Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great, big major epic event of the Green Lantern comics. War of fear, 3 Sep 2014
This review is from: Green Lantern Sinestro Corps War TP (Paperback)
Green Lantern: The Sinestro Corps War
The epic tale is a cross over event and this collection is the complete story which has previously been collected in two separate volumes but can be got in complete graphic novel collecting the 12 issues of the story.

The story kicks off with a brilliant double length feature Green Lantern Sinestro Corps Special#1 which see's the return of Sinestro, since he last escaped Green Lantern's Hal Jordan and Kyle Rayner near the climax of the Green Lantern Rebirth story. This story is all out war, action fills every issue. Sinestro creates his own corps to rival the Green Lantern's to bring order to the universe but seeks to do so under his totalitarian control with his corps including The Anti-Monitor, Cyborg Superman, Superman Prime and the return of Parallax the living entity of fear that once possessed Hal Jordan.

The story centers around the Green Lanterns of Earth--Hal Jordan, Kyle Rayner, John Stewart and Guy Gardner--and the rest of the Green Lantern Corps as they fight an interstellar war against the Sinestro Corps, an army led by the former Green Lantern Sinestro who are armed with yellow power rings and seek a universe ruled through fear.The rest of the epic story line is told back and forth between issues of Green Lantern 21-25 and Green Lantern Corps 14-19. The story is great and is referred to as the second big epic in the trilogy of Green Lantern stories, starting with Rebirth, The Sinestro Corps War and finally The Blackest Night.

This is the fourth Green Lantern book I've read and as a general fan of Green Lantern it's great to get a story with Hal Jordan's former mentor as the main antagonist. As a casual reader it was easy to follow. I was mostly interested in the Green Lantern issues that were the best parts of the stories featuring; the four human Lantern's that we best got to know from Geoff Johns previous epic Green Lantern: Rebirth. I particularly enjoyed the Green Lantern issues. The Corps issues followed Kilowog, Sodam Yat and other members in side line events that ran along side the main story. It was a great read that I enjoyed thoroughly filled with some great moments and changes to the Green Lantern mythos. It's a brilliant story full of amazing moments and great art of double page spreads. The ending served up some details and a minor tease in anticipation of its next epic tale; The Blackest Knight.

Check out my Blog http://supercomicsmovieblog.blogspot.ie/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Green Lantern stories ever - a must read!, 2 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent science fiction story that anyone with the slightest interest in Green Lantern should read. Everything from the art to the writing to the pacing of the story is pretty much perfect. A great starting place for those who want to get into Green Lantern. This comes highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Green Lantern Story, 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant intergalactic war story starring the Green Lantern Corps vs the Sinestro Corps. It was a brilliant story and feature some wonderful artwork and superb storytelling.
A few highlights for myself were the following (spoilers to a minimum!)

- The Sniper attack on the green lanterns
- The Sinestro Corps Heavy hitters members (Existing DC Universe Villains)
- Lethal Force Enabled
- Mogo vs Ranx
- Birth of different Lanterns
- Amazing battles through out the story

Its a great story and worth reading if your a green lantern fan! A must buy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars loved it!, 16 Jan 2010
By 
T. D. Sabel "neored" (worces, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have to say that after the first part I did not have high hopes. But they way that green lantern corps adapt to the new set of challenges is really good. The artwork is spectacular, the characterisation is really strong and the baddies are superb. My only compliant is that earth's other hero's act really lame - particularly when the anti-monitor and superman-prime are about. That is the message of the book - Green Lanterns rock!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What an EPIC!!!, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was this book that got me hooked into the green lantern universe. It really highlights just how great the characters are and what potential there is in the future now that Geoff Johns has created the emotional spectrum within this universe. A must read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Green Lantern story, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Green Lantern Sinestro Corps War TP (Paperback)
Sinestro Corps War is a fantastic story that features both great heroes and great villains. Geoff Johns is well known for his Green Lantern run, and this story is what established him as one of the greatest writers of our time. Fantastic action combined with great writing and artwork make this an all-round brilliant read. Seriously one of the best comic books I have ever read. Also acts as a good prelude to Blackest Night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Crossover story ever?, 5 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. Steve D. Berridge (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Green Lantern Sinestro Corps War TP (Paperback)
As a fairly new Green Lantern convert I was told that this was a must read, so I ordered it for Christmas and have not been disappointed. A truly epic story involving your favourite earth Green Lanterns, plus the usual crew like Killowog vs a stellar villains cast including Sinestro, the Anti Monitor, Superman Prime and Parallax. Basically everything you could want for in a Green Lantern book. The action comes thick and fast, but there is an underlying story with the rise of the "chosen one", the enigmatic Sodam Yat. A great twist here, with Sodam Yat, being from Daxam, a planet originally settled by Kryptonites many years ago. I will leave you to work out what sort of power set he has, with that genetic heritage! Anyway, I agree with the other reviewer who said this is much better than the hyped Marvel Civil War, a book that frankly I have struggled to get into. The main characters each have a strong role and get involved in epic battles, the best of which of course, is Sodam Yat v Superman Prime, who is basically an over-powered twisted and nasty Superboy, i.e. your worst nightmare. Just imagine an immature Superman, with more power and an attitude problem and you get the picture. Cannot recommend this enough to comic book fans..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
if your a Green lantern fan you will like this book. I am and I did. hope you all enjoy it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best graphic novel ever, 20 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Epic, sad, brutal, deep, intricate, shocking, I'm gonna read it again straight away.
SPOILERS
The Sodom yat superman prime fight was Epic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 27 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Green Lantern Sinestro Corps War TP (Paperback)
While I only tend to enjoy Batman stories, this epic war tale by Geoff Johns has made me a real fan of Green Lantern. It has an array of multi-layered characters and its dark story of interstellar war is brutally realistic (well, as far as a story can be realistic when depicting a war between two alien organisations).
If you haven't read any Green Lantern stories before this is a great place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Green Lantern Sinestro Corps War TP
Green Lantern Sinestro Corps War TP by Geoff Johns (Paperback - 14 Sep 2011)
£19.13
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews