Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Morrison at his finest!, 13 Dec 2011
**This review is spoiler-free**
Admittedly, I know of many comic fnas who do not appreciate Morrison's work, be it his highly successful Batman & Robin run or one of his original works, but I find myself in the other camp. The one which loves Morrison's work and are proud of it! So when I saw that his praised work, All-Star Superman was being released as a complete edition, I decided it would definitely be worth my purchase. Having read the book, I can safely say that it is a marvellous piece, particularly if you are enjoying Morrison's current run on Action Comics in DC's New 52 reboot despite this series not being linked to that series in any significant way.
The premise behind DC's, now defunct, All Star imprint was to partner DC Comics' top tier characters with the most popular and acclaimed writers and artists. The creators had access to all elements in the characters' histories to present their interpretation for a modern audience that have not read these DC characters' comics previously, or had not seen them lately. The creative teams were not beholden to any previous and present continuities, and told stories that featured "the most iconic versions of these characters".
So this All Star series combiend the writing talent of Morrison with the artistic touch of Frank Quitely, and it makes for quite the combination.
The premise of the book is simple - Superman gets too close to the sun, thus absorbing more yellow sun rays than his natural Kryptonian cell metabolism can handle, meaning he is going to die. This, with the usual comic book proviso of no cure existing, makes for an interesting read, with Superman trying to accomplish many things before his seemingly inevitable death. But the really good thing about this plot? All Star Superman takes place outside of regular DC Continuity, meaning that if Morrison wants to tell the story, Superman CAN die in the series, something which is well worth remembering as you read.
Now, let's get down to the nitty gritty of the review.
The book is a collection of the complete 12 issue maxi-series, All Star Superman which originally ran from January 2006 through to October 2008. The series has preiviously been collected as two trade paperback volumes, consisting of six issues in each, but this complete edition features all 12 issues along with an enjoyable behind-the-scenes segment penned by Morrison, featuring sketches, production art and alternative covers to some issues.
It is a good book for those who are new to the DC Universe, for example if you have indulged in the New 52 reboot and want to get a handle on Superman's past. It is a story which requires very little prior knowledge regarding Superman, other than the facts that Lex Luthor is obssessed with trying to beat Superman, and that Superman's powers come from Earth's yellow sun. Everything else will be loosely explained within the book.
Finally, the artwork. Frank Quitely did a great job with the art, producing gorgeous characters who showed real expression, but his most impressive feat was the differentiation between Clark Kent and Superman in the book. Most books show Kent and Superman as one and the same, except Kent has slicked back hair and glasses. Quitely takes this a step further, drawing Kent as though he is a totally different character with a slight hunch and a pronounced stomach. This artistic style along with Morrison's bumbling, clumsy Kent makes for an entertaining character who is simultaneously the same as Superman and completely different to Superman. I would definitely recommend this book to any fan of Superman, Morrison or even someone totally new to comics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars want more of this, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Star Superman (Paperback)
all star superman ticked all the boxes the graphics were great story was great just didn't want it to end was gutted at end but who knows ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I want more!!, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Star Superman (Paperback)
This is one of my favourite Superman graphic novels, this book gave me lots of smiles and warm fuzzy feelings. A real feel-good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 21 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Star Superman (Kindle Edition)
I'd never really enjoyed superman before reading this, I thought he was too good, too perfect. But this alternate story-line really got my imagination going and changed the way I thought about the man of steel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Epic and moving, 7 Nov 2013
By 
Greg Zarkodimos (Thessaloniki, Greece) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Star Superman (Paperback)
Being a follower of DC Comics for years, i liked this title very much.
The storyline is trully unique, Superman fans will be thrilled
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All star rating for an all star graphic novel., 12 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Star Superman (Paperback)
**Spoiler-free**
I'm a little fussy when it comes to graphic novels. It's not because I think I'm an expert or authority on what's good or bad, it's just that I don't want to waste my hard earned cash on something poorly written or poorly drawn. Let me say that 'All Star Superman' is neither of these and well worth you parting with your money!

I've always been a Batman person myself, but decided to take a punt on reading some Superman stories and seeing if 'The Man of Steel' was worth my time. I've grown up with the films but never really been tempted to see what the Superman character was like in the comics - the gritty, dark world of Gotham has always been the big draw to me! So, I did my research and this story was consistently referred to in the many 'Top Ten Superman' lists.

Let's just say it's a fantastic introduction to Superman. The story, don't worry no major spoilers here, is based around Lex Luthor tricking Superman into saving the lives of some astronauts and in the process exposing himself to high levels of solar radiation. Now Superman is more powerful than ever but the cost is he is dying! He decides to 'put his house in order' and complete a set of 'bucket-list' tasks before the end.

Let's just say the story is unique and I really found it hard to put down, though I did hold off reading the last part for a whole day because I didn't want it to end. The artwork is fantastic - something I think is as important as plot. The dynamic between Lex and Superman was really interesting and there were moments that really touched me, sounds cheesy but one scene with Superman visiting a hospital was quite moving - this from a man who's favourite graphic novel is The Dark Knight Returns!

So, in a nutshell a fantastic read for all the right reasons, and a novel that has got me interested in looking for more top quality Superman stories. Handled the right way, Superman can be a character well worth investing in!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 1 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Star Superman (Paperback)
It is a great piece of writing and captures one persons view of the Superman Mythos in a satisfying way, wish there was more of it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Super, 25 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Star Superman (Paperback)
One of my personal top two all-time Superman stories (along with Birthright by Mark Waid) - highly recommend this, great, expressive art, fun story encompassing all the years and history of this character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Morrison+Quitely+ManOfSteel=MindBlown, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Star Superman (Paperback)
This book is definetly worth a try, the storyline is great, very enjoyable, the characters are likable and funny when needed, the art is fantastic, it’s good to look at. I recommend this book to anyone who loves comics or just interested in getting to know the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Seventh '5 Star Review', 9 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Star Superman (Paperback)
Easily one of the best Superman stories ever told. This was also the first Superman story I have ever read, and you know what? I loved it. It was a great place to start reading about the character. Nothing more to say really. It's incredible. If you can't take my word for it, look at the six other five star reviews. All Star Superman, have another five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

All Star Superman
All Star Superman by Grant Morrison (Paperback - 5 Oct 2011)
£15.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews