Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Final Crisis? The Series That Divides So Many Dc Fans
One of the most divisive books in recent history published by Dc Comics makes this a really tough book to review. Just by looking at the other reviews, both good and bad, you can see that opinion is really divided on this series. There is very little middle ground in the great debate about Final Crisis. Most people absolutely love it or absolutely detest it!
If you...
Published on 27 Jan 2010 by Mr. S. W. Steel

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A spattering of mediocre ideas poorly crafted and executed. Buy Kingdom Come Instead.
It is ambitious, visually striking, and garbled. The aesthetics and good intentions do not excuse the fact that this series is flawed inescapably by Morrison's unwilling to write a coherent story. There were events I was excited about, such as Batman's capture and demise but this never met the conclusion it deserved. Instead we have to follow the story along with...
Published 3 months ago by Jack R


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Final Crisis? The Series That Divides So Many Dc Fans, 27 Jan 2010
By 
Mr. S. W. Steel "stephensteel" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Final Crisis HC (Hardcover)
One of the most divisive books in recent history published by Dc Comics makes this a really tough book to review. Just by looking at the other reviews, both good and bad, you can see that opinion is really divided on this series. There is very little middle ground in the great debate about Final Crisis. Most people absolutely love it or absolutely detest it!
If you are going to love this book then firstly, you need to be a fan of Grant Morrison and like the fact that he is prepared to challenge the status quo of comics in terms of characters, storylines and settings. If you have read some of his other works(and liked them!) such as: Batman RIP, Batman:Black Glove, All Star Superman 1 and 2, Earth 2 and DC One Million and got on with them, then Final Crisis is going to be for you, because it leaves a lot of the work up to you. You have to be able to fill in the gaps and come up with conclusions yourself. Grant Morrison is a master at letting the reader get out of a book, what they are capable of getting out of it. This book is no exception.
Secondly, you are really going to have to be up to speed with some of the storylines that have gone before - the series 52 and Countdown to Crisis would definitely help, and it is probably worth a look at some of the older Crisis on Infinite Earths books two.

The plot is an awe-inspiring, sprawling saga that involves the multiverses, alternative heroes from these other universes and all of your favourite characters in the toughest of situations. You will find Superman, Batman, Wonder Woman, the Flash, Green Lantern, Lex Luthor, Darkseid and the Black Racer within these pages.Throughout, all the heroes are put through the wringer and brought up against events much bigger than themselves; it is a graphic novel that asks, 'What makes a hero, a hero?' and then lets you come up with the answer yourself.

This book may not appeal to you if you are used to a rigid storyline or characters that you know and love stretched beyond their normal, well-known boundaries. You may also not like this book if you like the main story and all its threads laid out in front of you so you can get the full picture of what is going on. There is nothing wrong with this at all - not everyone has the same tastes, and i like to have a good idea of what has been leading up to the main plot, and sometimes i like something that will test me and get more out of me as a reader. It depends how i feel! Horses for courses is what i say! At the end of the day, we all love comics, so let's all agree that we need to support our publishers, writers and artists!
But this book is one that will mean you need to concentrate on, and be prepared to give some time to.

So, that covers who will like this and who will dislike it, but what do i think?
Well, i think it is a good series and well thought out and drawn. But for a huge event series, it feels a little short to me. Or maybe, it was so good, that i was left wanting more. The artwork is solid enough - though not up there with the standards of what Alex Ross can do, and i think a series of this magnitude deserved the best artist on board. Had this been an Alex Ross illustrated book, i would have given this five stars.

To sum up - a challenging read for even the most dedicated fan, but a rewarding one, nontheless!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A spattering of mediocre ideas poorly crafted and executed. Buy Kingdom Come Instead., 13 May 2014
This review is from: Final Crisis TP (Paperback)
It is ambitious, visually striking, and garbled. The aesthetics and good intentions do not excuse the fact that this series is flawed inescapably by Morrison's unwilling to write a coherent story. There were events I was excited about, such as Batman's capture and demise but this never met the conclusion it deserved. Instead we have to follow the story along with unanswered just to lap the splashes of inferred knowledge from the great window that is Morrison's forehead. Does Morrison delight in being so deliberately obscure? Is he one of those people who thinks 'people don't get me'?

These huge cross over titles are all well and good in the right hands. The art style changes (which I don't mind but will annoy the purists) but what I can't stand is the sacrifice the story telling takes in place of the art. Pages are cluttered and frantic which really hinders the already choppy story telling. You find yourself repeatedly going back over the last few panels believing you've missed something, disappointed when you realise you haven't. Well, you have, it's just that Morrison decided not to put any detail or answers in.

It seems Morrison wrote his way into a hole his pretentious mind could not scramble out of as the ending seems lacklustre, bizarre and embarrassing (Superman's sing attack for example). This alienating piece is also riddled with poor characters. Mandrak being confused at the inner workings of Superman's use of sunlight reminded me of the comics of the 50's, a villain too stupid to properly be a threat to our hero who at the last minute stands, puff chested, and tells them the surprising truth before ordering police officers who are nothing to do with him to 'take him away'. On this golden age note, Darkseid is not scary at all. After all the hype and the red eyes on the black background etc. I was really expecting a King of the Gods, a one ring to rule them all, what I got was a couple of panels and that's it, it's over. The problem is not so great if the villain appears for the first time and is immediately defeated. This made all the other page filling stories seem even more irrelevant. I would love to say this had redeeming features but frankly it didn't. It was boring and the villain was as scary as my kittens.

Also, I know I have to wrap this up soon, there is NO continuity. Characters dip and dive from one panel to the next, scenes change with perspective and relationships become so convoluted it makes it impossible for you to feel anything for any of the characters, at one point Hawkgirl and Hawkman die. Who knows. But by the end of the book, they're alive and kicking and their deaths aren't mentioned. Clearly the idea was for future writers to bring a new age of hawk family to the table in their next resurrection but instead, they come back and just... chill out. Nothing in this book matters. I love Batman so much but didn't care when he is shown dead. At this point it just seemed irrelevant, like a non alcoholic beer. Yeah it's something, but you'd rather have the proper thing.

It all quickly faded into 'too little, too late' unfortunately. I'm sure many people really loved this book, but I thought it was just dust in the wind. A spattering of mediocre ideas poorly crafted and executed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hugely Ambitious, 23 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Right, well, before buying this book I spent a good while reading all of the other reviews on here and on other websites, simply because views on it are so massively opposed. Final Crisis really is the 'Marmite' of the DCU.
I will say this to anyone tempted to buy this book: read Crisis On Infinite Earths, Infinite Crisis and 52 first, they will help (or you could just Wiki them) and they're all amazing anyway. Of the three Crisis stories, this one is certainly the most complex and interesting.
The reason why I have not given Final Crisis five stars is because the writing often comes across as needlessly convoluted and, thus, a little arrogant, as if Morrison wanted to confuse the reader for the fun of it. This is especially true in the Superman Beyond issues half way through. Despite this confusion, the story is not all that complicated, but it does jump from one time and one location to another fairly frequently with little explanation and the major 'shock factor' turning points and revelations, the moments which are plot-changing and world-changing are incredibly dampened and downplayed; if this was a film, these moments would have no slow motion, no classical music and no gasps or loud and agonising screams. This is a very interesting approach to storytelling, making the entire book seem like one huge crisis, rather than several small ones, which is exactly what it is.
On the art side, J.G. Jones certainly delivers. The man behind the beautiful artwork of Mark Millar's Wanted has shown, once again, how to create a dark and gritty world that's also full of hope. Simply beautiful.

Final Crisis certainly has its good points and bad points but, overall, it's an exciting and excellent read and I recommend it to anyone who wants to read an ambitious story and experience an interesting (understatement) period in the DC Universe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been amazing, but..., 26 Jan 2012
By 
Miss L. Bruce-Kerr (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
OK, there are two major problems with this story for me. Firstly, while it starts brilliantly and has several interesting subplots going, and it's OK for heroes to be mauled, for violence, gore and general cosmic horror to be depicted, nobody is allowed to swear uncensored? It sounds trivial, but considering the dark nature of the story and the cryptic "$%*&!+@"s on near enough every page, it's very grating. I'd have been happier if either nobody swore at all, or if it was completely uncensored.

Secondly, some plots come out of nowhere (I've only read the book twice, so I may be mistaken), while other plots are left dangling and barely resolved, even more irritating. While I know that this offscreen action is implied, it wouldn't be that hard to insert a 'oh, this is what happened' speech bubble in a couple of times to explain the story. Wonder Woman's Furies arc is particularly guilty of this.

While the focus on less-loved characters is great, there's too much focus on characters like Superman (I'd much rather his sub-plot was shortened a bit to make sense of all the other stuff going on). We also don't see much resolution to Darkseid's Batman plan, other than the infamous gun scene. I mean, really, Batman, what on earth were you doing for most of the book?

The end of the story could have been much better-told, as it was very confusing, and took me a couple of re-reads to understand just what they were supposed to have done. I still don't get how they were meant to have accomplished it, but I think I understand what was meant to have happened.

Overall, a brilliant story, badly told. The art is OK, but Green Arrow is unfortunately drawn even more creepy than usual, something I didn't think possible. I also didn't recognise several characters, like Black Canary, due to the art. Other than that, seeing lesser-known characters was pretty fun, though I wish that we'd gotten to know them better.

I'd recommend that you read it at least, but be warned that the quality is very inconsistent in terms of art, plot and general storytelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A little dissappointing., 10 May 2012
By 
Mr. J. Lynch "Lynchyboysmith" (Liverpool UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been a big fan of DC. Leading up to the Final crisis went back through my collection and read as much as i could to remind myself of what had happened so far. Crisis on infinite earths, infinite crisis, 52, countdown all were very good. However when i read Final crisis i was very disappointed. I found it difficult to follow and it didn't have the impact of the previous CRISIS in the DCU. I will not go into detail and write down any spoilers for those of you who still wish to read this novel. I can only advise that the execution was poorer than i would have liked and expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It was a great read from start to finish, 24 Aug 2014
By 
D. Harris "Gamer01" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Final Crisis (Kindle Edition)
As with most stories of parallel worlds or multiverses keep following the story don't accidentally skip a page or it can get confusing lol, but it was a great big exciting adventure for everybody's favourite hero's, and what happens when one universes bad guys plan actually wins :)

I don't want to spoil anyone's read just pick it up and keep on turning those page's till the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jack Kirby's Fourth World becomes Grant Morrison's Fifth World, 5 Mar 2012
By 
No More Mr. Mice Guy (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This volume reprints Final Crisis #1-7; Final Crisis: Superman Beyond #1-2; Final Crisis: Submit #1; Final Crisis: Sketchbook #1.

I have to admit, not having any previous knowledge of this series, I was expecting another Infinite Crisis sort of storyline. Instead, we get a farewell to Jack Kirby's Fourth World, along with whatever else happened to be in Grant Morrison's head at the time, as Darkseid's minions are hiding out on Earth, awaiting his resurrection / transformation, as he reincarnates into/out of a human host, who turns out to be the Terrible Turpin. This is all foreshadowed by the murder of Orion, shot by a bullet from the future, which happens to pull Barry Allen out of time as it passes by. Apparently the New Gods have been killed somewhere along the way - an event which I missed - but not before Orion mortally wounded Darkseid, who is now falling into a personal Black Hole, and dragging the Earth into it with him. All the Supermen of the multiverse have to band together to fight Darkseid, while the Monitors who, err... monitor the multiverse squabble amongst themselves as the structure of reality starts to unravel. It is not entirely clear what is going on - a side effect or the said reality unravelling - though it could just be poor editing, as the writers of the Infinite Crisis admitted that they didn't have enough space to fill in all the details of their story; that might be happening here, or it could be a literary device, or both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Final Crisis HC (Hardcover)
Good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best dc event I have read, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Final Crisis (Kindle Edition)
Grant morrison writing the new gods as God's bringing down the very fabric of reality, a lot of heavy hitters are put to one side and really seems to highlight the struggle against darkseid. Art is amazing as well, and the designs match the concepts well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic story with quality moody drawing!, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Final Crisis (Kindle Edition)
Love the story and drawings.
But really don't like the way the novel responds on my IPad Kindle software, jumps around too much even after I think I have mastered the controls. Needs to be more settings available to adapt the way the audience interacts with graphic novels if you could add that kind of functionality it would be great Amazon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Final Crisis TP
Final Crisis TP by Grant Morrison (Paperback - 2 Jun 2010)
10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews