Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Feels like the Old 52 to me
The story running through issues #1-6 of the New 52's Superman is collected as Superman Volume 1: What Price Tomorrow? TP (The New 52). Apart from Superman's new costume and Clark Kent not wearing a suit, this could easily have been mistaken for a 1970s Superman comic book - and that is not a malicious comment, as I was there and I liked that period of Superman stories. I...
Published 13 months ago by No More Mr. Mice Guy

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average superhero tales
It's not a bad comic book, I've read far worst, but it's not good either I rate it as average superhero fare.

The best thing about the tale is that it follows a complete plot line, like a TV show, indeed that's what it felt like an American TV show. The human interactions are the best things about this adventure, Superman's adversaries and his own adventures...
Published 15 months ago by Geekface


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average superhero tales, 18 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's not a bad comic book, I've read far worst, but it's not good either I rate it as average superhero fare.

The best thing about the tale is that it follows a complete plot line, like a TV show, indeed that's what it felt like an American TV show. The human interactions are the best things about this adventure, Superman's adversaries and his own adventures are what makes this a mere average tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Feels like the Old 52 to me, 12 Aug 2013
By 
No More Mr. Mice Guy (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Superman Volume 1: What Price Tomorrow? TP (The New 52) (Paperback)
The story running through issues #1-6 of the New 52's Superman is collected as Superman Volume 1: What Price Tomorrow? TP (The New 52). Apart from Superman's new costume and Clark Kent not wearing a suit, this could easily have been mistaken for a 1970s Superman comic book - and that is not a malicious comment, as I was there and I liked that period of Superman stories. I have read the first two volumes of the New 52's Action Comics, and this story came as a bewildering surprise by its - relative - simplicity, though as Grant Morrison is writing Action Comics, most stories will be bewilderingly simple by comparison. Now, it did have its own bewildering points, as there are references to previous stories involving Titano the Super Ape, the Sky Raiders, and the Fleischer robots. Now, I'm sure everyone knows what the Fleischer robots are, but because of the prominence of the Sky Raiders and Titano later in the story, I wasn't sure if they were just "made up" for back-story, and by "made up", I mean lifted from pre-New 52 stories as opposed to have appeared in a New 52 story somewhere, such as Issue 0.

However, if you pretend that you haven't read the new Action Comics (or consider them to be Earth 1.5 or something), you can read this story as a `modernised' traditional Superman story, which does a great job of (re)introducing the supporting cast of Clark Kent's world, from the brand new Daily Planet building, now owned by Morgan Edge's Galaxy Communications, with a few new characters thrown in to the mix, along with lot of old ones, and other New 52 cast members, including the reintroduced Kryptonian-speaking Supergirl. No Krypto yet though (and that had better not have been his skeleton in General Lane's collection over in Action Comics).

This is an excellent introductory story, with superb scripting and artwork - but read it before Action Comics, if it is not too late, and it might be a 5-star story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New in Blue, 4 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Superman Volume 1: What Price Tomorrow? TP (The New 52) (Paperback)
Superman is back in the new 52. We know him, it all feels very familiar, but then again there is a new wind blowing trough Metropolis and it's a darker one. I love how Clark/Kal-el is changed. Also how he and Lois are growing apart is very special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A superb, solitary, self-questioning superman story., 8 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I always remember 70s comic books being a bit 'trippy' and this tale follows in that tradition for its conclusion. A great follow on from the recent man of steel movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Look Up In The Sky... Again!, 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm someone who has only JUST got into the comic book thing so I'm starting with the New 52 series and therefor cannot compare them to the original stories from DC. I really enjoyed Superman Vol 1 WPT? The story consists of action and mystery that kept me glued to the pages and I'm looking forward to seeing what Vol 2 has to offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good comics, 24 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read a few comics from the new 52 series and that one is quite good. for under 15£ it is a decent deal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Angry, angsty and grim; whatever happened to the Man of Tomorrow?, 16 July 2013
By 
Kp Roegele "The Baron" (Somewhere) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Superman Volume 1: What Price Tomorrow? TP (The New 52) (Paperback)
You won't find Superman in this book.

There is a character going by that name, but he has none of the charm, compassion or positivity of the character we've all loved for seventy years. No, this Superman is a brooding outsider, a negative, angry and largely unsociable warrior (note the armour costume he now wears), who simply turns up, fights the vilain of the week, and leaves.

Where is the character that we all look up to? Where is the beacon of hope and heroism that has engaged generations? Not here. Instead, you have a book full of images of him angry, threatening people, one cover shows him having beaten Supergirl unconcious.

This is an overwhelmingly negative new version of Superman and it's genuinely sad to see the character being taken in this direction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Superman Volume 1: What Price Tomorrow? TP (The New 52) (Paperback)
Absolutely brilliant, saying no more as will give away story.
But its definitely a purchase to be made! Amazing artwork and story.its a great fresher for the supes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Super, 24 July 2013
Superman Volume 1 is part of DC's "The New 52", which partially reboots the DC Universe for new readers. This is very handy for people who want to get into comic without requiring knowledge of 70+ years of continuity. Anything from past works are explained very well.

In the curiously titled "What Price Tomorrow?", the Daily Planet is bought out by a major corporation, leaving the Man of Steel mourning what it once was. He is attacked by a group of cosmic monsters who desperately want to take over the earth or something, it's quite confusing so I'd best not explain. Meanwhile, there's a decent look into Clark Kent's relationships with others.

The comic is confusing and inconsistent, but not a bad comic at all. There's some realism and drama, with convincing character interaction and dialogue, but Superman's inner monologue (and other characters' descriptions of occurring events) are somewhat more similar to classic comics. I enjoy this kind of melodrama, but it's awkward when the comic is attempting to modernize the DC Universe and make it accessible to new readers. The plot is pretty stable and back-stories are explained easily. The winning element of this comic is the artwork. It's cinematic, violent and exciting. While Superman causes far less mess than in the film Man of Steel, this is definitely a great read in the age of DC's film universe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Where is Superman when we need him? Not in this book apparently., 8 Nov 2013
This review is from: Superman Volume 1: What Price Tomorrow? TP (The New 52) (Paperback)
It may seem wrong for someone to write a review on a comic without even making it to the book's conclusion, but I simply cannot finish this. I'm admittedly more a Marvel fan than a DC one, so my DC collection is significantly small when measured up to the Marvel books. However, I can safely say this is the worst DC comic I have read yet.

Everything that is and was Superman can not be found in this trash. Firstly, his awful New 52 look. The unnecessary piping, that dumb looking collar I can deal with. They're still things that I wouldn't miss if they were ditched but I can at least tolerate them. The artist draws Superman like he's some kid playing dress-up. This baby-faced loser doesn't have an ounce of the heroic and masculine appearance of how Superman has been represented in the last 70 years. Some may argue that Superman's look might have aged (I doubt anyone will really mourn those underpants on the outside), but it was definitive. It was a sign of strength and justice. he was a God walking among men. Now he looks like some guy who's barely out of puberty trying to look tough but failing hilariously.

But with that being said, the artist isn't bad at all, and I'm sure he wasn't responsible for the butchering of Superman's design, but Jim Lee's version in Justice League still looked good, so there's no excuse for this laughable Superman. The rest of the characters are drawn pretty well and the art helps the story move forward as a good comic should.

But of course, the main aspect of a comic to critique is the writing. Does the way the new 52 Superman is written justify my previous complaints? Of course not! Superman is written as some younger, dumber, angrier moron, because apparently the only way to attract female readers is to write their heroes like they're sparkly vampires from a certain other popular series of books and films. Again, it is hard to find anything resembling Superman in this joke of a story. And it isn't just Superman/Clark who is given this treatment. There are many other familiar characters such as Lois Lane and Jimmy Olsen. However, no relationships seem to ever be explored. Conversations never dig in to the friendships between these iconic figures, and only serve as plot exposition. More emphasis is put on creating a story that's filled with punches and flying around, and not on its people.

The story itself? Some aliens come to earth and fight Superman and the media blame Superman for it, to put is simply. Doesn't seem original, nor is it engaging enough for me to finish. I cannot sit through any more of this comic. I hope this review helps you to stay away from this book, a book that would be of better use as toilet paper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Superman Volume 1: What Price Tomorrow? TP (The New 52)
Superman Volume 1: What Price Tomorrow? TP (The New 52) by Geroge Perez (Paperback - 9 July 2013)
£7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews