Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'Dark' is always an aquired taste
I've been very selective in my dipping into DC's 'New 52' but this seemed like a real attempt at something 'new'. For the main part it's a great start, the group of loners gradually coming together to form a loosely bound 'team' has been done many times before and another review mentions how the characters here arrive with no backstories and no text features to clue in...
Published on 17 Jan. 2013 by MadManMarvel

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Still in the dark
It's becoming a cliché with the "New 52" but if you're picking this up thinking because the title has been rebooted that you're going to get introduced to the characters as if they're new, think again. This series introduces a whole slew of Vertigo characters without explaining who they are, what they do, etc. Some characters might be familiar like John...
Published on 20 Dec. 2012 by Sam Quixote


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'Dark' is always an aquired taste, 17 Jan. 2013
This review is from: Justice League Dark Volume 1: In the Dark TP (Justice League (DC Comics) (paperback)) (Paperback)
I've been very selective in my dipping into DC's 'New 52' but this seemed like a real attempt at something 'new'. For the main part it's a great start, the group of loners gradually coming together to form a loosely bound 'team' has been done many times before and another review mentions how the characters here arrive with no backstories and no text features to clue in the reader, but quite a bit gets explained as we go along. I still have no idea what the actual plot was though! - which for an inexplicable reason I don't seem to mind too much here!? It's all a bit like the Defenders in their early days and most impressivly I think it's different to most every other super-hero book out there. Not a classic - but a series I'll be keeping an eye on. Want something a 'bit' off the wall? Try it. I am glad I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The League of Substitute Heroes, 4 Jun. 2013
By 
Mr. Mice Guy (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Justice League Dark Volume 1: In the Dark TP (Justice League (DC Comics) (paperback)) (Paperback)
This volume reprints issues #1-6 of the `New 52' Justice League Dark comprising of a five-part story in which Madame Xanadu gets the old gang together again, and a `flash-forward' story setting up the next big mystical threat. This is written by Peter Milligan, and his old Vertigo character of Shade the Changing Man is a main character in this as-yet non-team, as a disparate band of mystical characters slowly get drawn together by the mystical goings-on as the Enchantress goes mad and unleashes mystical chaos across the land, which cannot be stopped by the big guns of the Justice League, who are not very good at the mystical stuff. Eventually, the various characters end up together facing the Enchantress, and somehow something happens to fix her. I've read it twice and I'm still not clear, and neither are the team, as they accuse Madame Xanadu of causing it all in order to get them together to face another mystical threat that she has detected. This mystical stuff is all very confusing. Anyway, they all storm off, only to return in the final issue to argue some more and throw a few punches at each other in true team-up tradition, before the giant nightmare monster bursts in and they all end up being a team -
Constantine: "We don't actually have to like each other, do we?"
Xanadu: "No John. That won't be necessary."
Then we get the dire warning that will lead us into the next story-line...

I'm afraid you'll have to make your own mind up about this one.

SPOLER ZONE
SPOLER ZONE
SPOLER ZONE

Issue #1 - June Moon, the Enchantress, has gone mad, or something, and her magic powers are stirring up trouble; the JLA big guns, Superman, Wonder Woman and Cyborg can make no headway against her, so Zatanna sets off to do her thing, calling in John Constantine, while trouble goes knocking on Deadman's door, literally, and Shade the Changing Man's M-vest sends him to visit Madame Xanadu, who has had a vision of the future, that requires him to gather up a band of characters with special abilities, to do what the Justice League could not.

Issue #2 - Zatanna discovers magical problems with the Enchantress, Boston Brand discovers relationship problems with his girlfriend - Dove, and John Constantine discovers how to star a fight in a biker bar, while Madame Xanadu gives the Enchantress the names of the people she needs to destroy, a list we have just met...

Issue #3 - Constantine makes contact with Zatanna, Shade makes contact with Deadman and Mindwarp, and the Enchantress makes contact with Deadman and June Moon...

Issue #4 - The Enchantress goes on a rampage, while Constantine, looking for Deadman, meets up with Dove, Zatanna, looking for the Enchantress and ends up with Shade, who was looking for Deadman, while Constantine finds Madame Xanadu wandering around in the future...

Issue #5 - As the Enchantresses' rampage escalates, Shade pulls together Deadman, Zatanna and Madame Xanadu, while Constantine gets together with June Moon, and everybody pays a visit to the Enchantress, and Mindwarp shows up just in time to act as a catalyst for June and the Enchantress... after which there is much finger-pointing, primarily at Madame Xanadu which ends up with...

Issue #6 - Everybody gets unpleasant dreams about an unpleasant future, so come visiting Madame Xanadu to sort it all out, and throw a few punches at each other in true team-up tradition, before the giant nightmare monster bursts in and they all end up being a team -
Constantine: "We don't actually have to like each other, do we?"
Xanadu: "No John. That won't be necessary."
Then we get the dire warning that will lead us into the next story-line...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Still in the dark, 20 Dec. 2012
By 
Sam Quixote - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Justice League Dark Volume 1: In the Dark TP (Justice League (DC Comics) (paperback)) (Paperback)
It's becoming a cliché with the "New 52" but if you're picking this up thinking because the title has been rebooted that you're going to get introduced to the characters as if they're new, think again. This series introduces a whole slew of Vertigo characters without explaining who they are, what they do, etc. Some characters might be familiar like John Constantine the Hellblazer whose 2005 Keanu Reeves movie adaptation was terrible but popular, while readers of Batman might recognise Zatanna. Otherwise the rest of the group aren't exactly household names. Deadman was an acrobat who was murdered and is some sort of ghost who can enter peoples' bodies? Madame Xanadu is a mystic, Enchantress is an... enchantress. Shade and Mindwarp? No clue. One of them has a magic technicolour dreamcoat but doesn't launch into song.

So the thin storyline is that Madame Xanadu has seen the future (while on a dangerous amount of drugs. It'd be funny if at the end she woke up in a hospital bed and "it was all a dream...?") and the future is red - with blood! Nooooooooooo! But wait - it can be saved. If only these arbitrary strangers get together to form a team of magical beings to defeat these upcoming and unknowable threats. They could be called Magical Hero Squad! What's that - my special reviewing phone? Oh, hello DC Marketing. Yes, I understand, nobody thinks "Magical Hero Squad" is a good title for a squad of magical heroes. Justice League? But that makes no sense. Yes it does have brand name recognition. But... right, adding "Dark" on the end would differentiate it but still doesn't really make sense... How about "I Dream of Zatanna"? Hello?

So a group of magic people who celebrate Hallowe'en every day are thrown together and called "Justice League Dark", even though nobody in the book calls them that, and told to fight evil magic to save the world by a drugged up fortune teller. The story is quite patchy and weak, none of the characters are particularly well written except Constantine who was the one character I wanted to read more of. Deadman is kind of sleazy throughout and has the most FAB-ulous outfit, all it's missing are some sequins and he's all set for Mardi Gras. Zatanna is underwritten too, the personality given her by Paul Dini is disappointingly absent in this book.

"In the Dark" is an ironic title as without prior knowledge of the characters, new readers (like me) will be left "in the dark" as to what the hell is going on. Interesting characters, semi-coherent plot, decent writing and art - it should work but at best this title is very average. I think Peter Milligan/DC should've looked to adopt the approach Grant Morrison took with his "Seven Soldiers of Victory" series. Take an issue for each character, establish their backgrounds, personalities, motivations, and then send them on their way to join the others in a future issue. "Seven Soldiers" was similarly supernatural, featuring quirky, little known characters, hell it even had Zatanna, not to mention a better title than "Justice League Dark" - DC should've had this "rebooted" instead. I might check back to see where Jeff Lemire - who replaced Peter Milligan - takes the series, but there are better "New 52" titles to pick up before coming to this. Check out Snyder's "Batman", Morrison's "Action Comics", and Johns' "Aquaman" and non-Dark "Justice League" for better reads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark. Very Dark. And Funny. Very Funny, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Justice League Dark Volume 1: In the Dark TP (Justice League (DC Comics) (paperback)) (Paperback)
This book is definetly worth a try, the storyline is great, very enjoyable, the characters are likable and funny when needed, the art is fantastic, it’s good to look at. I recommend this book to anyone who loves comics or just interested in getting to know the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Join the Darkside (of magic), 30 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Justice League Dark Volume 1: In the Dark TP (Justice League (DC Comics) (paperback)) (Paperback)
What would happen if the Justice League failed? what if there was a magical attack that only a group of magically gifted people could stop and what would happen if that group couldn't stand each other refused to work together and had such personal problems that they can barely function as human beings? well if these questions have ever come to mind this is the book for you.

So who are the reluctant heroes who must fight to save the world, John Constantine chain smoking scouse magical con-man, Zantana Zatara real magician who pretends to be a stage magician, Boston Brand the 'Deadman' mortally challenge ex acrobat who can posses the living, Madam Xanadu fortune teller and seer, Rac Shade the changing man who has the power to change reality thanks to the M-Vest and Jay Young who can project his seizure soul to interact with the world and calls himself Mindwarp and they must come together to stop the increasing manic Enchantress whose madness is affecting the world, and that's the plot in a nutshell it's a fairly standard bringing a team together story but it's done with both humour, darkness and a certain amount of flair that really makes the lack of any substance to the plot not really matter that much.

There are a few problem that stop this from really being a top level book, there is no real backstory for anyone new to the characters it's fine if you have some foreknowledge but people coming in cold might find it a bit difficult to understand, there are bits and pieces of information dropped so it's no real problem just a minor fault, the other problem is with two of the characters Shade and Mindwarp ,(the rest are fine especially Constantine and Deadman) Shade's self pity and weird powers make him a difficult character to like while Mindwarp really adds nothing, he's hardly in it and doesn't really do anything when he is they could have not had the character at all and it would have made no difference whatsoever.

So apart from some minor niggles this really is a promising start to the series, the way they are brought together is very good and feels right (a fare amount of emotional and actual blackmail takes place) and any team with John Constantine in it is worth reading about (as long as Keanu Reeves isn't involved anywhere) and also it's does a good job of making you want to read more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Surprised me!, 5 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Justice League Dark Volume 1: In the Dark TP (Justice League (DC Comics) (paperback)) (Paperback)
I've always been a fan of more darker themed animation/graphic novels, this being titled justice league dark.. I had to get a copy!
The way the characters band together isn't the stereotypical: "Oh it's the end of the world lets form a super group!?". I won't type any more than that in fear of making any spoilers, so if you like any of the characters included in this obscure team or want a safe escape from the more popular super heroes this is a good way to go. Really enjoyed the writers depiction of each character in dialogue and illustration, I've already looked into the second part to this series.

Came well packaged and on time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Got me hooked since the first pages., 29 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Justice League Dark Volume 1: In the Dark TP (Justice League (DC Comics) (paperback)) (Paperback)
I you love John Constantine and forced alliances where no one tolerates each other, order this book right this second!
Justice League Dark is what it promises, when the regular JL can't handle something because, well is "too Dark" for their comprehension, they call this "freaks".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 18 Feb. 2014
As a fan of Hellblazer, I was curious as to the treatment John Constantine was given by DC Comics after the last reboot. Sadly, this book was kind of a mess.
Several mystic DC characters are "teamed up" in Justice League Dark; Xanadu, Zatanna, Shade the Changing Man, Deadman, Mindwarp and Constantine. Looks good on paper, but the story was very disjointed and confusing. More importantly, the lack of character background (I am not familiar with Mindwarp and Shade) was the true turn-off, for me.
As for Constantine... I need to read the second trade paperback to form a definite opinion, but so far so good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dark justice, 5 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The plot leaves something to be desired but the whole point of vol 1 is to draw together and introduce the team so a lack of plot can be forgiven for the moment.

The artwork is fantastic and the interplay between the characters is good and should only get better as the series goes on Constantine is a stand out, but I maybe biased he's been a favourite for years.

I always found the original justice league too goody goody justice league dark has some serious potential to be my new favourite series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 28 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thoroughly enjoyable, nice to see the likes of Zatanna and Constantine in a mainstream DC title.

Recommended, really good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Justice League Dark Volume 1: In the Dark TP (Justice League (DC Comics) (paperback))
£10.68
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews