Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars First Impression: Hmm, is this a bridge?
Picked this up a day after release, after waiting for AGES, and digested in one sitting.... Book 3 of the Vatta's War series, please read books 1 & 2 first. The fractured trading Vatta family is starting to pick itself up after it's trashing in book one. Getting an interstellar trading line back trading, dealing with a bad reputation, and somehow staying one step...
Published on 7 April 2006 by Mr. D. Dingwall

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Well written simplistic military SF with not much SF.
This series is pretty typical of military SF. Simplistic Good guys vs Bad guys, where the military are all good guys and the bad guys are politicians or space pirates (really).

The series is also pretty devoid of any interesting SF ideas, I didn't find the bit of technology central to the story convincing, and if you will forgive the slight exaggeration, any...
Published 1 month ago by Andrew Scooter Guy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars First Impression: Hmm, is this a bridge?, 7 April 2006
Picked this up a day after release, after waiting for AGES, and digested in one sitting.... Book 3 of the Vatta's War series, please read books 1 & 2 first. The fractured trading Vatta family is starting to pick itself up after it's trashing in book one. Getting an interstellar trading line back trading, dealing with a bad reputation, and somehow staying one step ahead of the bad guys attempting to blow your head off, or killing your ship:- you kind-of expect this by now from the author......
On a personal note, somehow I get the feeling from the pacing of this book, it's more of a bridge to some bigger WOWS in the next in the series. Not the usual 5 stars this time. Ask me again after I've re-read it two of three times
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Well written simplistic military SF with not much SF., 30 Oct 2014
By 
Andrew Scooter Guy (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This series is pretty typical of military SF. Simplistic Good guys vs Bad guys, where the military are all good guys and the bad guys are politicians or space pirates (really).

The series is also pretty devoid of any interesting SF ideas, I didn't find the bit of technology central to the story convincing, and if you will forgive the slight exaggeration, any story that relies on geniuses inventing a whole new technology with some string and chewing gum in an afternoon looses my respect pretty fast.

As you have probably gathered, this is not the sort of stuff that usually excites me, however the author writes well, the main characters are quite engaging despite being cliches, and there are some interesting combat ranging from one to one to space battles.

However, I bought all 5 in the series so even with all the negatives I still found it an enjoyable light read.
A very expensive enjoyable light read because each book is more like an episode of a series rather than a complete book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - great fun, 22 Feb 2010
I wont give my version of the story but ...

Really great fun, good story well told. Nothing to make you think hard about new ideas. Easy to get started (some books take an age and a real struggle to get into - not this series). Then difficult to put down.

However, think of the series as a single large book and read them in the correct order. One excellent aspect about the series is that, unlike some multi-book series, the start of each book assumes you have read the previous book and does not spend ages recapping the story so far. Personally I hate it when you read the 2nd/3rd/4th book and you have to plough through loads of recapping the book before. In this series each book just continues directly from the end of the previous one making all 5 books like one book but split for convenience. So read them in the right order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid but not all that exciting, 8 Jun 2006
By 
Jonathan Oakey (Brussels Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I agree with the previous reviewer, this is very much a "mid-series" book where a reasonable amount happens but it's general plot development rather than anything spectacular. Having said that, the story moves along quite nicely and things become a little clearer in this murky tale of betrayal and war.
Elizabeth Moon is one of my favourite contemporary sci-fi writers and I have enjoyed all of her books. I am looking forward to seeing how this series works out, as long as it doesn't get spun out too long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good read, 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A brilliantly written book that follows on very successfully indeed from her previous books in the series developing the characters almost as if they were real people that the author knew.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Read., 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is great story and well thought out, i have read this story before and it us just as enjoyable the second time, i will be downloading tge next 2 books in the series as they are good value for money and the story is very gripping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Grabbed me from the start just had to read them all. Highly recommended wish they weren't so expensive , it's only a electronic book after all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read!, 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I discovered books by Elizabeth Moon only about 4 weeks ago. Since then I have not been able to put my Kindle down. The more I read of her books the more I want. The characters are memorable and believable, the plot unfolds without confusing. I cannot give this author any higher praise. I have been reading science fiction for over 50 years and in my opinion she is peerless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent read, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought the first one as a discarded library book and got completely hooked on the series.
The characters are really well worked out and given time to develop. The 'SF' part of the story is subtle, not one of those books that is blinding you with science. Very good story telling with enough detail to make it rich and colourful and so that you can almost taste and smell it. For me the only other SF author that created the same intensity was Ray Bradbury. I really loved the volumes 1 to 4. The 5th one is still good but feels oddly rushed in some parts and drawn out in others.

You need to start with the first one though, or it will be difficult to understand the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Engaging the Enemy (Vatta's War)
Engaging the Enemy (Vatta's War) by Elizabeth Moon (MP3 CD - 1 Dec 2008)
Used & New from: £32.63
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews