Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Oh, Mistah J!"
Paul Dini created Harley Quinn and in "Mad Love", together with artist Bruce Timm, he writes the origin story of the character where we find out she was a psychologist at Arkham who fell for the Joker's charms in a Stockholm-syndrome kind of way. The "other stories" in the title feature a variety of villains such as the short-lived "Roxanne `Roxy Rocket' Sutton", a jewel...
Published on 1 Jan. 2012 by Sam Quixote

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
my daughter loved this book
Published 3 months ago by Miss Lisa Domala


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Oh, Mistah J!", 1 Jan. 2012
By 
Sam Quixote - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Paul Dini created Harley Quinn and in "Mad Love", together with artist Bruce Timm, he writes the origin story of the character where we find out she was a psychologist at Arkham who fell for the Joker's charms in a Stockholm-syndrome kind of way. The "other stories" in the title feature a variety of villains such as the short-lived "Roxanne `Roxy Rocket' Sutton", a jewel thief who flies around on a rocket with an old-timey ray gun, the Ventriloquist, Scarecrow, Catwoman, Two-Face, Poison Ivy, Clayface, as well as Ra's Al-Ghul, Talia, and Etrigan who feature in the second long story arc.

The book is great fun to read and, as a fan of the animated series from the 90s, it felt like I was reading episodes from that series, especially as Dini and Timm basically ran that series for years. Harley Quinn is a fine villain and has developed into a more interesting character over time but it's still good to see where it all began and "Mad Love" is a must-read for all Batman fans. Just don't expect the overly dark Batman of today in this book as the stories are cartoony and light (most of the time).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...the best Batman story of the decade" - Frank Miller, 18 Mar. 2014
By 
Mr. Mice Guy (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Batman Mad Love And Other Stories TP (Paperback)
The comic-book stories from Batman Animated creators Paul Dini and Bruce Timm are collected as Batman Mad Love And Other Stories TP. They are collected from - The Batman Adventures: Mad Love; The Batman Adventures Annual #1 & #2; The Batman Adventures: Holiday Special #1; Adventures in the DC Universe #3; Batman Black and White #1; The Batman Adventures: Dangerous Dames & Demons; Batgirl Adventures #1; Batman Gotham Adventures #10; and Batman Adventures #3. The copyright dates are 1994-1999 & 2003.

These are simply some of the best Batman stories that I have read, and I have been reading Batman stories for more than 50 years, and having read all the Archive editions, I'm claiming another 10-12 years credit also. There are many brilliant panels and scenes, some sad ones, and a couple of hysterical ones that had me laughing out loud, which is not a good thing at my age, but fortunately, I was alone at the time. Now, the creators probably wouldn't have managed all these effects with out the long history of Batman to make the characters so well-known, but that doesn't detract from their brilliance in doing what they did. There are influences and hommages tucked away in some stories, and shouting out at you in others; I thought that I was seeing the Spirit's Will Eisner at work in some scenes, but there were obvious Jack Kirby references in the Demon story; and when I read some of Ra's al Ghul's suspicious-looking incantations backwards, it gave it away - "Tsetaerg eht saw ybrik" and Nitas teews ym". There are Forewords, Afterwords, and some bits in-between by the two co-creators, and some examples of censored artwork - these were meant to be kids' comics!

The Contents are -
"Mad Love" - 64pp
Annual #1 - 54pp: "Going Straight", "Puppet Show", "24 Hours", "Study Hall", "Laughter After Midnight"
"Cruise to Nightmare" - 6pp
"Jolly Ol' St. Nicholas" - 12pp (Batgirl)
Annual #2 - 44pp - "Demons"
"Two of a Kind" - 8pp ( Black & White)

Further Reading
Batman Li'l Gotham Volume 1 TP
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect gift, 23 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Batman Mad Love And Other Stories TP (Paperback)
i ordered this for my other half and he loves it its great for any batman fans i dont know much about the merchandise myself but my other half is totally obsessed with it and hes says this is brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing., 11 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman Mad Love And Other Stories TP (Paperback)
Definitely recommend die hard comic fans to read this. It is so beautiful! I love the artwork so much, it is truly inspiring from an artists point of view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Birthday present, 18 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman Mad Love And Other Stories TP (Paperback)
Can not answer this myself, all I can say is my son was over the moon with this birthday gift
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Origin of Harley Quinn, enough sad!, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman Mad Love And Other Stories TP (Paperback)
This book is definitely worth a try, the storyline is great, very enjoyable, the characters are likable and funny when needed, the art is fantastic, it’s good to look at. I recommend this book to anyone who loves comics or just interested in getting to know the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Adored!!, 23 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman Mad Love And Other Stories TP (Paperback)
Again this was a Christmas present and it was love at first sight. My daughter was trying to get this for ages and was thrilled with it. Said it was every bit as good as expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!!!, 6 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman Mad Love And Other Stories TP (Paperback)
Quality book. Enjoyable read. Memorable sketches that make you laugh. A must for all Batman fans, you will love this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars :) bats got the work cut out for him, 13 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
<3 love all of it .artwork is stunning! This is my first encounter with Harley .i think she's a great character!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 30 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman Mad Love And Other Stories TP (Paperback)
Loved it but more importantly so did the wife whose present it was!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Batman Mad Love And Other Stories TP
Batman Mad Love And Other Stories TP by Various (Paperback - 31 Aug. 2011)
£12.44
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews