Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Once more, again without feeling - a Brand New Day
This is yet another origin of a rebooted Justice League, this time in the 'New 52' universe. It starts with a bang and continues with a series of bigger bangs, as we met the all-new all-now superheroes that will go on to form the 'Super Seven' - though they are going to do some more work on the team name. We meet lots of brand new superheroes that look remarkably like the...
Published 22 months ago by Mr. Mice Guy

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's good, but...
First off I want to say that this is a good book, no doubt. Both the writing an artwork is stunning with Jim Lee once again drawing pages that would make posters to fill your whole house. Geoff Johns does an excellent job or introducing the characters and how the came to be, but it just feels dragged out. It takes what seems like a century just introducing each character...
Published on 5 Jun. 2012 by Morphilms


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Once more, again without feeling - a Brand New Day, 22 Mar. 2013
By 
Mr. Mice Guy (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Justice League Volume 1: Origin TP (The New 52) (Paperback)
This is yet another origin of a rebooted Justice League, this time in the 'New 52' universe. It starts with a bang and continues with a series of bigger bangs, as we met the all-new all-now superheroes that will go on to form the 'Super Seven' - though they are going to do some more work on the team name. We meet lots of brand new superheroes that look remarkably like the ones we (some of us) grew up with, but in shinier costumes and who haven't met each other before (apart from Flash and Green Lantern). The trouble with this book is that we HAVEN'T met these people before - their new adventures are launching at the same time as the group book, so we have no familiarity with or attachment to them. The story is good enough, and the artwork is suitably widescreen spectacular, and we know what the Mother Boxes indicate about the villain. But, do we really want yet another planetary disaster/invasion so soon after the Brightest Day/ Blackest Night War of the Green Lanterns/Sinestro Corps Final Infinite Crisis Did I Miss One events? And when will the next one be? Will it be bigger? Will there be new costumes? Will there be newer origins? Will I stop moaning? Yes, to all of the above!

Anyway, I gave it five stars despite it being just a series of bigger bangs. The characterisation and interaction is handled smoothly, even though I didn't feel any particular attachment to the characters, and, as I said it is a Brand New Day, though I have seen too many Planetary Catastrophes occur too regularly to be excited by one more. I was reminded of the long-standing difference between DC and Marvel characters - DC heroes have secret identities they use when they are not dressing up; Marvel characters put on costumes but are still the same characters. However, I will keep reading the New 52 in my local library. The stories are still very readable, even if they are not about the characters I grew up with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A team is born, 29 Dec. 2014
By 
Jakeisthecoolest "Jake" - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the collection of issues 1-6 for the DC's Justice League reboot as part of the New 52 initiative. I picked this up cheap-ish for my kindle out of curiosity, having never been a massive Justice League fan. That said, this reboot origin story that sees DC's finest come together is helmed by legendary writer Geoff Johns and artist Jim Lee. These two have really set both the bar and the tone for everything that will follow in the New 52 series. We meet a younger fresher faced group of superheroes, unsure on the roles and not quite at ease with their powers as super-humans struggle to find their place in the world. As one of their flagship titles, you expect great things from the Justice League, but I feel it suffers from bringing too many characters together too quickly. They seemingly bump into to each other as they individually tackle a mysterious extra-terrestrial threat resulting in the appearance of one of DC's most powerful villains. Sadly this is inevitable and I do think that it has been done as well as possible and I am confident this will all develop into an series. Not sure it will be one of my picks to follow with so many titles to choose from, but a cracking first volume.
Also worth noting that the appendices include some great initial sketches and sublimentary material.
However, if you fancy something a bit different maybe check out Suicide Squad, far more madcap and less serious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding re-imagining of a classic team, 19 Aug. 2012
I hadn't seen this new line of comics from DC, so getting the first collection of the new JLA was an eye-opener, and I have to say I LOVE IT!!!
The dynamics of every character have breathed new life into the iconic personalities that I grew up with, and have given me (someone who's been following them from the late 6o's) not only a lot of new-found joy, but also hope for the new generation of readers who will pick up these titles.
Everything is new about these characters, from their costumes right up to their attitudes (well, Batman excluded, but he's come a long way fom his gun-toting early days in Detective Comics), and their brash new outing had me bouncing up and down in my seat with a mix of happiness and excitement.
The artwork, like the writing, for me is superb, andlong may it continue, say I.
Jim Lee draws the best Batman I've ever seen, and his appearance is very much similar to how he is in the Frank Miller Batman and Robin, only with a more "Techno" costume and no stubble.
Superman is amazing in this (And I am not a fan, so from me, this is high praise indeed), as gone is the boy scout image, and in its place is an angry, dangerous individual, more than capable of hitting first and asking questions later.
He's much more visceral, arrogant, and down right perfect in this latest incarnation.
His stand-off with Batman had me yelling out loud with sheer delight, seeing this latest depiction of their first meeting, and loving it completely.
The "new" Green Lantern had me laughing at the outcome of his antics, aswell as his interactions with Batman and Superman (Batman taking his ring was pure brilliance, as was his caustic reply to Lantern's saying he'd never be able to do it again).
Lantern's enthusiastic verve, coupled with the results, just makes him more human than ever, and shows his inexperience in using the ring, which, for me, is a delight to behold.
The Flash also made me happy to see again, as his fiery passion in the office is balanced out by his arrogance when confronting Superman (with quite hilarious results, I thought), and his reluctance to be seen alongside the others when the Police arrive.
Wonder Woman also resembles the Frank Miller depiction of this character, but without the female chauvanistic attitude.
She's just looking for a fight, and finds one, which really makes her character shine nce she's in battle.
Aquaman is another old favourite of mine, and here he brings back so many golden memories, bu with a lot of modern attitude and a penchant for good one-liners.
Batman is still Batman, no matter what version he's incarnated in, so there were few surprises here, apart from the sepectacular one with Green Lantern, before he went off to rescue Superman.
That took me by surprise, but helped the story somewhat, as this is, after all, a new re-imagining of these characters, and so little things like this have to be expected.
The adding of extra files nd character sketches at the end of the book also added to the enjoyment of this book for me, and I am very much looking forward to the next edition.
Especially if it fleshes out heir new incarnations some more, and keeps the conflict/friendship going for a while longer, at least until they evolve into a team proper, and sort out all their "who's leader" issues.
All in all, I am pretty blown away with just how good this book is, and am already becoming a fan-boy all over again :-D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME!, 5 Mar. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Justice League Volume 1: Origin TP (The New 52) (Paperback)
Awesome comic with amazing art and a mind-blowing story. When reading Justice league the time just flies by! I highly recommend you picks this up because it is amazing and is a bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bursting from the starting blocks, 11 Sept. 2012
By 
Sam Quixote - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
5 years ago...

The world is just getting used to the sight of superheroes, colourful beings with magical powers who have appeared seemingly out of nowhere. What are their intentions - are they good or evil? When more superheroes appear, they begin to cross paths and meet each other for the first time. The Batman of Gotham. The Superman of Metropolis. An Amazonian Princess. The intergalactic policeman called Green Lantern. A red guy called Flash. Then monsters appear and begin abducting people, chanting "Darkseid", and these superheroes have to learn real quick how to work together as a team to defeat this new powerful evil and save the world. That team is... the Justice League!

If you don't know about these characters then you might be a bit out of your depth with this book. Batman appears. Then Superman. Then Green Lantern. There's no explanation of their backgrounds but they're so famous most readers are likely to know anyway who and what their motivations are. The only character here who's given a backstory is Cyborg - who needs it the most, not having a book of his own in the "New 52" line-up.

But despite its non-stop action, the book works really well as an entertaining read and even a plausible set-up for a movie. All of the characters have individual personalities and interact well. Wonder Woman especially comes off as a brilliant character, her gung-ho attitude to life and guilelessness makes her very likeable as does Green Lantern's arrogant confidence in the face of every threat. Superman is quietly in charge but not overly dominant despite being the most powerful of the 7. Flash and Aquaman could have had a few extra scenes to make them stand out as it didn't seem like they contributed much, but then this is Volume 1 - there's plenty of time to give them space in future books.

Batman is probably the one character I would say was not just underwritten but also strangely out of character. I still don't know why he unmasked in front of Green Lantern or why he continued after without the mask - it just doesn't seem like something Bruce would do. But I suppose as this is the early days of Batman when he's just starting out, he might be more trusting than the more weathered/experienced figure of later books.

Geoff Johns and Jim Lee have done a fantastic job setting up this improbable team for a new and fresh 21st century audience. I had my doubts, especially with the characters of Wonder Woman and Aquaman, but they managed to write them without making them seem contrived or ill-fitting to the story. Suddenly a Justice League movie seems not just feasible but also something that could be as huge as The Avengers was earlier this year. "Origin" is an excellent start to this flagship series for the New 52 and a bombastic, rollicking read for all fans of superhero stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DC's New 52 starts here, 21 May 2012
By 
Ian Williams "ianw" (Sunderland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Finally DC have begun to release the trade editions of their new universe - The New 52- and three arrived through my letterbox today. There's a two-page ad in various magazines like SFX which is a checklist of titles and release dates and I ticked about half of them to buy. Anyway, I'm starting with the one which was the first comic to be released.

To be honest, I'm being a little over-generous with a five star rating especially as it's basically a six episode fight scene with character beats. But they are good character beats and the individual characters come over very well -the over-confident Green Lantern, the aggressive Superman, the sensible Flash, the ebullient Wonder Woman, the confident Aquaman, and Batman who's, well, just Batman. Throw in the origin of Cyborg and some good jokes by writer Geoff Johns and hyper-dynamic art by Jim Lee and you have a massively enjoyable origin of the new Justice League. Add in a few extras from the original comic and a gallery of alternative covers and you have a great package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 22 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Exceptional. I never liked the Justice League before, but I enjoyed this book.

*** spoilers ***

Essentially the group run into each other at the start, fight it out, become a team and then Darkseid invites. After a fight with Darkseid, they beat him and send him back to his world. The origin of Cyborg was covered also.

*** end spoilers ***

A very short and simple plot line. Nothing complicated here. However, whilst a simple story I'd describe the story as fun. It was a fun book of the Justice League coming together. I would recommend immensely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It is fast paced, action packed, unique and fun., 27 Mar. 2013
This review is from: Justice League Volume 1: Origin TP (The New 52) (Paperback)
So I have only really ever read 'Marvel' and 'Image' comics before, though I have seen DC films and cartoons.

This graphic novel collecting the first 6 issues of 'Justice League - The New 52: Origin' has to be up there with some of the best comics I have ever read.

It is fast paced, action packed, unique and fun. With the creation of one superhero and the back stories compacted in to it, this truly is a fantastic piece of work that will take you 60 minuets max to read.

Now, it has Wonder Woman in it, I was VERY unsure of that, but they portray her in a great light, the graphics of her are not 'soft-porn' as they often have been in the past and she fits in with the rest of the team very well.

The art work is unique and the details is brilliant, I also love the size of the writing as well as they font style, making it very easy to read and very enjoyable!

This is a must read for all comic book fans and is up there just under 'The Walking Dead' with my all time favourites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's good, but..., 5 Jun. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First off I want to say that this is a good book, no doubt. Both the writing an artwork is stunning with Jim Lee once again drawing pages that would make posters to fill your whole house. Geoff Johns does an excellent job or introducing the characters and how the came to be, but it just feels dragged out. It takes what seems like a century just introducing each character because for the whole of the first issue, it's basically the batman/green lantern power hour! I can barely remember what happens for the next few issues, and i read this yesterday. I'm not saying it's a bad book, because when things get going, it's great but did it have take 4 issues just to move up a gear! For DC's signature team book I was expecting a lot better, like i said theres nothing bad about the writing or art, theyre both a great pairing, just didnt like the pacing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Epic, 7 Oct. 2014
By 
David Bremner "kelticwarrior" (aberdeen scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been a superhero fan most of my life ~ now 60 I was brought up on and have loved all the superhero books I have read and the films I have watched - this to me was different but thought the twist s the story line from what we know was well thought out - however thought the drawing at times a bit confusing - prefer the cleaner pages of old school - excellent read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Justice League Volume 1: Origin TP (The New 52)
Justice League Volume 1: Origin TP (The New 52) by Geoff Johns (Paperback - 12 Feb. 2013)
£9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews