Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant Start
While I can understand a lot of GA fans not liking this story it is a brilliant jumping on point for new comers to both Green Arrow and DC in general. Unlike Batman or Green Lantern no back knowledge of GA is required with this book, its a completely new slate and fresh perspective.

Before the New 52 I had read very little DC comics and had never read a GA...
Published 18 months ago by Mr. P. Tindle

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Blandness prevails
Oliver Queen is a billionaire playboy by day, daring vigilante known as Green Arrow by night... hey wake up! I know, it's kind of cliché to have the superhero be a billionaire playboy what with the far more popular Batman and Iron Man already representing that niche but look, Green Arrow's different: he has a bow and arrow! Hmm. Ok, how to interest the reader... he...
Published on 12 Oct 2012 by Sam Quixote


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Blandness prevails, 12 Oct 2012
By 
Sam Quixote - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Green Arrow TP Vol 01 The Midas Touch (Green Arrow (DC Comics Paperback)) (Paperback)
Oliver Queen is a billionaire playboy by day, daring vigilante known as Green Arrow by night... hey wake up! I know, it's kind of cliché to have the superhero be a billionaire playboy what with the far more popular Batman and Iron Man already representing that niche but look, Green Arrow's different: he has a bow and arrow! Hmm. Ok, how to interest the reader... he puts different pieces of tech on the end of his arrows so they do different things, say an ice arrow or an airbags arrow. No? How about a series of nondescript villains he fights? Yeah you're right, this book is kind of lame.

Having read Andy Diggle's far superior Green Arrow book "Year One" I knew how Queen became Green Arrow but for those coming to this character cold, you're never told so you'll have to figure it out yourself. The book is divided into 2 storylines: the first, written by JT Krul, has GA take on a team of bad guy supervillains who broadcast their misdeeds online - saucy (and riddled with plot holes)! The second, written by Keith Giffen, involves some kind of Toxic Avenger knockoff and a ninja.

As expected, GA takes `em all down by shooting various tech at them embedded in the tips of his arrows. In between naps I looked up to read Oliver Queen getting lectured by his CEO about running his company. Because that's what you want to read about in a superhero comic - corporate rules.

This isn't the worst superhero comic book but it is undeniably bland. Even the great George Perez's artwork can't save this snooze-fest as Krul or Giffen fail to show the reader why Green Arrow is a superhero they should care about or even why he's a semi-famous character who's recently been given his own TV show. With no large storyline, interesting villain, or particularly original character in the driving seat, Green Arrow is a limp and disappointing start to the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The 1970s called…, 28 Aug 2014
By 
Mr. Mice Guy (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Green Arrow TP Vol 01 The Midas Touch (Green Arrow (DC Comics Paperback)) (Paperback)
The story running through issues #1-6 of DC Comics’ New 52 Green Arrow series is collected as Green Arrow TP Vol 01 The Midas Touch (Green Arrow (DC Comics Paperback)). This is the New 52 Green Arrow – gone is the beard, the costumed sidekick, the long running relationships with Black Canary and/or mysterious female oriental martial artists, decades of angst and anger at social injustice, and the lost billionaire industrialist lifestyle; everything, in fact, that lifted him out his former situation of being a backup character. Instead, now he has designer stubble, non-costumed sidekicks who stay in the lab and run his comms and intel (just like Oracle or Alfred), short Bruce Wayne-like social relationships, and a billionaire industrialist lifestyle; though he has kept the anger at something or other.

Back in the 1980s, writer-artist Mike Grell took the character and his 40-year backup-feature history, and by force of character made him into a major league player, without giving up any of the backstory – simply by deepening it and giving it relevance to the character. This comic reads like a 1970s backup feature, despite having top-line writers and artists. There is nothing new here, and unfortunately, nothing old either. It appears to have been assembled from cast-offs from various Batman series. The villains, while adopting modern social trends, are off-the-shelf generic characters, and even the scientist-gone wrong villain thinks of himself as a second-rate Alec Holland. What’s to like? I don’t know, but considering that this title has continued while several better-quality ones have folded, he must be reaching a new audience, or it improves with age. Maybe the audience for the Smallville TV series has moved in; though what the influence of the Arrow TV series will be might be more relevant. There is a long history of comic books being kept going when there is a TV series or film being released, just to try and cash-in on the free publicity. Now I know from reading the Red Hood title that Roy Harper is in the backstory somewhere, and Green Arrow gets his own Justice League in due course, so I will keep reading the series, courtesy of my local libraries, but it is definitely C-list at the moment.

There are two three-part stories collected here. The first one sets out to establish the character’s motivation, supporting cast and corporate troubles; the second provides us with a couple of whacky villains who have a grudge against Oliver Queen himself – and the Blood Rose at least is an intriguing character.

THE SPOILER ZONE
THE SPOILER ZONE
THE SPOILER ZONE

Issue #1 – “Living a Life of Privilege” – quickly establishes the Bruce Wayne character of Oliver Queen, taking a board meeting by phone while hunting criminals in Paris. Oliver is only the head of one of the divisions of Queen Industries – Q-Core - and there is a CEO of the company who is not happy at the way that division is being run. We get to meet Ollie’s backup team who feed him real-time intel (and design his weapons), and fight some villains who post video of their crimes on the Internet, and who have a big following there, making them celebrities. Someone goes to jail, but not for long…

Issue #2 – “Going Viral” – sees an entire team of Internet-celebrity villains setting up a trap to get their hands on Green Arrow, who has been spoiling their fun. We also get a bit of development here of the corporate side of Ollie’ life, and of his support team, such as the pacifist who designs his weapons.

Issue #3 – “Green Arrow’s Last Stand” – sees Ollie taking on the celebrity villains, who have killed a wannabe celebrity villain as bait to get him to meet them, so they can stream the fight and his death. They get Ollie very angry. They discover that they don’t like him when he’s angry…

Issue #4 – “The Things we do for Love Hate” – opens with Green Arrow finding himself caught in a staged mugging, but the muggers all self-destruct before he can find out why. We meet a pair of mystery villains who are out to get Oliver Queen, and who appear to be behind the mugging in order to get intel on Green Arrow, who has been observed hanging around in the vicinity of Q-Core. Blood Rose - a female martial arts and guns type - decides on a reconnaissance mission into Q-Core, where she runs into Oliver, and soon after, Green Arrow. The ensuing fight reveals some hidden abilities of hers…

Issue #5 - “The Midas Touch” – gives us the background to the other villain, a toxic swamp-monster, who did an Alec Holland, and whose code-name if Midas. Oliver has some corporate troubles when one of his assistants is promoted over his head, quickly followed by an attack by Midas on Oliver, who scuttles off to change into Green Arrow, while his new boss is held hostage, leading to a spectacular fight.

Issue #6 – “Lovers & Other Dangers” - sees Blood Rose rescue Midas from Green Arrow, who eventually tracks them down with the aid of his backup team, and a massive fight ensues, which reveals some interesting secrets about Rose, before the big finale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant Start, 24 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Green Arrow TP Vol 01 The Midas Touch (Green Arrow (DC Comics Paperback)) (Paperback)
While I can understand a lot of GA fans not liking this story it is a brilliant jumping on point for new comers to both Green Arrow and DC in general. Unlike Batman or Green Lantern no back knowledge of GA is required with this book, its a completely new slate and fresh perspective.

Before the New 52 I had read very little DC comics and had never read a GA title before. However, being a fan of sci-fi and comics in general I did have a passing knowledge of the character.

The Midas Touch does away with the middle aged archer and reshapes Oliver Queen as a younger, 'greener' (no pun intended), man. Oliver is more fitting of WB's Smallville or recent Arrow series rather than his previous comic book counterpart. He his a man trying to do what is right while juggling a lifestyle he doesn't really want.

The only downside to the book is there is no hint at Oliver's back story, whether his origins of being ship wrecked on a deserted island will stand is unknown. And that is the problem with this story, wheres Green Lantern just continued on from its previous saga, GA is completely new and without any back story to the character or his surroundings it leaves both newcomers and fans alike a little lost and disjointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite a good comic, 4 Nov 2013
By 
Gayle (Burwell, uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Green Arrow TP Vol 01 The Midas Touch (Green Arrow (DC Comics Paperback)) (Paperback)
I am not a big comic book reader but even so I think the critics are wrong about this volume. For a start I thought the storyline was quite good even if it wasn't very realistic, not that I even want to much realism in dc comics, and the art was up to scratch furthermore I am a big fan of the modern look of green arrow. You'd be surprised how many people are actually big fans of this comic. I'd reccomend this to any green arrow fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ok but nothing special, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The new green arrow for the the 52 is sadly very average. It's a shame but the it appears that dc did not have a great plan for Ollie. If you after a bog standard superhero comic this might be worth checking out. Nothing special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Price Fixing?, 27 Mar 2014
Why are there so many variations in price for dc new 52 products? This was three pounds yesterday but is over £5 today. There are no overheads nor supply demands as it is a digital product. Consumers are being ripped off with this price and all others that vary from hour to hour. Be a supershoppa and demand answers! This product may be alright but reviewers think the pricing structure is villainous!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a terrible story but wrong for the New 52, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
DC Comics relaunched their entire line of superhero comics a couple of years ago under the banner of 'The New 52'. This collection is the first six issues of the relaunched Green Arrow. One of the intentions of the New 52 was to provide a jumping on point for teens to get into superhero comics. In this collection the writer has paid lip service to this notion by having a much younger than usual Green Arrow battle thoroughly modern baddies who upload videos of their crimes to the internet. And yet this attempt at a modern take on GA and his foes is completely undermined by the writers frankly bizarre decision to have GA constantly moaning and griping about how kids today celebrate the bad guys in popular culture and play too many violent video games! The finale of the first arc is literally GA lecturing the audience from a podium about the perils of modern technology. For a comic that is trying to attract young people these decisions on the part of the writer seem absolutely baffling. The art is very good,but it's not a particularly modern or exciting style. If you removed the cover you could easily think you were reading a comic from the 80s or 90s. Overall it's not a terrible collection but as a relaunch designed to pull in new readers it's just too old and stuffy in its outlook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WTF happened., 31 Dec 2013
By 
J Dodd "Dodsize" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Green Arrow TP Vol 01 The Midas Touch (Green Arrow (DC Comics Paperback)) (Paperback)
I cannot extend my sadness enough at how horrible I found this book. I've been a fan of Green Arrow for a long time now, The Kevin Smith/Judd Winnick series is in my opinion one of the best runs ever in comics and something DC should be proud of.
But this is horrible.
I know the New 52 is a jumping on point for new fans, but this is so badly done. No back story whatsoever, 2 random 'sidekicks' who we know nothing about (kind of GA's Lucius Fox and Oracle) who are plain annoying, along with the worst enemies going. We've gone from epic clashes in the past like Deathstroke and Solomon Grundy to a gang of Nobodies who film themselves F'ing stuff up to broadcast online and them some stuttering Swamp Thing type cast off (who was given the worst and briefest on-page back story I've ever seen, and it made no sense) with his robo-ninja girlfriend. And for the new readers, there's no indication at all how any character came to be here, Oliver Queen included.
Maybe I should move on from the old stories and embrace the new, but looking at the amount of creative teams involved in the first two volumes of this series, it seems that DC knew themselves that it was a pretty bad start. The art kind of stinks too :(
Such a shame, I hope it gets better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Green Arrow TP Vol 01 The Midas Touch (Green Arrow (DC Comics Paperback)) (Paperback)
As everyone else says this book has some things that it should fix to be able to compete with the other novels
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hit and Miss, 10 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Green Arrow TP Vol 01 The Midas Touch (Green Arrow (DC Comics Paperback)) (Paperback)
I'll start with a list of what this volume doesn't contain, Roy Harper (never mentioned but since he is off with Jason Todd there must have been some falling out), Mia Dearden, Black Canary, Star City, any kind of backstory, any reference to an island, any other dc hero (except a couple of nods to superman), recognisable enemies, Stephan Amell (although there are abs)anyone expecting any of these then sorry to disappoint but none of these appear, this is a soft re-boot familiar in some aspects but different in others.

So what is there you ask, well there is a young inexperienced and brash Oliver Queen, struggling to be both the crime fighting Green Arrow and the head of Q-Core a off-shoot of the larger Queen Industries, patrolling Seattle by night annoying the C.E.O with his lax attitude by day, unfortunately this is an all to familiar road to be walked and others have done it better, also this is before Queen has become part of the wider hero community so no friendship with Hal Jordan and no romance with Black Canary (two of the better relationships that DC has and they choose to not have either, bit daft if you ask me) instead you've got tech girl Naomi and weapon guy Jax (no Daxter though) who play their part but don't quite reach interesting, also the antagonists in both three part story are a bit undersold frankly most of the ones in the first story are so paper thin character wise you wonder why they bothered with them, Midas has potential but you can't help but think you've seen his like before and his partner Blood Rose well I'll let you decide for yourselves.

But all that said it's not all bad, Green Arrow look pretty good (although he would have looked better with a Goatee) and that is true of the art overall and there is enough action to satisfy, but you can't help but feel they've missed a trick here Green Arrow more then any other comic book hero used to stand for social justice, standing up for the little guy but here it's almost as if someone decide to make him a bit like Tony Stark, which is odd because in both the T.V series Arrow and in Injustice Gods Among us they have nailed the idea of who Oliver Queen much better, but this is just the start hopefully the writers will get there but there enough promise here just hoping for a bit more substance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Green Arrow TP Vol 01 The Midas Touch (Green Arrow (DC Comics Paperback))
£9.45
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews