Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Again.
As Darkseid once said, after being told that one of his lieutenants had died - "What? Again?"

I gave up buying Batman comics after the end of the `Knightfall' and `Azrael' storylines, however many years ago that was, as basically, after all the shouting had died down, nothing had changed. I occasionally read a Batman-related graphic novel from my local library...
Published on 10 Jan. 2012 by Squirr-El

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A New 52 Readers Reaction
I continue to explore the more recent pre-52 Bat-verse. Here we have the first collection of the teaming-up of Dick Grayson as The Batman and Damian Wayne as Robin. Bruce Wayne is supposed to be dead, but those close to him know he isn't really; me, I haven't a clue on that storyline. Anyway, this collection is divided into two separate story arcs, the second develops...
Published 11 months ago by Nicola Mansfield


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A great series, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the greatest run of batman comics in the past ten years. An great read for those interested in the family of the Dark Knight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for all batman fans!, 1 Oct. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've been getting into the new Grant Morrison batman tales ever since a friend of mine got me Batman and Son and the Batman Reborn in no disapointment. You will have to be familiar with the Batman and Son/Batman RIP storyline to fully follow this title but trust me it's worth it.

Top writting and great art work by Frank Quitley. I'd also recommend if your a fan of New X-Men.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Batman at his best, 10 Mar. 2011
By 
Ignore previous reviewers complaining just because this book doesn't feature Bruce Wayne beneath the cape and cowl. The star of Batman is and should always be 'Batman'.

And this is a decidedly 'Batman' story. If you expect the kind of 'gritty realism' from a Batman story that you liked from Christopher Nolan's Batman movies, then look elsewhere, because this is the complete opposite. Frankly, no matter how 'gritty' or 'real' you make a superhero, the idea of someone wearing a costume and fighting other costumed psychopaths will always be absolutely absurd and instead of neglecting and kicking the absurd side to Batman as most other writers since the 1980s have done, Grant Morrison's 'Batman and Robin' lovingly embraces it along with all other elements of the Batman mythos, creating the most 'complete' version of the character in years. However, 'absurd' is not the same as 'silly', the writer is smart enough to take the absurdist elements of the 1960s tv show and twist them for modern sensibilities, turning what might be considered stale, laughable and silly about the Batman stories of this era in to something decayed, manic and magnificently disturbing. The ultimate effect, and the best way to describe this book and the volumes that follow, is if 'Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas' was a Batman and Robin story.

In short, if you want a book with beautifully dynamic art and a story that joyfully embraces ALL aspects of the Batman mythos, then stop reading this and buy the book right now. If you feel that the drugged out zany elements of the 1950s and Adam West Batman are somehow an "embarrassment to Batman", then you'll hate this book, and I feel sorry for you that you're willing to ignore what undoubtedly has had as fundamental a part in building and maintaining the universal pop culture icon known as 'Batman' today as anything that Neal Adams, Frank Miller or Christopher Nolan ever did with the character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good story well pencilled, 18 July 2011
Although I did not enjoy Batman RIP, this is like a breath of fresh air. It is a well told story in the hands of a great writer in Grant Morrison, and artist Frank Quietly; a team that produced great work in All Star Superman. Yes there is no Bruce Wayne, but Morrison's character development is super and it is great to see his former apprentice step reluctantly into batman's boots and the banter and relationship with the new robin is great. A really good read and a great start to a new series of comics. The added extras in this edition are also a good touch and show a little of the genisis of the characters in the book. Well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Morrison blows your mind!, 13 Feb. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Grant Morrison is a mind blowing writer; his comics are something else and when he is paired with outstanding artists magic occurs. I have read this many times since I purchased it and, like the very best art, I always find some new delight within its pages. The first three issues area as good as it gets in terms of comic adventure. The villians help to make it so good, Professor Pyg is generally disturbing! But it is Damian as Robin who really stands out, it is a shame that Grant did not continue with this and that the status quo was returned to. Buy it as his is really brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear..., 15 Jan. 2011
Well despite the fact that this is DC's blatant copy of Marvel's 'death' of Captain America storyline from about a year earlier, there are plenty of other problems with this graphic novel.
Yet again we have ANOTHER Robin (how many is it now?) to put up with. Albeit this one being not only more of a brat than usual, not to mention being Bruce Wayne's son (don't ask).
Okay DC still seem to not understand that Batman needs a side kick as much as say Spiderman and Superman do (I mean really- if we're being honest, he doesn't need anymore enough is enough!).

Batman this time round is none other than 'Dick Grayson' (the first Robin-but everyone knows this). And I suppose him having to take on the cape is fairly interesting for a while.

My real problem with this book is the overall style of it. It leaps around from one scene to the next, has a fairly run of the mill baddie and worst of all has a frog driving a car. No I kid you not. And I think that sums up nicely where Morrison was going with this. It's far too goofy. I know you shouldn't compare two different mediums but when you look at Nolan's recent Batman movies and see how cool the bat can and should be. This is a real step back in a very bad way.
A lot like 'Batman;The Brave and The Bold' cartoon series, this is a very tongue and cheek batman delivered in garish technicolor (Quietly's a good artist but so wrong for The Dark Knight.)

Morrison has got a lot of very vocal defenders (well you don't have to be smart to read comics judging by the writer's attention span-yes he has some good and clever ideas, but my can he not wait to just scrawl them down and get them in print). But I ask this. Chris Nolan made the Joker political, satirical and fairly high brow. Morrison wanted to make the Joker a transvestite and Batman a lunatic. Can you honestly put your hand on heart and not see a deep and obvious contrast here? (Rhetorical question of course. Feel free to troll my review without bothering to write your own from here folks:p).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
delivery was fast and the item is as described
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it, read it, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is definitely worth a try, the storyline is great, very enjoyable, the characters are likable and funny when needed, the art is fantastic, it’s good to look at. I recommend this book to anyone who loves comics or just interested in getting to know the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Grant Morrison and DC take us for a ride, 19 Aug. 2010
I bought this with high expectations, having read various positive comments on the individual issues on various comics related web sites. However, there is little or no story in it and the only real saving grace is the art, and that takes a steep dive when Phillip Tan takes over. There is very little examination of how taking on the role of his mentor has impacted on Dick - perhaps that is a long term thing that is being investigated in the ongoing monthly, I don't know. When Red Hood arrives in the second half of the story, he really comes across as psychotic arse - far from the excellent characterisation of Jason Todd seen in the recent 'Under the Red Hood' animated flick. I am a HUGE comics and Batman Fan, but this really insulted my loyaltly to both comics and the characters. Very, very dissapointing. Maybe I'm just too old and have seen the whole 'hero dies/gets drunk/has crisis of confidence(delete where appropriate)-hero gets replaced-hero comes back' story too many times? If you want a good worthwhile Batman story, coupled with top notch art, you would be better off going with the deluxe edition of Batwoman by Greg Rucka and J. H. WIlliams III - by far the best thing to come out of the whole 'Batman death/Final Crisis' story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ooh, 13 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman And Robin TP Vol 01 Batman Reborn (Batman & Robin) (Paperback)
What can I say. It is a good product which I like very much. Best thing I bought in a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Batman And Robin TP Vol 01 Batman Reborn (Batman & Robin)
Batman And Robin TP Vol 01 Batman Reborn (Batman & Robin) by Grant Morrison (Paperback - 30 Mar. 2011)
£10.68
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews