Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Value for Money, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sandman Slipcase Set (Paperback)
This is an excellent product and is ideal for somebody who wants to own all volumes (1-10) in the Sadman series. There are other ways of collecting the books, some come with considerably more 'collector' materials, but these are simple, high quality, paperbacks inside a really nice slipcase.

The price is perhaps the strongest feature of this product specifically. To buy each of these volumes separately in any bookshop will currently cost you beween 15 and 20. The price I paid for this boxset means each book was less than 10.

If you just want the main story of The Sandman and aren't fussed by hardback covers or extra "behind the scenes" materials, then this is probably the best option for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect., 9 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sandman Slipcase Set (Paperback)
Fantastic. Especially vol.4. Quality of paper is great, as is colour, binding, etc. The case is nice and tight, will keep the comics in good shape.
Well worth paying for.
If you are into comics, this is the bee's knees. If you aren't into comics, read this: you will be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sandman, 28 Dec 2012
This review is from: Sandman Slipcase Set (Paperback)
Gorgeously remastered and recoloured. Beautiful slipcase. Fans will not be disappointed. Lives up to expectations. 10 out of 10 for Sandman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Collection, 30 Sep 2013
This review is from: Sandman Slipcase Set (Paperback)
A great way to get this series in one big gulp. Getting the books out of the slipcase can be a little tough but it will keep them squished nice and flat. The 10 trades that make up the series are good quality. There are a couple of volumes to add to this for the real completist, Sandman: Endless Nights and Sandman: The Dream Hunters. But these aren't part of the original run.

It's a decent size investment, but still way cheaper than collecting the 10 individual books, I would recommend to anyone interested in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value way to own a modern classic., 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sandman Slipcase Set (Paperback)
Neil Gaiman's Sandman series is now acknowledged as a leading piece of "comic book" writing and helped changed the perception of the medium in a way few others have managed. The author himself has now gone on to achieve international bestselling fame as a novelist, television scriptwriter and influential Tweeter. I shan't attempt to review the writing itself as there is already huge amounts of information and reviews available both online and in print. (I particularly recommend Sandman Companion and Leslie Klinger's scholarly Sandman - Annotated (Vol. 1) & Annotated Sandman Volume 2 HC (Sandman Annotated))
If you're looking at buying this product then it's almost a given that you are interested and will enjoy it, or you wouldn't be considering the "deep end" of buying the entire run in one go!
So, all ten trade paperback Sandman stories in one slipcase box. Perfect? Almost. Even at the Amazon list price you would be hard pushed to obtain the whole set of ten on their own for less than the price of this boxed set - and I recommend checking the Marketplace for further savings on brand new copies that can bring the cost down to under 9 per book! This is a saving not to be overlooked. The slipcase is lovely, strong and of good overall quality and the set is VERY heavy - which gives a real feel of quality when you handle it.
Why only 4 stars then?
While these books use the remastered colourings from the high-end "Absolute" editions and do look gorgeous as a result, the paper used seems very thin and the covers especially seem to curl back disappointingly even after one read. I am notoriously fussy in how I handle my books, taking great care in how I grip the spines and hold them. (My brother mockingly asks if I use white cotton gloves when handling my most precious titles!) Despite this, each of these trade paperbacks has a cover that curls back when left flat after being read. A shame in my opinion when everything else about the set is so perfect - and enough to rob the set of its fifth star. Hopefully being pressed together in the slipcase box will press the pages flat again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Finally here, 23 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sandman Slipcase Set (Paperback)
All is well, a bit too expensive and pulling books out is a proper effort, but it's worth it in so many ways...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best comic book collection for a mint, 29 Aug 2013
By 
Saul Jimenez Goi (San Sebastian, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sandman Slipcase Set (Paperback)
I cannot believe you can get in such impressive package the 10 volumes of the Sandman, one of the greatest stories in comic book history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good value, 14 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sandman Slipcase Set (Paperback)
Nice paper quality, short and often interesting introductions, a good way to get hold of the complete Sandman.

The only problem is that the paper size is slightly too small, and it is sometimes hard to see the text/drawings close to the binding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful stuff, 18 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sandman Slipcase Set (Paperback)
It may seem expensive at best part of 100 (although when you consider the cost of 10 individual books then not so bad), but this collection is absolutely lovely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A truly fantastic box set from start to finish, 12 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sandman Slipcase Set (Paperback)
Over the year's I've dipped into the Sandman universe by buying a book here and a book there but I've never tried to complete the series. However when I stumbled across this set I realised that I just had to have it; it's mere existence rekindled a desire in me to revisit the world of dream. I'm so glad that I gave into my desire since the books are as fantastic as ever while the packaging is solid and worthy. Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sandman Slipcase Set
Sandman Slipcase Set by Neil Gaiman (Paperback - 20 Nov 2012)
97.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews