Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
awesome comic
Published 1 month ago by Andy Mass

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A well-told bad story
This is a well written, well illustrated story, albeit one I didn't like.

Having read comics for more than 30 years, I am fed up with people dying and coming back at a later stage (Jean Grey, Professor X several times, Bruce Wayne, The Green Goblin - both of them, etc)

This complex and confusing storyline about the (apparent) death of Wayne and Jason...
Published on 23 Feb 2010 by Peter Cooper


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A well-told bad story, 23 Feb 2010
By 
Peter Cooper "Peter Cooper" (Worcestershire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a well written, well illustrated story, albeit one I didn't like.

Having read comics for more than 30 years, I am fed up with people dying and coming back at a later stage (Jean Grey, Professor X several times, Bruce Wayne, The Green Goblin - both of them, etc)

This complex and confusing storyline about the (apparent) death of Wayne and Jason Todd's stupid attempt to replace him, alongside Dick Grayson's out-of-character reluctance to take on the mantle (which is feebly explained) is rubbish, and there is a risk that Batman sales will plummet - or has that started already? I have stopped buying Batman family titles -in fact, this was to be my last one just to 'finish off the story.'

I have given it three stars rather than less because it is a well-produced piece of work, and my dislike of the Bruce Wayne death series and the return of Jason Todd is a personal opinion.

If you collect Batman, unfortunately you need this title. If not, this is probably not the best place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting episode in the latest Batman saga, 13 Jan 2012
By 
No More Mr. Mice Guy (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This story running through Batman: Battle for the Cowl issues #1-3, and Gotham Gazette: Batman Dead #1 and Gotham Gazette: Batman Alive #1 is reprinted as Batman Battle For The Cowl TP.

This is an interesting episode in the latest Batman saga, providing you are following the storyline. It is not really a stand-alone volume though, so be warned. The Batman Family are trying to keep the peace in Gotham in Batman’s absence, but not doing a great job of it. The Black Mask is stirring up trouble between the Penguin and Two-Face, and the heroes are caught in the middle, with the Red Hood out to seize the Cowl. Eventually, Dick Grayson is pushed into making the decision we have all been waiting for…
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cowl at the moon, 27 Dec 2011
By 
Sam Quixote - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Following the events of Batman RIP, Gotham is thrown into chaos as the Black Mask returns to wreak havoc upon the city and free the cavalcade of villains from Blackgate and Arkham that Batman put away. Meanwhile, Dick Grayson refuses to put on the cowl while a new Batman in the form of Jason Todd appears in Gotham, guns blazing. As the Robins, Grayson, Tim Drake, Jason Todd and Damian converge, along with other assorted superheroes, the battle for the cowl begins...

Tony Daniel's artwork throughout is fantastic and he writes a decent script that props up Grant Morrison's epic storyline, letting fans know what's going on while Bruce is travelling through time. Though it does seem inevitable, Grayson does become the new Batman of Gotham through some great fight scenes with the crazy Jason Todd (whose alternative Batman outfit was pretty cool) and the book is worth reading just for that.

There are extras included at the back focusing on the smaller characters in Gotham, Bullock in the GCPD, Stephanie Brown (Tim Drake's ex and fellow superhero), Vicki Vale (sometime girlfriend of Bruce Wayne and Gotham's answer to Lois Lane), and a few others. These were less interesting stories and the art varied from ok to poor and dragged the book down a bit.

Overall though not a bad read and essential for those following this massive storyline point to point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A terrific continuation of an old story. Characters continue to develop and the action is superb. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
awesome comic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nightwing...Take A Bow!, 13 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. J. Emblen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Bruce Wayne has been depicted so awesomely that, despite regularly pushing his own mortal limits, the idea of him dying seems preposterous. However, Battle for the Cowl deals with the aftermath of such an event brilliantly.

As you'd expect, criminals come out the woodwork to take advantage and launch a wave of criminality over Gotham. As you'd expect, Bruce had a contingency in The Network - which is assembled to fight the flood.

However, the main thrust of Battle for the Cowl is about the future of Batman in Bruce's untimely absence. Dick Grayson (Nightwing) doesn't think a a new Batman is needed whereas Alfred Pennyworth and Tim Drake (Red Robin) do, all whilst a mysterious figure attempts to forcibly take the Batman mantle.

Battle for the Cowl is well drawn, well written, has a host of familiar faces and lots of action. However, I have nudged this upto 5/5 because of Nightwing. He is my favourite DC character and is developed excellenty throughout Battle for the Cowl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Batman Battle for the Cowl, 3 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good graphic novel, well written and drawn
Maybe more suited to readers with a knowledge of past Batman characters
Good value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Really great story for someone who knows Batman., 14 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a great story.
Everything I've read lately regarding Batman (The Black Mask, Batman R.I.P., Batman & Son etc) has lead up to this story, and the payoff is great.
The story is very well written, and has some of the best art graphic novels can offer, and this is the first story I saw Nightwing kick some arse!
One negative about this book is that it ended sort of abruptly and unexpectedly, which kind of left me thinking "Oh, is that it? Okay then..." Then it carried on into a few side stories that showed the after effects of the destruction of Gotham in the main story.
For the cheap price of this book, it's really worth buying (only if you've read the stories prior to the events of this though, or it won't make any sense).

Overall, 4/5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fun but not essential, 4 Mar 2012
By 
Mr. R. W. Jewitt "rob_jewitt" (Tyneside, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It can be quite confusing to work out how this fits the continuity especially if you are familiar with Morrison's Batman & Robin side project in which Dick and Damian fight Jason (in both!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting game changer for the Batman mythos., 20 Jan 2010
A much more straight forward story than the deep complex and all over the place batman rip Battle for the cowl benefits from the simplicity. The art is all very solid and the plotting is very good. Sadly The script is a bit rough around the edges compared to most of the other wriiters who have handled batman over the last few years, still this is a pretty minor grumle as everything else works very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Batman Battle For The Cowl HC
Batman Battle For The Cowl HC by Fabian Nicieza (Hardcover - 18 Nov 2009)
Used & New from: 12.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews