Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very pleasant surprise.
This is what they call a turn up for the books. A mature and sophisticated story without any spandex.

Although it features Wonder Woman, and she is our primary guide through the narrative, a single lassoing and bracer parry doesn't make it feel like she is indispensible. It is more about the machinations of the Greek gods - whom it turns out Diana has more of a...
Published on 9 Jun. 2012 by 365 Graphic Novels

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Where's the wonder?
Diana, Amazonian Princess aka Wonder Woman, finds herself protecting a young woman impregnated by Zeus from his vengeful wife Hera. But Wonder Woman is about to find out her own dubious parentage, a secret her mother Hippolyta has kept from her for years.

I got this based on the strength of Geoff Johns' portrayal of WW in "Justice League: Origin" where she came...
Published on 9 Oct. 2012 by Sam Quixote


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very pleasant surprise., 9 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is what they call a turn up for the books. A mature and sophisticated story without any spandex.

Although it features Wonder Woman, and she is our primary guide through the narrative, a single lassoing and bracer parry doesn't make it feel like she is indispensible. It is more about the machinations of the Greek gods - whom it turns out Diana has more of a relationship with than you thought - and notably Zeus' rampant promiscuity. Poseidon, Hades, and all your favourites from Clash of the Titans are here but you don't need a major in the classics to eventually work out who is who.

The whole thing feels, and also looks, very Sandman; from its immortal characters and literary references to its particular art style. The Greeks certainly knew how to spin a good yarn and using established myths to craft a tale with modern resonance all about family is sheer genius. There aren't many laughs but they appear where appropriate. Drama is king here.

There isn't too much characterisation or lengthy exposition. You begin in medias res and the whirlwind of people you meet usually appear cryptic or reserved. This gives a great feeling of `trust no one' as there is both a child's life and the throne of heaven at stake. There is a human character for us to latch on to who, despite being the maguffin that drives the plot along, is a genuinely likeable, witty person that we can easily take a shine to.

This being an origin story and part of a reboot we do have bases to cover so there is skipping between heaven, earth and the secret Amazon homeland along with dramatic revelations and re-revelations about back-story. The Wonder Woman here feels nothing like the Diana of JLA and there is certainly no mention of Captain Trevor.

The art is great and much looser and more abstract than most clean lined superhero books. The colouring is out of this world and the lighting of each scene, and the mood that creates, is epically cinematic. Each location and time of day feels distinct and great use is made of twilight and rain. There is an incredible transition between pure blue and pure red panels that you could frame and hang on your wall. Most of the earthbound locations are in London and if you can forgive the stereotypical accents it's nice to see Tower Bridge and the Thames make an appearance.

This is really good storytelling. It has universal and poignant themes, an emotional heart, and isn't dumbed down. It benefits a second read and it really seduces your eyes. It's not a traditional superhero story and is unexpectedly broader than just a Wonder Woman story but doesn't disappoint.

The hardcover edition has a sturdy matt black cover under the dust jacket with plain embossing on the front and spine. There is the original concept art for many of the characters. Each of the issue covers also features the original black and white proof too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Where's the wonder?, 9 Oct. 2012
By 
Sam Quixote - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wonder Woman HC Vol 01 Blood (Wonder Woman (DC Comics Hardcover)) (Hardcover)
Diana, Amazonian Princess aka Wonder Woman, finds herself protecting a young woman impregnated by Zeus from his vengeful wife Hera. But Wonder Woman is about to find out her own dubious parentage, a secret her mother Hippolyta has kept from her for years.

I got this based on the strength of Geoff Johns' portrayal of WW in "Justice League: Origin" where she came across as gung-ho, fun, and guile-less in a charmingly quirky way - Brian Azzarello however has taken that characterisation and thrown it out of the window. In place of that, the WW of this book is quiet and surly, often moody and dull. It wouldn't have irked me so much if Azzarello had given WW a decent storyline but unfortunately that too is missing from this book. The story is entirely about family, namely the family of ancient Greek gods, Zeus, Hera, Hermes, etc. and WW's place within it. Cue lots of scenes of familial conflict with WW relegated to the role of high strung teen yelling at her mother - groan.

I suppose if you like all that gods and monsters stuff from millennia ago, you'll enjoy this book, but I thought this was going to be a fresh, new take on the character and having all of this god-crap going on is not new or fresh. "Blood" feels like a poor facsimile of Neil Gaiman's Sandman.

Cliff Chiang's artwork is unimpressive to say the least. It's serviceable but a long way from what you would expect for this comics icon. Even worse follows when Tony Akins draws the final 2 chapters and makes everyone look like they stepped into a second rate manga cartoon. It's a bit counterproductive of DC to give one of their all-time most famous characters sub-par illustrators who don't illuminate the character or her adventures in an attractive way.

I really wanted to like this book but I think Azzarello has taken the wrong tack with the character and should've taken notes from Johns' vision of Wonder Woman. Azzarello's WW is neither fun or interesting and, based on this first book, doesn't make me want to read more of her. "Blood" is uninspired and dull making what should have been one of the highlights of this reboot, one of the disappointments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another new beginning for the Olympians, 23 Sept. 2014
By 
Pink Fluffy Bunny (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This storyline runs through the first six issues of the new ‘New 52’ Wonder Woman series, collected as Wonder Woman Volume 1: Blood TP (Wonder Woman (DC Comics Numbered)). This begins with the absence of Zeus, the discovery of yet another child of his fathered on a human, and Hera looking for a termination with extreme prejudice, until Wonder Woman steps in to protect the mother. We also see a lot of plotting by the children of Zeus to take his empty throne, something Hera has her own eye on, and we discover yet another secret origin of Wonder Woman, this time one of the best we’ve been offered (though I haven’t seen all of the previous ones); a new relative (or two) of hers turns up, while an old one leaves. There is action aplenty, as well as characterisation, intrigue and prophesy, as Wonder Woman and friends must make their own plans for the coming struggle of the gods.

THE SPOILER ZONE
For a detailed breakdown of the issues collected in this volume, see Wonder Woman Volume 1: Blood TP (Wonder Woman (DC Comics Numbered)).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New (Wonder) Woman, 31 Dec. 2014
By 
Jakeisthecoolest "Jake" - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There is a huge amount fantastically right with this novel. Azzarello, of 100 Bullets fame, has conceived and delivered a compelling and relevant re-imaging of WW. In this collection of issues #1-6 he manages to rewrite her origin, convincingly introduce a cast of Greek gods, reveal a bunch of exciting locals and all alongside slick and witty dialogue. With wild revelations about her past, that set up huge potential for her future, he gives us a Wonder Woman full of anger and uncompromising violence. Seemingly fully formed before having her core rocked it will be interesting to see how she comes back from this. Throw into the mix Cliff Chiang's unique and eye-catching artwork and you have something that feels entirely fresh, and possibly one of the most successful of DC's New 52 reboots.
Definitely worth a look, especially f it is still at a knock down price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very pleasant surprise., 9 Jun. 2012
This review is from: Wonder Woman HC Vol 01 Blood (Wonder Woman (DC Comics Hardcover)) (Hardcover)
This is what they call a turn up for the books. A mature and sophisticated story without any spandex.

Although it features Wonder Woman, and she is our primary guide through the narrative, a single lassoing and bracer parry doesn't make it feel like she is indispensible. It is more about the machinations of the Greek gods - whom it turns out Diana has more of a relationship with than you thought - and notably Zeus' rampant promiscuity. Poseidon, Hades, and all your favourites from Clash of the Titans are here but you don't need a major in the classics to eventually work out who is who.

The whole thing feels, and also looks, very Sandman; from its immortal characters and literary references to its particular art style. The Greeks certainly knew how to spin a good yarn and using established myths to craft a tale with modern resonance all about family is sheer genius. There aren't many laughs but they appear where appropriate. Drama is king here.

There isn't too much characterisation or lengthy exposition. You begin in medias res and the whirlwind of people you meet usually appear cryptic or reserved. This gives a great feeling of `trust no one' as there is both a child's life and the throne of heaven at stake. There is a human character for us to latch on to who, despite being the maguffin that drives the plot along, is a genuinely likeable, witty person that we can easily take a shine to.

This being an origin story and part of a reboot we do have bases to cover so there is skipping between heaven, earth and the secret Amazon homeland along with dramatic revelations and re-revelations about back-story. The Wonder Woman here feels nothing like the Diana of JLA and there is certainly no mention of Captain Trevor.

The art is great and much looser and more abstract than most clean lined superhero books. The colouring is out of this world and the lighting of each scene, and the mood that creates, is epically cinematic. Each location and time of day feels distinct and great use is made of twilight and rain. There is an incredible transition between pure blue and pure red panels that you could frame and hang on your wall. Most of the earthbound locations are in London and if you can forgive the stereotypical accents it's nice to see Tower Bridge and the Thames make an appearance.

This is really good storytelling. It has universal and poignant themes, an emotional heart, and isn't dumbed down. It benefits a second read and it really seduces your eyes. It's not a traditional superhero story and is unexpectedly broader than just a Wonder Woman story but doesn't disappoint.

The hardcover edition has a sturdy matt black cover under the dust jacket with plain embossing on the front and spine. There is the original concept art for many of the characters. Each of the issue covers also features the original black and white proof too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She's back!, 19 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wonder Woman HC Vol 01 Blood (Wonder Woman (DC Comics Hardcover)) (Hardcover)
Being new to Wonder Woman, I was interested in how the New 52 would reboot would treat one third of DC's Trinity. I have to say I'm very impressed. Chiang's art work is wonderful and reflects the tone of the story. Which is excellent from Brian Azzarello (100 Bullets, Joker) and has a number of surprises in store. I won't explain what the story entails, but it's one that thrusts Diana right back into the forefront of comic book goers and newbies alike. The story goes along at an excellent pace and doesn't let up, and the final frames wanted me to pick up Volume 2 straight away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Greek Gods - Yes!!, 20 Feb. 2014
By 
I wasn't sure if I was going to read this series; I haven't been a fan of WW since the 70s version, but when Kindle had a $5 sale on Volume 1s I couldn't resist picking up the volumes of the characters in the JL and Batman Family I didn't already own. I like Greek mythology a lot so was interested to see where the new 52 would take Diana's story. This first volume is heavily mired in Greek mythology and other than Wonder Woman all the other characters are Greek Gods. I really enjoyed it. I'm not really familiar with her background story except for the Amazon/Paradise Island connection,so don't know if this whole Gods history is new or not but I looove it! Diana's family is both broken apart and expanded here while we (and she) learn the truth of her background and why she leaves Paradise Island for good. She has already taken the persona of Wonder Woman when we meet her and she goes off to be WW, no longer Princess Diana, with a current responsibility to protect a certain young human girl and in cahoots with a few of the Olympians to get back at Hera. I absolutely adore the representation of Hades, totally awesome depiction! This ends with Hades ticking WW off and the next volume promises to have WW going to Hell to face off with him, so I am definitely off to the next volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wonder Woman is re-invented, 18 April 2014
I'm not the biggest fan of Wonder Woman but this volume which includes issues 1-6 of the New 52 series is written by Brian Azzarello and for that reason alone seemed like it was worth a look. Well, the book has sat in my reading pile for quite a while but I'm very glad that it finally swam to the top. The Wonder Woman that we see in this volume is bereft of her normal supporting cast of Steve Trevor and Etta Candy and actually, Diana Prince is not much in evidence either.
The superheroes and super-villains of the DC universe are also pretty much absent. Instead, there is a focus on the Greek gods and Wonder Woman's fight to save a young girl who is threatened by the Olympians. We do see Wonder Woman in costume but this is a long way from being a traditional spandex comic and in some ways WW is a bit different to the incarnation that we see in recent issues of Justice League. The story keeps us interested and ends on a bit of a cliffhanger which left me running to pick up volume 2. The artwork in this book is unspectacular by modern comic standards but is actually very appropriate to the story and the page layouts are nicely designed. As a nice bonus we get some character designs and sketches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 16 May 2013
By 
D. Black (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have not read Wonder Woman before this, but I really enjoyed it. I love the links to Greek mythology, it reminded me of Marvel 's Incredible Hercules. Looking forward to reading volume 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Female Superiority, 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wonder Woman HC Vol 01 Blood (Wonder Woman (DC Comics Hardcover)) (Hardcover)
Ever wanted to know what the best New 52 female comic book series is? Than look on further than Wonder Woman. Hands down beats Batgirl, supergirl, batwomen and catwomen no problems and even goes toe to toe with Scott Snyder's Batman. Great service from Amazon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wonder Woman HC Vol 01 Blood (Wonder Woman (DC Comics Hardcover))
Wonder Woman HC Vol 01 Blood (Wonder Woman (DC Comics Hardcover)) by Brian Azzarello (Hardcover - 30 May 2012)
Used & New from: £54.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews