Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Never Liked Green Arrow Before But Becoming Interested
I'm only reading these as I'm a completest and want to be "filled in" as I'm excited about Jeff Lemire taking over the reins. I liked this volume way better than the first and actually quite enjoyed it. Never been a fan of Green Arrow, but the clean shaven (no goatee!) look makes him much more easier to take seriously. I like where the plot is going for him on a...
Published 6 months ago by Nicola Mansfield

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average at best
Considering DC has a hit TV series based on this comic character currently airing, you'd think they would go all out on the comic, wouldn't you? Apparently their take on making the character great was more along the lines of 'Lets let Ann Nocenti come close to ruining the character by putting him in absolutely unbelievable sets of circumstances.' And I don't mean...
Published 22 months ago by Aaron


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average at best, 10 Feb 2013
By 
Aaron (MELTON MOWBRAY, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Green Arrow Volume 2: Triple Threat TP (Paperback)
Considering DC has a hit TV series based on this comic character currently airing, you'd think they would go all out on the comic, wouldn't you? Apparently their take on making the character great was more along the lines of 'Lets let Ann Nocenti come close to ruining the character by putting him in absolutely unbelievable sets of circumstances.' And I don't mean unbelievable in a good way. The first part of the book is fairly dull if I'm honest but the second part gets better. Certainly far more interesting. The only downside to the second part is the way they use certain enemies. Other than it's fairly good.

I think Oliver Queen looks a tad rubbish as far as artwork goes, but Green Arrow still looks great.

I wanted to give this a 2, but the end of the volume sets up the next issues amazingly well and genuinely has me wanting to read on due to how it ends. I know I have gone a complete 180 there, but once you have read it you will understand. They essentially start off with tedium and end on an entertaining cliff hanger.

I have also heard issue 17 is the start of a new creative team, which means things can only get better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another unimpressive volume, 1 Nov 2014
By 
Mr. Mice Guy (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Green Arrow Volume 2: Triple Threat TP (Paperback)
The story running through issues #7-13 of DC Comics’ New 52 Green Arrow series is collected as Green Arrow Volume 2: Triple Threat TP. This is another collection of lacklustre stories, though the artwork is quirky but very good. The first, three-part story, sees GA lured to Canada by a set of triplets posing as fans of his, who invite him to their secret base in Canada, and so he cancels all his meetings and jets off, only to find that he’s been kidnapped and that the world thinks that he is dead in a plane crash, allowing Emerson to take control of Queen Industries, while Ollie has some strange adventures with a lost tribe of Cockneys somewhere in the wilds of Canada. Seriously. Then there are a couple of stand-alone(ish) stories before he heads off to China for some patronising escapades there. No wonder China gets on so badly with America.

These would have been excellent back-up stories back in the 1970s and 1980s, but they hardly make the grade in the 21st century.

THE SPOILER ZONE
THE SPOILER ZONE
THE SPOILER ZONE

Issue #7 - “Menage a Quatre” – sees Green Arrow meeting a set of genetically enhanced triplets who are great fans of his, as well as having a secret base in Canada and lots of advanced technology. They invite him to visit, and he cancels all his meetings and jets off, only to find that he’s been kidnapped and that the world thinks that he is dead in a plane crash. No, really; that’s the story. He’s been drugged, of course; but still, you’d think someone would have said something.

Issue #8 - “Rope a Dope” – sees GA escape from the mad scientist’s hideout with one of the triplets who has fallen for him. We learn that the scientist has been carrying out DNA experiments on animals as well as his daughters, and that there is some pollution-related gold-mining going on. Meanwhile at Queen Industries, Emerson has taken advantage of Oliver’s supposed death to seize control of the company.

Issue #9 - “Dead Zone” – sees the escaping GA and the triplet find a local town and that the natives are hostile, thinking that he has something to do with the mad scientist, who has been devastating their livelihoods. Assuming that the locals are Canadians, they speak a passable Cockney dialect (of the Dick Van Dyke variety). GA punches his way into the locals’ good books, while the triplet is swapped for one of her sisters, and lures GA into a trap…

Issue #10 - “What Goes Up” – sees GA rescue a would-be suicide only to find that she thinks that she is a robot. It turns out there is mad psychiatrist who treats a particular neurosis by making patients thing that they are robots, and then selling them as such as a sideline.

Issue #11 - “The Joy of Crime” – sees GA come up against a pair of Robin Hood types who steal from the rich and give to the poor, inspired by the exploits of Green Arrow. Then Ollie has to go to China to negotiate with a business man who has bought Q-Core’s debt and thereby control of the company. He wants some secret spyware in exchange, and when Ollie refuses, he reveals his true face…

Issue #12 - “Saving Face” – sees Ollie locked up in a secret Chinese prison, escaping, and teaming up with the official Chinese Super Hero, Suzie Ming to take down the corrupt businessman who is trying to extort super-secret software from Ollie.

Issue #13 - “Suzie Ming’s Gauntlet” – sees GA and the Official Chinese Super Hero Suzie Ming take on a plague of zombie martial artists unleashed by the villainous Jin Fang. On his way home, Ollie runs into Hawkman fighting Thanagarians
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very strong start, writer needs a smack for the ending, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Green Arrow Volume 2: Triple Threat TP (Paperback)
This is four stories so I feel I need to be fair.

The first story about the Skylarks is wonderfully written. My only complaint is that the native people where most of the story takes place are very difficult to understand and this can break the flow that the rest of the writing works on. The story presents a very reckless Oliver Queen devoid of the usual control and still trying to get that presence about himself which other superheros naturally have. This is the first time in the new 52 where Oliver comes up against a villain who is intellectually and morally unafraid of him and with his balance already knocked off by the Skylarks it is a good story. It always set up the rest of the stories to come.

The following story about AI and robotics has a clumsy start but the rest is readable. I won't go into it too much because it has been done elsewhere and better.

The story about the dark arrows is the 1% versus the 99% as two vigilantes attack a 1% charity poker game, spout of the usual robin hood speech very fitting of this age and very boring and then descends into tedium and predictable plot twists.

Now to jump the point where I checked if Nocenti wrote the following two volumes, she didn't and I am still going to buy them. Oliver Queen, notably a hero known for his more grounded plots compared to some superheros ends up fighting chinese demonic spirits in full broad daylight while solving cliche chinese riddles. It was stupid and I was clammering for the end.

My advice is just don't read the last story. The first three stories are good and the skylarks are as interesting as the Birds of Prey so definitely worth the read. The last story is just plain awful all the way all the time and really hurt this volume. Get the volume just don't read the last story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Never Liked Green Arrow Before But Becoming Interested, 21 Jun 2014
By 
This review is from: Green Arrow Volume 2: Triple Threat TP (Paperback)
I'm only reading these as I'm a completest and want to be "filled in" as I'm excited about Jeff Lemire taking over the reins. I liked this volume way better than the first and actually quite enjoyed it. Never been a fan of Green Arrow, but the clean shaven (no goatee!) look makes him much more easier to take seriously. I like where the plot is going for him on a personal level, the stuff with his business. All the villains here are new ones, so we don't meet up with any old faces but that's ok because I loved the "Skylark" triplets. Awesome semi-villains! The robot people was a fun storyline and, finally, I adore Suzie Ming, great female superhero! I like Chinese mythology/history so really enjoyed that little adventure and the cliffhanger ending that came out of nowhere was interesting. There is a mention in this volume where someone asks GA didn't he go off to join the Justice League and since I'm a regular reader of that I enjoyed the reference and can place timeline wise where I am in the grand scheme of the JL universe. Lots of artists worked in this volume, so quite some different styles but I was pleased with pretty much all of it. Didn't really think I would be, but I'm actually looking forward to the next volume which I'm reading next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Just terrible, 14 Oct 2013
By 
R. Priest - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
In a world where Green Arrow has great success on TV and in pre new 52 comics why are we forced to suffer through this pathetic attempt. Not worth your money. If your looking for Green Arrow I recommend the comics before the new 52, if you just fancied reading some of the new 52 that weren't the mainstream the new Earth 2 or worlds finest are very good, as are the Birds of prey
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars All kinds of awful, 12 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Green Arrow Volume 2: Triple Threat TP (Paperback)
I'll deal with the good parts of this volume first (shouldn't take long) the last page set up is brilliant (worth the one star by itself) the one off story about human robots is a good showcase for the kind of act of helping the downtrodden and vulnerable that Green Arrow should be about although the ending of it is inconclusive, the Chinese hero Suzie Ming is a nice foil in the last story I really liked the character and hope she appears again in future stories.

Right now the bad, the main part of this volume contains a three part story that is so terrible it's almost hard to describe, drugged and kidnapped by three stunning sisters known as Skylark, Oliver Queen is seduced (it turns into 50 shades of green at one stage) then attacked for no good reason, literally the entire story is an excuse to get Queen out of town to move on a pre agreed story arc about losing control of Queen industries, as for the supposed bad guy Leer frankly he's a non event, I have absolutely no idea what the point of the character was and his daughters are just an excuse to have Queen sleep with any and all of them for again no real reason, and the less said about the moment he walks into a Canadian mining town that somehow seems to be the middle of a stereotypical western complete with arrow firing six shooters the better (it's really as dumb as it sounds).
The art as well is terrible Green Arrow looks bad enough but somehow Oliver Queen seems to have regressed into a bratty twelve year old, I know he's suppose to be young but really he looks like he shouldn't be allowed out without a babysitter.

So overall random and patchy storytelling (it almost fells like there is apart missing between the first and second parts of the Leer story) terrible artwork and an unhealthy focus on Oliver Queens sex life added to the general sense that that this is just filling time till something important happens, make this an absolute stinker, can only hope for better from the next volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, 18 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Green Arrow Volume 2: Triple Threat TP (Paperback)
So so so bad I love green arrow and this is just poor. I really struggled to read this the art is shocking and the story just sucks. What were they thinking
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Little more than fan fiction, 24 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Green Arrow Volume 2: Triple Threat TP (Paperback)
So anyone who has read my review of the Midas Touch will not only know that I am relatively new to the DC universe but was also completely knew to Green Arrow.

I loved the Midas Touch but found it lacking in its back story. Sadly Volume 2 doesn't try to expand on the character but rather throws the character into pointless stories and encounters.

Dan Jurgens introduced us to a fresh new Oliver Queen, a character who had more connections to his recent TV counterparts than he did his original comic book origins. While this was obviously a sore point for GA fans it was a refreshing touch for newcomers.

Ann Nocenti on the other hand shows no knowledge of Dan's new Oliver or his earlier incarnations. Ann appears to be desperate to throw Oliver into stories that would only grace pages of poorly written fan fiction. Ann's first story out the gate 'Triple Threat' throws see Oliver drugged and kidnapped by triplets (who he prompletely seduces and proceeds to have sex with all three of them). Instead of exploring the character or his new location/co-stars she proceeds to write a story that would have felt out of place on a Twilight fan page. You can explain away Oliver's odd behavior with the drugging, however, even after the drugs have worn off he continues to act out of character. Worse still as this is only the 7th issue (second story) into the New 52 GA we know so little of the character it makes it even harder to follow.

Thankfully Ann has been replaced by Andrea Sorrentino for Volume 3, we can only hope Andrea has a better understanding of the character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars green arrow triple threat, 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Green Arrow Volume 2: Triple Threat TP (Paperback)
I had never read any green arrow comics before but I got into them because of the tv show, I bought this one but I don't think I'll be reading anymore, the writing was terrible and the artwork put me off for a while. this is a real shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 12 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Green Arrow Volume 2: Triple Threat TP (Paperback)
Not bad, not great but it kept me reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Green Arrow Volume 2: Triple Threat TP
Green Arrow Volume 2: Triple Threat TP by Ann Nocenti (Paperback - 5 Feb 2013)
£8.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews