Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, Dark and Beautiful.
Its essentially the story if A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens, which may sound a bit tame but its absolutely fantastic, the artwork and story by Lee Bermejo is spectacular and how classic characters have been used as representatives of the "Ghosts of Christmas" was really clever.

Many comic readers will be familiar with Bermejo from his work on the Joker...
Published on 18 Nov 2011 by Josh.

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars OK
Good Christmas tale. I expected more from this, but it was still a decent read. Also I think this is the suit we will be seeing in the Batman vs Superman film in 2015.
Published 11 months ago by Kindle Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, Dark and Beautiful., 18 Nov 2011
This review is from: Batman - NoŽl (Hardcover)
Its essentially the story if A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens, which may sound a bit tame but its absolutely fantastic, the artwork and story by Lee Bermejo is spectacular and how classic characters have been used as representatives of the "Ghosts of Christmas" was really clever.

Many comic readers will be familiar with Bermejo from his work on the Joker and Luthor graphic novels where his distinctive style first came into the mainstream eye (Joker became a NY:times best seller). But this is his first outing as a writer and the stereotype of artist becoming writer is that the quality of the final product is diminished. Not so here. The story works well utilising well known elements of The Dark Knights published history to link in with the classic Dickens tale.

Its a stand alone story out of the continuity of the "main" DC Universe and not overly reliant on the history of Batman, only the basics are needed such as his parents death, him being a determined crime fighter and his interactions with Commissioner Gordon, etc so no need to feel put off by not being a big comic reader.

The art is stunning, the story well adapted.
Definitely recommended whether you'd usually read something like this or not.
May well become a future classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a creature was stirring... except for a bat..., 24 Dec 2011
By 
Sam Quixote - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman - NoŽl (Hardcover)
After so many Batman books how can one man, the brilliant Lee Bermejo, rejuvenate the character for another book? Take the ultimate Christmas story ever written, Dickens' "A Christmas Carol" and cast the Dark Knight as Scrooge, of course! Robin, Catwoman, Superman, and Joker all put in appearances in the role of the other characters in the Carol, showing how well that story fits the DC Universe like a glove.

The story focuses on how Batman has changed over the years, from the fun loving and sometimes goofy Batman of the `60s Batman TV show, to the barmy Batman in the Schumacher films, to the now much more violent and darker incarnation he is these days thanks largely to the films of Tim Burton and Chris Nolan. Bermejo does justice to this version but is nostalgic for the kinder Batman of yore and steers his Batman in this direction, which fits in well with the Christmas Carol story.

Story aside, and it's great fun, the reason above all others why any Batman fan MUST buy this book is the art. Bermejo is an artist first, writer second, and his artwork here is the best work he's ever done. His Gotham is perfect, steeped in snow, dark and atmospheric, each building fitting in exactly with what I think of when I think of that city. Remember his artwork for "Joker" by Brian Azzarello a few years ago? I thought that was the best depiction of Joker I'd ever seen, and given free reign to draw Batman, Catwoman and Superman, I'd say Bermejo's versions are among the best drawings of these characters I've ever seen as well.

"Batman: Noel" is the perfect story to read on Christmas Eve, especially if you're a Batfan like me, and not just because the story mirrors the most famous Christmas story of all, but because the artwork makes it darkly festive and memorable in the best possible way. I now have a new favourite Batman artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The return of the Batman Christmas story, 3 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. Mice Guy (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Batman Noel Deluxe Edition HC (Hardcover)
This stand-alone graphic novel appears to be set in the period after the death of Robin - though there is no mention of Nightwing - with a `voice over' narrating the story, which begins on the night before Christmas, an angry and aggressive Batman wages his war on crime, with no regard for the criminals themselves. The focus of the story is a gopher for the Joker that crosses his path, called Bob, who he uses as bait to draw out the recently-escaped Joker, with no regard for the safety of Bob's son, Timmy, a kid with a bad leg. Batman is coming down with a cough and fever, and during the night he gets a vision (or fever dream) of the deceased Robin, who, we are told by the voice over, warns him that he will receive three visitors to show him how his life could be lived (or something like that). Anyway, the three visitors are Catwoman, Superman and the Joker, and, well read the book to find out what happens. But remember, traditionally, from 1940 until the day of the Dark Knight, anyway, there would be a Batman Christmas story featuring a lesson in the Christmas spirit of forgiveness and reconciliation.

The artwork is what we used to call `fully painted', which in the wrong hands would look like a series of still-life panels. The art here is of that style, but with a bit of movement in it, but not as fully dynamic as some artists manage; though it does serve the story being told.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The return of the Batman Christmas story, 3 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. Mice Guy (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This stand-alone graphic novel appears to be set in the period after the death of Robin - though there is no mention of Nightwing - with a `voice over' narrating the story, which begins on the night before Christmas, an angry and aggressive Batman wages his war on crime, with no regard for the criminals themselves. The focus of the story is a gopher for the Joker that crosses his path, called Bob, who he uses as bait to draw out the recently-escaped Joker, with no regard for the safety of Bob's son, Timmy, a kid with a bad leg. Batman is coming down with a cough and fever, and during the night he gets a vision (or fever dream) of the deceased Robin, who, we are told by the voice over, warns him that he will receive three visitors to show him how his life could be lived (or something like that). Anyway, the three visitors are Catwoman, Superman and the Joker, and, well read the book to find out what happens. But remember, traditionally, from 1940 until the day of the Dark Knight, anyway, there would be a Batman Christmas story featuring a lesson in the Christmas spirit of forgiveness and reconciliation.

The artwork is what we used to call `fully painted', which in the wrong hands would look like a series of still-life panels. The art here is of that style, but with a bit of movement in it, but not as fully dynamic as some artists manage; though it does serve the story being told.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Merry Christmas Batman, HA HA HA HA HA!, 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman Noel Deluxe Edition HC (Hardcover)
I bought this book for Christmas 2012, and I am very happy I did. Batman Noel combines brilliant artwork and great reading together so well that thank Lee Bermejo for creating this graphic novel, the character designs are very well done, especially The joker who's appearance in this book in my opinion is such a throw back to Heath Ledger's Joker from The Dark Knight, overall I recommend this book for any Batman Fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5* for the art - it is staggering; 3* for the story - it is average, 26 Aug 2012
By 
Little Cat Voom (The middle of England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman - NoŽl (Hardcover)
I bought this because I was struck by the art in JokerĻ; illustration-wise, Bermejo takes things a step further here, and reaches a level of excellence that I haven`t seen before in a graphic novel - it`s incredible. So if you are like me, an artist who loves to see new styles and renderings of classic Gotham characters, then you`ll be as in love with this as I am. However...if you are looking for an equally original and striking tale, then you may be disappointed - it is a reimagining (the current phrase for a reworking of a classic tale) of Dicken`s Christmas Carol. A classic tale of course, but I`m not sure that positioning characters from that story - Scrooge (Batman), Catwoman, Superman and Joker as the three ghosts - into Batman`s world is exactly successful. So even though Bermejo (who writes as well as illustrates) creates a brilliantly dark atmosphere on each and every page, the words are not as memorable...but I re-read it often because the art is inspirational. I love it, but I can absolutely understand that if you are story first, art second then you`ll probably not be as impressed as I am. But for me it`s 5 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic Christmas Tale of the Dark Knight, 24 Nov 2011
By 
Kevin Trebell (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman - NoŽl (Hardcover)
Batman Noel is a stand alone Batman story written and drawn by the wonderfully talented Lee Bermejo.

The story is derived from Dickens "A Christmas Carol", projecting that story onto Batmans world and populating the story with many of it's colourful characters.

It's beautifully drawn and very well written. I'm a huge fan of "A Christmas Carol" and Batman and I was delighted with this wonderful book.

Definitely one for the comics fan, especially if you want to get in the mood for Christmas. This one will be getting added to my regularly revisted Christmas reads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Holy Christmas batman, 24 Feb 2014
This review is from: Batman Noel Deluxe Edition HC (Hardcover)
Not really a comic person bought this because it looked beautiful, story and artwork is great book was mostly I'm good condition small water damage/crinkle to pages but nothing major.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love this!, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman Noel Deluxe Edition HC (Hardcover)
Story is told like a christmas carol, guess who scrooge is? Pretty obvious it's batman, he basically uses a down on his luck man to bait the joker into showing his face, the man just wants money to feed his son timmy but batman only sees him as another lowlife criminal, so to show batman the error of his ways of course is the 3 ghosts of christmas past, to stand in for the 3 ghosts is catwoman, superman and the joker, it's a really good stand alone story but the lessons batman learns should be used in the main canon as it gives batman a new perspective on some of the people he comes into contact with and the artwork is absolutely amazing it really brings the story to life, cannot recommend this enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK, 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman: Noel (Kindle Edition)
Good Christmas tale. I expected more from this, but it was still a decent read. Also I think this is the suit we will be seeing in the Batman vs Superman film in 2015.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Batman Noel Deluxe Edition HC
Batman Noel Deluxe Edition HC by Lee Bermejo (Hardcover - 2 Nov 2011)
£14.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews