Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Here comes Spider Jerusalem again, with liquor and drugs...
This second volume is where we really see the series find its feet and we launch fully into the weird and wonderful world of Spider Jerusalem's with a tale about humans wanting to turn into sentient gas clouds, the harrowing story of the cryogenically unfrozen, synthetic reservations where you could choose to live in a past civilisation, and finally a three part story of...
Published on 10 Feb 2012 by Sam Quixote

versus
3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly uninspired
Not the best I've seen from the writer. The storylines seemed a bit conceited, and the made up noir cynicism got a bit annoying
Published on 29 Oct 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Here comes Spider Jerusalem again, with liquor and drugs..., 10 Feb 2012
By 
Sam Quixote - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This second volume is where we really see the series find its feet and we launch fully into the weird and wonderful world of Spider Jerusalem's with a tale about humans wanting to turn into sentient gas clouds, the harrowing story of the cryogenically unfrozen, synthetic reservations where you could choose to live in a past civilisation, and finally a three part story of Spider's ex-wife's revenge.

All of the stories have the verbal acrobatics and freewheeling genius level writing of Warren Ellis in every panel helped along with Darick Robertson's superb artwork. All of the stories have elements of originality, humour, and artfully expressed bile through the increasingly more interesting figure of the most hateful man on the planet, Spider Jerusalem. The book serves to introduce the reader more fully into this world where the grotesque and comical elements of society converge joyfully on the page and shows the reader that in this series anything can happen.

The three part story that closes this book, "Freeze Me with your Kiss", is fantastic and worth buying this book for alone. Spider's ex-wife (a frozen head) manages to organise a hit on him before she froze herself so Spider goes on the run from a squad of assassins who hate the outside world. Throw in a headless child bomb, an allusion to a war against France where the loser lost the ability to speak French, ever, and a castrated police bulldog with brain damage who only lives to murder Spider, and its amazing how much brilliance Ellis and Robertson cram into a short story and turn it into pure reading gold.

If you've never read "Transmetropolitan" go back and read the first book then dive headfirst into this second one. I'm re-reading the series and can tell you every book is worth reading, and "Lust for Life" is Spider Jerusalem at his filthiest best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bowel disruptors at 20 paces!, 8 April 2003
A mixed bag of Transmet stories here, as we build up both Spider as a character & his assistant Channon, and also more fully realise the media-saturated & soulless futuristic world of the City. Here we see:
* Spider Jerusalem take on the President in a public toilet.
* Spider investigating TV and becoming a broken man... ("Coming up next on the Single Male Virgin Channel...")
* Spider visiting a religious convention, with a look at the many bizzare religions of the future. ("My life was nothing before I castrated myself.")
* A look at the Foglets, an incredibly cool and thought-provoking sci-fi concept.
* Spider visiting the Reservations, areas of the city simulating past cultures.
* Spider on the run from the whole city after getting a death threat in the form of a petition signed by 500 and after having his ex-wife's head stolen from cryogenics. ("I have given this considerable thought and have decided I don't give two tugs of a dead dog's c**k what you do with my EX-wife and you can have her.")
* And best of all, the deadly serious and emotional "A Cold Place", telling the story of the Revivals- people from previous eras ressurected in the future. It's not a pretty site, and a vicious attack on our culture's willingness to dump our past in the bin.
You shall buy this...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thumbs Up!, 18 May 2013
This could be Ellis' easiest gig. He simply indulges in his tipple of choice and rants incoherently about anything, and then it gets turned into a comic. Genius! Or it could be Gonzo life writing like Hunter S. Thompson or a stream-of-consciousness epic like James Joyce's Ulysses. Add to that a grimy future composed of all the ideas too weird to fit any mainstream title and voila. You the reader must decide if the Emperor of comics is clothed or au naturel.

There are several single issue stories that do look like soapbox of the week but are nevertheless entertainingly told. Then follows a three-part story with plenty of action and drama. There are some great ideas, world building and character development. You are also beginning to warm to our favourite anti-hero.

The art is great and despite being clear as a bell has lots of anarchic energy. There is clever composition, eye catching angles and several hidden jokes to be found in the background. Action is handled very well and you get a great sense of depth and motion. No matter how bizarre the future becomes it is all depicted in a realistic way.

You can easily see why this gained a cult following and look forward to more adventures with a homicidally cantankerous protagonist. Thumbs Up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thumbs Up!, 18 May 2013
This could be Ellis' easiest gig. He simply indulges in his tipple of choice and rants incoherently about anything, and then it gets turned into a comic. Genius! Or it could be Gonzo life writing like Hunter S. Thompson or a stream-of-consciousness epic like James Joyce's Ulysses. Add to that a grimy future composed of all the ideas too weird to fit any mainstream title and voila. You the reader must decide if the Emperor of comics is clothed or au naturel.

There are several single issue stories that do look like soapbox of the week but are nevertheless entertainingly told. Then follows a three-part story with plenty of action and drama. There are some great ideas, world building and character development. You are also beginning to warm to our favourite anti-hero.

The art is great and despite being clear as a bell has lots of anarchic energy. There is clever composition, eye catching angles and several hidden jokes to be found in the background. Action is handled very well and you get a great sense of depth and motion. No matter how bizarre the future becomes it is all depicted in a realistic way.

You can easily see why this gained a cult following and look forward to more adventures with a homicidally cantankerous protagonist. Thumbs Up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still awesome, 6 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yep gets better following Vol 1, with a great multi issue story towards the end.
I'm pretty much going to stop reviewing these unless one of them turns out to be crap. Which looks unlikely at the moment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Exposé or symptom?, 24 Jan 2012
By 
Simon Barrett "Il penseroso" (london, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Two-stars because our hero's repellent, or four for the satire (car ad: The Ibuzu Extension - Make it feel BIGGER)? I went with four. Monstrous spawn of DC, Mad Magazine and 'head' comics of my youth, but there's plenty worse out there I don't doubt, and it's miles better than the mindless action comics of yore and compared to almost all TV it makes you (forces you to?) think. See also my assessment over on amazon.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tour of hell... or at least the city..., 12 April 2005
'Let me say now that with your history of drug abuse it was conceivable that you could produce a child with no head...'
Having established Jerusalem in volume 1, and shown us the city he exists in and how disturbingly similar to our own it is, Ellis now takes us on a walking tour of all the ways it's different.
All these are just believeable - most likely because of the easy way in which Ellis describes it. Spider tells us what foglets are without turning it into a science lecture, and gives us the horrors of being revived after centuries of cryogenic freezing without making it mawkish.
This is quiet work of genius. Enjoy the peace before the real story kicks in next volume...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bleak, nasty and tremendous fun., 16 Mar 1999
By A Customer
This is where Transmetropolitan really gets into gear. 'Back on the Street' was pretty good, but was mostly concerned with introducing the characters and defining the settings. 'Lust for Life' assumes that the reader has already seen the first volume and launches straight into some splendidly vicious short stories about Spider and his world.
I think 'Freeze Me With Your Kiss'- the last (and longest) story - has the most memorable moments, but my favourite has got to be 'Another Cold Morning', a serious tale which shows Spider at his best (and his world at its worst).
Highly recommended. But it'll leave you craving volume #3...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slice of LIFE, 20 Mar 1999
By A Customer
Warren Ellis had already established the "who"-- outlaw journalist Spider Jerusalem-- of TRANSMETROPOLITAN with his introductory arc, "Back On The Street"; now, he defines the where. The futuristic sprawl of the eponymous City is the future-shock extrapolation of all the cultures in every modern city; a new religion is created every hour, the TV plants ads in your brain, and on every corner there's a man in a suit full of speakers who'd just love to get you on the air for the feedsites. In this collection of six one-shot stories (And the uproarious pandemonium of "Freeze Me With Your Kiss"), Ellis and Robertson point their camera at the little things that make the City what it is, from brain-fried cryogenic refugees of the twentieth century (In the unbelievably touching story "another cold morning") to the Foglets, men and women who love technology so much that they were willing to have their minds transferred into functionally immortal clouds of floating nanotechnology. Through Spider Jerusalem's cynical eyes, however (And Ellis' perfect writing), there's no way to miss all the raw humanity flowing through all of these far-out visions. Profane and vulgar, but simultaneously hilarious and moving. A can't-miss for anyone who reads comics, and a must-see for someone who's always thought them to be just for kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spider on top form, 4 Sep 1999
By A Customer
With this second collection of Transmetroploitan stories both Ellis and Robertson have really found their feet. One story shines in particular about the revival of the cryogenically frozen Mary, this short complete tale alone makes the book worth buying. Transmet isn't sci-fi, it's a comment on today, on where we're going and how we react to life in general- enough psyco-babble- just buy it and see for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Transmetropolitan, Vol :2 Lust For Life
Transmetropolitan, Vol :2 Lust For Life by Warren Ellis (Paperback - 20 May 2009)
£9.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews