Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quintessential Superman
Despite being THE most iconic character in comic book lore The Man Of Steel has been tucked away into the darker recesses of the public domain of late. One may argue that the character is no longer relevant to today's cultural climate, that he implies a naivite and moral solidarity that is simply inapplicable to the post modern era (see Frank Miller's Batman: Dark Knight...
Published on 3 Feb 2006 by D. Laurikietis

versus
11 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not recommended
After more than 60 years, it is time to retell the story of the origin of Superman, and this book is it. The book begins with baby Kal-El being sent from the dying planet of Krypton, and then leaps forward to young Clark Kent, a successful and respected free lance reporter. But, in dangerous situations, Clark saves the day, but finds himself the object of fear - what kind...
Published on 6 April 2005 by Kurt A. Johnson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quintessential Superman, 3 Feb 2006
By 
D. Laurikietis "darkknight_uk" (North West England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Superman: Birthright (Paperback)
Despite being THE most iconic character in comic book lore The Man Of Steel has been tucked away into the darker recesses of the public domain of late. One may argue that the character is no longer relevant to today's cultural climate, that he implies a naivite and moral solidarity that is simply inapplicable to the post modern era (see Frank Miller's Batman: Dark Knight Returns).
However, thanks to the genius of Mark Waid et al, in these pages we are treated to a Superman tale that is timeless, fresh, reverent and original. This graphic novel will remind fans of Big Blue just what they love about the character and *hopefully* make the character fresh and appealing for a new generation of fans.
I won't gush over the exquisite artwork or the dexterity of the story telling. They speak for themselves. All I will say is that Superman: Birthright is an ABSOLUTE MUST for anyone even remotely interested in Superman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for newcomers, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Superman Birthright TP (Superman (DC Comics)) (Paperback)
I was never into Superman that much as a kid, and after hearing that the train wreck that was "Man of Steel" was based on this, I wasn't filled with much confidence. But, after a friend insisted I buy this, I couldn't have been more wrong.

"Birthright" gives Superman the much needed reboot to fit the 21st century, and proves that he is still a hero who is relevant in today's society.

The reasoning behind his actions, his relationships with the people around him, and his feud against the evil/brilliant Lex Luthor are all well written and believable thanks to the amazing talents of Mark Waid.

If your new to Superman this is a great place to start, and even though "Man of Steel" was very, very loosely based on this, please don't let that put you off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent and complete look at the origins of superman, 29 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Superman Birthright TP (Superman (DC Comics)) (Paperback)
I only became informed of this comic post-Man of Steel, and decided to give it a read after recommendations and from hearing that the movie was inspired by this book. Although I was disappointed with the film, it was said that this source material was far better and I am happy to confirm this. It is tricky for me to review this independantly of the film as my coming by it was so directly connected to it, so bear that in mind when reading my opinion.

The film had lifted heavily from Birthright, particularly in key scenes, quotes and style, but failed to carry over any of the weight, emotion and significance that this book so beautifully sets up and delivers. Key aspects of Superman's origins are explored in detail, from why he chooses not to wear a mask, as well as the origin of the costume (at least in this incarnation, we're not talking New 52 here!)

From the excellent writing you get a very clear and defined idea of who Superman is, why he became the way he did and what he went through to get there. What I didn't expect was the addition of what is essentially the origin of Lex Luthor, and how intertwined this was with Clark's own origin. While not explored as deeply (this is Superman's story after all), it also gave a great and very human aspect to Superman's greatest foe and helps us understand why he became the way he did.

The artwork and colouring for me initially was odd, in particular the cover in which Superman looks a little like some plastic android instead of a saviour. But the art in the book very quickly draws you in with both dynamic and intimate panels, who's colour and style work perfectly to display the drama and emotion of the story.

I totally recommend this book to anyone who wants both a good story and a little deeper understanding of the origins of the grandfather of the superhero, 100% worth it and I was completely satisfied!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Origin story, and honestly what they should have done with Man Of Steel, 20 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Superman Birthright TP (Superman (DC Comics)) (Paperback)
Seriously, this beats Man of Steel's lame-ass plot. Without wanting to give too much away, there's a Kryptonian invasion & Superman is suspected / defamed as a spy, an advance scout for the invasion. Things however are NOT as they first appear, and with that I will leave off any further discussion of plot. Artwork is SUPERB, plot good & solid & interesting. Go buy it if you like Supes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great superman story., 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Superman Birthright TP (Superman (DC Comics)) (Paperback)
Beautiful feel good story about Clark Kent, giving a heartwarming account of the coming of age of a likeable guy and a real hero.

Falls apart at the end when the book goes to extreme lengths to sugarcoat the consequences of using super powered violence to solve problems, however well meaning. Quality is lowered due to this, but the theme remains consistent and as a result does not significantly devalue a wonderful work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You'll believe a man can fly, 17 Aug 2013
By 
Sam Quixote - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Superman Birthright TP (Superman (DC Comics)) (Paperback)
Wow, where do I start? The short review of this book is: Birthright is the ONLY Superman origin book you need to read, it's the book Mark Waid was born to write, and it is a true literary masterpiece.

That's the short version. The longer version that will now follow will read like a firebrand preacher babbling on about the Saviour, etc. because reading this book and being an atheist, I had the same reaction and feelings that I imagine religious people do when they hear stories about Jesus or whoever their deity of choice is - that uplifting inspiration that inexplicably chokes you up and makes your heart beat stronger. Yeah, it's Superman I'm talking about here guys, which might make some of you roll your eyes but he's more real to me than any world religious figure.

I don't want to scare any readers off though - if you're not a devoted Superman fan, this book is hugely accessible and you're going to have no trouble reading it. Hell, it's basically written so that anyone wanting to read a Superman book can pick it up without knowing a damn thing about the guy and still getting a lot out of it! But if you love Superman - LOVE Superman - then this book will take pride of place on your bookshelves, to be taken down many times over the years and read again and again.

Basically this is the Superman story we all know - the exodus from Krypton, landing in Kansas where the alien baby is adopted by childless farming couple Jonathan and Martha Kent, becoming Clark, realising his powers, moving to Metropolis, and becoming Superman. It's the classic origin - but it goes deeper than that. Waid doesn't simply go through the familiar motions with this character but explains WHY Kal/Clark becomes Superman.

If you're reading this after watching Man of Steel, there's a lot here that'll seem familiar to you - Jonathan telling Clark to hide his powers, that he'll scare people if they know who he really is. There's even some lines here that were used in the film like "you're the answer to `are we alone in the universe?'". However, unlike Man of Steel, Superman isn't a murderous lunatic flinging his enemies into crowded city blocks with no thought to human life.

Clark leaves high school and goes travelling from then on, spending the next few years traversing the globe, slowly earning credits for his degree in journalism while filing reports wherever he goes. He winds up in an African country where he's reporting on a tribe that is looking for equal representation in the government run by another tribe, and without getting into particulars, learns why he must put his all of his natural abilities to use, that he can no longer hide, and that one man can make a difference - all this from an ordinary man fighting an insurmountable system. It's a breathtaking and emotional opening to the book that's perfectly suited to the story.

From there we see the persona of Clark being developed to hide Kal's true identity as Superman, we see a beautiful representation of Clark and Jonathan's relationship in a highly charged emotional scene, Lois is superbly realised and has some fantastic zingers, Superman's introduction in Metropolis is handled perfectly while Lex Luthor also takes a turn in the spotlight as Waid shows us why Lex became the way he did. He also writes the tragic friendship between Clark and Lex brilliantly. Great Caesar's Ghost, there's a lot to talk about! So I'll stop there because otherwise this'll go on forever, and just say this:

Reading Superman: Birthright doesn't just familiarise you with the talking points of Superman's origins - Waid writes the character in such a way that you understand him totally. You know why he thinks the way he does, you know why he must be Superman, why he does what he does. It's an origin story that goes beyond treading familiar territory and revitalises the character for a new generation while paying homage to the many creators, writers and artists that worked on the character, going right back to the teenagers who created the Man of Tomorrow, Jerry Siegel and Joe Shuster. This is the old Superman and the new Superman in one flawless representation.

Leinil Yu's art is great as always, Waid's writing is perfect - there's no other word for it, he's leaving nothing in the tank on this one; Birthright, like I said at the start, is a masterpiece. It's a truly brilliant comic with no mis-steps, a real emotional core, and a deep and profound understanding and respect of the character that is rarely seen with Superman.

You'll believe a man can fly - I sure do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best comic for Superman starters., 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Superman Birthright TP (Superman (DC Comics)) (Paperback)
If you are starting your way on Superman comics, i'll promise you that this is one of the best ones to pick. In my opinion is far better than the Man of Steel by Snyder. And price is good to, so no excuses, just buy the comic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Superman Birthright TP (Superman (DC Comics)) (Paperback)
Top quality graphic novel for anyone and everyone, A nice starter for those who havent read Superman before tells the origin and sets the tone. For those more experienced it is just a fun one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars First taste of Superman and I liked it, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Superman Birthright TP (Superman (DC Comics)) (Paperback)
Having not read a Superman comic before this one, I don't have anything to compare it to, but I thought it was a brilliant way to handle the 'origin' story. Illustrations are brilliant, and it walks the fine line between the darker, Frank Miller Batmans and the kapow world of Marvel's superheroes very well to give you the best of both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Modern Supes, 28 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Superman: Birthright (Paperback)
Superman is as current as ever and this story verifies it. A great Lex Luthor back story and relationship with Supes.
We've all heard Superman origin stories, they've been done to death, but this one is refreshing and stays true to the mythos. Definitley one of the better Superman graphic novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Superman Birthright TP (Superman (DC Comics))
Superman Birthright TP (Superman (DC Comics)) by Gerry Alanguilan (Paperback - 28 Sep 2005)
13.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews