Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good book for business employees/consultants, 3 Jun 2003
This review is from: The Trusted Advisor (Paperback)
The Trusted Advisor was on a recommended reading list for the ISEB exam in IS Consultancy. I brought this book to help me with my studies, but have also found it very useful in everyday life. It reopens your eyes into how you should conduct yourself every day to gain peoples / customers trust. Each section has a set of bullet points relating to it for easy reference. The content would work for business employees and consultants.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Noble Art Of The Consigliere, 3 Jan 2010
By 
Charles Vasey (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Trusted Advisor (Paperback)
This is a most useful book on how the professional adviser must act if they are to secure and retain the trust of their clients. It avoids the Dale Carnegie "Just Be Nice" approach by analysing why one wants to generate trust and how it is done. There is no argument that if you find you do not like a potential client you should walk away (and, speaking from personal experience what a joy that is); there are also some handy suggestions of how to do this if you are not a free agent in such a case but working within an organisation.

The proposed responses are, of course, written by and for Americans and come over as deeply insincere in the mouths of the British, but they are not scripts but proposals. You can easily adapt them to different cultures because, however it is expressed, the basis of trust is the basically same in most cultures.

The book acts as a valuable specific to those that suggest various up-selling strategies or ones in which the advisor portrays himself as The Top Man. By shifting one's vision to how this is perceived by the recipient we can see that up-selling can work, but only if the client leads you to it. The book's key is in constantly restating our approaches in terms of how they are perceived by the potential client, not how they address our internal needs and aims. It is a policy that I've found pays dividends.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strong message, 3 Dec 2010
By 
Robin Payne - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Trusted Advisor (MP3 CD)
For a scientist and technologist, looking to imprve their consulting skills, the Trusted Advisor provides real food for thought. It is not enough to have technical knowledge... how much more can we achieve on behalf of our clients if we can build high trust relationships, and really understand what their needs and interests are? Good relationships = requirements understood = expectations met = satisfied customers = repeat business...

And to have this product in ipod/mp3 form allows the key messages to be heard anywhere, anytime, and it is easy to revisit key themes as a reminder of the reasons to work on behaving differently.

Robin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Valuable Tips and Insights, 8 Feb 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Trusted Advisor (Paperback)
The key theme for the book, the Trust Equation is actually in the middle of the book. The first part of the book leads up to it by framing the issue of trust and what a trusted adviser is. The second part, starting with the Trust Equation gives some structure to the challenge of building trust whilst the third part is all about putting trust to work.

It contain loads of tips and ideas to help anyone who needs or wants to become a "trusted adviser" and it will be of particular interest to lawyers, accountants, account managers, consultants, tax advisers, business coaches etc. -- anyone in a long term relationship with a client.

A really good book -- but I didn't actually finish it, partly because I had got enough out of it, and also partly because the format seemed a bit repetetive. Well worth the money spent though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Trusted advisor, 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Trusted Advisor (Paperback)
I am an internal advisor so purchased the book to see what I could learn from it. Found it immensely valuable in its treatment of the role of giving advice as an outsider - have employed some of the techniques successfully
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good tools, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Old fashioned sales concept put into modern terms and tools. A great starter kit for anyone needing to improve sales - improve relationships!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Stuff you need to keep an eye on, 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Trusted Advisor (Paperback)
David Maister has previously written a superb book on Managing the Professional Services Firm, which I would recommend to any manager of service based organisations. The Trusted Advisor is geared to management consultants and is perhaps more suited to independent self-employed consultants. It provides most of what you need to remember in developing long-lasting trust-based relationships. Key tips that resonated with me included: Your job is not to solve, but to help the client to solve his problems; Create the dialogue that leads to the advice; You cannot simply offer advice in a blunt fashion, you sometimes need an emotional context; Don't assume total personal responsibility either for achievements or for failure.
No particular gripes with this book, it will now become one of my regular health-checks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must have consultancy skills book, 28 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Trusted Advisor (Paperback)
This is a cult book that is slowly but surely enhancing the way professional service teams work with their clients one conversation at a time. I refer to this constantly and it is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Practical as well as insightful, 19 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Trusted Advisor (Paperback)
I run my own training and communications consultancy which is focused on employers getting more from their people. Building a trusting environment is key to this and The Trusted Advisor provides the most practical framework for doing so. Building trust is clearly an emotional thing and this book gives you lots of practical advice about how to go about doing so in a clear and understandable way. Thoroughly recommended for anyone who wants to get more from their relationships in business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Maister's the Man!, 1 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Trusted Advisor (Paperback)
I bought (and read) this volume back in 2005, and found it immensely helpful. I feel a tad embarrassed that it has taken me this long to post a review.

This is an important book, as what Maister (and co-authors) manage to do is show how the element of trust is actually critical to every element contributing towards success within the professions. For myself, operating within financial intermediation (as the FSA likes to call it), the lessons outlined here are utterly pivotal and essential if one wishes to move beyond a mere transactional business model.

Maister explains practical strategies for developing trust and makes the clear point that trust must be both developed and earned. In modern business, we do not seem to stress the latter aspect, treating this issue as more of a public relations exercise, than something which depends upon our own qualities and behaviours.

If, as financial planners, or wealth-managers, or even accountants or solicitors, we are to deliver the best possible outcomes for our clients (and get paid what we are worth), we need to work so much harder on developing trust. This book will show you how.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Trusted Advisor
The Trusted Advisor by Robert M Galford (MP3 CD - 23 July 2009)
17.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews