Customer Reviews


221 Reviews
5 star:
 (119)
4 star:
 (59)
3 star:
 (31)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


116 of 116 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Heat is on!
HEAT WAVE is the novel that Richard Castle wrote in the series Castle: The Complete First Season [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC], starring Nikki Heat, based on detective Kate Beckett. The book is very nicely presently, being entirely in character from the author photo on the back cover (of Nathan Fillion) to the dedication to the acknowledgments, although the latter...
Published on 17 Feb 2010 by Dr Evil

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars THE HEAT HAS BEEN SHUT OFF
Let me begin by saying that I am a fan of the CASTLE television series. It is a cheeky, and sometimes cheesy bit of fluff that is pure entertainment. The viewer is not supposed to examine the "facts" of each weekly offering too closely nor try to utilize logic. This is just a show where you sit back and enjoy the silly banter of the cast and the sexual tension exuding...
Published 22 months ago by Red Rock Bookworm


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

116 of 116 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Heat is on!, 17 Feb 2010
By 
Dr Evil (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Heat Wave (Nikki Heat) (Hardcover)
HEAT WAVE is the novel that Richard Castle wrote in the series Castle: The Complete First Season [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC], starring Nikki Heat, based on detective Kate Beckett. The book is very nicely presently, being entirely in character from the author photo on the back cover (of Nathan Fillion) to the dedication to the acknowledgments, although the latter references the cast and the show's creators by name. It is just like having a prop from the show.

The story is about a rich New York business man who falls to his death from his apartment. The suspicious circumstances lead homicide detective Nikki Heat and journalist and ride-along, Jameson Rook into the world of high profile art theft and murder. The plot structure, style and humour, as well as the characters (although they have different names) are all exactly the same as the TV show, so fans will straight away be familiar with how it's supposed to feel and will love how you're actually reading what is being talked about in the show for nearly two seasons now. It is fairly fast-flowing once it gets going and although there are only a handful of characters who the culprit could be, the twist at the end was a good surprise for me.

Being a fan of CASTLE, I thought this book was great but it probably will only have a limited amount of appeal to people who have not seen the show. A good mystery with fun characters and decent writing, I hope there's a follow up or even better - we get the chance to read some of his Derek Storm novels!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars THE HEAT HAS BEEN SHUT OFF, 29 Jan 2013
By 
Red Rock Bookworm (St. George Utah USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Let me begin by saying that I am a fan of the CASTLE television series. It is a cheeky, and sometimes cheesy bit of fluff that is pure entertainment. The viewer is not supposed to examine the "facts" of each weekly offering too closely nor try to utilize logic. This is just a show where you sit back and enjoy the silly banter of the cast and the sexual tension exuding from the two protagonists as they attempt to solve their latest case.

HEAT WAVE capitalizes on the popularity of the television show and follows the same formula that made the show a success. Unfortunately, what plays well on the small screen does not necessarily translate to the page with the same panache.

While the book does have a couple of amusing exchanges between our two protagonists, I believe if one has never seen the show and has no point of reference, this story of the murdered real-estate tycoon and his trophy wife would have found its way to the "remainders" bin within a month of publication.

My recommendation: If you want to be entertained for an hour, sit back and watch the show, pass on this book and devote your time to more informative and interesting reading material. If you feel compelled to read this offering, save your money and get it at the library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Above Average Quality TV Show Tie-In, 7 Mar 2011
By 
C. Green "happily low brow" (Quenington, Glos, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For a novel that is essentially nothing more than a piece glorified tie-in merchandising for the TV show Castle - Season 1, Heat Wave is surprisingly and pleasingly enjoyable. It would have been quitet easy for ABC, the home of Castle on US TV, and the publishers to simply produce a lazyily written knock-off to cash in on the 12 million viewers the show gets every week. Rather like the programme that spawned it however, Heat Wave has overcome the disadvantages of its lowly origins to actually be a pretty decent detective mystery.

Not that its going to win any literary awards or prizes for originality. This is very much a straight, no frills murder-mystery detective story. Its convoluted enough to keep you gripped, even if the identity of the ultimate culprit does become obvious some time before its revealed. The character interplay is engaging and the New York locales are given just enough colour. Whoever they hired to ghost write the book has done a solid if unspectacular job. Under normal circumstances it would easily grab a three star rating.

What elevates it to a four star novel for me, and probably for any other fans of the TV show, is the way it riffs on the (fictional) world of Richard Castle, Kate Beckett and their friends, colleagues and families. A large part of the fun when reading Heat Wave is comparing Nikki Heat and Jameson Rook with their 'real life' counterparts and seeing how they differ. In many respects they are the same characters and Heat Wave is essentially an extended episode of Castle in book form, but there are some significant differences that separate the novel from its source material. Its also fun to try and pick out the sections of the book that have been refered to directly by characters during CASTLE: COMPLETE SECOND SEASON, which is set after Heat Wave's fictional publication.

So if you're a fan of Castle (as of March 2011 its shown on the 'Alibi' TV channel in the UK) then like me Heat Wave will really appeal. If you've never caught the show however, it offers enough entertainment value as a standalone piece of detective fiction to be worth trying. It might also sell you on trying the show that spawned it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A New, Blockbuster Bestseller for Castle, 11 Jan 2010
By 
Mark Baker (Santa Clarita, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Heat Wave (Nikki Heat) (Hardcover)
New York City is suffering from record breaking heat when Matthew Starr jumps to his death from his luxury condo. NYPD detective Nikki Heat quickly determines that it was murder. And since Matthew was one of the richest developers in the city, the case will be a top priority.

Only Nikki quickly discovers that Matthew wasn't as well off as everyone thought he was. As the secrets come out, Nikki begins to find multiple motives. Then her own life is threatened. Can she solve the crime before another attempt is made?

It's always a danger killing off a popular character, but if that's what it took to give us this new book, than I am glad Richard Castle took that risk....

Okay, okay, so the whole Richard Castle thing is not true. This book is really a very cleverly done tie in to the ABC show Castle. Heck, the author photo on the back of the book is actor who plays him on the show. And the blurbs are from authors who have appeared on the show. Frankly, this fan couldn't stop laughing at the similarities.

Those similarities continue on to the characters. Nikki Heat is being shadowed by a news reporter for an in depth feature on the police force. The other detectives are quite obviously based on the characters in the show.

However, I must wonder just how much non-fans of the show would appreciate things. I got lots of humor from characters and comparing the two. If I didn't know the show, I wouldn't have found it amusing at all.

The plot holds together reasonably well. The beginning of the book was overwritten, however. Some of those sentences got in the way of actually understanding the description. Things did get better as the book progressed, fortunately.

Fans of the TV show will get a kick out of this book, especially with how they've been advertising it on the show. Others might enjoy it, but they won't get the same kick out of it I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 24 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a great fan of the Castle series on TV which features an author, named Richard Castle, who is teamed up with a female cop, named Beckett. In the series Castle publishes three books with Nikki Heat (based on Beckett) as the main character. So when I saw that there actually were three Nikki Heat books on Amazon I had to try them. What a disappointment. The plot was reasonable, likewise the action, but the characters - oh dear, they were dire. They never came to life and seemed like puppets carrying out the motions. As Richard Castle is a fictional character I checked out the copyright which was ABC Studios and I reckon the books must have been written by a ghost writer or a script writer, but certainly not by any novelist worth his or her salt. I certainly won't be buying the other two books, although I will continue to watch the tV series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good story, 26 Nov 2012
By 
Ian Divers (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you like Castle the TV series, you will probably like the book. Many of the episodes are scavenged to produce the book as they would have been if Castle had used his experiences to write the best seller. Very cleverly done and thoroughly enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining beach read, 6 July 2011
This review is from: Heat Wave (Nikki Heat) (Paperback)
To be honest, I'd never realised there truly was a Richard Castle book called Heat Wave and if I had, I probably wouldn't have taken the trouble to pick it up. So when Wiebe found it and its sequel Naked Heat at Forbidden Planet and wanted to get them, I was a bit confused, but intrigued nonetheless and into the shopping basket they went. Castle, starring the fabulous Nathan Fillion and Stana Katic, is one of the few TV shows Wiebe and I make sure to watch together every week or at least record to watch later. So I could see why he wanted to read the books. And after he flew through them in a weekend, I decided I'd have to read them for myself as well.

Heat Wave is a gimmick novel, the one Castle writes about Beckett in the TV show. As such it's hard to disassociate the characters in the book from those in the TV show. In fact reading Heat Wave is much like watching an alternate reality episode of Castle in your head, one in which the fans do get the romance they've been denied in the TV show--at least so far as I've seen the show and we're a little behind here in The Netherlands. I'd imagine though, that while they might miss the little in-jokes, that people who haven't watched the show would be able to understand and appreciate the characters for who and what they are as written in the book.

The book itself isn't high-flying: the prose is workman-like and the plot is competent, but not brilliant. What this book is though, is fun! There is lots of snark and the same witty banter viewers of Castle might recognise as the show's stock in trade. Heat Wave is written from Nikki Heat's viewpoint and it's fun to have "Beckett's" point-of-view, although we're ever conscious that we're not hitching a ride in Beckett's head, but in Castle's version of Beckett. This consciousness comes mainly from the fact that in Jameson Rook we have Castle's alter ego, who clearly is is Castle-inspired, but also clearly isn't Castle; he doesn't have a wise-beyond-her-years teen daughter for one and his mum doesn't live in either. Heat's two detectives, Ochoa and Raley, affectionately nicknamed Roach, are adorable. That's probably a too cutesy word to suit their tastes, but it's what comes to mind. They're like an old married couple and best friends at the same time and I loved them.

The relatively short book is an easy read, that just keeps you turning pages. No, it isn't the next big crime bestseller, but Heat Wave does exactly what it was meant to do, in my opinion, it truly entertains and it forms an admirable companion piece to the TV show. It's a book for the true Castle fan or as a fun and light beach read for a crime fiction lover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Castle fans will enjoy much more than everybody else., 10 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thought I would check this out as I am a big fan of the Castle TV series and thought that it was a stroke of genius to actually have someone write the novels that he writes in the show.

For castle fans:
The book is basically an episode of the TV show, only the characters are all based on the ones we are already familiar with. It was interesting to read in this respect, and nice to see how castle's mind works when he's writing his books. As a companion piece to the show, it was nice to see that all the notes we had seen castle make in the first season were put to good use as they were novelised between his crime solving antics.

For non castle fans:
The story is still involving. It's not the greatest thriller ever written, but it keeps you entertained. It's a little on the short side however, so I personally wouldn't pay full price for it. There was a little bit too much product placement for my liking, and I was disappointed to discover that the last quarter of the paperback was devoted to selling the sequels to this book by giving away the opening chapters to wet the appetite. Also, I would strongly recommend watching the show before reading as some of the character development relies strongly on a pre-existing knowledge of the people the characters within are based on.

Conclusion: entertaining, funny, reasonably thrilling and definitely worth a read for castle fans - non-castle fans can probably take it or leave it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heat is a fun read!, 20 Dec 2010
By 
rhosymynydd "liz" (west wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heat Wave (Nikki Heat) (Paperback)
If you are having one of those days when you don't want to get booged down in heavy literary tomes or just need a quick read for plane and train travel, then this is the book for you. I thoroughly enjoyed the TV series as escapist humour which is not my normal viewing and I was presently surprised at the books good literary style. It is a quick, exciting read for all those who like a fun crime novel. Amusing, well written and murder mystery to the limit!Heat Wave
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 27 Jun 2011
By 
E. Murphy - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Heat Wave (Nikki Heat) (Paperback)
Now I want to say straight away: if you are not a fan of the show Castle, then you will consider this to be a slightly shallow and easy crime novel.

But if you love the show as I do, this novel is a piece of genius! Everything about it matches up to the book that the fictional Richard Castle writes and it is funny to see the comparisons between the characters of Heat and Rook to the characters of Beckett and Castle (anybody else just wish they'd get it together?) Even the endorsements from real authors (who have all been on the show) is just brilliant.

As to the content of the book, it is a rather easy crime novel based on the murder/suicide of a millionaire who falls from his balcony. The novel revolves around the chemistry of Heat and Rook who work together to try and solve the crime.

All in all, I would say only buy this book if you are a fan of the show. You will get so much more out of it that way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Heat Wave (Nikki Heat)
Heat Wave (Nikki Heat) by Richard Castle (MP3 CD - 12 Oct 2009)
£13.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews