Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars30
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
27
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£150.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 March 2013
This is an excellent product and is ideal for somebody who wants to own all volumes (1-10) in the Sadman series. There are other ways of collecting the books, some come with considerably more 'collector' materials, but these are simple, high quality, paperbacks inside a really nice slipcase.

The price is perhaps the strongest feature of this product specifically. To buy each of these volumes separately in any bookshop will currently cost you beween £15 and £20. The price I paid for this boxset means each book was less than £10.

If you just want the main story of The Sandman and aren't fussed by hardback covers or extra "behind the scenes" materials, then this is probably the best option for you.
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2012
Gorgeously remastered and recoloured. Beautiful slipcase. Fans will not be disappointed. Lives up to expectations. 10 out of 10 for Sandman
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2015
Sandman is one of the best graphic tales full stop, so I'm going to comment on the specific edition.
The paper is good quality, the print good and the box is ok.

There is some extra content in each volume in the form of introductions by people not involved in the comic's creation (gene wolfe, clive barker etc) which are enjoyable. It's also good value for the money.

The cardboard slipcase is nice, the paper feels of good quality and the printing is crisp.

My only gripe is that the drawings tend to cover the whole page (i.e. no margin) and since the booklets cannot be open flat without breaking them some of the text and art is very hard to see.

I am not used to american paperback comics though, so that might just be a general issue with them.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2013
Nice paper quality, short and often interesting introductions, a good way to get hold of the complete Sandman.

The only problem is that the paper size is slightly too small, and it is sometimes hard to see the text/drawings close to the binding.
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2013
It may seem expensive at best part of £100 (although when you consider the cost of 10 individual books then not so bad), but this collection is absolutely lovely.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2013
Over the year's I've dipped into the Sandman universe by buying a book here and a book there but I've never tried to complete the series. However when I stumbled across this set I realised that I just had to have it; it's mere existence rekindled a desire in me to revisit the world of dream. I'm so glad that I gave into my desire since the books are as fantastic as ever while the packaging is solid and worthy. Great stuff.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2013
A great way to get this series in one big gulp. Getting the books out of the slipcase can be a little tough but it will keep them squished nice and flat. The 10 trades that make up the series are good quality. There are a couple of volumes to add to this for the real completist, Sandman: Endless Nights and Sandman: The Dream Hunters. But these aren't part of the original run.

It's a decent size investment, but still way cheaper than collecting the 10 individual books, I would recommend to anyone interested in this series.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2013
Fantastic. Especially vol.4. Quality of paper is great, as is colour, binding, etc. The case is nice and tight, will keep the comics in good shape.
Well worth paying for.
If you are into comics, this is the bee's knees. If you aren't into comics, read this: you will be.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2016
Complete set of 75 Sandman comics in 10 books all in a nice slipcase and all for £75. If you want to read all the Sandman graphic novels, this is a good way to do it. The trade paperbacks are slim and easy to hold, the colour and detail are of a high quality, even the slipcase is really well made. If you want the very best of Sandman and with extras, go for the Absolute Edition which comes in 4 beautiful hardback books costing £40+ each. After reading the slipcase set I enjoyed it so much I decided to buy the Absolute set as well - no regrets.
review image review image review image review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2015
For me, this is the best and cheapest option if you want to have the 75 issues of The Sandman series. The fact that the 10 arcs are collected in 10 separated trade paperbacks makes the reading much easier than having half the series in just one big book. Also, the box is pretty sturdy and very beautiful. I knew I would like the slipcase when I bought it, but when I opened Amazon's package I was simply amazed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse