Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Stand Alone Superman Graphic Novel for Ages - read on to find out why!
This is a graphic novel that has kind of slipped underneath the radar; I have seen it advertised but have always had other purchases to make. And now i regret that i left it so long!
The main selling point of this graphic novel is the fact that Richard Donner is one of the writers on this project, and he is the director of the original Superman: The Movie - the man...
Published on 8 Oct 2008 by Mr. S. W. Steel

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very forgettable and boring
Superman thought he was the last Kryptonian to survive his doomed planet's destruction - until a Kryptonian pod crash lands in Metropolis to reveal a young boy who appears to be Kryptonian. As Superman and Lois take him in as their adopted son Chris, Chris' real parents emerge from the Phantom Zone to threaten the world and bring about a New Krypton!

Who...
Published 9 months ago by Sam Quixote


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Stand Alone Superman Graphic Novel for Ages - read on to find out why!, 8 Oct 2008
By 
Mr. S. W. Steel "stephensteel" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This is a graphic novel that has kind of slipped underneath the radar; I have seen it advertised but have always had other purchases to make. And now i regret that i left it so long!
The main selling point of this graphic novel is the fact that Richard Donner is one of the writers on this project, and he is the director of the original Superman: The Movie - the man who got the Man of Steel so spot on for the silver screen. For those of you who haven't seen Superman II : The Donner Cut, you really need to buy it this very minute and watch it. His cut of the film that he was never allowed to finish is utterly awesome, despite the fact that he has had to edit in unfinished scenes, and even screen tests in to it! Why am i prattling on about Richard Donner's films when i am supposed to be reviewing this graphic novel. Well, that it is simple ; this man captures everything 'Superman' perfectly. His storylines, his humour, the way Superman and Clark Kent were portrayed and of course, choosing the unknown Christopher Reeve to play the lead role are all proof that he understands the mythos of Superman, his place in the world, his origins etc.....
And so onto the graphic novel. This is a story that deals with another last son of Krypton - a Kryptonian survivor who arrives in Metropolis when Superman is the great hero of the city. There is only one problem, he has been followed from the Phantom Zone by General Zod, Ursa and Non. What follows is mayhem in Metropolis in which Lex Luthor is enlisted to help rid the Kryptonian criminals from the world.
That is a really brief summary of the plot, and i don't want to spoil all the hidden revelations, surprises and twists but considering this is a one volume story, there is lots packed into it!Some of the more recent graphic novels have been part of a series and they have lost their punch and impact for it. The Last Son does not suffer from this at all. It has a great idea for a storyline and really runs with it and produces all the nice touches from the original and best Superman film. It's all here for you - Jor-El, the Fortress of Solitude, the Phantom Zone, funny interplay with Perry White and Jimmy, a tough but caring Lois Lane (with more drive akin to the Margot Kidder incarnation than the Kate Bosworth portrayal in Superman Returns), a nice scene with Jonathan and Martha Kent etc... The pace is pretty hectic, and you can tell it has been edited well to keep you interested, but more important than that; wanting more!
The big thing for me is that Superman is just like the Reeve version of the Man of Steel. It is very much paying homage to Reeve - the Kryptonian boy even gets called Christopher Kent, which is a really nice touch.
As you can tell, i loved this from the very start to the very end and i can really imagine this being made as a film and with there being talk of a Superman reboot at Warner Brothers in Hollywood, they could do a lot worse than looking at this graphic novel. But, maybe the solution to the silver screen dilemma could be solved by giving Richard Donner the chance to be the director again. Think about it - he is the only director to have a classic Superman film that everyone recognises from the opening credits, and music, the best Superman (Christopher Reeve), the famous helicopter rescue and so much more!
This graphic novel perfectly catches the spirit of the first Richard Donner Superman film and really surprised me by how much i loved it. With a nice introduction by Marc McLure (the Jimmy Olsen from the Reeve films) this graphic novel is a perfect addition to a collection for any fan of the films, and Superman, the comic book character.

Buy this as soon as you can and you really won't regret it! Utterly brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very forgettable and boring, 15 Sep 2013
By 
Sam Quixote - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Superman: Last Son of Krypton TP (Superman (DC Comics)) (Paperback)
Superman thought he was the last Kryptonian to survive his doomed planet's destruction - until a Kryptonian pod crash lands in Metropolis to reveal a young boy who appears to be Kryptonian. As Superman and Lois take him in as their adopted son Chris, Chris' real parents emerge from the Phantom Zone to threaten the world and bring about a New Krypton!

Who doesn't think Superman and Lois wouldn't make great parents? Exactly, so it's nice to see them be just that in this book - sort of. Because the time spent between the three is fairly limited and we never really see much of a connection to make them seem like a close family unit. Plus the parenting thing is contained in this brief book with most of the story taken up with Superman fighting Zod, Ursa and Non, so when Chris inevitably leaves at the end, it's not nearly as emotional as Geoff Johns and Richard Donner would like you to believe.

And while the concept is a pleasant one, Superman and Lois as parents is just... boring. At least in Johns/Donner's hands. Superman gets protective over his new ward, Lois does the strong mother thing, but it's just not very interesting to read. Then we find out later Chris was abused by his real parents Zod and Ursa and that's where the book lost me. Child abuse should not be in a Superman book, it's just too awkwardly out of place.

Not to mention the ending, where Chris of course winds up back in the Phantom Zone, effectively sent back to continuing to be abused by Zod and Ursa. But the ending is so messy anyway - Johns/Donner throw in a weird plot device at the last second which should have sent Superman into the Phantom Zone along with all of the Kryptonian criminals and Chris but for some reason doesn't. Why introduce this rogue element at the last moment only to immediately go against it? It's like they thought they didn't have enough plot holes in the book and thought that was their last chance to cram one in!

I appreciate that this is a meaningful collaboration for Johns who started out as an assistant to Richard Donner, the director of the first two Superman films, and naming Superman's son Chris after the iconic Christopher Reeves was a nice touch, but unless you're a die hard fan of Donner's Superman films and wanted to see another story in that vein, there isn't much for you here. Superman's characterisation is fine but the story is just so flat and dull with everybody else predictably playing out their parts. Adam Kubert's art doesn't help either by easily being the worst work I've seen him produce yet - all scratchy, sketchy stylings, ergh, so difficult to look at! Superman: Last Son isn't very special at all and is a very forgettable story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this is a good book!, 25 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Superman: Last Son of Krypton TP (Superman (DC Comics)) (Paperback)
this is a really good read for anyone even if they are not superman fans. well drawn and well written with two stories, one if which was recently made in t an animation, but not very well. the brainaic story is much better in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent gift..., 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Superman: Last Son of Krypton TP (Superman (DC Comics)) (Paperback)
I bought this for my friends birthday. He is a big fan of the old comic book hero and the original movies and as it turns out, this graphic novel was co written by the very gent who made the original movie! The artwork is lovely, the story could be a movie in itself. I would recommend to all Superman fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect jumping-on point for new superman readers, 27 Jun 2009
By 
Mark Sessions "Extremecannon1" (Winchester, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've been an avid comic book collector since my childhood and although I've found the character of Superman interesting, I've never had much taste for his actual adventures. That all changed when Richard Donner (director of Superman - The Movie) and Geoff Johns wrote this story after DC Comics decided it was time for a new take on their most beloved character. Donner has apparently wanted to tell this story since making the film and everything Johns touches turns to gold anyway. He really is one of the best writers in comics. Superman has never felt to fresh and accessible, while still continuing to be epic and iconic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An incredibly fun, satisfying and surprisingly moving read!, 29 Sep 2009
By 
D. Laurikietis "darkknight_uk" (North West England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Superman Last Son (Paperback)
While I have always had a placew in my heart for The Man of Steel, I have, throughout my teen years and on into my twenties, been predominantly a Batman fan. For me, psychological realism and character depth were always more important pre requisites in my reading material than huge action set pieces or awesome displays of power.

For a while, fond though I was of Superman, I couldn't reconcile my two dimensional view of Superman and his fantastic exploits with what my tastes demanded from comics.

It was only after reading such enduring classics as A Superman For All Seasons and Birthright that I really got a sense of Superman as a CHARACTER rather than a symbol or archetype. Superman's unflagging nobility, clear moral purpose and steadfast compassion were no longer generic traits of a generic hero, they seemed to be the most fascinating (and endearing elements of his character). Think of it! A man who can do ANYTHING and he CHOOSES to do good! Intriguing, no?

The best Superman stories (in comics or film) leave you with a wholesome sense of fun and satisfaction and that's exactly what I got after I turned the last page of Superman : Last Son.

While I won't go into plot specifics, I will say that Dick Donner et al have created a story arc that doesn't need to re-invent the wheel to show Superman at his very best. The artwork and palette are superb, particularly the contrast of Superman's outfit to the backgrounds he inhabits.
Peripheral characters like Lois Lane, Jimmy Olsen and Perry White were handled beautifully, as were the principal cast. I got a real sense of why Superman chooses to do what he does and his unshakeable sense of goodness never comes across as corny or unnatural. Tonally speaking, the sense of fun, innocence and whimsy that permeates good Superman stories were abundant here, without neglecting more thematically and intellectually more mature fare for the adult reader.

A lovely balance is struck between action and character development and the action is made that much more involving by the real drama between the panels.

This story is fun, charming, quirky, moving and satisfying. Everything a good Superman story SHOULD be!

My only complaint was that there wasn't more of it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 29 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Superman: Last Son of Krypton TP (Superman (DC Comics)) (Paperback)
Completeley as advertised. I have no complaints whatsoever.
I you are interested in this subject, this is one for you.
Couldn't be more satisfied
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Superman: Last Son of Krypton TP (Superman (DC Comics)) (Paperback)
Amazing novel highlighting three of superman's most important stories. Very entertaining and quite gritty for the dc series. Id reccomend it to anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Good story but buyer beware, 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Superman: Last Son of Krypton TP (Superman (DC Comics)) (Paperback)
I bought this with the intention of adding the Richard Donner 'Last Son' storyline to my collection. While I've done this, I've also added the 'Brainiac' story, which I already own. If you don't have either this is a bargain for 2 pretty good Superman stories. My quibble is that DC have renamed & repackaged these stories, so I had no idea that 'Brainiac' was included. Had I known, I could have got a single copy of 'Last Son' for a great deal cheaper.

Sounds like a trifle I know, just don't want other people to unknowingly waste money as I have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant graphic novel., 30 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. Steve D. Berridge (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Superman: Last Son of Krypton TP (Superman (DC Comics)) (Paperback)
This was the first superman novel I'd purchased since the Doomsday series and I really enjoyed it. Here we have a superman who is poweful but vulnerable at the same time. The novel comes with a superb cast of characters, featuring General Zod, Lex Luthor and Braniac amongst others. I've always liked DC comics because they seem to explore more the angst and responsibility felt by superpowered people, where as more recently Marvel has gone more and more for the crash bang and wallop approach. This story definitely gives you a mix of action and story. The conclusion with Braniac is epic. I well recommend it to any superman fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Superman: Last Son of Krypton TP (Superman (DC Comics))
Superman: Last Son of Krypton TP (Superman (DC Comics)) by Geoff Johns (Paperback - 22 Jan 2013)
14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews