Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True, relevant contemporary comicbook
I bought this after reading an offhand comment in another review. I knew nothing about it apart from its supposed quality, and I'm very glad I took the gamble. I've now bought the next 3 collections Body of a Journalist: Volume 2 (DMZ) also and worry what I'll do when I've read them all! The illustrations by Burchielli are fantastically detailed, varied in style and...
Published on 1 Dec. 2009 by Andrew Edwards

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay Comic with alot of potential
The Comic has a great storyline but could use alot more descirbing details, for instance, Who are the Free States, How did they Rebel. I have only read the first volume, so the answers could come in a later volume.

The idea of the artwork is good but the artwork itself to me is too digital and compputeristic looking, the written text however is Horrible, after...
Published on 12 Jan. 2008 by gro till


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True, relevant contemporary comicbook, 1 Dec. 2009
By 
Andrew Edwards (Wakefield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dmz TP Vol 01 On The Ground (Paperback)
I bought this after reading an offhand comment in another review. I knew nothing about it apart from its supposed quality, and I'm very glad I took the gamble. I've now bought the next 3 collections Body of a Journalist: Volume 2 (DMZ) also and worry what I'll do when I've read them all! The illustrations by Burchielli are fantastically detailed, varied in style and superb at conveying movement and light. That's before we discuss the fantastic story which I would bet my house will be adapted into a movie in the future. The stroyline deals with an not too difficult to believe idea of a second civil war in the USA in which Manhattan island becomes an unstable no man's land between the two opposed forces. The protagonist is a inexperienced young journalist who finds himself stranded in the DMZ. His reporting begins to peel away the propaganda peddled by the government and reveal the painful truth hidden below. An hour in the company of this book is as good as any action movie, but with more brains. Read it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A genuine Double Thumbs Up!!, 5 Jun. 2013
This review is from: Dmz TP Vol 01 On The Ground (Paperback)
There are people all over the world living in a war zone right now. With our pampered Western lifestyles it is easy for us to ignore their plight. Art has always drawn attention to difficult topics and there have been several graphic novels that have raised this subject and tried to get us to see what life is like for these people.

DMZ takes a different approach and imagines New York as a war zone. Districts and landmarks known the world over are bombed and occupied. Cleverly this isn't by some foreign invading force it is easy to hate but rather as a result of an American civil war. You get to see what life is like after Americans drop bombs on populated areas.

Whilst a highly political work, like all war reportage, it's the human stories that touch you. We follow photographic intern Matt Roth as he is stranded in Manhattan's Demilitarised Zone. These are short stories of the things he sees, people he meets and his struggle to stay alive. This work is meticulously researched, expertly imagined and skilfully told. An opening news report on the first page tells you everything you need to know to get up to speed in this alternate world.

The art is great. Lots of detail, lots of subdued tones punctuated by fire and explosion. Realistic and expressive faces, dynamic action and a tangible atmosphere of unease and uncertainty.

This is a great work that grips you and won't let go. It doesn't smother you with its politics but educates you as to how you could be living if you had simply been born somewhere else.

A genuine Double Thumbs Up!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hits the ground running, 21 July 2006
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dmz TP Vol 01 On The Ground (Paperback)
Near future america, and a new civil war has left the country split down the middle. The same goes for the city of new york, and manhattan is a demilitarised zone in the middle. But people still live there, and are trying to get by.

When a young journalist gets stranded in manhattan, he passes up the chance for rescue to stay and report on life there.

This is his story.

And what a great story it is. Throwing you into a frighteningly different but very believable america, this is a story with so many possibilities, and in these five issues, we get the start of it. Sympathetic characters and great writing hook you, and superb artwork really portrays the situation well.

Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really Great, 23 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dmz TP Vol 01 On The Ground (Paperback)
This is a really great series. It's enjoyable to read, well drawn, and the storyline is great. It's set in the future, where a rebellion has occurred in America to form two governments (though the rebellion one is essentially a glorified terrorist problem). It delves into the psychology of warfare quite interestingly, and (having only read 2 volumes so far) is setting itself up to be a great read.

Strong recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just read it!!, 22 Jun. 2009
This review is from: Dmz TP Vol 01 On The Ground (Paperback)
DMZ is one of the best comics to come out in recent years. it shows how people are living in NYC during a second civil war told through the eyes of photojournalist Matty Roth. Don't want give too much away so buy and you will enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frighteningly Realistic..?, 8 May 2007
By 
Richard Kelly (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dmz TP Vol 01 On The Ground (Paperback)
Imagine, if you will, an America where the armed forces are spread all over the world on "Peace Keeping" duties. Imagine further if these forces left and the situation in America deteriorated until the disenfranchised members of the far southern states rose up in mass rebellion against the state. Imagine further that this turned into a second civil war that divides the nation and leaves a DMZ, that is the island of Manhattan in New York, that separates the two sides.

This is the fictional setting of DMZ. A young photographer Matthew Roth is sent into the DMZ with a team of reporters and soldiers only to be left there by himself with only his wits and equipment. He them send reports to his network about daily life in the DMZ.

The world as it is portrayed is highly believable, the people are portrayed in a sympathetic yet realistic way. Within the DMZ are stories of horror, love, heroism, depravity in fact everything that is part of the human condition. The people are abandoned by BOTH sides in the conflict and live their lives in constant fear.

I fear that this book will be compared to Transmetroplitan, mainly as it is Science Fiction and has a journalist as the main protagonist - however that is as close as the two actually come to each other. Transmet was all about finding/speaking the truth through whatever means, with this the truth is all around Matt as he reports what is going on. Spider manipulates everyone, whilst Matt is manipulated for other peoples ends.

This is the finest piece of near future writing (in any form) that I have read for several years. Buy it now and see what lurks within the DMZ.

SUPERB 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay Comic with alot of potential, 12 Jan. 2008
By 
This review is from: Dmz TP Vol 01 On The Ground (Paperback)
The Comic has a great storyline but could use alot more descirbing details, for instance, Who are the Free States, How did they Rebel. I have only read the first volume, so the answers could come in a later volume.

The idea of the artwork is good but the artwork itself to me is too digital and compputeristic looking, the written text however is Horrible, after reading MAX (five star) the art isnt appeasing.

More over the comic is worth getting and the later volumes could still improve,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars On the ground, outta sight!, 5 Sept. 2009
By 
L.pop (Puddle town) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dmz TP Vol 01 On The Ground (Paperback)
I am not an obsessive comics nut, but i do occasionally try and immerse myself in a story if its a good one and the artwork is nice. I cant remember exactly how i found out about this one, i think i may have been looking at post apocalyptic fiction on wikipedia. If you go to the Vertigo website, you can download the first comic from there.
What is immediately evident is that Brian Wood is not just a comic artist, but a graphic designer. What he has done here is not just illustrate the stories, but given the entire series an image which is instantly recognizable. Every cover, map, logo, and whatever else that needs to be visually represented, has been done in such a way that as soon as you buy this, you arent just reading a story, but becoming immersed in the world that surrounds it, and this in itself is the idea that is at the very heart of DMZ.
It looks beautiful, but not just that, it feels like a manifesto.

I wont bore you with the plot here, as im sure you can read 10 other reviews that will break it down for you, but it is all based around New York as a warzone, and the lives and stories of the civilians (if you can call them that) that live there.
What i think DMZ does so well is to not create a story and then try and create a world to surround it, but rather to create a world where any story is possible, and to then pick out the choicest cuts for us, the reader. It is the attention to detail that really makes this something special and something that feels heavyweight, it is very easy to believe that when the characters arent in the story arc, they are still somewhere else trying to deal with their own lives, they havent just disappeared forever.

Basically this is more than just a comic book. It is a wartorn world, it is a design breif, it's practically a clothing brand. Whatever, just buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply stunning., 10 Oct. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dmz TP Vol 01 On The Ground (Paperback)
Wow, I'm surprised no-one else has reviewed this yet... I took a chance on this after seeing it in a "comics you must read" list a few months back, and I've not regretted my choice. In fact, after reading this I ordered the rest of the series in one go!

The story is brilliant - a work-experience journalist ends up in the middle of New York, which is now a war zone, and he has to survive, simple. But the plot builds and builds, and all the twists and turns really suck you in. The artwork is fantastic and adds tremedously to the gritty feel of the storyline, and the use of a few artists throughout the series gives each volume it's own distinctive feel.

This, to me, was a proper grown-up story, which just happens to be a cartoon, rather than a comic for kids. As such I would recommend it to anyone from older teen upwards, anyone who likes a real absorbing story, and to people who watch those gritty police/war shows on tv.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Utterly dreadful, 2 May 2011
This review is from: Dmz TP Vol 01 On The Ground (Paperback)
I have read a few graphic novels in my time and this has to be one of the worst yet - stupidly improbable, shallow, juvenile and poorly written.

I was hoping for so much more, but in keeping with most graphic novels, the references to it being "mature" and for an adult audience means that it is full of swearing and profanity, rather than containing sophisticated concepts and decent writing.

DMZ is initially very promising - like a hybrid of Escape From New York, Black Hawk Down and Salvador, it is the story of a journalist in a war torn Manhattan. It is also graphically very impressive. But after the initial dozen pages, which contains interesting and challenging issues such as collateral damage, the first book completely falls apart into nonsense.

On The Ground is, in effect, three stories - Matty Roth's entry into Manhattan and meeting with Zee; Matty's encounter with some ecologists looking after a zoo in Central Park; and Matty chasing someone for his stolen jacket (seriously).

As I say, the first story starts promisingly but then declines into the improbable, stupid, purile nonsense that besets most graphic novels. Such as when Matty visits someone who has a long range gun with a powerful scope that can see across to Jersey City which is "miles away". Suddenly the room is peppered with bullets. It transpires they are being shot by a woman who is having a platonic relationship with one of the characters. Why would she shoot at him? How does she manage to pepper the room with bullets from miles away with a standard machine gun/rifle? What is the point of this scene? That, unfortunately, is the feeling throughout - "what is the point?" So often it appears the writer had a single good idea and then pads the story with lots of guff. The concept of a long distance relationship between war factions could have been handled with maturity but instead it is ridiculous and smacks of adolescence.

Why would the American troops drop a huge bomb on the helicopter crash site in Manhattan? Moreover, why would they do it DAYS after the helicopter crash landed? If it was to protect secret equipment and data, surely the bomb would have been launched immediately on the helicopter crashing? It makes no sense to do it days later. Oh, I get it, war makes no sense, how deep...

The story about Matty venturing to the south of Manhattan which is being hit by a missile attack is risible. Why would those rockets be launched anyway? And why are they being launched by a sub? And surely the missiles launched by a sub would be nuclear not conventional? And why is Matty confronted by soldiers halfway up a skyscraper? Did they just happen to stumble across him amongst the hundreds of possible buildings? And why is the force sent by the Americans to attack Manhattan so thin? They launch a rocket attack and them move in with two armoured patrol cars and a dozen men? Childish nonsense. As someone else pointed out, the total lack of explanation for the civil war in the US doesn't help.

The story in Central Park has all the sense and purpose of a four panel comic strip. At one point someone says they have completely built over the New York zoo - BY HAND - in four months, completely covering it over and installing plexiglass and solar panels. In the middle of a war zone? In four months? By hand? Who writes this drivel? And it doesn't stop there, apparently they use peat for fuel. Yes peat, which is millions of years old, they create it in their covered zoo in a couple of years for fuel apparently. Is this science-fiction? They also have huge fields of bamboo, underground, in a zoo, in NY, in the middle of a war zone. The bit about gangs stealing trees for timber is much better, but is diluted by the story around it.

The last story involves someone stealing Matty's parka on which someone sprayed "Press" which has now become incredibly valuable as it allows him to travel through the city unharmed. Couldn't he simply get another parka and spray "Press" on it especially since it's not even the same jacket he was wearing at the start of the story? As Matty chases the thief through NY every passerby incredibly recognises the parka and not only that comments on how it must be the embedded journo wearing it etc. So while Matty was wearing it, the parka had no discernible impact on the story, but as soon as it is stolen, it becomes an icon or a beacon that the general populace are aware of. That Matty manages to keep on the tail of the thief across Manhattan is, of course, laughable.

I cannot believe the praise this book has received, but then again, most graphic novels are wildly over-praised. A 4 page Future Shock by Alan Moore is more sophisticated and "mature" than this. The rest of the series may get better, but I won't be around to find out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dmz TP Vol 01 On The Ground
Dmz TP Vol 01 On The Ground by Brian Wood (Paperback - 14 Mar. 2012)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews