Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Earth one point five
These are still not the characters we are looking for, and despite the characterisation and interaction being handled expertly, I didn't feel any particular attachment to them. It is still a good book, showing the slow (five years!) building up of the team, dropping hints to past adventures and team members (the Martian Manhunter from Mars is now a hostile ex-member), but...
Published 18 months ago by Mr. Mice Guy

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but suffers the same problems as volume 1
When reading the other reviews for justice league I find myself being more negative them most, this is not because I am unimpressed by the series it's just that there are enough faults that keep it from greatness no matter how much good there is.

So what are these faults, this is suppose to be five years on from the first volume but no real development can be...
Published 13 months ago by Stranger


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Grave stuff, 30 Nov 2013
By 
Sam Quixote - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Justice League Volume 2: The Villain's Journey TP (The New 52) (Paperback)
"STAAAY!" "AWWAAY!" "STAYAWAAYY!" screech the toothy horrors that burst off of the first page of the second Justice League book. It serves as a not-so-subtle warning to potential readers that this volume of Justice League is pretty diabolical and might best be avoided. As a fan of the first book, I was surprised to see how low the quality of writing had dipped and disappointed that by the second book the magic had all but gone. However, like the JL in the story, I hacked my way through the monsters and delved deeper into "The Villain's Journey", a confusing story about nothing.

The villain in question is Mr Graves, a bestselling author of a book about the Justice League with an interest in the supernatural. After he and his family are saved from Darkseid and his minions by the JL (see the first volume), his family become sick from exposure to Darkseid's omega energy and die. Warped with sickness and grief he seeks out an unholy power in the uncharted mountains of Asia to reunite him with his loved ones and destroy those who had taken them from him - the Justice League!

This book gets off to a really slow start. The first issue is the prologue to the "Villain's Journey" and frankly this could've been two pages instead of a whole issue, two pages added to the first chapter of the story for all the relevance it has to the arc. The second issue is by far the worst though. This is the Green Arrow crossover that sits awkwardly in between the prologue and first chapter of the main storyline. Green Arrow wants to join the Justice League SO BAD! He follows them everywhere, whining "aw, c'mon guys! Let me join the club!" etc. For an entire issue. He is so annoying and needy! This issue has no point at all either, especially with the splash page at the end where we see the new "New 52" series "Justice League of America" revealed - with Green Arrow kneeling and drawing back his bow. So we find out he wants to join a superhero team and at the end he gets his lame wish. Why...

This story picks up 5 years after the first book. Let me say that again because this is a huge plot point - Volume 1 = 5 years ago, Volume 2 = 5 years later. 5 years! What happened in between? Wonder Woman and Steve Trevor, an army dude, got together then broke it off, and the Justice League have not managed to mesh as a team and still bicker about who the leader is. I don't understand why Geoff Johns made this decision. In this reboot, technically we're seeing the characters for the first time but when you fast forward 5 years in between issues, you're avoiding all of the stuff that you should really be addressing in a reboot. Those are the formative years of these heroes and we're still not seeing them, even in a reboot designed specifically for this purpose!

And it would really make sense for this book to still be set in the early years of the Justice League's formation because are we really to believe that after 5 years they still can't work together as a team - are they truly that ill-suited to teamwork? Then why not disband? But I'm getting ahead of myself...

The problem with skipping over so much time is that everything is told in passing or in flashbacks. So the emotional core of the book is Wonder Woman and Steve Trevor's relationship but we never saw any of that because it was never written, at least not in the New 52. So we're told in passing and in a handful of panels sprinkled across the entire book that WW and Steve Trevor had a relationship but WW broke it off for some reason and poor Steve never got over it. Why Steve is even in this book is baffling - why do the JL need a liaison between themselves and the rest of the world? There's also a tantalising storyline that's not explored - a splash page of the JL fighting J'onn J'onzz who's managing to hold his own against the entire team! Uh... I'd like to read that story! That looks fantastic! Martian Manhunter - he was on the team or he wasn't? Anyway, I'd much prefer to read that than this Mr Graves crap. But no, it's a 2 page spread and then we've moved on. Flashback over, we're 5 years ahead. Do you care about Steve Trevor now? No? Too bad, we're 5 years ahead.

Mr Graves as a villain is baffling. He single-handedly discovers an area of Asia where giant Indian Death Gods wander the mountainous landscape that no one's ever seen before, and somehow inherits from them these magical powers that feed on emotion... or something. Also, he's one of these villains who looks inhuman - so you know he's evil - and whose powers kind of swirl around him ethereally so he doesn't have to do anything, he just stands there and lets the mists or ghosts or whatever they are do their thing while he stands back cackling evilly. That's always interesting to see a bad guy doing - nothing. And through doing nothing, managing to defeat the most powerful team of beings on the planet.

He not only looks like a stereotypical villain, he does something all idiot villains do: when he has Steve Trevor tied up and on the brink of death, he leaves before witnessing his death! Even though Steve's death is central to his plan of destroying the JL - "You have to be dead for this to work!" he exclaims in surprise when Steve shows up at the end - he doesn't make sure he's dead! It's shocking how inept a bad guy he is.

His plan to "show the world who the Justice League really are"? Never understood it. How exactly was he going to do this? There was a moment where Wonder Woman, for no real reason, decides to punch Green Lantern and then Superman gets roped in and is kicked by WW, and Graves, somehow, manages to broadcast this scene on every single screen in the world, thus showing the world they're not a very unified team. But that was it. And that's not much of a plan in the first place is it? I mean what if WW hadn't flipped out and they flew calmly off - what then? No big scene and the world continue loving the JL, Graves' plan is in the crapper. I guess it's a good thing the script is so obliging.

Also, Graves' writing cabin? It's a freakin' mansion, not a cabin! And why does he need a dedicated cabin/mansion to write anyway? Does he really need so much ritual and pretension to write his crummy books?

There are a lot of moments throughout the book that don't really make sense but instead feel wholly contrived. Wonder Woman and Superman kissing at the end? When did they have feelings for one another - don't tell me, in the 5 year gap, right? Because it's not established anywhere. WW fighting Green Lantern and Superman for no reason, then Aquaman challenging Batman for leadership of the JL at the end, and Green Lantern leaving the Justice League - why are any of these things happening!?! There are no reasons, these are events that just happen. I like Geoff Johns' writing, I think his first JL book was great and his "Aquaman" and "Batman Year One" books were excellent, but his awful writing in this book is inexcusable.

Believe me, I really wanted to like Volume 2, especially after such an enjoyable first volume, but there was so much wrong with this book from the awful villain, the nonsensical story, the bizarre moments, and the glaring 5 year gap between books, that I couldn't enjoy it. All of these problems failed to immerse me in the story and instead I found myself dreading turning the page for fear of the next blunder about to emerge. Jim Lee's art is ok but in no way makes up for Johns' lacklustre script. I'd heard there was a Shazam backup to the JL comics drawn by Gary Frank that I was looking forward to reading but it's not included in this hardback - maybe they're saving it for the next book or as a standalone series? Anyway, "The Villain's Journey" is a dud - "SSTAAYAWAAAYY!".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but suffers the same problems as volume 1, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Justice League Volume 2: The Villain's Journey TP (The New 52) (Paperback)
When reading the other reviews for justice league I find myself being more negative them most, this is not because I am unimpressed by the series it's just that there are enough faults that keep it from greatness no matter how much good there is.

So what are these faults, this is suppose to be five years on from the first volume but no real development can be seen in the members of the league I couldn't help but wonder that after five years they cannot seem to operate together without someone doing something half assed or stupid to put the mission in danger, also the fact is we have missed five years of the team being together (and the entry and exit of the Martian Manhunter) that backstory leaves a gap of understanding that make getting to know these heroes as a team difficult, the advent of A.R.G.U.S in this story as well doesn't help, did the justice league really need a S.H.I.E.L.D like organisation in it, I know it's more realistic and bureaucracy surrounds everything in life it just feels like too much of a distraction, the main storyline is a plus point linking back into the origin of the league and also focusing on the problems when you are in the public eye and adored what can happen when you don't live up to that godhood it also does well at showing how villains can be born the same way heroes can but this is once again spoiled by the ending being all too easy even after all the trouble the villain has caused, also Cyborg character development is minimal, as the only member of the team without their own title his character should be explored more then the others unfortunately it is not, his struggles with his man/machine nature are not well addressed even when they are it doesn't really lead anywhere.

Once again this isn't a bad volume it has enough action and does well to show the cracks in the team and the set up of a new relationship within the team is well done as is the aftermath of the teams actions, it just struggles to balance the narrative with the ideas that Geoff Johns wants to put across, it's good but it's not as good as it could be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Earth one point five, 20 Jun 2013
By 
Mr. Mice Guy (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
These are still not the characters we are looking for, and despite the characterisation and interaction being handled expertly, I didn't feel any particular attachment to them. It is still a good book, showing the slow (five years!) building up of the team, dropping hints to past adventures and team members (the Martian Manhunter from Mars is now a hostile ex-member), but it is five years that we haven't experienced, and the familiarity is still not there - unfortunately, these are still `new' characters that we are expected to accept at face value.
The story is lower-key that the world-threatening origin story-line, with the threats being at a more personal level, despite threatening the very existence of the Justice League, and arising from events in the origin. Unfortunately again, the characterisation has carried straight on from the origin story, despite it being set five years in the past - you'd think they'd have matured a bit since then. The first story introduces us to Colonel Steve Trevor, who is fleshed-out during the course of the storyline, as he heads up A.R.G.U.S., the organisation which liaises between the US government and the JLA - the acronym is shown in full on a shoulder-flash, so you need to pay attention if you want to know what it stands for. The second story features the Green Arrow trying to get into the JLA, pushed by the government, but resisted by the league, who flashback a bit to another former member that proved troublesome - the Martian Manhunter - while also building up the threat that manifests itself in the four-part `Villain's Journey' that follows, which reveals some of the personal troubles of the main characters, including Steve Trevor, before one of the big guns eventually quits, and a budding romance is possibly established.

THE SPOILER ZONE
THE SPOILER ZONE
THE SPOILER ZONE

Issue #7 introduces us to Colonel Steve Trevor, who is fleshed-out during the course of the storyline, as he heads up A.R.G.U.S., the paramilitary organisation which supports the JLA -Advanced Research Group Uniting Super Humans - and also has to liaise with Congress over the JLA's activities, which he manages with a mixture of threats and intimidation. We also meet his new aide, Etta Candy, and see a new threat emerging for the Justice League, who also get to fight monsters in this issue.
PS: Was it me, or did that nosey and salacious reporter look like Jonathan Ross?

Issue #8 features the Green Arrow trying to get into the JLA, pushed by the government, who are trying to exert their authority. This is resisted by the League, who flashback a bit to another former member that proved troublesome - the Martian Manhunter - while also building up the threat that manifests itself in the four-part `Villain's Journey' that follows.

Issues #9-12 are "The Villain's Journey", which sees the attack by the new villain, David Graves, who readers will remember from the Origin story as the man who wrote the popular book that gave the JLA the PR boost it needed to gain its members the trust of the public. He now blames the League for the death of his family, and attacks them with supernatural assistance and abilities picked up from his past as an investigative reporter of `fringe' subjects. We also see more of Steve Trevor's troubled public and private life, which plays a major part in the plot against the League.

I thought the League were too quick to assume responsibility for the death of the family, as they were the only people in the entire world to get infected after Darkseid's invasion - surely that in itself should be suspicious, and warrant further investigation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New 52 + JLA + Geoff Johns = Instant Classic, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is definitely worth a try, the storyline is great, very enjoyable, the characters are likable and funny when needed, the art is fantastic, it’s good to look at. I recommend this book to anyone who loves comics or just interested in getting to know the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Book, 5 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Its been 5 years since the Justice League first became a team..5 Long Years in those 5 years a lot has happened but the Team remains relatively new and still trying to find there place in the world

This Book does a Good Job of actually feeling sympathy for the Villain in the first book we saw a classic battle between good and evil by this book we are seeing the team finally meld ..and at the same time the Public's God like worship of them coming to an end

In general the artwork is fantastic and the Characters are very well written did the Job Excellent in that respect and a big up for a deeper story than the first Volume the Justice League Book Looks to be becoming the A title for the DC Universe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Epic!, 2 July 2014
By 
M. Paulo Bracais "Book master" (Fátima, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Justice League Volume 2: The Villain's Journey TP (The New 52) (Paperback)
Fantastic! Amazing graphic novel/comic! The history is very good! The writer and the artist made a powerfull story! Epic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good follow up, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Geoff Johns does it again with the continuing and evolving story of the Justice League. All the characters sound true and you can have some sympathy for the main antagonist. Excellent story telling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good read with fantastic artwork but Superman should be a more prominent character. The appearance of Green Arrow is also too fleeting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Truely a Marvelous League, 27 April 2013
A birthday present from my grandson Jordan (!) and a quality addition to my collection! The bickering, the in-fighting and the angst all but completes the 'Marvel-ising' of DC's flagship title but curiously this all still feels like the Justice League pre-Flashpoint but more vital, more real, more 'now'. (Green Arrow is even more 'Hawkeye-like' than ever!)It's decontructed and feels like a wide-screen movie version but there are some quiet insights and glimmers of characterisation that keep me wanting to come back for more. The art is indeed glorious but in danger of getting scratchy if rushed.Roll on volume 3! - and thankyou for the gift Jordy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 27 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Literally just finished reading it, and was blown away, Jim lee is fantastic as always. The story was brill, the bad guy was new and fresh, not the typical bad guy used, i can't recommend this enough. I can't wait for volume 3
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Justice League Volume 2: The Villain's Journey TP (The New 52)
£10.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews