Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He's here to stay
You like political satire? Buy this. Like sci-fi? Buy this. Like black humour? Buy this. Like comics in any way? BUY THIS.
Transmetropolitan is a brilliant example of comic work, and at equal times hilarious, thought-provoking and rage-inducing. As our hero, embittered junkie ultra-violent journalist Spider Jerusalem, returns to the futurities City and covers the...
Published on 8 April 2003 by Charles

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant story, great art, inferior printing - buy the older edition
Transmetropolitan is a thing of greatness, for many reasons which are described in other reviews. This is purely a review of the print quality of this edition, which is not as good as the previous version; it appears to be printed on newsprint, which considering that the art of this series is uniquely detailed, colourful and imaginitive, is a pity. Usually these days...
Published on 24 Dec 2009 by Liz


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He's here to stay, 8 April 2003
You like political satire? Buy this. Like sci-fi? Buy this. Like black humour? Buy this. Like comics in any way? BUY THIS.
Transmetropolitan is a brilliant example of comic work, and at equal times hilarious, thought-provoking and rage-inducing. As our hero, embittered junkie ultra-violent journalist Spider Jerusalem, returns to the futurities City and covers the Transient movement (humans turning themselves into aliens who want more civil liberties), you will see corruption from both the authorities and the movement leaders, and you will see Spider dealing with it... by reporting the truth.
And the truth, as he puts it, "can blow the knee-cap off the world".
Now freaking buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thumbs Up!, 18 May 2013
This review is from: Transmetropolitan Vol 1: Back on the Street (Paperback)
A Gonzo Journalist in a cyberpunk setting is forced out of retirement and finds he can still make a difference.

This is a very dense read. You can't just sit back and be entertained here. There is a lot of prose, a lot of subtext and lashings of futuristic Orwellian technobabble. Imagine Hunter S Thompson meets Mega City One and you will have some idea of the strangeness that is weeping from Ellis' pustulent mind. Anyone who can get Garth Ennis to write their introduction is definitely going to be off the wall.

The art is equally garish and anarchistic. Darick Robertson does a fantastic job of rendering a decadent technopolis completely out of control. There are lots of creative angles and great expressions at work too. The colouring is totally over the top yet there is an expert depiction of light and shade that gives it a sophisticated look.

This is only three issues long yet feels so much longer because of the almost Clockwork Orange dialogue. Anything longer might have proved too tangled for many readers to persevere with so you get a good idea what to expect for the next nine volumes. Thumbs Up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A surreal nightmare of a futuristic hell, 23 Oct 1998
By A Customer
Transmetropolitan is brilliant. It is. This social-political satire, this sci-fi surreal nightmare, is a work of art. So many things make this book wonderful: It's witty black humor, it's impossible situations and events, it's cynic views of people and the world, and many more. This graphic novel collects the first story arc from Transmetropolitan, which is originaly displayed in issues #1-3. It tells the story of Spider Jerusalem (former star reporter who left the crazy futuristic world described in the book to live in the mountains), as he is forced to come back to the place he hates most: The City. In order for him to support himself he writes a weekly column, with which he uncovers a great government conspiracy concerning the Transients (humans who through plastic surgery are now half human half alien. Intrigued yet?). I won't spill all the details, but I'll say that this story is excellent. Issue #3, the third installment of the story, is one of the most well written, most strong, most amazing stories I have read in the comic book medium, or any medium for that matter. And at the end, you'll just keep asking for more. Do NOT miss this book!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Set bowel disrupters to "prolapse", 2 Feb 2012
By 
Sam Quixote - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Transmetropolitan Vol 1: Back on the Street (Paperback)
I read the Transmetropolitan series a few years ago but loved it so much I decided to go back and give them a re-read and see if they hold up the second time around. And if this first volume is any indication, they most certainly do!

Living in isolation atop a mountain idyll, renegade journalist and bestselling author Spider Jerusalem is living the life he's always wanted - shooting rats in a hovel far from the bustling metropolis of the future. If only he'd unplugged the phone... His publisher calls to remind him that he needs to deliver two books or they'll come looking for his advance, and if he's spent it, then they'll do terrible things to him. Knowing that he can't write without being in the city, Spider makes the shaky and hesitant journey from solitary confinement to people saturation, losing the Alan Moore look he's been cultivating for the Hunter S Thompson image that we all know and love.

The best thing about this series, or one of them anyway, is the way everything is skewed and different from our world but seems familiar in small ways. Like Monkey Burger or Ebola Cola, to the kind of narcissistic twerps who endlessly blog and tweet and flood the net with their boring lives, there's plenty here that's similar to our world.

More best things about this series: Warren Ellis' writing. It's never been better than in Transmet and it is scathing, righteous, furious, white hot genius morphed into words from the page and searing itself onto your brain. The lack of restraint and free-wheeling nature of Spider gives Ellis free reign to write the most amazing screeds of hate and disgust you're ever likely to read. Put simply, there are more ideas and more poetry in a single issue of Transmet than most comics books contain. It is his best work and Spider Jerusalem is a character for the ages.

Darick Robertson's artwork is magnificent. He too seems to have cut himself free of restraint and plunged headfirst into the madness of Spider's world, embracing it for all its worth and crafting characters and a world that is utterly amazing to behold. The amount of detail he manages to cram into each panel is brilliant and, while I am unquestionably a huge fan of this man's art, Transmet remains one of his best creations, standing above his work on The Boys, The Punisher, and, more recently, Conan.

So, are you a Transmet virgin and wondering to take the plunge? I love comics and this series is one of the crowning achievements in all comics history. Don't deprive yourself of this ribaldry, this chaos, this pure spitting ball of imagination and beauty, of filth and darkness. There's a transient (human turning himself into a grey alien) called Fred Christ and he's calling for a revolution. Spider is on the case... let's see what he has to say about thieves and liars, shall we?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant story, great art, inferior printing - buy the older edition, 24 Dec 2009
By 
Transmetropolitan is a thing of greatness, for many reasons which are described in other reviews. This is purely a review of the print quality of this edition, which is not as good as the previous version; it appears to be printed on newsprint, which considering that the art of this series is uniquely detailed, colourful and imaginitive, is a pity. Usually these days graphic novels are treated with more respect by the publishers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Spider, don't you just love him?, 18 Jun 2009
By 
Sally Barrett (Bournemouth, Dorset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I don't think I can say anything about this graphic which hasn't already been said. It's pretty old now, but Spider Jerusalem still hits home with his honest gonzo journalism, which seems to be quite appropriate in this day and age. It definitely stands the test of time and Ellis goes from strength to strength with this series of graphics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Transmetropolitan is one of the truly great series, 6 April 2009
By 
I love Transmetroploitan. It was a breath of fresh air after reading so many overly colourful superhero books and dark moody gritty vigilante titles. Spider Jerusalem is basicly "Hunter S. Thompson in the future" but none the less he's an awesome character who inhabits a world which is both amazing and confusing while at the same time being utterly familiar and full of problems we can all relate to.

Warren Ellis presents the future as seen through Spider's ultra-cynical eyes and yet manages to make him likeable despite his many hundreds of character flaws. The city is brilliantly realised by Darrick Robertson's artwork. I got the whole series and was hungry for more when I had read it all. My only problem is that having read Spider Jerusalem I don't think I'll ever be able to go back to Spider-Man!

You can't do much better than this. Buy it. Now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 15 April 2001
By A Customer
Back on the Street is a great introduction into the world of Transmetropolitan. A place that mirrors our own world almost too close for comfort. Warren Ellis' story telling, sharp wit and cynicism, coupled with Darrick Robertson's art (which shows the enormity of Transmetropolitan in glorious detail), make it a captivating setting for the voice of Spider Jerusalem, the best character I have seen in comics in a long while. After I started reading this book I couldn't put it down (yes it's that good!) and it also made me crave for the subsiqent installments to the Transmetropolitan world more than any comic has before. I can't recommend this highly enough, it's a must for fans of Preacher and 100 Bullets alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantasticly emotive, 25 July 2006
i must admit when this graphic novel first arrived throgh the small hole in my door; i was somewhat disserpointed. After reading all the reviews on amazon i was really excited about it coming, but when i saw it - paper thin and small my opinion totally changed.

But ever the optomist i read it, and found my self in histerics at the humour, totally intriged by the story line, 100% amazed about the attention to detail in the artwork, how much care must have gone into the script.

And then it hit me - small and thin it may be, but you could happily sit for hours admiring the pure joy that the creators much have put into it!

So why would i give it five stars? The main character (Spider J) has been superbly developed! A totally care free, however highly oppionated, drug addict, heavy smoker and drinker, totally sinikle about everything -- and a reporter! thats gold!

The artwork - it is incredible! The colours, the shadows, grafitti, people, cars, trees - so realistic and yet... comic - its strange.

The plot - as with all this series, each edition concentrates on one or two specific issues: politics mainly; but then Ellis uses his is unique writing style to incorperate seriousness, humour, violance.... into the main idea - superb.

I seriously advise everyone to buy this! words cannot describe how.... amazing it is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It begins..., 12 April 2005
"The money had long gone, and most of the goods and weaponry it bought had long since been bartered away for drugs, food and cable TV... I decided to be depressed for a while"
One of very few truly indispensible graphic novel series starts here. Spider Jerusalem - an amalgam of Hunter S Thompson and John Pilger in a Philip K Dick universe - is forced to give up his self-imposed hermitry to keep the wolves from the door.
Ellis is a magnificent writer (although you'd probably steer clear if you met him in a bar) with an almost grudging social conscience. If you told him he was a caring liberal he might well beat you up - or at least laugh at you - but read these books and I defy you to say he isn't commenting about life today...
Wonderful. Even non-graphic novelistas should read this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Transmetropolitan Vol 1: Back on the Street
Transmetropolitan Vol 1: Back on the Street by Warren Ellis (Paperback - 11 Mar 2009)
7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews