Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.2 out of 5 stars52
3.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 27 January 2010
One of the most divisive books in recent history published by Dc Comics makes this a really tough book to review. Just by looking at the other reviews, both good and bad, you can see that opinion is really divided on this series. There is very little middle ground in the great debate about Final Crisis. Most people absolutely love it or absolutely detest it!
If you are going to love this book then firstly, you need to be a fan of Grant Morrison and like the fact that he is prepared to challenge the status quo of comics in terms of characters, storylines and settings. If you have read some of his other works(and liked them!) such as: Batman RIP, Batman:Black Glove, All Star Superman 1 and 2, Earth 2 and DC One Million and got on with them, then Final Crisis is going to be for you, because it leaves a lot of the work up to you. You have to be able to fill in the gaps and come up with conclusions yourself. Grant Morrison is a master at letting the reader get out of a book, what they are capable of getting out of it. This book is no exception.
Secondly, you are really going to have to be up to speed with some of the storylines that have gone before - the series 52 and Countdown to Crisis would definitely help, and it is probably worth a look at some of the older Crisis on Infinite Earths books two.

The plot is an awe-inspiring, sprawling saga that involves the multiverses, alternative heroes from these other universes and all of your favourite characters in the toughest of situations. You will find Superman, Batman, Wonder Woman, the Flash, Green Lantern, Lex Luthor, Darkseid and the Black Racer within these pages.Throughout, all the heroes are put through the wringer and brought up against events much bigger than themselves; it is a graphic novel that asks, 'What makes a hero, a hero?' and then lets you come up with the answer yourself.

This book may not appeal to you if you are used to a rigid storyline or characters that you know and love stretched beyond their normal, well-known boundaries. You may also not like this book if you like the main story and all its threads laid out in front of you so you can get the full picture of what is going on. There is nothing wrong with this at all - not everyone has the same tastes, and i like to have a good idea of what has been leading up to the main plot, and sometimes i like something that will test me and get more out of me as a reader. It depends how i feel! Horses for courses is what i say! At the end of the day, we all love comics, so let's all agree that we need to support our publishers, writers and artists!
But this book is one that will mean you need to concentrate on, and be prepared to give some time to.

So, that covers who will like this and who will dislike it, but what do i think?
Well, i think it is a good series and well thought out and drawn. But for a huge event series, it feels a little short to me. Or maybe, it was so good, that i was left wanting more. The artwork is solid enough - though not up there with the standards of what Alex Ross can do, and i think a series of this magnitude deserved the best artist on board. Had this been an Alex Ross illustrated book, i would have given this five stars.

To sum up - a challenging read for even the most dedicated fan, but a rewarding one, nontheless!
0Comment|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The story running through DC Comics’ Final Crisis #1-7; Final Crisis: Superman Beyond #1-2; Final Crisis: Submit #1; and Final Crisis: Sketchbook #1 is collected as Final Crisis TP.

I have to admit, not having any previous knowledge of this series, I was expecting another Infinite Crisis sort of storyline. Instead, we get a farewell to Jack Kirby’s Fourth World, along with whatever else happened to be in Grant Morrison’s head at the time, as Darkseid’s minions are hiding out on Earth, awaiting his resurrection / transformation, as he reincarnates into/out of a human host, who turns out to be the Terrible Turpin. This is all foreshadowed by the murder of Orion, shot by a bullet from the future, which happens to pull Barry Allen out of time as it passes by. Apparently the New Gods have been killed somewhere along the way – an event which I missed – but not before Orion mortally wounded Darkseid, who is now falling into a personal Black Hole, and dragging the Earth into it with him. All the Supermen of the multiverse have to band together to fight Darkseid, while the Monitors who, err… monitor the multiverse squabble amongst themselves as the structure of reality starts to unravel. It is not entirely clear what is going on – a side effect or the said reality unravelling – though it could just be poor editing, as the writers of the Infinite Crisis admitted that they didn’t have enough space to fill in all the details of their story; that might be happening here, or it could be a literary device, or both.

Anyway, Jack Kirby would be proud.
Or horrified.
Or both.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2015
Some people call this the most confusing piece of work they've ever read, seen, witnessed, layed eyes upon, or experienced. But with a tiny bit of background research, and I mean a quick look at a synopsis of a few graphic novels. I got the grasp of it pretty fast. In fact, I don't think that much 'research' was necessary.

The art is fantastic, both by J G Jones and Doug Manhke. The story involves a lot of characters but they all serve the story well. The best thing about this book is the fact that the story as a whole feels extremely large and epic in scale. And that there really is a sense of universal stakes. But while it does all that, there are great personal victories for certain characters. Grant Morrison is known for his wacky and unusual style of writing. But for me, at least, it works wonders. There is so much wackiness to like. And it never feels....Weird?

One thing I advise is to pay deep attention at all times. You notice things here and there that will make you go "OHHH". It's really worth it. Amazing plot lines, yes.. PlotlineS. There are a few subplots to keep things interesting but none are wasted. It all comes together perfectly in the end. And Superman's own story, Superman Beyond, is incorporated very well into the story. I'm glad they decided to include it as it wasn't in the planned 7 issues.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2015
I tried when this first came out and I have tried again now as this appeared remarkably cheap on Kindle.
The artwork is very good in places and there is a stellar cast of all the main players in the DC Universe.
I cannot praise the story however.
I am not new to comics, I have literally thousands and I appreciate layers of plotlines, subtlety and depth in writing, I have also enjoyed some of Grant Morrison’s body of work but...
I have no real idea of what is going on throughout this book and it really does not hold together as a coherent whole.
Darkseid’s ‘Dark Side’, Mary Marvel’s corruption, Superman’s brush with godhood along with the curiously unengaging ‘deaths’ of Batman and the Martian Manhunter are seemingly thrown into the narrative as if exhausting a list of wacky ideas.
If, like me, you have wondered if you’ve missed out on something of quality by letting this book pass you by or been wary of taking a look and now wonder if another attempt is called for...it’s not.
Don’t bother.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2011
Right, well, before buying this book I spent a good while reading all of the other reviews on here and on other websites, simply because views on it are so massively opposed. Final Crisis really is the 'Marmite' of the DCU.
I will say this to anyone tempted to buy this book: read Crisis On Infinite Earths, Infinite Crisis and 52 first, they will help (or you could just Wiki them) and they're all amazing anyway. Of the three Crisis stories, this one is certainly the most complex and interesting.
The reason why I have not given Final Crisis five stars is because the writing often comes across as needlessly convoluted and, thus, a little arrogant, as if Morrison wanted to confuse the reader for the fun of it. This is especially true in the Superman Beyond issues half way through. Despite this confusion, the story is not all that complicated, but it does jump from one time and one location to another fairly frequently with little explanation and the major 'shock factor' turning points and revelations, the moments which are plot-changing and world-changing are incredibly dampened and downplayed; if this was a film, these moments would have no slow motion, no classical music and no gasps or loud and agonising screams. This is a very interesting approach to storytelling, making the entire book seem like one huge crisis, rather than several small ones, which is exactly what it is.
On the art side, J.G. Jones certainly delivers. The man behind the beautiful artwork of Mark Millar's Wanted has shown, once again, how to create a dark and gritty world that's also full of hope. Simply beautiful.

Final Crisis certainly has its good points and bad points but, overall, it's an exciting and excellent read and I recommend it to anyone who wants to read an ambitious story and experience an interesting (understatement) period in the DC Universe
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2016
A strong but highly confusing story, I don't claim to be the most learned reader, but I wouldn't say I was stupid either, this book however gave a numb brain on several occasions as i struggled to decipher what exactly was going on. From a romp around the multi verse with Superman to plots by both the Monitors and Darkseid just left me spinning.
Also not providing a coherent storyline as this book doesn't contain to two Batman issues which detail the nature of his captivity and his escape, inexperienced readers may not enjoy this to especially without a working knowledge of the DC universe in its entirety. To fully appreciate this book i recommend reading the Countdown to Final Crisis stories first, along with Batman R.I.P and Death of the New Gods, there are loads more storylines that tie into this but of the top of my head these contain to most relevant issues.
With plenty going on, plenty of characters and the bits that a i understood providing a fantastic story and concept this definitely has a place on true DC fans book shelf.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2013
The forces of apocaylpse are on earth in human bodies and are conspiring to unleash anti life on the populace.
But in a brilliant twist the bad guys win ,they enslave most of humanity including wonderwoman and use them as soldiers to round up the rest.Resistance is crumbling as watchtowers around the world are falling one by one .In a last ditch effort to turn the tide alan scott orders all meta humans to converge on the secret blud haven headquarters of the evil new gods.The story is truley brilliant ,its keeps uping the ante until all of creation is at stake.Batman faces off against darksied ,superman against the antimonitor .
AS is often the case with these stories the plot is covered in dozens of different publications and are not all presented here.Would be nice if just once they included all parts of the story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2009
I looked forward to this, having not read any of the earlier Crisis stories, and having followed the Batman and Superman stories up to this point. Sadly, what followed was a bit of a mess, to my mind. I had to visit Wiki to make sense of the story! There are some positives here and generally I'd cut Grant Morrison a lot of slack out of respect for his earlier work, but this, at times, is very hard to follow. I'd like to see DC writers just join the dots a little more. I persist with DC, but find Marvel's ability to tell a story far greater. FC strikes me as just being a little too clever for it's own good. It doesn't matter how majestic a story arc or how intricate the details, if the reader can't make any sense of what's happening, what's the point? Not as awful as The Lightning Saga - which made absolutely no sense whatsoever - but still a disappointment for me. Definately the Marmite of graphic novels.
At risk of giving things away - although you will have heard about this by now, surely? - if this is the end for Bruce Wayne, or even an extended absence from the comic, he deserved a far better ending. This character has been in comics since the 1940s and is the most recognisable of superheros. This does not feel like a worthy enough ending for such an iconic character.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2012
I have been a big fan of DC. Leading up to the Final crisis went back through my collection and read as much as i could to remind myself of what had happened so far. Crisis on infinite earths, infinite crisis, 52, countdown all were very good. However when i read Final crisis i was very disappointed. I found it difficult to follow and it didn't have the impact of the previous CRISIS in the DCU. I will not go into detail and write down any spoilers for those of you who still wish to read this novel. I can only advise that the execution was poorer than i would have liked and expected.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2015
I'm not an avid comic book reader. Just upon occasion i will have a read, but I know most of the back stories to most comic heroes and villans.
I have to say some very nice ideas within the story but I always felt like I was missing something, like parts of the story were missing. It was still a good read but it felt clunky and clumsily written to me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£10.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.