Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
20
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.44+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 May 2014
Overall this is still a great series, however I do prefer longer story arcs and this collection of shorter stories, with a more childish focus, didn't grab me in the same way. In addition, with a number of artists working on different stories, some of the artwork will be more to your taste than others, and as a result some will not.
Still, overall this does not detract from the excellence of the series so far.
Hopefully the next volume will se a return to form.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2014
Another very strong installment in what is turning out to be an absolutely brilliant series, this time Bluebeards villanous plan comes to fruition and leads to something that wasn't expected as Snow and Bigby bond.
The world building continues about what happened in the homelands, as well as how the community in New York and the farm functions.
I find myself totally captivated by the storytelling and rush through each book before running off to buy the next, an unbroken run of form so far.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2013
There are two one part tales, a single two part tale and a longer work so you are definitely getting a lot of bang for your buck as they are all good.

The stories all have different artists but each suits the themes they are illustrating very well. The colouring of each is also excellent with a lot of carefully chosen palettes. Having a lot of artists on the job means they can take their time with the pages, producing a richer result. The rigid square panels also disappear in the main story too. Characters and speech cross into other frames, there are curved and even circular panels, the art goes full bleed, there are parallel scenes on a page, and exotic floral borders. It really goes all out.

The writing is also excellent. The last story is filler but is so charming you don't mind. The first evokes a wonderful period atmosphere and has a real morality play quality to it. The other two are well plotted and dramatic. There is sex and death aplenty in this book and it has a dark tinge to it just as proper folk tales do.

As it is hard to think how this could be improved I give it the Double Thumbs Up!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2006
Following on from FABLES: LEGENDS IN EXILE and FABLES: ANIMAL FARM, here's the third volume compiled from the series. In it Boy Blue falls for Red Riding Hood while fighting the Adversary's minions; a stupid journalist thinks he can unmask the residents of Fabletown for the vampires he thinks they are; an evil plot has surprising consequences for Bigby Wolf and Snow White; and we find out about Barleycorn Brides.
And that's just for starters. The consequences of some of the things that happen here will, as they always do in these tales, through what follows later. It also deals with the further interaction between the crazed revolutionary Goldilocks and Snow Whit, who, as we may remember from ANIMAL FARM, has a bone to pick with Goldie.
The pace continues unabated, with the story-lines mostly interleaved and hanging together; though Boy Blue's adventures are 'historical' (but need to be told, so we understand what happens in the next volume: FABLES: MARCH OF THE WOODEN SOLDIERS), and the Barelycorn Brides snippet appears to bear only a slight connection to anything going on in the main-line story thread. There's some serious violence and blood, plus some sex; people die; journalists get their due desserts, as does a fable, long overdue for the dispensing of justice; Bigby and Snow do some serious bonding in the wilderness.
Nice pace, engaging tales and, though happy endings are far off or maybe will never come, there is a good deal of overt and suppressed romance.
Full marks, as always.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2013
As an avid comic reader and ever since reading Gaimans Sandman series I have adored the way fairy tales are told. This book fires the imagination and engages thoughtfulness. I highly recommend it, from the detailed and beautiful graphics to.the smooth, surprising narrative. On to the next in the series!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2015
the fable series so far has been the best ive ever read its amazing every page i turn opens my eyes more and more this one is my favourites out of the fable comics so far how many times ive missed my bus stop because when i read this i lose the sence of time and realty honestly best books ever and i hope the series only gets better
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2014
This book was amazing! The beginning of the book consists of one oneshot story with Jack and follows up with a two issued story about Bigby and a "vampire problem", then the storybook love main story begins. Really nice art in there and even one epic scene with Bigby that gave me goosebumps. Recommend to anyone who's read the previous two books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2014
Not the strongest book in the series, in my opinion, but it's a good read and, of course, essential to the series for the character development and background information it provides.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2014
Class loving it. Play the game the wolf amount us also very very very very good. Blah blah blah done
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2015
Great artwork and paper, if you read Fables then buy it now!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)