Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Multiverse is infinitely entertaining
I cannot tell you just how fortunate everyone is now to be able to get ALL the "Planetary" issues in one mega omnibus collection .I had to wait years to finally read them in their entirety, relying on e bay to collect many of the ones I'd missed, the publication timetable for them was that unpredictable and stretched for over nearly a decade.Thats quite a time to...
Published 5 months ago by Paul E. Jackson

versus
4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reviewing the new edition NOT the content
Well DC omnibus are just not as good quality as their Marvel counterparts. Its a given i think? The binding here is just not that great, i doubt it'll last and if you open it flat i think it may "pop" as its glued/binding and very tight....the start and end seem especially at risk as they kinda go left right at the spine......could be wrong as Animal Man the same...
Published 5 months ago by Neil H. Smith


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Multiverse is infinitely entertaining, 7 Feb 2014
By 
Paul E. Jackson "PJ" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Planetary Omnibus (Hardcover)
I cannot tell you just how fortunate everyone is now to be able to get ALL the "Planetary" issues in one mega omnibus collection .I had to wait years to finally read them in their entirety, relying on e bay to collect many of the ones I'd missed, the publication timetable for them was that unpredictable and stretched for over nearly a decade.Thats quite a time to wait.
Yet just about each of them was worth it.For a start each of the covers was bold and distinctive, the inside art work was clean and beautifully detailled, and the colouring was just superb.
But it's the stories that are so absolutely outstanding. How so many famous fictional "adventure" character lives are interwoven and stitched into a new mythological universe of contemporary comic book heroes that is both seamless done and brilliantly entertaining at the same time.
Each chapter ,whilst being a self contained story in itself adds just that little bit more eachtime to the overall mystery of the Planetary Guide, charging back and forth through great fictional history with its three main characters with such gusto you'll wonder where you'll end up next and in which storyverse. Its simply great fun just trying to identify all of them and comparing them with their "real life" sources.Some of the tales will literally make you gasp at their cleverness and misdirection to their original stories.
And now you have every one of them at your finger tips and the three separate standalone stories , including the brilliant Planetary/Batman "Night on Earth."
The nearest graphic novels I can think to compare "Planetary" to are the earlier Alan Moore "League of Gentlemen" stories. "Planetary" is its own creature though, a completely original and absorbing version of so many of the worlds so well known and beloved by fans of comicbook and adventure fiction you'll feel like your discovering something new about them again.
Buy it without hesitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An incredible creative work collected in one volume, 6 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Planetary Omnibus (Hardcover)
Planetary is an amazing piece of comics literature. Warren Ellis' writing shines in every individual issue, and through the storyline that you discover running across the entire series. John Cassaday's art is also top quality, and didn't disappoint me throughout the 27 issues of the main series. I was sad that he provided art for only one out of the three one-shots.

I don't have the absolute editions, so I can't compare this edition with those. The sleeve is nice, but I especially like the cover underneath, presenting itself as a Planetary Guide (like the cover of issue 24). Each issue of the main series is led into by a quote from that issue and the cover. The preview short story is presented between issues 12 and 13. I had hoped the one-shots would be placed somewhere within the main series, but instead they come at the end of the book. Also included are covers from collected editions, the script for issue 1, and a few pages of character design sketches (I would love for John Cassaday to produce a book of these!).

I can't recommend this comics series highly enough - it's usually the first thing I lend to friends who haven't read comics seriously before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for comic fans..., 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Planetary Omnibus (Hardcover)
Good stuff. Very accessable for new readers. Humour, action and great artwork. Forwarded and praised by Alan Moore. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Planetary Omnibus (Hardcover)
The planetary series as collected completely here in one volume is a comic series for comic fans. Warren Ellis crafts a new universe with knowing nods to the comics world and fiction as a whole.

Fans will see astute analogies of familiar comic tropes and themes throughout the series, with alternative takes on well known Marvel Vertigo and DC creations popping up throughout viewing through Ellis's unique lens.

The story is very tightly written and doesn't explain much to the reader from the get go, following Elijah Snow as he joins the mysterious planetary team and discovers their purpose and his own hidden origins, the narrative builds nicely filling in the gaps as we delve deeper into the story.

The overall arc is pleasing and I was gripping from the moment i picked it up. As with all of these massive DC omnibus editions the book itself is a little unwieldy to read at times but the all in one format makes this so worth it.

I would recommend to all fans of comic work and storytelling in general,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reviewing the new edition NOT the content, 11 Feb 2014
By 
Neil H. Smith (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Planetary Omnibus (Hardcover)
Well DC omnibus are just not as good quality as their Marvel counterparts. Its a given i think? The binding here is just not that great, i doubt it'll last and if you open it flat i think it may "pop" as its glued/binding and very tight....the start and end seem especially at risk as they kinda go left right at the spine......could be wrong as Animal Man the same and so far thats ok BUT for gods sake DC given the cost we have to pay please sew them....our yank counterparts think binding ok ish judging by reviews but honest its just not great....content is as good as any ever written but as i say thats a given and i'm reviewing the actual book...hope this helps your decision to part with 40/50 sheets...........i'd think twice and i think i may return
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Planetary Omnibus
The Planetary Omnibus by Warren Ellis (Hardcover - 4 Feb 2014)
44.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews