Customer Reviews


194 Reviews
5 star:
 (136)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


79 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect synopsis of the Batman/Joker relationship
I'm not sure where this story is supposed to fit in the greater Batman legend, but it pretty well sums up the relationship between Batman and the Joker, as well as providing some insights into their origins.
As usual, the Joker has escaped and gone on the rampage, but this time he has decided to take revenge on all the key characters that he believes have caused his...
Published on 1 Mar. 2004 by C. Verspeak

versus
10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You're Killing Me!
Many plaudits have been thrown at Alan Moore's take on The Joker's backstory and I can see why. What Moore does well is to demonstrate that both Batman and The Joker have suffered similar tragedy but channelled their emotions differently. Where as Batman uses his parents death as a means to drive his desire to protect (made easier through the financial and loving support...
Published on 5 Oct. 2009 by Tubby


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

79 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect synopsis of the Batman/Joker relationship, 1 Mar. 2004
By 
C. Verspeak "f*" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Batman: Killing Joke (Paperback)
I'm not sure where this story is supposed to fit in the greater Batman legend, but it pretty well sums up the relationship between Batman and the Joker, as well as providing some insights into their origins.
As usual, the Joker has escaped and gone on the rampage, but this time he has decided to take revenge on all the key characters that he believes have caused his suffering - the Gordons and Batman.
His scheme is diabolical - this is one of the ugliest Batman stories I have ever read - and violent. His method of revenge is really sickening and will probably leave you hoping for some severe punishment to be delivered by the end of the book.
And it is - Batman is at his most savage when he catches up with Joker. But the flashbacks to the Joker's past, beautifully rendered, may in turn have you feeling some sympathy for a man who just wanted to take care of his family and ended up disfigured and insane.
This book is about twisted fate and redemption. Both Batman and the Joker are victims of events beyond their control and now must live with the consequences.
Buy this for great art and one of the most thought-provoking stories in comics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive Joker story?, 24 Dec. 2010
By 
The Killing Joke is a strange one. When I first read it a few years ago I wasn't that crazy about it, I liked the artwork and some of the ideas but not the whole book. Reading it a second time I liked it a little bit more, I had originally been somewhat averse to a Joker origin story, I thought it was unneccessary and maybe it still is but at least Moore gives us enough space so that it's possible for everything we learned about the Joker to be just going on inside his head, something which was also used effectively in the recent summer blockbuster The Dark Knight. Tim Burton also took a lot from this comic when he created his first Batman film back in 1989, apparently it's his favorite comic of all tme.

The story is about the nature of Joker and Batman's relationship and also about them as individual people, the Joker more-so than Batman. He's almost a sympathetic character but not quite. His plan is to subject Gordon to such an intense and unbearable experience that he will lose his mind and therefore be like the Joker, which in turn might give Batman a better understanding of why the Joker is the way he is. Complicated? It is, deceivingly so. Check it out and see what you think, just don't expect to like it or to fully understand it on your first read-through, unless you read comics solely for the artwork, then you should love it from the outset.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply superb!, 21 Dec. 2011
I ordered this present for my sister for Christmas as i have heard wonderful things about the comic and i believe it will be right up her alley. When the product arrived i had a sneak peek inside and instantly read the whole thing cover to cover. It has to be Alan Moores darkest comic and to finally hear how the Joker was born (although it is admittedly ambiguous) had me captivated.
Fantastic artwork and dark thrills are going to make this a winner on Christmas day, i know it. Only problem... I was sorely tempted to keep it for myself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short, sharp and dark, 19 Feb. 2009
By 
Mr. G. P. Jenkins "Shun's Bridge" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'm new to the graphic novel medium but after being very impressed with Heath Ledger's re-interpretation of The Joker, and finding out that this was given to him as a reference, I had to take a look.

It's very short, and compared to Watchmen it's nowhere near as rewarding a read, but in the time given it's a dark, twisted tale that boasts gorgeous drawings and colouring that offers something darker and deeper. I didn't really like the idea of having an origin story for the Joker - I prefer to leave the imagination to come up with ideas for why he might be the way he is - but it's definitely the best Batman/Joker story I've read and offers a sharp story that clearly defines the different views on life the two characters take.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Why aren't you laughing?", 6 Jan. 2012
By 
Sam Quixote - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Batman goes to Arkham Asylum on a fool's errand - to try and talk sense to the Clown Prince of Crime, the Joker. But Joker's not there! He's escaped and plans on destroying the Gordon family. Will the Dark Knight save them? Or will Joker have the last laugh...

First off, this is an acknowledged classic and I utterly loved it when I read it several years ago. Re-reading it now, I can say this book most definitely holds up, this is a classic Batman book for a reason. What I forgot was how slim a book it is - it's 46 pages long! The other Bat-classics, Returns, Year One, Long Hallowe'en, they're all at least 100 pages, the last one I think is nearly 300 pages. 46 pages!

It's a testament to Alan Moore's skilful plotting and Brian Bolland's superb artwork and layouts then that the two of them are able to fit so much and develop it so well in such a limited frame. And here's the other surprise about this book, even though Alan Moore's name is on the book, Brian Bolland is far and away the real reason anyone, whether they like superhero comics or not, should pick up this book. The artwork is GORGEOUS!

Look at that iconic cover - Joker looking perfect, his pose fit snugly within the rectangular cover; it says so much and is such a beautiful cover. I've got a large print of this framed in my house I love it so much. Looking through the book though are so many other frames that are utterly fantastic - the Joker smiling a winning smile to the Carnival property owner; Joker's gun as it points at Barbara Gordon; the Heart of Darkness-esque shot of Joker sitting on a bumper car atop a pile of (fake) dead babies; the design of the red hood; the half page image of the Joker becoming the Joker for the first time; the first panel of the last page when Joker begins laughing at his own punch-line - and Batman joins in!

Yes this is an origin story of one of the most interesting villains in fiction ever created, but I choose to believe it isn't, that it's one version of Joker's origin, one of many swirling around the calliope of his deranged mind, in the same way that the ending could be seen as imaginary. I mean, could you see Batman laughing with the Joker? But I loved Moore's choice of ending the story on a joke, that was a master stroke.

Bolland writes the afterword and he makes an interesting point about Moore, that "The Killing Joke" is never mentioned among his great works (Watchmen, V for Vendetta, Swamp Thing, From Hell) and I think that, while Moore is a tremendous writer (especially in the 80s), the writing here is not his best. Sure he does a decent job but it's not his best work. No, the real reason this book is so revered is the artwork. Really, I can't praise it enough. And it's a damn shame that Bolland hasn't drawn another Batman comic since then, or any comic really, instead illustrating book covers exclusively.

Any Batman fan will already have this on their "to-read list" or else already own it, but I think comics fans who don't usually go in for superhero comics will find plenty to enjoy here too. This is the book that influences a lot of things that follow it: Tim Burton's 1989 Batman movie (Jack Napier in the factory being chased by cops), the Batman games "Arkham Asylum" and "Arkham City" (see the fight sequences between Batman and Joker and tell me you don't recognise a few moves there), but most of all what happened to poor Barbara Gordon and how her character would develop over the years.

Also, if you can, buy the Deluxe Edition as it features the colour work of Bolland himself instead of John Higgins the original colourist. Bolland's approach is markedly different particularly in the flashback sequences of Joker-before-he-was-Joker. It also comes with an introduction by Tim Sale (artist of Haunted Knight, The Long Hallowe'en, and Dark Victory), and an afterword by Bolland along with a bonus strip written and drawn by Bolland of a murderous delusional fantasising about killing the Caped Crusader.

A wonderful achievement by two talented artists, taking an iconic figure in an iconic series and making him seem new. Nearly 30 years later and it still reads fresh. Even if you've read it before but it's been a few years since you last picked it up, go read it again, you'll find little bits you missed all those years ago, like me.

I've got one: so, a bat and a clown go to the fair and....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic, 11 Oct. 2011
One of the greatest Batman comics of all time. This is a must have for not only Batman fans, but comic book fans. The Killing Joke tells the compelling story of The Joker's origin. Fascinating and interesting. This is the comic book which inspired a lot of Tim Burton's work. Classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rewarding read, 31 Oct. 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman: Killing Joke (Paperback)
As someone rediscovering comics after some 20 years out, this book is something of a revelation. A literate script and beautifully illustrated, this is a rewarding, sophistocated read. Batman seems to be the only 'golden age' superhero who lends himself to tales as dark as this - my other favourite is Year One by Frank Miller. But this is the better book, and I'd recommend it to anyone curious about graphic novels but wary of their relative (to paperback novels) high price. Of course, this is reasonably priced, and fairly short - but it's actually all the better for it. Give me a taught, tense story over the flab that fills many of the longer graphic novels every time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Batman and the Joker sitting in a cell . . ., 13 April 2015
By 
Charles Ashbacher (Marion, Iowa United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Batman The Killing Joke Special Ed HC (Hardcover)
It is no coincidence that the two best Batman movies had the Joker as Batman's main antagonist. There have been many colorful villains on the other side of the bat-punch over the years, but none is more of an alter ego than the green haired one. This fact is used to develop the opening scene in the book.
The Joker is in an insane asylum along with some of Batman's other foes. Batman goes to the Joker's cell and tries to reason with him to call off their "feud" before one of them is killed. His magnanimous gesture is for naught as the Joker has already escaped and is deep into plotting his revenge.
In a brutal scene, the Joker kidnaps police Commissioner Gordon and attempt to drive him insane. The Joker taunts Batman, setting up yet another confrontation between the two longtime foes in a setting that fits the Joker's mind. In an ending that is deliberately ambiguous, we don't know if Batman follows Gordon's instructions or executes a self-fulfilling prophecy.
Although occasionally brutal in expression, the psychodynamic between Batman and the Joker makes this story a great one. There is an origin of the Joker subplot that helps us understand him a little better and that also moves his psyche closer to that of the Batman. One of the best evil villains ever created, the Joker expresses the dark side in all of us, and fortunately in nearly all cases it remains submerged and unexpressed. However, when someone does let that personality emerge it is usually national news.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive Joker story., 23 July 2014
It is probably no surprise that one of the greatest Batman stories of all time is written by the man himself, Alan Moore. I don't necessarily agree with everything Mr Moore says, but no one can deny his brilliance when it comes to his writing style and communication with his artists. As with the timeless Watchmen, Batman: The Killing Joke is a story layered with beautifully crafted story-telling, high emotional drama and thought-provoking events that shake up the mythos and shine new light on themes rarely, if ever, touched upon before.

Escaping from the conventions of standard superhero stories, The Killing Joke centres around the clown prince of crime's psyche while still leaving many unanswered questions about how this crazed mind works. The Batman and Police commissioner Jim Gordon visit Arkham Asylum to find that the Joker has escaped from captivity. What follows is one of the darkest nights of Batman's career, when the Joker goes to the very extreme to prove that the road to insanity is caused by simply one bad day.

The relationship between Batman and the Joker is one of the most defining rivalries in all of comics. Where there is one, there will always be the other. Their conflict is deep, yet they are in many ways inseparable. I don't believe I've yet read a story that really captured who these characters are to each other, and this is shown by perhaps the only time in all of Batman's history where the Joker reveals some brief humanity to Batman. Perhaps this is not as black-and-white as we're made to believe. Like Bruce Wayne, who lost his parents because of one heart-shattering moment in his past, the Joker is clearly another broken human being, stripped of all meaning due to the big joke that is life - as is evidenced in the flashback sequences that explore a possible origin of the Joker.

Moore's brilliance radiates on every page of this masterpiece, along with that of the artist Brian Bolland. Every line is structured to perfection, every panel flawlessly pencilled. Much like in the previously mentioned Watchmen, no scene starts without some kind of superb segue from one scene to the other.

If you claim to be a big fan of the Dark Knight, then you ought to pick this book up right away. It's dark, it's tragic, it's smart and it is everything a good comic should be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Something deep and unexpected, 29 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman The Killing Joke Special Ed HC (Hardcover)
Before this I had red the Batman: The Greatest Stories Ever Told collection of short batman stories and so as I wanted to read more, this was the first thing I found from the net. And I was totally surprised. You can read reviews of the comic story itself elsewhere but I'll give you a little opinion: The art is aboslutely amazing, very detailed, considered and vibrant, Joker looks just totally sickening and some frames just make your heart stop for . And the story might be one of the best and deepest stories I have ever heard. It's simple but really toughtful as the story explains the motives of joker. Is he trying to prove that the humanity is a hopeless, sickening joke just to get attention and help, or is he gone totally insane, or something else? It's all about characters and their psychologies; what would you do after somebody you really cared about was suddenly taken away from you? How would you survive? In this way Batman's and Joker's characters mirror each other and make you think about the real people who try to prove that their lives are sad and worthless because the world is evil and incurable. In the ending of the Killing Joke there's one frame where Joker's shell starts to brake and for a second this evil character transforms into something sad, or even sympathetic. And it ends with Joker telling a joke that perfectly captures the relationship between batman and joker. And Batman understands.

The introduction by Tim Sale and the afterword by Brian Bolland are written with sincerity and are totally worth a read. It also includes a morally questionable short story (8 pages) written and drawn by Brian Bolland that is surprisingly good and effective short story, even though it's pretty shocking and off-putting (even more than the actual Killing Joke story) as a boy implies that he would be ready to tie up a little girl and do perverted things to her just to ruin the lives of her family. But it's still a pretty neat extra. The book also includes a double page with some sketches for the Killing Joke as well as for the extra short story and every picture includes a caption from the artist himself. It's good as long as it lasts: I would have liked to see even more character concepts and sketches, but I'm glad that they included some of them anyway.

The overall design of the book is black and beautiful, the iconic art on the dust jacket (which you'll really get only after reading the book)and the black-and-purple hard cover art are just as good as it gets. I think this might be the best comic I'll ever encounter. Or maybe that's going to be Watchmen after I get my hand on that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Batman The Killing Joke Special Ed HC
Batman The Killing Joke Special Ed HC by Alan Moore (Hardcover - 19 Mar. 2008)
£9.45
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews