Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Zenith of Graphic Novels
Simply put, this is by far and away the best graphic novel you will ever read!

And it earns the full five stars for the following reasons;

1/The plot is superb and is genuinely original.It is fast paced and has really good ideas that constantly challenge you.There is a real sense of the authors 'loving' the characters and knowing their inner-most...
Published on 7 Feb 2007 by Mr. S. W. Steel

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Vastly overrated
SPOILERS

"Kingdom Come" is one of the most boring, overrated, and simply bad "event" books from DC I've read. It lacks a coherent narrative, competent writing, strong characterisation, and, maybe most basic of all, an interesting story. Mark Waid's writing on this book is truly abysmal. The saving grace of this book is Alex Ross' artwork which...
Published 18 months ago by Sam Quixote


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Zenith of Graphic Novels, 7 Feb 2007
By 
Mr. S. W. Steel "stephensteel" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Simply put, this is by far and away the best graphic novel you will ever read!

And it earns the full five stars for the following reasons;

1/The plot is superb and is genuinely original.It is fast paced and has really good ideas that constantly challenge you.There is a real sense of the authors 'loving' the characters and knowing their inner-most thoughts, strengths and weaknesses and this really shines through.

2/ The artwork is the best you will ever see!When you see Alex Ross on form like this you are just blown away.It is fair to say that nearly all of the artwork could be on posters and t-shirts ; it is THAT good.

3/ It has all the best DC universe characters in it.Your favourites and some that you will maybe not have met before.The standouts are Superman,Batman and Wonderwoman.

This graphic novel stands head and shoulders above every other.It is superior in every way imaginable.My copy is bent and battered by the number of times i have read this !!I ended up buying the Absolute Edition (also available from Amazon) as a 'best' copy.

THIS IS MY DESERT ISLAND GRAPHIC NOVEL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars spectacular armageddon!, 23 April 2003
By 
Mr. N. Shaikh - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Don't know where to begin! This is an incredible four part story, and Ross's art is simply beautiful, not whatyou would expect in a graphic novel. a classy piece of work!
Set in the future, Superman has failed to keep up with the times; he isn't brutal or violent enough. After a terrible personal tragedy, he leaves, becoming a hermit. As he began the modern heroic age, so he ends it. With Superman gone, many of the other great heroes fade away from the world stage; Wonder woman, Flash, Green Lantern, Batman.
A new generation of younger super powered beings begins to rampage, fighting for no reason, slowly tearing cities apart, making lesser mortals fear them.But all is not well. A Golden Age hero (Sandman) begins to have visions of an apocalyptic future, visions he passes on to a priest. The priest fears Superman and his allies, who return to help bring about order and peace, will in fact set off events as written in the book of revelation. With Batman conspiring with Lex Luthor to defeat the heores of the past, and the Spectre himself coming to bring justice, how can disaster and destruction be avoided?
This is a cool story, with strong mythic and apocalyptic undertones. You don't have to know much about the DC heroes to enjoy it. The art is brilliant, the story chugs along, the dialogue isn't corny, and the ending isn'y schmaltzy. What more could you want? The graphic novel has an advantage over the original comic release in that it has a delightful little epilogue which i won't spoil for you, a meeting between superman and batman, who have ever seemed at odds with each other despite having the same objectives of defeating evil and protecting the innocent. Batman does come across as a little too smug at times, though Superman is too idealistic and naive, while wonder woman has become cold and martial.
Cannot recommend this enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully drawn and imaginatively realised, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingdom Come TP New Edition (Paperback)
The very first thing you have to say about this book is that the art work is absolutely beautiful. Alex Ross' work as both artist and writer on this project is of as high a quality as you could hope to find. In a time where many of the DC/Marvel runs tend to take on a familiar and polished glean to the art work, Alex Ross' work truly stands out as original and instantly recognisable. The narrative of the piece was really engaging and very imaginative, but it's the art work that really makes this book stand out. I highly recommend any fan of comics to read work by Alex Ross and this is a perfect place to start. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kingdom Come amazing, 3 Jan 2009
Ok where to I begin?
I began reading comics when I was 14 and can safely say I have a reasonable colection of greats (Watchmen, The Killing Joke, The long halloween) however Kingdom Come to me is one which I find suprisingly underrated as it is to me the best.
What is good about it? Well it shows a very relatable side to all the characters involved, for example Superman is more powerfull than ever, but Kingdom shows him desperatly trying to hold together a world which is suffering from the presence of metahumans. As the comic points out, he is afraid of what the real 'Man of tomorrow represents' Wonderwoman as well, is shown unusually to be angry and bitter at how events have turned out for the heroes. yet strangely they are all still the same at the core, which gives credit to the writing.
A lot of people criticise it for having a preachy religious plot, but this is not an issue for me, it simply adds depth to the enevitable outcome of the story. Also the fight at the end is no mere brawl found in most DC comics because it isnt trying to wow you, and it seems more a confused scramble for survival than the usual 'bad guys and good guys'.
Overall it is a suprisingly believable, emotional and charactord driven story with artwork that only really belongs with this kind of story, and one I can read several times and not get bored.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TERRIFIC !!, 24 May 1999
By A Customer
Cast aside all your pre-conceptions of comic art , and comic scripting , come to think of it -- if you've never seen Alex Ross' work , you've missed the biggest treat ever ; luxurious and almost photo-quality , this volume represents the DC pantheon as never before , and updates each character for the present day , without detracting from their established backgrounds ; a truly political storyline , exploring the proper effect of the existence of superheroes , especially the presence of Superman ; this book cannot be RECOMMENDED highly enough -- an essential to any graphic art bookshelf ....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A DC epic!, 15 Dec 2003
This review is from: Kingdom Come (Paperback)
The first thing that everyone will notice about this collection is Alex Ross' amazing artwork, but trust me, there is one hell of a story there as well! This apocolyptic future of the DC universe makes the whole idea of superheroes more real and very unsettling at the same time. Waid's use of the preacher as a moral compass gives an interesting insight on how we would see these nearly-gods, and he manages to make the more powerful characters more human and vunerable, allowing their characters to have flaws.
Of course Ross' art complements the story beautifully; his visions of the DC heroes are amongst the best ever done, and with Kingdom Come he cements his position as one of the greatest comic artists ever. You'll never look at Captain Marvel the same way...
As a nice bonus, there's a "deleted scene" re-included, and an epilogue has been added; it's not vital to the story at all, but is just a nice little touch to finish it. If you don't have this book, buy it now; if you have the comics, buy it anyway!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All time classic, 3 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingdom Come TP New Edition (Paperback)
This is a great read for anyone who is a big superman/batman fan. the artwork is great its a far cry from your ordinary "comic" every panel looks like a hand painted masterpiece and the story is brilliant also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding book, 16 April 2014
By 
A. Dalby (Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kingdom Come TP New Edition (Paperback)
This is one of the best comic books I have ever read. I could just leave the review at that but I won't.
If you know someone that doesn't like superman as a character then this is a great book to show them. Simply put Kingdom Come explores why we need what some may call the traditional super hero in our lives. It was written in 1996 when IMAGE was the "cool" thing to read and comic book characters were no longer fighting crime but just killing tons of people and trying to make it look cool.

Kingdom Come explains why a super hero needs to be a symbol for good and justice as well as why us, as readers and as a culture need them.
The book takes place in the far future where the justice league has been disbanded as the public support a new hero called Magog who kills criminals in cold blood. After this Superman left into hiding and a new generation of super-powered people called metahumans have taken to fighting each other on the street.
The story is told from the perspective of Norman McCay as the Spectre shows him what is happening and tells him that soon he must help pass judgement on the superheros.
Wonder Woman finds Superman and convinces him that he must reform the Justice League and stop the metahumans after a battle between some of them ends in a explosion killing millions.

The first thing you notice as you open the book is just how stunning the art is. Alex Ross has a distinct style which makes the characters appear real, the paintings looks more like photos than painted artwork. Ross actual takes pictures of himself, friends and family members dressed up and in poses which he uses later as references while painting.
This process is shown in the back of the book along with a number of different extras including concept art and a double-page spread showing and naming every character that appears in the story.
I have opened the book numerous times just to look through the artwork and explore the background to see little details I may have missed

This is easily one of the best comics ever produced. You do not need to read anything prior to this and you don't need to be familiar with continuity in the DC universe or Justice League. This story changed how I feel about Superman and super heros in general. It is a must read for any fan of the DC universe or any of the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Astonishing detail, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Awesome story
Awesome art work
For comic book fans, art fans this truly is the one in which to judge others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Kingdom Came, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent story of biblical proportions backed up by striking art work. The writer takes you into an apocalyptic future with a battle between man and the superman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kingdom Come TP New Edition
Kingdom Come TP New Edition by Mark Waid (Paperback - 24 Sep 2008)
10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews