US had no legal right to treat him as a criminal, considering that they fired first. However, that appears to be how the US sees the world nowadays - "Vae Victis".

There is also a running sub-plot that looks like it will lead to the formation of an Injustice Society, and also a US Government-sponsored Justice League of America...

See also - Aquaman Volume 3: Throne of Atlantis HC (The New 52), which has more of Aquaman's side of the story. This is a superb series -Aquaman, that is - and you are recommended to read it, as it is one of the best, if not the best, of the New 52 titles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is Fantastic Stuff, 9 Mar 2014
By 
This review is from: Justice League Volume 3: Throne of Atlantis HC (The New 52) (Hardcover)
This series just keeps getting better and better. Volume 3 collects issues 13-17, along with two issues if Aquaman, 15, 16. The volume starts off awesomely with a fight between The Cheetah and Wonder Woman, then a whole story gets played out as the League joins WW in capturing Cheetah to stop her mayhem while at the same time they learn the truth behind Cheetah's background. Great beginning! Then we get to the main story where Gotham is attacked by huge tidal waves and floods. Some guy from Atlantis shows up looking for "King Arthur" and tells him Orm is attacking. Without going into further details a whole battle ensues between the League and Orm, Arthur and Orm and even to a degree Aquaman and the League. The absolute coolest part though is that half-way through when things are just too much for JL, Cyborg calls in the reinforcements! A secret group of superheroes who were on a list to be considered for filling in the available spot. But they all come together and join the fight! So we have 10 unexpected superheroes who show up. Loved this!!! Also very fine ending that has the Trench guys from Aquaman Vol. 1 showing up, we just knew they would show up again didn't we? and a final showdown between Orm and Arthur for kingship of Atlantis. Finishing off with a curious epilogue which appears to show three new groups in the formation: Steve Trevor's new group (JLA?), JL opening up membership, and a league of villains? Cannot wait for the next issue!!! This is fantastic stuff. BTW, the art is top notch as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 7 Feb 2014
By 
Miss K L Moynes (Erith, Kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book, the league has never been in better hands than the master Geoff John's enjoy this DC fans it's the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 29 Dec 2013
By 
D. Last - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Justice League Volume 3: Throne of Atlantis HC (The New 52) (Hardcover)
Good read but as a Superman fan I kinda dislike the way he's so easily overpowered. Not sure if I will continue with the New 52.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Geoff Johns continues to impress, 15 Dec 2013
This review is from: Justice League Volume 3: Throne of Atlantis HC (The New 52) (Hardcover)
Up until the last few years Aquaman hasn't been taken seriously as a hero but Geoff Johns is doing a great job at finally changing that perception of him.
Throne of Atlantis is a great read that focuses on just a few of the members of the league unlike the last two volumes which had one too many characters around to get any development for all of them. With no Flash/Green Lantern bromance we get more out of the Wonder Woman/Superman relationship. But the star of the show is clearly Aquaman this time round and the conflict he faces with his brother Orm, written brilliantly by Johns, who is not your two dimensional villain as many other new 52 villains have been.
However my advice would be to read the Aquaman volume 3 version of this instead, which gives the same main story but also some background on the other main Aquaman characters that are a part of the story in previous issues. Otherwise one character in particular comes across as a random inclusion in the story.
On the whole, Throne of Atlantis delivers in creating an enjoyable story for both League fans and Aquaman fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Annoying, 24 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really annoying for a non- american. Guess this was written around the timecof the iraq war. Guess i was hoping that the writers woul have a more international sense of fairness, and depict the justice league as appreciating that there were 2 sides to the story. Instead we got the two alien characters - superman and wonder woman - demanding that the opposition, 's leader give himself up for saying to retaliate. The new depiction of wonder woman i can understand as characterization. But saw the superman character as more reasoned. Oh well, i might give the next book a try but it has seriously put me off..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
By 
Mr. James S. Edmondson (u.k.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
loving this .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast Paced ACTION PACKED Movie BLockbuster Scenes!!, 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Justice League Volume 3: Throne of Atlantis HC (The New 52) (Hardcover)
Feels like I have just watched a movie block buster on the Justice League. Well End Of World scenario settings really make this book enjoyable to read, and more amazing members of the Justice League appears!! SUPERB!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A lot of aXXXion !!!, 7 Jan 2014
Very enjoyable action-packed graphic novel. Props to Geoff Johns and most importantly Ivan Reis for the spectacular artwork that got the book an extra star. The dynamic between Aquaman and Batman was a definite highlight from the book.
The only problem I have with Throne of Atlantis is the lack of character study, but as a wise man once said, You can't always get what you want. Can't wait for the next trade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Justice League Volume 3: Throne of Atlantis HC (The New 52)
Justice League Volume 3: Throne of Atlantis HC (The New 52) by Geoff Johns (Hardcover - 25 Sep 2013)
£15.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews