Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great condition no issues with purchase.
The product came in immaculate condition no problems. This is a purchase review so if you're looking for a review of the actual contents of the book check out comicvine.com for a good run down.
Published 2 months ago by Jason

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars So So
I'm a fan of the Cartoon Network/Toonami Teen Titans series, and it was because of the tv show that I decided to try the comics.

The main team is different, with the exception of Robin. Cyborg and Starfire are the adults who look after the younger members, which comprise of Robin, Superboy, Wondergirl and Kid Flash. Beast Boy is also involved but seems to hover...
Published on 28 Aug 2006 by Indian Sunblaze


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great condition no issues with purchase., 7 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teen Titans TP Vol 02 Family Lost (Paperback)
The product came in immaculate condition no problems. This is a purchase review so if you're looking for a review of the actual contents of the book check out comicvine.com for a good run down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bloody Brilliant!, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teen Titans TP Vol 02 Family Lost (Paperback)
The second Teen Titans trade, while not as good as the first, is still a consistently fun read and packed with the same stellar writing and artwork. Geoff Johns does a great job once again pulling aspects from the Titans' diverse and epic history to craft a tale that is wholly original and fresh.

We get introduced to a bunch of old Titans characters, and Johns manages to portray them all in a way that is both consistant to their history, but adds new depth and personality to them; Raven gets a much more tactful and sympathetic portrayal here than she has in recent times, giving her some genuine respectability.

The interplay between the team is just great. Everyone has a very distinct personality, each exemplified by Mike Mckone's awesome artwork. It has that same lax, cartoony vibe as the last volume, adding to the fun atmosphere of the book.

Where the book falls down is in its length: It's barely half the size of the first book, and that means there is less room for the story to breathe, making for a somewhat fast, yet thin on the ground, pace. In addition, the conclusion is a trifle rushed, but is left open enough to transition into the next volume fairly smoothly.

I was seriously considering docking two stars for the criminal lack of value for money, but the book's emotional core is its saving grace. We get a truly fascinating insight into Raven's inner turmoil and the twisted psychology of Deathstroke, all of these making the characters' personal ties very palpable and real to the reader. By the end, Raven has gone from being a stale, stagnant character to a real emotional highlight.

Given the wonders Geoff Johns is doing with the rest of the cast, I look forward to seeing what he does with my favorite Titans member, Beast Boy, in the next volume, but THIS progressive little gem gets the seal of approval.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars So So, 28 Aug 2006
I'm a fan of the Cartoon Network/Toonami Teen Titans series, and it was because of the tv show that I decided to try the comics.

The main team is different, with the exception of Robin. Cyborg and Starfire are the adults who look after the younger members, which comprise of Robin, Superboy, Wondergirl and Kid Flash. Beast Boy is also involved but seems to hover somewhere in between.

As a big fan of Raven, one part of the comic (graphic novel) that I found really interesting is the story of Ravens mother, Angela Roth. The comic explores how she came to join the satanic cult and how Raven was born. As part of this storyline we see a new and much much younger brother blood, who seems to have issues with his mother.

So in conclusion, a good read, but the cartoons better, I might try the 'Go' comics instead!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Reason to Read comics, 16 Mar 2006
This book is great. The artwork, the storyline, really worth buying. This is the first graphic novel I've been motivated to buy. Way better that the Teen Titans cartoon , if you want the cartoon stick to Teen Titans Go! With most of the major "sidekicks" as members its pretty cool to see them working as a team and away from their mentors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Titans Together, 19 Feb 2006
By 
D. W. Bissett "dave_bissett" (Cumbria, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've begun buying the TEEN TITANS graphic novels having seen the Cartoon Network TV series and one thing's for sure, the comics are more serious and that there are more Titans with the team (Superboy, Wonder Girl and Kid Flash).
Raven is back, having travelling the world in just her spirit, she has a new body but also a new master - Brother Blood, who intends of using Raven for his desires. As the Titans attempt to rescue her, they once again confront Deathstroke (a.k.a. Slade) and his daughter, Rose, who wants to kill Raven because she contains the spirit of Deathstroke's dead son, Jericho, who was also a Titan.
Raven is one of my favourite characters of TEEN TITANS and it was great to have her back. She also has some nice moments with Beast Boy, who's more mature and doesn't say silly jokes like he does in the animated TV series. This is a must buy for any TEEN TITANS fan and those who have just seen the TV series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Teen Titans TP Vol 02 Family Lost
Teen Titans TP Vol 02 Family Lost by Geoff Johns (Paperback - 6 April 2005)
Used & New from: 19.88
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews