Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A vivid and immersive adaptation
With little in the way of difference between the 2 movie adaptations I was skeptical that this graphic novel would have anything new to offer. To my surprise, it takes a bit more time to develop and set-up the plot and characters, giving the reader a better idea of what is going on. The movies tore through plot details very quickly, and not too coherently, leaving many...
Published on 9 Dec. 2012 by Inspector Gadget

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A very graphic novel
This adaptation of the first part of “The girl with the dragon tattoo” is stylish, clever, nicely illustrated and a great read. It is the most violently and sexually graphic graphic novel (with the possible exception of “Lost Girls” on the latter count) I have ever read but is an accessible and stylish alternative to the Larsson novel.
Published 11 months ago by barbicandy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A vivid and immersive adaptation, 9 Dec. 2012
By 
Inspector Gadget "Go Go Gadget Reviews" (On the trail of Doctor Claw) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, Book 1 (Hardcover)
With little in the way of difference between the 2 movie adaptations I was skeptical that this graphic novel would have anything new to offer. To my surprise, it takes a bit more time to develop and set-up the plot and characters, giving the reader a better idea of what is going on. The movies tore through plot details very quickly, and not too coherently, leaving many (myself not included) a bit disorientated.

The artwork and paneling flows nicely and often draws you into the atmosphere. With many graphic novels I find myself just reading the dialogue and giving the pictures a casual glance, though here I wanted to occasionally linger on the details. The characters are brought to life rather well (Blomkvist could have a bit more definition though), especially Lisbeth Salander, a character I have bit too much in common with for my comfort, who would virtually impossible to neuter. Every panel with her is a work of art.

DC/Vertigo plan to release 2-part graphic novels of all 3 books. They're off to a good start, and despite the criticism of other readers I assure that it's definitely worth having. Forget the digital version. The Hardback is lovely and will look great on your bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 4 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, Book 1 (Hardcover)
having read the books, watched the films both Swedish and American, I didn't think I would enjoy another version, how wrong I was. This is awesome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like the book , you'll love this, 18 Dec. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, Book 1 (Hardcover)
I've read the book, I've seen the movie, I liked them both and this graphic novel didn't let me down either. Very good work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book and art, 12 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, Book 1 (Hardcover)
Nice adaptation, great art, much better than the US film! Can't wait for book 2. Worth getting if you're a fan of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 20 Jan. 2013
This review is from: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, Book 1 (Hardcover)
I ordered this book to read with friends, at school we sit and all four of us read graphic novels, all sharing the same copy. This book is big, so refect for sharing! The storyline is wonderful, as are the colours and illustrations. Only problem is that it isn't the whole story! I though it would be the whole book, turns out there are three more to be released that will make the first book of the trilogy. I can't wait until they come out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A very graphic novel, 26 Aug. 2014
This review is from: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, Book 1 (Hardcover)
This adaptation of the first part of “The girl with the dragon tattoo” is stylish, clever, nicely illustrated and a great read. It is the most violently and sexually graphic graphic novel (with the possible exception of “Lost Girls” on the latter count) I have ever read but is an accessible and stylish alternative to the Larsson novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Read the Hardback novels ,, 20 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, Book 1 (Hardcover)
I am a big fan of the Millennium novels (have the hardback,and paperback) pluss all the dvds,swedish,-Tv extended Versions,and the usa remake,i think i thought this was going to be the first book (not part of it) and i also think it is more based on the u.s.a. remake movie,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Couldnt put it down, 5 Oct. 2013
Really well written with a story line that tells a million stories. Words cannot say enough about the brave people who confront and expose the scum who only think of their own scabby little needs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The Girl with the Dragon Tatoo, 30 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, Book 1 (Hardcover)
Artwork and story good, but I was not aware that the book was only half the story and that there should be another book ( Book 2), which up to now I have been unable to source
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars good book, 30 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, Book 1 (Hardcover)
the book is great but when i received it, it had a sticker on the front which is very hard to remove and left white marks on the cover, great other than that
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, Book 1
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, Book 1 by Denise Mina (Hardcover - 22 Nov. 2012)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews