Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "This town ain't big enough for two homicidal maniacs"
A serial killer who dispatches with his victims on notable dates of the calendar gets nicknamed "Holiday" by the media, but he's killing Falcone's gangsters - the organised crime group who hold Gotham to ransom - he may be inadvertently cleaning up the city but he's still breaking the law. The trinity guardianship of James Gordon, Harvey Dent and the Batman make a pact to...
Published on 17 Mar 2012 by @GeekZilla9000

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best
I was expecting to really enjoy this, but came away quite disappointed. Despite some brilliant artwork, the writing really lets it down, especially in the case of some truly terrible dialogue. The story itself is pretty unimaginative (and, as other reviewers have pointed out, contains a "twist" at the end that really doesn't make much sense) and Batman never seems to take...
Published on 19 Feb 2011 by charlie


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "This town ain't big enough for two homicidal maniacs", 17 Mar 2012
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
A serial killer who dispatches with his victims on notable dates of the calendar gets nicknamed "Holiday" by the media, but he's killing Falcone's gangsters - the organised crime group who hold Gotham to ransom - he may be inadvertently cleaning up the city but he's still breaking the law. The trinity guardianship of James Gordon, Harvey Dent and the Batman make a pact to find Holiday, but it takes longer than expected and there are twists along the way.

The almost cinematic, noir look is striking straight away, the visual quality of this graphic novel give it a unique and mature feel. The gangster 'baddies' are sometimes grotesquely drawn and it reflects their influence on the city, overall the artwork is of a consistently high quality with some black and white pages accented by a single colour feature - it's effective and looks quite beautiful. It's not just the artistic qualities which give this a level of maturity, the pathos between Gordon, Dent and Batman has a real gravitas to it. Each respect and trust each other (though with a healthy amount of reserved suspicion). Their relationship underpins the entire story and neither is ignored or under-developed. The domesticity of Gordon and Dent's lives are shown as we see them juggling their jobs with home life, their wives too play an important part in fleshing out the strains that their work (and obsession) has on their own families. This is easily one of the most the most developed incarnations of Batman I've seen, he has an emotional depth and an anger unlike any other Bats. We see a grown Bruce Wayne cry at his sense of guilt over his parent's death, he feels directly responsible and instead of going out on a costumed jolly he is genuinely haunted by the evil in the city. Some of the older comics (and definitely the TV series) depicted Batman as camp, but he's certainly not in The Long Halloween - this is a stubbly, gruff Batman who looks aggressive, a perfect vigilante.

Joseph Loeb shows how great a writer he can be by creating a very long story (this is three times the length of Year One) which is episodic but linked by constant story arcs. Practically the entire Batman Rogue's Gallery makes an appearance but it doesn't feel as though they are simply being crammed into the story for the sake of it, each is there for a reason and even when you start to think that they perhaps aren't adding much, you are then shown why they are there. Each chapter represents a 'holiday' from the year and that adds to the uniqueness of the book, it is segmented by Halloween, Christmas, Valentine's Day, etc, rather than the usual numbered chapters. This portrays the movement of time and the year-long span of the whole story - it's epic and the timeline enhances the sense of desperation and menace experienced by the main characters. Long Halloween is also a two-face origins story and it's easily the most heartfelt telling of his creation, it spends time making sure you understand his motives. The dialogue steers clear of cheesy one-liners and flows naturally, you can hear the voices in your head and along with the visuals you'll feel as though you've just watched a highly stylised film!

In a nutshell: This story set a year or after Year One still covers the early part of Bruce Wayne's 'career' as Batman but it's made clear that he's encountered a lot and been on a steep learning curve. Gordon and Dent are equally as important to the story and this is easily one of the best and most grown up Batman titles available. The very first chapter is probably the most engrossing piece of Batman I've ever read, and this graphic novel never really loses momentum, it's obvious why this was has been so influencial on subsequent books and the Chris Nolan films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Batman multiple murder mystery!!, 22 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Batman: Long Halloween (Hardcover)
Let me start of by saying, "What a fantastic book."
The plot follows Batman as he tries to solve the mystery of the identity of "Holiday", a serial killer striking on public, you guessed it, holidays.
This is a story of the early years of Batman and done very much in the style of "Batman: Year One" although knowledge of this title, or indeed any Batman continuity, is not required. The writing is superb as it follows a positively Machiavellian plot, with twists and turns whenever you least expect them. This one will keep you guessing to the very end - and even then questions remain.
The art, whilst not breathtaking, services the book very well as an overly detailed or coloured approach would not be in keeping with the story being told.
Next to the seminal Dark Knight Returns, this is the best Batman tale I have read to date, largely due to the fact it is so different in pace and content to the more traditional Dark Knight stories.
If you're a big Batman fan, or just love a good mystery, add a star to the five given as you really cannot afford to miss this!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Batman Graphic Novel, 7 Dec 2013
By 
Timelord-007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Batman The Long Halloween TP (Paperback)
This is a excellent graphic novel by Jeff Loeb & Tim Sale that focuses on a kller named Holiday who kills people on holidays once a month.

Working alongside Captain Jim Gordon & District Attorney Havery Dent Batman uses his detecting skills trying to unveil who the killer of Holiday actually is before killing his next victim on the next holiday.

Batman must also act to stop two warring crime families the Maroni's & Falcones whom are at war with one another as the both reign supreme on the criminal underworld of Gotham City.

The Calender Man hold up in Arkham Asylum knows the true identity of Holiday but refuse to tell Batman who Holiday really is, Instead prefers to give riddles & clues for The Dark Knight to solve the mystery.

Add to this adventure the tragic event's that lead up to Harvey Dent transformation into Two Face & you have one epic adventure that features appearances by The Riddler, The Joker, The Scarecrow, Poison Ivy & The Mad Hatter as this story phases out the common crime syndicates & mob goons to a new breed of villainous rogue gallery's who now infiltrate Gotham City.

This is a great story & lovely illustrations by Jeff Loeb & Alan Sale who deliver a awesome Batman Graphic novel, Part murder mystery, Part tragedy & full on action this is in the 10 best ever Batman storys & one that influenced Christopher Nolan on Batman Begins.

The characters are very well written & fleshed out & the artwork reflects the characterization of the story to perfection.

This is a must buy Graphic novel for Hardcore Batman fan's as this is a highly enjoyable read with superb illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "I will never forget the sound of his screaming . . . ", 12 Sep 2014
This review is from: Batman The Long Halloween TP (Paperback)
Gotham City has a problem, a crime problem, a mob problem. The local top mob is run by Carmine "The Roman" Falcone, and the Batman, Commissioner Gordon, and D. A. Harvey Dent are trying to put him and his crew out of business. During the wedding of his nephew, the Batman catches the Catwoman rifling through Falcone's safe; there will be a battle, and after Falcone's men catch the two, and they escape, Falcone will put a million dollar bounty out on both of them.

In an effort to put the squeeze on Falcone, Batman, as Bruce Wayne, freezes Falcone out of the banking business, thus putting a crimp in Falcone's ability to launder his money. Meanwhile, a new killer shows up. It's the Holiday Killer, and when he kills, he always does it on a holiday, while leaving behind some form of holiday representation.

This is a long graphic novel that was originally serialized in thirteen chapters in thirteen separate comic books. In each comic, one murder happens, and each murder is represented by one of twelve holidays. The holidays are Halloween, Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Year's Day, Valentine's Day, St. Patrick's Day, April Fool's Day, Mother's Day, Father's Day, Independence Day, Roman Holiday, and Labor Day, with the thirteenth comic used to wrap things up. A nice gimmick, I liked it, and I'm surprised that I haven't run across it before, although I'm sure it's been done.

Quite frankly, the whole long argument about whether or not Joseph Loeb and Tim Sale ripped off "The Godfather", and so many other films, is interesting in and of itself, and may be worth an article or two. But, in-the-end, it really isn't germane to a casual fan, like myself, to my enjoyment of this Batman novel. In my opinion, such as it is, Loeb did a very good job of mashing up the mafia, crime, mystery, and superhero novel. At least per issue. I know that I was constantly entertained, and that I was never bored. The flaws come, of course, from reading the entire series of books back-to-back as one does when you read them, as one will, when they are collected together for a larger audience.

My main problem was with the way that the supervillains were treated. We get a parade of who's who of creeps as Catwoman, Solomon Grundy, Riddler, Joker, Scarecrow, Mad Hatter, Poison Ivy, The Calendar Man, and Two Face all parade across the pages. Most of them just seem to show up to run errands, commit petty crimes, and get their butts handed to them. In fact, the Penguin only seems to show up in one panel only. True, unlike some critics, I liked the way that they were drawn, but they simply come across as gaudily dressed thugs.

However, of the three whose appearances that were memorable, I found the Catwoman's appearances great, the Joker's two were fantastic; his robbing of a middle-class family is entertaining as all get out, I'm surprised that he let them live. And the Poison Ivy issue?, well, it shows her as being just as psychotic as I remember her.

The problem is that when all is said and done, the denouement doesn't make a lot of sense, and while it ties some loose ends together, it undercuts so many of the other ones, and is crushingly anti-climactic. I mean, I really can't see the Joker being a hired gun for ANYBODY, and in the end, they all turn out to be red herrings for the real mystery; who's killing off the gangsters, and who IS the Holiday Killer. Hint, this killer has nothing to do with the supervillains.

It almost seems like this Loeb had two separate stories that had to be tied together, somehow, to get published. I've seen worse, but that's no excuse for the sloppy plotting.

While Loeb has taken some hits for his gangster drama, it's this storyline that actually works the best. Sale's constant shifting back and forth from full color to that of a monochromic color actually works. The backstabbing of Carmine's family and the viper's nest of self-centered villains are all great set pieces. While I liked the vignettes involving the Joker, the Catwoman, Poison Ivy, and, yes, even the Riddler, these were all storylines that should have appeared in another storyline. They almost seemed like parodies of their more serious appearances. Maybe it's best to just think of this as an alternate universe Batman story.

I also have to say that I'm not normally really crazy about Tim Sale's art style. It seems way too muddy and cartoonish, but for me, most of the time it seems to work, for me, in this book. Sure, the characters all seem like their posing than flowing across the page, as if each panel is a still lifted from some movie, but I'm guessing that was the intent, and on the whole, it seemed to work.

And yet, despite everything, I DID enjoy this graphic novel, it was entertaining, moved quickly, and I liked Sale's representations of the supervillains, even if not much was done with most of them. The two-page splash page on pages 142-143 is just classic, with Two-Face peering at Batman from out of the shadows. Maybe a guilty pleasure, but a pleasure none-the-less.

I have downloaded seven images from this graphic novel, enjoy them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Worthy Successor to Year One - and a Must Have for your Batman Collection, 24 Oct 2009
By 
Mr. S. W. Steel "stephensteel" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Batman: Long Halloween (Paperback)
This is a great Batman graphic novel and one that should be added to your collection immediately. It was originally published between 1996 and 1997 and although that is nearly ten years after the superb Year One by Frank Miller, it feels like a natural sequel to that seminal work.
The basic premise is that this is Batman still in the early stages of his career and still pursuing the Gotham crime boss - Carmine Falcone (who appears in the Batman Begins film). Batman has strengthened his ties with Jim Gordon, and is also working with a very eager district attorney; Harvey Dent. The three resolve to bring down Falcone, but in the process of doing this there is a problem - a new killer is on the loose called Holiday (as the killer only murders people on well known holidays - St. Patricks Day, Mothers Day etc....).So the storyline covers almost 12 months in the life of the characters and the length of the graphic novel reflects this - at a whopping 370 pages!! But it never feels over-stretched or padded out. I read this in one sitting!
What follows is a very cleverly plotted and executed storyline. I am not going to spoil everything in this review, you will have to read it yourself! But there are crowd-pleasing appearances from the Joker, the Riddler, Poison Ivy and Catwoman. All are given fair amounts of coverage, but it is fair to say that the storyline with Harvey Dent is very well done, and the plotline that will probably grab you the most. Again, it feels like the Dark Knight (the sequel to Batman Begins) has borrowed from some of the storylines contained within these pages - and that is no bad thing. Imitation is definitely the best form of flattery to this graphic novel.
The artwork isn't the best you will ever see(it isn't the worst either), but then it doesn't need to be when the plot and character development is so good.
I would recommend this to anyone who has read Year One or Dark Knight Returns. It is right up with those two classics and stands head and shoulders above a lot of the Batman graphic novels, so this HAS to be added to your collection as soon as possible!
For the person new to the world of the Batman comics i would say read Year One first and then move onto this book, as it is worth reading the origin story. For the casual Batman reader, it is also worth picking this up because you will probably already know a bit about the back story of each of the characters, but this will flesh it out for you!
I can't recommend this graphic novel highly enough - BUY IT NOW!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Reading, Impressive Artwork., 2 Nov 2009
This review is from: Batman: Long Halloween (Paperback)
This book is awesome. Im a huge Bat-Nerd, so i usually know whats going on in story and story archs and such, but for this book i purposely made a point of not finding out anything about it other than the basics, e.g. Plot, Ink Artists and so forth. In doing so, i've found an awesome story, to which i don't know the end. I haven't actually finished it yet but im definately looking forward to it. Im usually pretty good at Whudunnit kinda things (I grew up watching Scooby-Doo ;) ) But this one is very well Illustrated. And also very well Written, im a big fan of Jeph Loeb, having already ordered Batman: Complete Hush, i can only hope to carry on my collection of this amazing writer. If you're considering buying it, consider no longer, order and thank me later.

I'd also advise reading the very least about it. Just basic plot outline, because if you dont know what happens, its a really gripping story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Batman the Long Halloween ( New Edition), 12 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read many reviews about batman the long halloween first edition of the quality of the book itself. but with the new edition ( a dark blue cover with the title running along the side). the new edition is excellent quality and i have had this copy for many months the book and have had no problem with this copy. with all other reviews i have read, they all say =, as i that the story is excellent and it is one of the best batmans i know of. the art work however may not be to every ones tastes but if you are a batman fan then this should not diminish your enjoyment of this story, and this is why i gave this ( the New Edition) 4 stars.i hope this review was helpful, thanks for reading my review.Batman - The Long Halloween (New Edition)
Batman - The Long Halloween (New Edition)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Killer' holidays!, 12 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was a bit unsure about getting this, although highly marked reviews, some said that the story and writing wasn't up to scratch!
I would disagree. If you are unsure, still get this!

-Art is different, unique and stylistic.
-Story is lengthy, but that's a bargin for the price!
-Binding is great for a thick book, no spine creases ever!
-Glossy bright pages

It's worth every penny, and you won't regret it.

I'm not saying it's the best out there, but it's as good as!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 18 Jan 2007
By 
M. J. SEVERN "mindstar" (Stockport, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Batman: Long Halloween (Paperback)
In my opinion this book distills the character of Batman more perfectly than any other comic ever. Once you read this it makes a lot of DC's regular Batman output look cheesy and simplistic, which in comparison to this haunting murder mystery/early years story, it is.

The plot concerns the hunt for a murderer who is picking off members of Gotham's mafia underworld, into which Batman, the Joker and others are drawn. It also serves as an amazing origin story for Two-Face.

Jeph Loeb's (Superman for All Seasons) writing is superb and Tim Sale's noiresque visuals stunning.

The sequel is Dark Victory, which also comes highly recommended.

I should also mention Hush, also written by Jeph Loeb, and Batman: Year One by Frank Miller, which Loeb draws upon for this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 8 Nov 2009
By 
Mr. W. Martin "Wil" (Nottingham; UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman: Long Halloween (Paperback)
As has been said before, Miller owns year 1 but year 2 is loebs.

I'm truly torn as to whether Year One, The Long Halloween or Dark Knight is the greatest Batman Story. It's brilliant exposure for a lot of the classic villains and Loeb's depiction of The Riddler is exactly what everyone thought he was at the time, awful with no respect from anyone. It took 'Hush' to give the Riddler new life but here he is what he always was. Pathetic.

The Mobster Gotham is something I have missed in recent years, batman never chases down organised crime, he fights super villains or gangs armed with alien weapons. Long halloween was incredibly refreshing.

Brilliantly written, brilliantly illustrated, dark, brooding and with a twist even the Batman didn't see. A spectacular book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Batman The Long Halloween TP
Batman The Long Halloween TP by Jeph Loeb (Paperback - 5 Oct 2011)
£12.91
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews