Customer Reviews


84 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Once more, again without feeling - a Brand New Day
This is yet another origin of a rebooted Justice League, this time in the 'New 52' universe. It starts with a bang and continues with a series of bigger bangs, as we met the all-new all-now superheroes that will go on to form the 'Super Seven' - though they are going to do some more work on the team name. We meet lots of brand new superheroes that look remarkably like the...
Published on 22 Mar. 2013 by Squirr-El

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't do the name Justice (see what i did there)
So here we are the re-boot of the DC universe called the new 52 and frankly it does some good stuff but it is undermined by a plot that is quite weak and a very rushed ending that undoes a lot of good set up work.

The plot is your basic alien invasion heroes rise up to beat it story, standard fair for comic book team stories, the aliens are from Apokolis and...
Published 18 months ago by Stranger


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Once more, again without feeling - a Brand New Day, 22 Mar. 2013
By 
Squirr-El (The Metropolis, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This is yet another origin of a rebooted Justice League, this time in the 'New 52' universe. It starts with a bang and continues with a series of bigger bangs, as we met the all-new all-now superheroes that will go on to form the 'Super Seven' - though they are going to do some more work on the team name. We meet lots of brand new superheroes that look remarkably like the ones we (some of us) grew up with, but in shinier costumes and who haven't met each other before (apart from Flash and Green Lantern). The trouble with this book is that we HAVEN'T met these people before - their new adventures are launching at the same time as the group book, so we have no familiarity with or attachment to them. The story is good enough, and the artwork is suitably widescreen spectacular, and we know what the Mother Boxes indicate about the villain. But, do we really want yet another planetary disaster/invasion so soon after the Brightest Day/ Blackest Night War of the Green Lanterns/Sinestro Corps Final Infinite Crisis Did I Miss One events? And when will the next one be? Will it be bigger? Will there be new costumes? Will there be newer origins? Will I stop moaning? Yes, to all of the above!

Anyway, I gave it five stars despite it being just a series of bigger bangs. The characterisation and interaction is handled smoothly, even though I didn't feel any particular attachment to the characters, and, as I said it is a Brand New Day, though I have seen too many Planetary Catastrophes occur too regularly to be excited by one more. I was reminded of the long-standing difference between DC and Marvel characters - DC heroes have secret identities they use when they are not dressing up; Marvel characters put on costumes but are still the same characters. However, I will keep reading the New 52 in my local library. The stories are still very readable, even if they are not about the characters I grew up with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bursting from the starting blocks, 11 Sept. 2012
By 
Sam Quixote - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
5 years ago...

The world is just getting used to the sight of superheroes, colourful beings with magical powers who have appeared seemingly out of nowhere. What are their intentions - are they good or evil? When more superheroes appear, they begin to cross paths and meet each other for the first time. The Batman of Gotham. The Superman of Metropolis. An Amazonian Princess. The intergalactic policeman called Green Lantern. A red guy called Flash. Then monsters appear and begin abducting people, chanting "Darkseid", and these superheroes have to learn real quick how to work together as a team to defeat this new powerful evil and save the world. That team is... the Justice League!

If you don't know about these characters then you might be a bit out of your depth with this book. Batman appears. Then Superman. Then Green Lantern. There's no explanation of their backgrounds but they're so famous most readers are likely to know anyway who and what their motivations are. The only character here who's given a backstory is Cyborg - who needs it the most, not having a book of his own in the "New 52" line-up.

But despite its non-stop action, the book works really well as an entertaining read and even a plausible set-up for a movie. All of the characters have individual personalities and interact well. Wonder Woman especially comes off as a brilliant character, her gung-ho attitude to life and guilelessness makes her very likeable as does Green Lantern's arrogant confidence in the face of every threat. Superman is quietly in charge but not overly dominant despite being the most powerful of the 7. Flash and Aquaman could have had a few extra scenes to make them stand out as it didn't seem like they contributed much, but then this is Volume 1 - there's plenty of time to give them space in future books.

Batman is probably the one character I would say was not just underwritten but also strangely out of character. I still don't know why he unmasked in front of Green Lantern or why he continued after without the mask - it just doesn't seem like something Bruce would do. But I suppose as this is the early days of Batman when he's just starting out, he might be more trusting than the more weathered/experienced figure of later books.

Geoff Johns and Jim Lee have done a fantastic job setting up this improbable team for a new and fresh 21st century audience. I had my doubts, especially with the characters of Wonder Woman and Aquaman, but they managed to write them without making them seem contrived or ill-fitting to the story. Suddenly a Justice League movie seems not just feasible but also something that could be as huge as The Avengers was earlier this year. "Origin" is an excellent start to this flagship series for the New 52 and a bombastic, rollicking read for all fans of superhero stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A team is born, 29 Dec. 2014
By 
Jakeisthecoolest "Jake" - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the collection of issues 1-6 for the DC's Justice League reboot as part of the New 52 initiative. I picked this up cheap-ish for my kindle out of curiosity, having never been a massive Justice League fan. That said, this reboot origin story that sees DC's finest come together is helmed by legendary writer Geoff Johns and artist Jim Lee. These two have really set both the bar and the tone for everything that will follow in the New 52 series. We meet a younger fresher faced group of superheroes, unsure on the roles and not quite at ease with their powers as super-humans struggle to find their place in the world. As one of their flagship titles, you expect great things from the Justice League, but I feel it suffers from bringing too many characters together too quickly. They seemingly bump into to each other as they individually tackle a mysterious extra-terrestrial threat resulting in the appearance of one of DC's most powerful villains. Sadly this is inevitable and I do think that it has been done as well as possible and I am confident this will all develop into an series. Not sure it will be one of my picks to follow with so many titles to choose from, but a cracking first volume.
Also worth noting that the appendices include some great initial sketches and sublimentary material.
However, if you fancy something a bit different maybe check out Suicide Squad, far more madcap and less serious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding re-imagining of a classic team, 19 Aug. 2012
I hadn't seen this new line of comics from DC, so getting the first collection of the new JLA was an eye-opener, and I have to say I LOVE IT!!!
The dynamics of every character have breathed new life into the iconic personalities that I grew up with, and have given me (someone who's been following them from the late 6o's) not only a lot of new-found joy, but also hope for the new generation of readers who will pick up these titles.
Everything is new about these characters, from their costumes right up to their attitudes (well, Batman excluded, but he's come a long way fom his gun-toting early days in Detective Comics), and their brash new outing had me bouncing up and down in my seat with a mix of happiness and excitement.
The artwork, like the writing, for me is superb, andlong may it continue, say I.
Jim Lee draws the best Batman I've ever seen, and his appearance is very much similar to how he is in the Frank Miller Batman and Robin, only with a more "Techno" costume and no stubble.
Superman is amazing in this (And I am not a fan, so from me, this is high praise indeed), as gone is the boy scout image, and in its place is an angry, dangerous individual, more than capable of hitting first and asking questions later.
He's much more visceral, arrogant, and down right perfect in this latest incarnation.
His stand-off with Batman had me yelling out loud with sheer delight, seeing this latest depiction of their first meeting, and loving it completely.
The "new" Green Lantern had me laughing at the outcome of his antics, aswell as his interactions with Batman and Superman (Batman taking his ring was pure brilliance, as was his caustic reply to Lantern's saying he'd never be able to do it again).
Lantern's enthusiastic verve, coupled with the results, just makes him more human than ever, and shows his inexperience in using the ring, which, for me, is a delight to behold.
The Flash also made me happy to see again, as his fiery passion in the office is balanced out by his arrogance when confronting Superman (with quite hilarious results, I thought), and his reluctance to be seen alongside the others when the Police arrive.
Wonder Woman also resembles the Frank Miller depiction of this character, but without the female chauvanistic attitude.
She's just looking for a fight, and finds one, which really makes her character shine nce she's in battle.
Aquaman is another old favourite of mine, and here he brings back so many golden memories, bu with a lot of modern attitude and a penchant for good one-liners.
Batman is still Batman, no matter what version he's incarnated in, so there were few surprises here, apart from the sepectacular one with Green Lantern, before he went off to rescue Superman.
That took me by surprise, but helped the story somewhat, as this is, after all, a new re-imagining of these characters, and so little things like this have to be expected.
The adding of extra files nd character sketches at the end of the book also added to the enjoyment of this book for me, and I am very much looking forward to the next edition.
Especially if it fleshes out heir new incarnations some more, and keeps the conflict/friendship going for a while longer, at least until they evolve into a team proper, and sort out all their "who's leader" issues.
All in all, I am pretty blown away with just how good this book is, and am already becoming a fan-boy all over again :-D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't do the name Justice (see what i did there), 18 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
So here we are the re-boot of the DC universe called the new 52 and frankly it does some good stuff but it is undermined by a plot that is quite weak and a very rushed ending that undoes a lot of good set up work.

The plot is your basic alien invasion heroes rise up to beat it story, standard fair for comic book team stories, the aliens are from Apokolis and led by Darkseid, the heroes Hal Jordan an arrogant and cocky pilot who for some reason has been given a green lantern power ring (there is no way the guardians would give a man like him one off the most powerful weapons in the universe it's like giving a four year old a live land mine) it may just be me personally but I found him hugely annoying I can understand he has no fear but add to that no common sense and you get an idiot with a big mouth and a bigger ego. Barry Allen aka the Flash just a normal guy he happens to be able to run really fast, Superman younger and less refined then you might expect but still to stupid to think past using his superpowers for a solution, Wonder Woman the team badass, Aquaman the grumpy one who can control marine creatures, Cyborg the young hero who gains his powers in story and Batman who is well......Batman.

There is much that works well there is a multitude of action and the entire volume does a good job of keeping up the pace while slowly adding the heroes to the story, the cyborg origin is well written in and him coming to terms with what he has become is touched on well but could have done with a bit more time to develop the interactions between the main players are also well done and often humorous but I couldn't believe Batman didn't punch Hal Jordan every time he made a smart comment.
The problem is that the good work is undone by an ending which really is just a bit to easy, Darkseid is one of DC's greatest bad guys and to have him defeated so easily feels a little wrong that and generally the plot just didn't grab me it felt just a little to generic, I suppose the story is really about bringing the heroes together but to have a stronger background story would have made a better impact.

So not without merit it just feels like something is missing, it's certainly enjoyable it just lacks a little substance that would have taken it from being good to great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Starting with Filler.. not a good sign, 24 Sept. 2013
Unlike the New 52 Batman books, there isnt much to recommend about the Justice Leagues first step into their new universe, and validates every fans trepidation of the inevitable post Avengers Movie idea.

Its not that this is bad, dont get me wrong, it works. But, a few well place lines of dialogue aside, there is nothing memeroable about it, bad or good. The splash cover is about as dynamic as it gets. Which is concerning for what should have been the marque title.

The issue stems from a lack or drama, or of tension. Baring in mind that this re-introducing the Tyrant to end all tyrants - DarkSeid, there is a frightening lack of dread about the whole piece. Where Snyders Court of Owls had tension dripping from also every page, every confrontation feeling meaningful and important, here nothing does.

Darksied steps into the story for the first time since the anti-life obsessed end of all things crashed through the universe in Final Crisis. There, even the wrecked decayed form commanded respect, and the possibilty of the character invoked dread.

Here its just another big thing to hit. Anything could have stepped into view in the last issue and had a similar level of menace about it, which is disappointing.

Like Superfriends and their 80's ilk, the issue here is a lack of tension. Between the characters, in the narrative, there is just little in the way of tension to hold onto. Its almost impossible to swallow that this is the same Superman that Grant Morrison is throwing around Action Comics, and inconcieveable that this is the same Batman that Snyder and Capullo are lifting to ever greater heights.

Overall , a disapointment, a damp squib misfiring at a time when DC are otherwise firing on all cylinders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The flagship title of the new 52 gets off to a rather Disappointing start, 18 July 2013
The New 52. You ether love it or absolutely despise it, but regardless of your opinions, its an incredibly daring and bold move from DC. A fresh start (apart from poor old Batman)filled with new adventures, characters and creative teams. So it needed a glorious opening, with the most globally known super-hero team ever under the control of the two main powerhouses of DC it seemed nothing could go wrong! Until everyone read it...
I exaggerate, really, some people love this and I myself would be lying if I didn't say I enjoyed reading it. However, sometimes you have to look past the hype, the critics and the godlike artwork of Jim Lee and then see what you have left; a mediocre adventure with little plot, too much action and thin characterization. Its still GOOD, but nothing up to what I expected it to be, maybe that's the problem, or maybe I'm the problem? Regardless, the comics industry had a full blown parade on this. So it took any comic fan with half a brain cell to get excited, I was extremely eager to see what DC had cooked up this time. Sadly I was left slightly broken hearted,this IS the Justice League we are dealing with! THE GREATEST SUPER-HERO TEAM EVER ASSEMBLED (SORRY AVENGERS).
Its opening is exciting and intriguing, taking place three years before the true 'capitalization' of superheroes, so Batman is still being hunted, Superman feared, Wonder Women misunderstood and Aquaman still being a laughing stock. The first few batch of interactions between Green Lantern and Batman are brilliant and funny, " you're not just some guy in a bat costume are?" Priceless. We don't get each superheroes origin however (apart from cyborg) only the teams formation, so don't purchase this expecting how Green Lantern got his ring and why The Flash is the fastest man alive; Geof Johns assumes that your familiar with these characters. One strong feature of the book is the characterization of Green Lantern, Geof Johns writes this character masterfully; but that's no surprise seeing as he's spent like 8 years detailing his solo adventures. Unfortunately no one else really comes across as being dynamic, with the exception of one awesome moment with Aquaman and Batman, well, just being Batman.
Between the excessive amounts of action we see two main things; Wonder Women buying an ice cream for the first time and the origin of Victor Stone AKA Cyborg. And what a relief it is for him to be on the team, finally we get to see a rookie ( a very powerful rookie) on the team. I personally really like Cyborg, and his characterization here is also pretty good and emotional, until he actually 'joins' the team, then he just turn into another generic guy who can talk to computers and shoot lasers. Team members turn up at random just for the sake of the plot, so don't expect a hugely epic confrontation of them all; aside from Superman.

The plot is pretty basic, actually no that's to nice, the plots VERY BASIC! There that's better. Its just another, highly generic invasion of Earth from aliens type scenario, oh and the identity of the villain behind it all gets spoilt in the very first issue; wow really Johns you couldn't wait another few months. In a summary, the heroes go from city to city beating up aliens, admiring Wonder Women's boobs, saving people and poking fun at Aquaman. Oh and Green Lantern's arm gets broken and he stil doesn't shut up! However there is a very touching moment between him and the always awesome Batman were one of them (guess who!) reveals their secret identity to the other, but of course every fanboy went into a frenzy when they saw this, claiming it was 'out of character', come one its the one of the few very human and touching moments of the entire book and they hate on it. Everything culminates in one giant fight between the League and the main villain, but then Superman comes back from his vacation on Apokolips ( if your a nerd then you'd be laughing hard at that little reference) and punches him back to where his sorrow butt belongs, oh sorry I forget why this team needs to be a team when they have a Superman. This causes a lot of crowd clapping, stupid speeches, cheesy dialogue and a baffling ending if your not an expert on the DC universe. Oh and the art, well its Jim Lee, of course its amazing what did you expect. Wait so why was any of this relevant to the New 52? Answer is, it really wasn't.

OK, I've rambled on far to much about this book. In conclusion, its fun but offers nothing special. Don't do a me and go into it expecting a masterpiece, because your be highly disappointed. Justice League Volume 1 is an enjoyable ride with one to many bumps, if your looking for a introduction into the New 52 I would recommend Batman or Action Comics, then THIS. Now go read some Grant Morrison JLA.
* The series has improved recently so don't let all your hope be crushed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The New Justice League starts with a big MEH..., 3 July 2013
I freely admit that I've always been more a Marvel man than DC, so when I started taking a real liking to DC, I thought reading from the New 52 books, I might be able to ease my way into the franchise, as is the New 52's purpose. How shocked was I when I discovered that this book was really quite disappointing. We are thrown into the action straight away with no characterisation, no reason to like these characters, no chance to breathe. Characters are thrown in one after another without any real introduction - just "look at me, I can kill an alien better than you". The characters just agree to team up without a moment of thought. No conflict or comradeship between them.

I had previously read a part of Geoff John's run on Superman and really enjoyed it. It was my first Superman comic and everything I needed to know was given to me. The characters were so rich and real and didn't rely on too much continuity. TH=his book feels like they were rushing for a deadline.

Jim Lee's art is okay. Not exactly spectacular but he at least makes the bland plot nice to look at (although I much protest against the awful new design for Superman. I'd choose underwear on the outside over that stupid-looking collar any day).

The book fails to introduce new characters without the mercy of further reading. I agree with the notion that "every comic is someone's first". This book does not. If you're looking for an entry point into the DC universe, I'd recommend you save this one for later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Dumb, but great for new readers, 14 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For years I have considered myself a loyal Marvel fan, buying primarily Marvel products and giving little attention to other works. I think the issue was that I've always followed the Marvel mythology and I knew that the DC Universe has a longer, more complex history. This is why I have never read Batman, Superman, Justice League or anything else in the DC Universe. But this comic has left me wanting more.

This comic is part of The New 52, a kind-of universe reboot which starts from scratch, reintroducing the classic DC characters in a 21st Century setting with no need for prior knowledge. As a new reader, this comic allows you to embrace a new comic book universe. The situation that brings the characters together is an awesome one which really gets you on your toes and caring for what happens to the characters. Jim Lee's art is just fantastic. The classic costumes are given realism and function and still look like classic adventure heroes.

The plot is... not exactly cerebral. While Jim Lee's art is fantastic, Geoff Johns' writing is not so much. The plot is basically nonexistent because the story is mainly wall-to-wall noise and senseless action. Like Marvel's Siege, there's not enough plot development and the characters don't really get any depth. For example, Aquaman is kind of thrown in half way in and has very little input to the story following. Conversely the character Cyborg, a lesser-known DC character, is given an origin story and tons of depth, which is quite nice.

There is also content which makes no sense and the character are introduced with no backstory and no explanation. We are introduced by Batman on page 1, with no mention of his origins, his real name or his relation to other characters. He is chasing an alien antagonist, demanding he tells him what he was doing at "the docks", and we are given no explanation, and never get an answer. Green Lantern shows up out of nowhere to save the caped crusader and just as little effort is given in introducing the character or his relation to the plot. Superman comes in acting like a total tool, attacking Green Lantern and Batman straight away, very uncharacteristically. Later, Batman unmasks himself to Green Lantern and tells him his name. Why? There is no good reason.

So again, like Marvel's Siege by Brian Michael Bendis and Olivier Coipel, the art is glorious but the action is monotonous and mindless, with generic villains thrown in. However, it's still an extremely exciting comic book and the characters are fun to see using their unique powers and it will really let you get into these new comics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Justice League I've been waiting for., 2 Mar. 2013
By 
Skywalker fan "GMS" (Oxon, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Justice League HC Vol 01 Origin (Justice League (DC Comics)) (Hardcover)
I had been reading comics set in the DC Universe for quite a while before Flashpoint brought about the launch of the New 52 and whilst I had read and enjoyed a number of Justice League comics (particularly Grant Morrisons JLA run but that was read in hardcover years after its original publication) I had never had a huge connection to the team. I am however a big fan of Geoff Johns runs on Green Lantern, Flash and JSA and so when I heard that he and Jim Lee were taking on the Justice League book for the line wide relaunch I was incredibly excited and I anxiously awaited reading it. I'm pleased to say that it turned out far better than I could have hoped for.

The story is incredibly well balanced, granted it is very action heavy as you would expect from a superhero team book. However it is never without great humor and character moments that draw you in to the formation of the league and their battle against Apokolips in a way that makes these classic characters feel both revitalized and relevant.

The art by Jim Lee, Scott Williams and Alex Sinclair is, as you would expect simply stunning, full of incredible detail, dynamic fight scenes and colors to die for. My favorite aspect of the color work by Alex Sinclair is the approach taken to the constructs of Green Lantern. They are rendered in a way that I have never seen before that give a fantastic three dimensional weight to them.

Overall this book is fantastic and provided me with a Justice League that I feel attached to and invested in. This and the second volume that just came out are examples of how brilliant superhero team books can be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Justice League HC Vol 01 Origin (Justice League (DC Comics))
Justice League HC Vol 01 Origin (Justice League (DC Comics)) by Geoff Johns (Hardcover - 2 May 2012)
£18.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews