Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All Star and new take on Batman for this graphic novel, fun and enjoyable
The All Star line was a introduced by DC Comics to retell stories of DC's best known characters free of continuity. Created by two of the best in industry; written by Frank Miller and illustrated by Jim Lee, this 2005-2008 limited series is the modern retelling of Batman recruiting young Dick Grayson in his war on crime. It features appearances of Superman, Hal Jordan,...
Published 8 months ago by Keith

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars I've never read anything so indefensibly awful in my all my life, I love it.
Lets get this out the way, the art is spectacular. Everything else is a beautiful disaster, the plot has no direction, Batman and pretty much everyone else in this comic is just a terrible person. This is a hateful comic that pushes awful ideas about how justice works, and it sends strong, empowering heroines back 60 years over how misogynistic this comic is. To give you...
Published 2 months ago by Triangleman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All Star and new take on Batman for this graphic novel, fun and enjoyable, 3 Sept. 2014
This review is from: All Star Batman And Robin The Boy Wonder TP Vol 01 (All Star Comics Archives) (Paperback)
The All Star line was a introduced by DC Comics to retell stories of DC's best known characters free of continuity. Created by two of the best in industry; written by Frank Miller and illustrated by Jim Lee, this 2005-2008 limited series is the modern retelling of Batman recruiting young Dick Grayson in his war on crime. It features appearances of Superman, Hal Jordan, Wonder Woman and Black Canary among others this interesting and enjoyable read. Although the series was not that well received and went on hiatus after issue #10 I loved it. This Batman may not be everyone's interpretation of the Dark Knight but its a fun one. This Batman is wreck-less, violent and likes to laugh as he descends on a group of thugs in for a beating. The series also features an early arrangement of the Justice League who are concerned of how Batman actions reflect on the superhero community. The story is great, the art is superb but the only drawback is that it feels incomplete, the series went on hiatus after issue #10 which was recalled and it was planned to return titled "Dark Knight: Boy Wonder" which never materialized in 2011 and shortly after the New 52 was announced. I really enjoyed this controversial series and I preferred it to Grant Morrision's All Star Superman.

All Star Batman & Robin The Boy Wonder Volume 1 collects issues 1 - 9 of this hugely enjoyed and short lived series.

Check out my Blog http://supercomicsmovieblog.blogspot.ie/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars I've never read anything so indefensibly awful in my all my life, I love it., 21 Mar. 2015
This review is from: All Star Batman And Robin The Boy Wonder TP Vol 01 (All Star Comics Archives) (Paperback)
Lets get this out the way, the art is spectacular. Everything else is a beautiful disaster, the plot has no direction, Batman and pretty much everyone else in this comic is just a terrible person. This is a hateful comic that pushes awful ideas about how justice works, and it sends strong, empowering heroines back 60 years over how misogynistic this comic is. To give you an idea of what a cruel little comic this is, Batman essentially kidnaps Dick straight after his parents are shot to death, tells him he is being drafted into his war on crime. He then leaves him in a cave for about a week, with his only source of food being rats and bats. When Alfred attempts to bring him food, Batman throws him against a wall, questioning why he stopped a child from nearly starving to death.

This is a milestone, showing just how done hill Frank Miller has become as a writer. This was the comic that spawned the infamous "god damn Batman" line, it has outright stupid moments like that and moments so offensive that it will make you produce laughter from shock and disbelief. This comic is not everyones cup of tea, some people will hate it with a burning passion, others hold it up as a magnificent failure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Batty, 2 Dec. 2013
By 
Amazon Customer - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am close to 80 years old and have loved Batman since being a little lad in a siren suit cowering under the strengthened staircase of my parents home in wartime Liverpool. I still remember the German bombs whistling down. Batma et al were a beacon to us kids at that time. The Us comic books used to come to us via the docks - the baddies never won and largely they still lose out!,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything a batman book should be, 20 May 2012
Frank miller can do no wrong with batman. In this book we have what appears to be a half-crazed madman as batman, abducting a young boy only to dump him in a cave to fend for himself. All is not as it appears. Combined with Jim Lee's Jesus-hands art, frank miller delivers the best batman he's ever written in this book, that includes the dark knight. The Batman's casual disdain and mocking of GL alone is worth the price of this book. I urge you strongly to buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing for a real Bat fan, 3 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Star Batman And Robin The Boy Wonder TP Vol 01 (All Star Comics Archives) (Paperback)
I am a huge Batman fan and have collected many of the graphic novels, but I wanted one that captured the story of Robin's origin apart from the brief appearance in 'Dark Victory' (which was one of three fantastic graphic Novels by Loeb). However this graphic novel breaks the continuity of the story line of Batman and Robin in many ways, one of which being the way in which Batman and Robin met as well as the advanced technology at batman's disposal which wasn't available/created yet in stories which appear after this one in Batman's chronology. Another major disappointment was the way in which Miller attempted to alter the way in which the Grayson's were murdered, and not to mention the way in which Miller also succeeded in giving Batman a really crap attitude which does not reflect the essence of Batman whatsoever.
It is a real shame as the artwork is superb, done by Jim Lee who did the artwork for HUSH which is a masterpiece.
I do not recommend this graphic novel for any real Batman fan as it will leave you disappointed and the only reason I still own it is for the sake of analysis and critiquing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars At first its entertainingly bad, then its just bad and offensive, 21 Feb. 2015
This review is from: All Star Batman And Robin The Boy Wonder TP Vol 01 (All Star Comics Archives) (Paperback)
Don't waste your time
the art is misleading beautiful
Miller looks like he's lost his mind, if u read his script for this story, he clearly has the plot over recent years
This book has no ending, they couldn't finish it because it was so bad, even after 2 year delays
Don't waste your time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You either love or hate this version of Batman, 7 Aug. 2014
This review is from: All Star Batman And Robin The Boy Wonder TP Vol 01 (All Star Comics Archives) (Paperback)
Great story, don't know why so many hate it. It's nice to see a different side to Batman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Star Batman And Robin The Boy Wonder TP Vol 01 (All Star Comics Archives) (Paperback)
Brilliant read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

All Star Batman And Robin The Boy Wonder TP Vol 01 (All Star Comics Archives)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews