Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The lighter side of Morisson
I personally consider the earlier stories in the "Legends of the Dark Knight" ongoing series the better ones, and this one (which collects #6-10) is no exception. Bruce Wayne is being plagued by a lot of nightmares about when he was a young boy lately. Each night he wakes up from a nightmare about his father to which he can relate no meaning. Meanwhile a man who...
Published on 1 July 2001

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Scarily crap
This is one of the most ridonkulous Batman stories I've ever read. A mad monk from the 17th century sells his soul to Satan in exchange for 300 hundred years of life (why just 300?) without fear of injury or death. Later he makes plans for a cathedral that will capture the souls of the recently deceased who will be infected by the bodies of the already deceased plague...
Published 19 months ago by Sam Quixote


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The lighter side of Morisson, 1 July 2001
By A Customer
I personally consider the earlier stories in the "Legends of the Dark Knight" ongoing series the better ones, and this one (which collects #6-10) is no exception. Bruce Wayne is being plagued by a lot of nightmares about when he was a young boy lately. Each night he wakes up from a nightmare about his father to which he can relate no meaning. Meanwhile a man who calls himself 'Mr.Whisper', a man with no shadow, is rapidly killing off underworld members in brutal ways. The crime-leaders are heavily frightened and ask Batman for help, trying to make a deal. Batman refuses and tells them they're getting what they deserve. Back home he puts some things together for himself and realizes there may be a connection between Mr.Whisper and his nightmares. Because of that he decides to do some detective work after all to find out who this Mr.Whisper is. From there on a highly paranormal (which is quite extraordinary for a Batman book, but quite a trademark of Grant Morisson) story unfolds which leads Batman through memories of his days in private school and even to an eerie Austrian monastry, which he learns is the subject of an occult Austrian legend. People who are into listening to scary 'true' stories by the campfire will probably like this a lot. It's like one of those stories you heard of which you just KNEW they weren't real, but gave you the chills anyway. That's also the case here. You go through the story asking yourself if what's going on is the legend being forfilled or if there's a more down-to-earth thing going on. Grant Morisson does what he does best, he's giving clues without giving it away, keeping the reader on his toes. Klaus Jansons art is suitable for the story and especially the way he draws the architectural backgrounds deserve some credit. I don't think many people who are into Batman comics will feel disappointed after reading this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Gothic tale, 23 Oct 2010
By 
Mr. A. J. Mann (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I intially started reading this as a Batman book. I soon realised my mistake. This comic is much better read as a gothic novel. When the mystical elements are introduced it falls outside Batman's usual scope, but right into the scope of Gothic Horror. This is a nice dark tale, well written and well illustrated that is distinctive in its style. A good read and something I would recommend certainly to fans of comic books and Gothic Horror, and to fansof Morrison. This is different from his normal run on Batman, but something quite special. I often love interpretations that give a little twist to the characters we know and love. This story is different and benefits from setting itself apart. A good modern Gothic Horror tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Scarily crap, 23 Dec 2012
By 
Sam Quixote - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This is one of the most ridonkulous Batman stories I've ever read. A mad monk from the 17th century sells his soul to Satan in exchange for 300 hundred years of life (why just 300?) without fear of injury or death. Later he makes plans for a cathedral that will capture the souls of the recently deceased who will be infected by the bodies of the already deceased plague victims he's been carting about everywhere with him. And then, yes there's more to this convoluted plan, he thinks these souls will be accepted by the Devil as substitute for his own and he'll live on forever. So what name do you give yourself if you can live forever? Mr Whisper. Stupid, on all counts.

A few things, besides the dumb plot, really bothered me. The Devil granted him 300 years of life - not any other powers - so Whisper beating Batman in hand to hand combat is a bit hard to swallow. Also how about the opportunity Whisper has to kill Batman? If I had to kill Batman and I had him tied to a table, I'd get a gun and shoot him in the head. Not Whisper though! Have you ever played "Mouse Trap"? It's a board game with all kinds of fun and elaborate constructs. It must be Whisper's favourite toy because he builds one of these devices in which to kill Batman - and fails. What an idiot! Then he stands around telling Batman his life story which reveals, yes!, even a 300 year old monk from Europe has ties to Bruce Wayne's life!

The gothic romance sub-genre that blossomed in late 18th century literature featured mad monks, moonlit monasteries, ghosts, abundant death and the Devil, and they're all present in this book too, so I suppose that's why this book is called "Gothic". That and the cathedral Whisper builds in the heart of Gotham, is built in the gothic style. I quite like the magical elements that sometimes appear in Batman stories so for that alone this book isn't a total dud.

Grant Morrison writes this straight, there are none of the confuddling literary tricks or bizarre narrative sidetracks he's known for, but despite it's accessibility I still felt the story was a mess and Whisper's plan just doesn't make sense. Klaus Janson's art was... very 90s. It was ok, but it's definitely not the best looking Batman book you'll ever see.

"Batman: Gothic" is Grant Morrison's worst Batman book and is all too forgettable when you set it down. If you're not into the kind of Batman stories that play with the supernatural, this isn't for you, but neither is it for anyone looking for a good Batman book. I'd recommend steering clear of this and going for Morrison's later, greater Batman stories starting with "Batman and Son" straight through into "Batman, Inc".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite Morrison, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was by far and away the best Grant Morrison comic I have read - its unlike a lot of his other work and is rather simple and basic, and not so physiological. I would recommend as a first step in getting into Grant Morrison stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman Gothic TP New Edition (Paperback)
This is a pretty run of mill supernatural Batman story. Some interesting aspects (Bruce's school days, for example) but if you prefer your Batman stories to be a little more 'realistic', I'd steer clear. If you're up for a good old fasioned paranormal detective story, don't hesitate in picking this one up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Story and the Art Work Is Awesome..., 1 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This graphic novel is not what I expected at all. It's better. The story is extremely gritty but still manages to retain the old art work with a really amazing story. I was rather skeptical buying this graphic novel because of the hype of the others. But not only did this graphic novel impress me. It blew the others out of the water. This story also gives you a better insight to Bruce Wayne's childhood. Setting the tone for unhappy things to come when his parents were alive. For the price of this novel, it's a steal. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "I am the king of hell!", 28 Feb 2012
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
When a blast from the past starts hunting down the mob - the gangster bosses turn to Batman in the hope that he will be able to hunt down a man who seemingly cannot die, but can the Dark Knight really stomach helping the very men who corrupt his city...?

The gritty nature of the Legends of The Dark Knight series continues with Batman: Gothic, within the first few pages we see violent acts and a grim dream where Bruce Wayne's father has his mouth stitched shut. In this graphic novel we get a Batman with attitude and the way he scowls lines such as "How dare *YOU* call *ME*!" is reminiscent of the famous "swear to me!" moment from the recent Chris Nolan Batman films. The book explores Bruce Wayne's childhood, particularly his school years as events from then seem inextricably linked to the invincible killer known as Mr. Whisper. 'Gothic' seems to go back to Batman's roots and contains a lot of investigative work on Bruce Wayne's part to resolve a mystery, but the story also relies on a strong element of the occult.

Using paranormal events doesn't always work however and the plot sometimes feels a bit flimsy with encounters and revealed information occurring a little too conveniently, which undermines the sincerity of the story and ruins any plausibility. Some aspects don't seem to fit either, given that Alfred is a long-time companion of the family and privy to all sorts of personal information - he appeared to know very little about Bruce's childhood. Alfred is a great character and his dry humour tends to result in some great lines, and although he delivers a belter ("All this morbid introspection in a room full of stopped clocks must surely give one a rampaging appetite") there seems to be too much effort spent on his dialogue and much of it comes across as contrived.

There are plenty of strengths too, being able to see Bruce as a child - especially in his dreams where we see a vulnerable young Bruce Wayne surrounded by an adult Batman costume is highly symbolic and hints at the unspoken vulnerabilities of a man who has his own inner demons to face. By the end of the book you feel you know more about the man himself and even feel sympathy for him, with every Batman story he is further developed and this gives us more insight than most. Some have criticised the artwork in Batman: Gothic but I enjoyed it. We see things from different angles - literally, from views of Batman looking up from beneath his face, to rooftop-down views of Bruce in his drawing room. It isn't very liberal with colours, most pages consist of only three or so colours but it looks to be done with a certain stylistic vision in mind rather than slap-dash colouring.

In a nutshell: Not the strongest Batman story and probably not one I'd recommend, Batman is best when it deals with situations which are grounded in reality (either through characters or events) rather than the supernatural. This comic-book does provide Bruce Wayne with additional reasons to want to fight for justice though and glimpses into his school-days feel like a refreshing view on the origins of his motives. The absence of Jim Gordon is noticeable too, but maybe that's because Gordon is one of my favourite comic-book characters. Moments of brilliance - but overall fairly average.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A bit so so, 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman: Gothic (Kindle Edition)
It's a good story but far from the best. Feels a bit rushed at times! Three stars… better was to come
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wierd for Batman, mild for Morrison, 18 Jun 2001
By 
Anyone familiar with the work of Grant Morrison will find this a bit on the mild side. The guys a surrealist drug addled genius, and this is one of the few mild stories he has done.
When I say mild, it involves child abuse the undead and cults, so it's not kids stuff, but it is well written. If you like Baatman check it out. If you want a mature mind blowing comic by Morrison , check out the Invisibles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars different but i liked it, 24 Feb 2012
there are a few things i dont like about this one. *SPOILER* -----------that alfred didnt know Bruce when he was a kid.for me Alfred has always been the butler at Wayne manor and knew Bruce's parents.also Bruce in his flashback went to boarding school.again this doesnt really fit into the Bruce Wayne past that i have come to know. another thing is that when all the crime bosses names are mentioned there is no Falcone.it wouldnt have been hard to throw in his name somewhere *END OF SPOILER*----------
but other than that it was a good read.its got a bit of paranormal stuff goin on so if you dont like that kinda thing then id give this one a miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Batman Gothic TP New Edition
Batman Gothic TP New Edition by Grant Morrison (Paperback - 5 Sep 2007)
9.71
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews